Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this trip, it was a very long day - 13 hours from pick up to drop off but well worth it.
Had a really good guide Joanna for the Auschwitz part of it, she was very knowledgeable.
Would definitely recommend to other visitors to Krakow.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

everything went exactly as they said it would. Tours very interesting with very knowledgable tour guides. Lots of walking but would recommend

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Sharon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Our tour guide in Auschwitz was fantastic. She imparted her knowledge on such a difficult subject with such respect and humility. I can't say enough about her. The Salt Mine tour was equally as good. We did this as a two day tour and would recommend that if you have the time on your visit. It would be too much for one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Extremely thought provoking. Auschwitz-Birkenau is a place everyone should visit during their lifetime as it certainly puts everyday issues into context. The Wielicza Salt Mines were also very interesting

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Some / many will know more about Auschwitz than I did when we arrived. It is of course the story of unthinkable acts. It was a sad day and very somber. Our guide was fully in command of the facts and her english excellent as she explained many stories that enhanced understanding of just how really awful the time spent there was. Some of the exhibits are quite gruesome. Then Birkenau is next and makes for a long day. There is a LOT of walking and this from someone who routinely walks 5-6 miles per day wear shoes to handle stony, dirt pathways. We broke the tours into two days: one reason was we knew we would be emotionally spent after the first tour Auschwithz and Birkenau and the second was the full-day option runs until 8:00 pm. I am so glad we did these on separate days! there are approx 350 stairs one must descend to reach the salt mine, and we had to wait over one hour in pouring rain due to new bag inspection protocol ...it would have been simply too much for one day. Going separately we did very much enjoy the Salt Mine once we got into the mine The guides there too know everything about the mine. quite impressive level of professionalism. At times the group moves quickly and one must keep up with your group...if your husband lags behind to take photos it can be stressful!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour.Very informative,quite a quick pace but had to cover a lot.Really enjoyable trip from us being collected at the hotel ,to finish at our selected point.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

perrettg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really good tour and a must see when in Krakow. My only complaint would be all the waiting around as all the groups arrive at the same time, it would make more sense to stagger them.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

markus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organised tour, guides very well informed and excellent command of English. The trips were very comfortable, while the trip to Auschwitz was complimented with the very interesting documentary in the van while we were being driven. The Salt mines too was well organised. Glad we made the two tours on separate days as it would have been too much to experience all in one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Aimee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The town of Krakow is beautiful and the food is the best. There is a lot to see, such as the old city gate and defensive system to WWII landmarks. There was also a heritage festival going on while we were there June timeframe, so that was enjoyable. The people were exceptionally friendly. There was a gentleman who paid for our entrance fee to an activity because we were confused and didn't know what we were doing. It was very generous! He wouldn't take any compensation when we tried to offer. For the half day, we picked Auschwitz-Birkenau. That was one of the best tours of my life.
I really have no complaints at all about the city or the activities planned through Viator. Everything went well overall.
I only have two suggestions for those of you planning a trip:
1. Unfortunately, the buses don't mess around in Krakow. If you are looking to use the Hop On, Hop Off bus, I say forget it. The bus barely stops and sometimes it blows right past the stop that was awkward when that happened twice, but hey, the next one comes in 30-60 minutes if I remember correctly, which isn't too bad. We only used public transportation one day anyway. You really can walk the entire city. We walked the rest of the trip, rain gear ready in case of a storm. Also, if you are going to walk, the city streets get a little confusing. Get a very good map. Sometimes street names change depending on which direction you head.
2. The only not-so-cool thing that happened with Viator was that our driver forgot to pick us up at the airport and Viator could not find another driver, so we had to take a taxi. I would suggest skipping on arranging rides through travel agencies. I had a lot of missed pickups with another travel agency as well on a trip to Europe. Just take a taxi when you get there and have the hotel get you a taxi when it is time to go.
Overall, great trip! I would go again.

Doing what: 2 Nights in Krakow with Guided Half-Day Tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau or Wieliczka Salt Mine

antipao7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised tour, guides was very well informed and excellent command of English! A must tour!!! Everything was great!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Cher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great tour here. It was well organized and very interesting. Everything went smoothly and Discover Cracow tours were wonderful

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Dennis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was very good and helpful. Zofi, our guide was very informative and had lots of details to share.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the private tour immensely. Our chauffeur and guide, Alicja, to and from the Salt Mine was excellent.

Doing what: Salt-Mine Wieliczka Private and VIP Tour from Krakow

Justine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The local office was easy to find, the staff were polite and helpful. Each trip was well organised and the buses were clean tidy and air conditioned.... A very good service. Thank you.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Paul L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is something everyone has to see, it was so moving. Its very hard to see what happened there but it something that everyone should see. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Salt mine amazing and guide was brilliant Dorothy. Enjoyed auschwitz but salt mine had the edge

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Corinne F Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tours were very informative and the guides had excellent English.

On the bus on the way to Aucshwitz, the guide showed us a documentary about the camp so that we familiarise our self before our visit and it was very fruitful. I was scared that the tour would be too horrifying and sad but although it was obviously not fun to learn such atrocities took place, it was a great learning experience.

The salt mines visit was interesting as well although we expected a more hands on approach. The audio by the guide kept cutting off so much that we missed most of the talk however we managed to learn a great deal of information still.

The organisers were very reachable by email and answered all of our queries immediately. They also picked us up from our hotel even though the van was parked two corners away!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long awaited life experience that met expectations. Very efficiently organized with good, comfortable transportation arrangements and knowledgeable, patient guides who were receptive to many questions. The sheer vastness of Birkenau was amazing. Be prepared for many many stairs in the salt mines.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative tour guides were great for both tours.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Felicity W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely has to be done .Harrowing but enlightening.

Salt mine was amazing .Didn't know what to expect but whatever it was it was exceeded.

Very efficiently organised.Friendly well informed guides.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Elena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was amazing experience, despite a very large size of the group. We had a good tour guide in the mine. I was picked-up on time from the hotel. I would strongly recommend this unique tour.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

ali-prior

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were picked up promptly at the hotel in a very comfortable coach. Unfortunately on this occasion there was a fault with the video so we were unable to view the video of Auschwitz that had been shown on the Itinerary. Saying that, the guide we had for our tour at the site was amazing and gave a very passionate account of the horrors from both camps. Next day the pick up again was once again very punctual and we arrived at the Salt mine in about 20 mins. We again had a very knowledgeable guide and the Salt Mine is so interesting and the sculptures were amazing. Although both sites were very busy with tourists the tours were very well organised to ensure that you did not feel like it was a cattle market. Really glad we chose to do the trips over two days as it would have been very tiring to complete in one day. Monica and Jack our tour pickup guides were very pleasant and informative along the route. Highly recommend both trips.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jessica O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting tours and the tour guides were great. Pick-ups from our hotel were on time and ran smoothly.
I'd advise taking the option to have the two tours on different days as there is quite a lot of walking/standing, so could be tiring having both in one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

William T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

First, these 2 locations are a must if visiting Kraków. I would recommend this tour if you are short on time. I could have spent an entire day at the camps and an hour or so more in the mine. Great guides at both places though.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Cindi C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both tours very informative. Both tours physically taxing - glad we did on 2 separate days. The transport buses seemed quite new but had the most uncomfortable seats we have ever sat in.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message