Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Auschwitz (Oswiecim)

Originally intended for Polish political prisoners in 1940, the Auschwitz concentration camp went on to serve as the site of wholesale extermination of the Jews in Europe. For this purpose, a much larger camp, known as Birkenau or Auschwitz II, was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were collected from our hotel in an executive air conditioned vehicle by Conrad, who I cannot rate highly enough and a real credit to discover cracow. He was friendly, knowledgable and spoke excellent English and immediately told us that he was our driver for the day and we were the only guests so if we wanted to stop anywhere or have a comfort break all we needed to do was say. Inside the vehicle was a drop down TV upon which he played a very insightful documentary on the camps. This personal service meant that we didn't have to queue for hours with a coach , it was a real door to door personal service. Our actual guide within the camps was insightful, knowledgable but at all times respectful of the memories and souls who lost their lives, or loved ones.Visiting Auschwitz Birkenau should be compulsory for all mankind. Haunting, chilling, eerie but a true testamant also to extremes of mans nature... Hate and pure evil on the one hand...love compassion and sheer will to survive against all the odds on the other.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfer

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was very moving and gut retching. There was a fair amount of walking and unfortunately it rained also. Tired so we did not do the Salt mine, that would have started about 3:00 and we were too tired to do all in one day. It was an organized tour and we saw all of Auschwitz-Birkenau that was advertised.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jacqueline I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I have just returned from an organised trip through Viator travel with Discover Crackow, I highly recommend this trip and commpanes involved everything went smoothly , picked up on time outside the hotel and the tour guide Joanna was excellant.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

Jason S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was most knowledgeable, friendly and understanding. She made the tour very interesting and spoke at an excellent pace. The hosts driver and assistant were very friendly, helpful and were very pleasant throughout the trip.

Planning to return next year with family rather than as a solo traveller although as a two day tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Ashley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fantastic. Definitely worth seeing. The guides were very informative. I couldn and #39;t imagine having done it without them! I learned so much. Notes to travellers: not much shade at Birkenau. If its hot... Have a lot of water with you. You willl need cash to use the washrooms as well.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver was superb: courteous, safe, enjoyable and knowledgeable. Even though city streets were closed, he found us at our hotel on time. He ensured that we got into the correct tour and transferred us between locations. The tour guide was also excellent. Extremely pleased!

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow with Private Round-Trip Transfer

Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very good, well organised tour and with comfortable and punctual travel. The guide was very knowledgable and added several true stories as went were taken around the sites. The tour was well paced so that all of our group could take in all of the on formation.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum and Memorial Guided Tour from Krakow

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The travel company was very professional - on time, clean busses and professional people. At Auschwicz they have their own tour guides so, all tour companies will give you the same experience at the site. The only variable is the professionalism of the tour company.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While depressing because of what happened there it is a must see. Tour guide was excellant and very informative.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

dreamy_anjo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is not a fun sort of excursion but it is a visit to a very dark part of modern human history. I think everyone in Krakow should see this. The tour offered hotel pick-up which was reliable and both the guides on the bus and at the site were friendly and informative.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Alison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although enjoy is not the right word to use in these circumstances, this was a very worthwhile trip. It was sobering to see up close what I'd read about.The trip was well organised. I would like to single out our guide Justyna who was knowledgeable and passionate about the subject.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Natasha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour offered hotel pickup, which was very punctual. Our tour guide was very knowledgable. It was very informative.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Shannon C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good guide in Auschwitz, she was so passionate and informative. Staff from Discover Krakow were very friendly, but could have been organised slightly better in terms of which groups are going to which buses. Would definitely recommend though for a great price!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The salt mine tour was very good although very tiring as you do a lot of waiting about and walking. It seemed a bit rushed at times especially in the major Chapels where the main photo opportunities came.I would not advise doing the 2 tours i.e. Auschwitz and salt mine on same day as both were very long and with a lot of walking. Only mistake was that the girl on the bus told me there was no toilets at he salt mine and that we had to go before getting there. This information was innacurate as there are lots of toilets in the salt mine. another not to be missed tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Fanny L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was well arranged.
The guide was informative, she provided us all the background of the camp site.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Peter K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, our guide was very good and made the whole experience very memorable. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Stefanos F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

In general the tour was good. Buses were on time, relatively new in good clean condition and the schedule was on time Departed 0845, returned 1600. Guide's English was not great but she was very friendly. A local guide was always with us at the museum. She was most probably not speaking English and our guide was consulting her many times before transferring something to the group. The museum could get really crouded and there were areas in some blocks, barracks etc that the guide was already in the next room speaking in the remote headphones about a picture that you were not able to see since you were stuck in the previous room. You need to be really close to the guide in order to follow him/her in all the exhibits. It was a good experience but not a 5star one.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Θάνος Κ

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

tour is higly recommended. The agency though was late

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Debra G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really good. The Aushwitz one in particular was very organised, a little bit less for the Salt Mines as driver unsure where he was going, but both were good and more than exceeded expectations. Both guides were really knowledgeable and i would recommend both but not in the same day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message