Borneo. The name alone conjures images of exotic, unknown experiences steeped in adventure and environmental wonder. A land of wild orangutans and oversized rafflesia flowers, the capital city of Kota Kinabalu is the perfect (and most practical) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daria V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was amazing thanks to probably the best tour guide Rex!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gaya Island Hike and Zipline Adventure from Kota Kinabalu

Shaun J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Highly knowledgeable guide, excellent sights and a chance to see rural Malaysia. We were also fortunate enough to see a Rafflesia blooming.
This was one of the best parts of our 8 night stay.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

meggs888

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

What a great experience! Our guide Herman was wonderful, so knowledgeable and considerate, well worth it!!
Megan, Australia

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Frank B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We visited the park and botanical garden, had lunch, and then drove to Poring Hot Springs. On the way to the Springs, we were very fortunate to see the Raffalisia flower in bloom. This was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to Borneo!! The 12-story high canopy walk-way. was another feature of this trip. I have seen other canopy walk-ways but this one is the most "rustic"--being only a plank inside a net--very exciting.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Jane W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great small group day tour with very informative guide. Scenery was great, lunch was okay, Canopy walk very good and the waterfall was lovely. Certainly worth seeing.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Stephanie W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Everything with this tour went very smoothly. The pick up, meeting the tour guide Rex, who was extremely knowledgable, the hike, zip line etc was great. The bbq on the other island was lovely. There were lots of tourists and the facilities there were very basic. Overall a fun experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gaya Island Hike and Zipline Adventure from Kota Kinabalu

anthony s

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The park is quite a long way from KK itself but the scenery to be seen on the drive itself makes it all worth it. During the day we made several stops to go into the rain forest to see the indigenous plants and flowers including the Rafflesia. Also visited the hot springs and the butterfly park.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Worth doing, but not with this tour company. The guide kept telling us it was not his usual tour, and that he wasn't really interested in these type of tours. Felt like he wanted to go home ASAP.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

A good experience. We had a friendly and well-informed guide.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

We had a great time on this tour. The view of Mt Kinabalu is fantastic. The canopy is a little tough as it is so hot and humid. It is worth the experience.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Lynnette C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was a good night, and being picked up in a small van and given the guided tour of Kota Kinabalu first was a plus.

Doing what: Kota Kinabalu by Night with dinner

Jane United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour cost 97 total for 2 people which I didnt think worth the money. Its great having your own private car and guide but this tour didnt match the price. The car and Guide were fine but the tour content didnt match the price. The first stop was at the market, which was easy to find in kK anyway, then we were driven to signal hill for the sun set. We saw a group of people walk up the hill who arrived easily to see see the sun set. It was a bit of a walk and it seemed on the out skirts of the main town area, but also seemed it could be reached easily alone anyway. Also this may be the main advantage point to see the sun set but the view is still obstructed by a couple of tall buildings. After the sun was almost down we were driven quiet a way out of town, which did give us chance to see another part of the town. We were driven to the restaurant which did look quiet special, along the river or on the coast. There werent many in the restaurant and yet we were shown to a table quiet a way from the stage, and the view to the stage was slightly obstructed by a pillar. The meal was a set menu. I had requested veggie, and although the set menu included a couple of veggie dishes, the fish ones still arrived enough for 2 people as did the veggie dishes. The waitresses were excellent in making sure I knew which were veggie and which were not although they did make one mistake but I was disappointed the meal had not been adapted for one veggie and one non veggie. We ordered a couple of beers, which we knew were not included in the price, but stupidly we didnt look at the price until the bill came !
The tour was fine, just didnt think it was worth the price, and disappointed the meal didnt reflect more for a veggie

Doing what: Kota Kinabalu by Night with dinner

NIAM T

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The local agent pick up was great and contacted me a day earlier for pick up arrangement. Canopy Walkway was pretty good and fun and had a v lucky dry day with nice temperature. Poring hot spring was disappointed as it was all enclosed in concrete blocks with tap. The waterfall nearby was good.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

willyarcilla

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

My wife and I went to KK for our wedding anniversary and took the canopy walkway and Poring Hot Springs and it was OK. But the real highlight was tasting the best durian and the best "marang" along the way. Our guide, Alfred, did a splendid job. He also brought us to a blooming Rafflesia flower.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

willyarcilla

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I thought the golden sunset in Manila Bay (where we come from) was the best in the world until we watched the sun set in KK. It must be because the skies are clearer and the seas are cleaner. It was magical. Although the seafood dinner was sumptuous and filling, and the night market was bustling, we were shocked (and horrified) by the abundance of huge rats all over the place. The city government must launch a campaign on sanitation and hygiene and aggressive rodent control to protect locals and tourists.

Doing what: Kota Kinabalu by Night with dinner

Barbara W Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Tour guide Ronnie was excellent, very acknowledgment and an amazing driver (raining very heavily). Food good and entertainment

Doing what: Kota Kinabalu by Night with dinner

Jane United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This tour is not value for money. The price shows as from 48.20 but it cost 261.52 total for 2 of us. The zip line ride was fantastic, but I dont see how this tour warrants the price. This was a private tour so just me and my friend.We were picked up from the hotel by a private mini bus, and taken to the port where we had to wait 30 mins, being told there were more people coming for the boat. The boat took us to the island, where we had 2 guides who walked us through the island. The walk was fine, but felt rushed by the lead guide. The other guide, a woman seemed much less pressed for time and took more time for us. The lead guide also had a bit of a patronising manner, which didnt help, and spent a lot of time on his phone. At one point I heard a bird singing and asked what it was, to which he replied 'a bird' ! The zip line process worked well and the boys in charge were fabulous, very calming and patient, I was a little nervous of heights climbing mount Kinabalu a few days earlier certainly helped me be more comfortable !. The zip went over water from one island to another - fabulous. Next was lunch in a VERY tourist area. It was a resort on the beach, absolutely packed with holiday makers. We were shown a menu on the wall and told we could choose anything. There was only one veggie choice for me, which tasted fine, veg spagetti, and a soft drink included. We has about 30 mins of free time before we had to get the boat back to the port back in Kota KInabalu. Although nothing to do with the tour, I was shocked at how much rubbish, plastic bottles etc are in the sea and shore lines in Borneo. During the boat ride back to the port, the rubbish in the sea is very visible. Back at the port, the mini bus was there to take us back to the hotel.
In all, the zip line was great, and not a bad tour but definitely over priced.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gaya Island Hike and Zipline Adventure from Kota Kinabalu

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2010

Our trip was like $30 more expensive than the normal local tours I saw. Although we did have the van exclusively. But the food for lunch was simple and not of good quality. I have used Viator for other tours in other countries but this is one that I would not recommend because it is overpriced and the food is not of good quality. The guide was so-so in narration but was accomodating, as was the driver. But I think for the price difference, it's not worth it.

Doing what: Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota Kinabalu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message