Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent excursion, well worth it.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Agnes J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The salt mine is a interesting and beautiful. The organization was good, the guide in the salt mine was perfect, took care of the group was easy to understand.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Shohreh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Verity W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day - both sights were most definitely worth coming half way around the world for and the tour was well organized.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Danielle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour iis fascinating. I didn and #39;t think I would enjoy it as much as I did, having been to plenty of mines in the UK before, but this is on another scale. I highly recommend anyone visiting Poland book onto this tour. PS: the lift was exciting, not scary (only a little cramped). Highly recommend!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Wendy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definately a must see while in Kraków, just find out if they do pick up from your hotel, we had a 20 minute tram ride to get to the pick up point.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Ciara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing yet emotional experience. We had a fantastic tour guide also which made it better

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Pairic C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic Tour. A 'must see' place. Salt scluptures are amazing.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an amazing experience... Our tour guide was vivacious and full of fun and history! Such a great price for such a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was excellent, very well arranged staff were really helpful and friendly it was a very sad but very well done tour

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Auschwitz and Birkenau were very sad placed but I learned a lot from the tour guide. She was very informative and knowledgeable about details of the victims and the camps.

The salt mine was incredible. Lots of steps but worth every one. The statues carved out of salt were amazingly beautiful. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

emmawalsh101

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour of both Auschwitz and the salt mines were amazing and will stay in our memories for a long time. Everything from pick up to entry to the sites went very smoothly and was hassle free. The tour guide was brilliant, his depth of knowledge really made the tour. Fantastic, a must do trip

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

john

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an amazing experience - this was a fantastic tour around the Salt Mines - so good - look out for the carving of the Last Supper its beautiful even if you are not religious.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Tour bus and driver were easy to find in the center of Kraków. When we got to the Salt Mines, a guide from the mines took over and brought us through the mines. Very interesting and beautiful! It's a must do if you're visiting the Kraków area!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Because I was only in town for a couple days, doing these two tours in one day was perfect, although I definitely could have spent a whole day learning more about Auschwitz. All tour guides were very knowledgeable and we had mic/headphones so could hear everything easily. Tour of Auschwitz was very emotional, as is to be expected. And the salt mine was a one-of-a-kind experience.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

mumkp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing place, not to be missed

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Trevor L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Pick-up on time though had to phone to find time hotel did that mixed bus half Italian and half English OK till return, after tour the English had to wait 50mins for the other group, no sorry nothing not good.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Trevor H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The Auschwitz tour was a experience that will last a life time. I would say it was good but that it not the correct word to use. It is a place everyone should see and make up there own mind. The day has a lot of walking so be prepared.
The salt mines were a little boring to be honest.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Eilish R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Again very enjoyable and well worth the visit

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

mormlan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It was a fantastic experience to see the Salt Mine
But the guided tour Went to fast for a couple 70 years old.
We came a long way behind the Group and missed some information from the guide.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Daniel g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

fantastic trip, really well organised and guide was superb.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Dr David A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The weather didnt cooperate on this tour, but added a more Solemn feeling to our Tour. The Salt mine is a Breathtaking experience...and Auschwitz should be a MUST experience for everybody...so grateful for the Tour and the memories we brought home! David and Ianne . Toronto Canada

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Bluenose United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Feel everyone should go to one of these camps in their lifetime so that the suffering that the people endured here will never be forgotten it is hard to believe mans inhumanity to itself but it did happen and we must ensure it never happens again.We never took any photographs choosing to remember with our eyes and out of respect .What i found really difficult were people taking selfies in the most harrowing places of the camp, the people who died here were denied a future they committed no crime the reason they were persecuted is that they were Jews .Me it will stay with me i felt the suffering because i wanted to try and imagine what it must of been like to arrive there and go through that experience....

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

shirley a d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tours very emotional at the camps. Salt mine was fantastic. Guides on all the trips were excellent and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message