Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum

The Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum, set in Oswiecim, Poland, and once operated by Nazi Germany, is the resting place for some 1.5 million people, having infamously served as a concentration camp and extermination site of European Jews ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2418 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dijana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really was the best experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and respectful in her delivery of the information.
Would absolutely recommend this tour. The documentary we watched on the way there was also very interesting.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

AMANDA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trips were very well run and we were taken care of at every point. The reps were always about and the handover to the local reps was very smooth.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although very harrowing subject matter this was an excellent tour. Guides very friendly and informative and the level of organisation with this company was spot on from pick up to drop off

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

Stewart R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Pick-up from accommodation worked well. Guide was informative and spoke excellent English. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

stephen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Prior to our humbling visit we did not know which tour to choose , having scrolled through the reviews we settled on the small group tour . We were picked up at our hotel on time as stated by one of the company's reps who spoke perfect English and were soon on our way after two other pick ups . The mini van was spacious and the seats comfortable . On arrival we was shown were the toilets were and was then introduced to our guide , what a really nice chap . He explained the protocol to us , there was ten people in our group . We were lead through to the front of the rather large Kew and straight through security. We was then all issued with our audio reciveres and the first part of the tour in Auschwitz 1 began . The guide was very fantastic and informative leading us through the buildings and explaining there perpose , he was open to questions the whole time . After the first part of the tour we had chance for a drink and supplied lunch which was fine . After a short journey we arrived at Auschwitz Birkenau and the tour continued for about an hour and half . We were dropped off at our hotel after the tour . Highly recommend.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Interesting experience

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Simone W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

tour was amazing and was a complete eye opener was very touching too and the tour guide was great

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Linda B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Emotional and informative tour, our guide presented who presented the tour was well informed and knowledgeable

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took the trip on 11th Feb 2017. Very well put together tour with a variety of information and exhibitions. Our guide, Magdalena was superb. So informative and respectful. Would highly recommend this trip rather than exploring on your own.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

michael c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Booked this 2 day trip before we left uk, printed off voucher and contacted company upon arrival to confirm pick-up time,
tour company very helpful, collected us from hotel both days, transported us to venue, then handed us over to very professional tour guides, appreciated that both tours were in English only, so no going through listening to other languages,
both tours very informative, 100 satisfaction, would highly recommend, and certainly we would use them again.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

R W S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must do. Understandably sad but so educational and my friends and I are really glad we went. If this was part of everyone's education maybe there would be far less inhumanity in the world. The sad thing is that genocide still goes on. Will we never learn!

A minibus picked us up at our hotel and took us to the pickup point for the coach. The coach journey to Auschwitz was good with an introductionary video en-route. The guided tour was very tastefully done. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions.

We left our hotel at 8:30am and returned at 4:30pm. The tour of the two camps took about 4hrs. We fully recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

ann.noble2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a must when visiting Kraków. Made what happened very real and is something that should never be forgotten. The whole tour was respectful to the memories of the people who had lived and died here and was very sensitively done.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Elvira M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tour was the perfect length, very knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

paul.kassell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour guide. The tour itself is well paced, but prepare yourself for a very moving experience.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

ella.keffer

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

It was only myself and another couple on this tour. I really appreciated being in the smaller group, because we were able to ask questions and move at more of our own pace. The experience itself was indescribable. One of the reasons I had booked this tour vs. other small group tours, however, was that they stated that there was no cafeteria at the museum as this one came with a prepared lunch. This was not true. There was a café at the museum and we were also back by early afternoon, so there would have been other opportunities to eat lunch. Everything else, including transport to/from my hotel was excellent.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Julio L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

the 1/2 days activities really made the trip better glad we chose this option vice full tours of both

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Denise T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Aug 2016. I think this is a must when in Poland.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

gawain.bolton

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The site itself is amazing, however the guide just droned on and failed to bring the past events to life, failed to communicate the way things were, the horror of it all.
The group was also very big 25-30 people? which is not appropriate to visit the small rooms at Auschwitz.
There were a lot of other groups as well so some things were rushed.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

DEREK G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

incredible tour, I will remember it for life. We had a tour guide named David Kennedy, he was so knowledgeable and an incredible orator. I was blown away by it tbh.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good trip, very informative and well organised. Guide was informative as was documentary on coach.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

LYNN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guides were fantastic, had good knowledge of the places.
It was a little confusing to find the right bus as there were multiple buses at departure site,
however everything went well and all tours were done as promised.
Will recommend to anyone who's visiting Krakow.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Clare B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I chose this tour as it was a Christmas present for my 86 yr old mum. There were just the two of us and I can highly recommend it. The driver was informative and helpful and the whole thing was thoroughly well organised. It was definitely worth the extra as just the walking around Auschwitz 1 and then later Auschwitz 2 was quite a jaunt, without having to walk between the two camps. I would also say that apparently visitor numbers to the camps are treble in the summer months and wow, that would be heaving, it seemed fairly busy to us even in January.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message