Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Auschwitz (Oswiecim)

The resting place for some 1.5 million people, Auschwitz infamously served as an extermination site of European Jews during World War II. Today, the concentration camp is an important historical site, allowing visitors to reflect on the monumental ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The mini bus held 19 people in total picked us up 10 minutes early from our hotel, and the documentary that was played on the minibus was very interesting. While the day was long, it was fascinating. Would recommend this tour to other people.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this trip, it was a very long day - 13 hours from pick up to drop off but well worth it.
Had a really good guide Joanna for the Auschwitz part of it, she was very knowledgeable.
Would definitely recommend to other visitors to Krakow.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

everything went exactly as they said it would. Tours very interesting with very knowledgable tour guides. Lots of walking but would recommend

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Sharon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide in Auschwitz was fantastic. She imparted her knowledge on such a difficult subject with such respect and humility. I can't say enough about her. The Salt Mine tour was equally as good. We did this as a two day tour and would recommend that if you have the time on your visit. It would be too much for one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Senthil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything on this trip went as planned. Good English speaking guide and comfortable bus and the guide at Oswiecim was good as well. I'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Alison L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent guide imparting many details not easily gleaned from books.
Historic, heartrending tour.
Trip in bus easy, but take water and sunscreen on summer days.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Extremely thought provoking. Auschwitz-Birkenau is a place everyone should visit during their lifetime as it certainly puts everyday issues into context. The Wielicza Salt Mines were also very interesting

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organized, good guide both on bus and on site who did justice to the content. In my opinion it was good value for money. At Auschwitz the security is tight so no large bags but if you have can be left in bus which is locked. Left at 8.45 returned at 3.30 due to Sunday traffic .

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Some / many will know more about Auschwitz than I did when we arrived. It is of course the story of unthinkable acts. It was a sad day and very somber. Our guide was fully in command of the facts and her english excellent as she explained many stories that enhanced understanding of just how really awful the time spent there was. Some of the exhibits are quite gruesome. Then Birkenau is next and makes for a long day. There is a LOT of walking and this from someone who routinely walks 5-6 miles per day wear shoes to handle stony, dirt pathways. We broke the tours into two days: one reason was we knew we would be emotionally spent after the first tour Auschwithz and Birkenau and the second was the full-day option runs until 8:00 pm. I am so glad we did these on separate days! there are approx 350 stairs one must descend to reach the salt mine, and we had to wait over one hour in pouring rain due to new bag inspection protocol ...it would have been simply too much for one day. Going separately we did very much enjoy the Salt Mine once we got into the mine The guides there too know everything about the mine. quite impressive level of professionalism. At times the group moves quickly and one must keep up with your group...if your husband lags behind to take photos it can be stressful!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised from start to finish. I could not have expected it to go better. The guide at the camp did a first class job and the staff of Discover Cracov could not have been more helpful.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

robynandbruce4 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

While very sad and confronting this is a must do tour. Lest we forget

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

markus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised tour, guides very well informed and excellent command of English. The trips were very comfortable, while the trip to Auschwitz was complimented with the very interesting documentary in the van while we were being driven. The Salt mines too was well organised. Glad we made the two tours on separate days as it would have been too much to experience all in one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour offered hotel pick-up and drop-off which made it convenient for us. The bus was clean and on time. Both guides on the bus and at the site were friendly, sensitive, and informative. A well organized and excellent trip. Auschwitz-Birkenau is a truly moving experience. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Noel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A experience I will treasure for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

Katherine E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. I could not have wished for a better guide for the Krakow Tour. The local guide we had was passionate, engaging and highly knowledgeable. The crowds were large at the museum but it was well organised so that this caused as little disruption to the tour as possible. I could not rate this highly enough.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Aimee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The town of Krakow is beautiful and the food is the best. There is a lot to see, such as the old city gate and defensive system to WWII landmarks. There was also a heritage festival going on while we were there June timeframe, so that was enjoyable. The people were exceptionally friendly. There was a gentleman who paid for our entrance fee to an activity because we were confused and didn't know what we were doing. It was very generous! He wouldn't take any compensation when we tried to offer. For the half day, we picked Auschwitz-Birkenau. That was one of the best tours of my life.
I really have no complaints at all about the city or the activities planned through Viator. Everything went well overall.
I only have two suggestions for those of you planning a trip:
1. Unfortunately, the buses don't mess around in Krakow. If you are looking to use the Hop On, Hop Off bus, I say forget it. The bus barely stops and sometimes it blows right past the stop that was awkward when that happened twice, but hey, the next one comes in 30-60 minutes if I remember correctly, which isn't too bad. We only used public transportation one day anyway. You really can walk the entire city. We walked the rest of the trip, rain gear ready in case of a storm. Also, if you are going to walk, the city streets get a little confusing. Get a very good map. Sometimes street names change depending on which direction you head.
2. The only not-so-cool thing that happened with Viator was that our driver forgot to pick us up at the airport and Viator could not find another driver, so we had to take a taxi. I would suggest skipping on arranging rides through travel agencies. I had a lot of missed pickups with another travel agency as well on a trip to Europe. Just take a taxi when you get there and have the hotel get you a taxi when it is time to go.
Overall, great trip! I would go again.

Doing what: 2 Nights in Krakow with Guided Half-Day Tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau or Wieliczka Salt Mine

antipao7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised tour, guides was very well informed and excellent command of English! A must tour!!! Everything was great!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Stephanie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized. Respectful. Our Crakow Tour leader did a wonderful job presenting this history. She was extremely knowledgeable and sensitive to the magnitude of what she was saying. This is a very important trip.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Cher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Discover Cracow tours are excellent and our tour guide Sophie was wonderful. She was extremely knowledgeable and very respectful of where we were. It is a very harrowing tour to do but it is something that we must never forget especially in today's world where racial hatred seems to be on the rise.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

Dennis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was very good and helpful. Zofi, our guide was very informative and had lots of details to share.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Smooth organisation.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Justine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The local office was easy to find, the staff were polite and helpful. Each trip was well organised and the buses were clean tidy and air conditioned.... A very good service. Thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Paul L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is something everyone has to see, it was so moving. Its very hard to see what happened there but it something that everyone should see. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Salt mine amazing and guide was brilliant Dorothy. Enjoyed auschwitz but salt mine had the edge

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message