Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alicja was a great guide. She picked us up on time in a comfortable Mercedes, and provided us with water and snacks for the short drive to Wieliczka. She took us on a nice walk around the town, and got us to our salt mine tour on time as well. We returned to our hotel right at the pre-arranged time.

Definitely recommend if you are looking for a trip to the Salt Mines, or to any of the other locations they go.

Doing what: Salt-Mine Wieliczka Private and VIP Tour from Krakow

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was very moving and gut retching. There was a fair amount of walking and unfortunately it rained also. Tired so we did not do the Salt mine, that would have started about 3:00 and we were too tired to do all in one day. It was an organized tour and we saw all of Auschwitz-Birkenau that was advertised.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jason S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was most knowledgeable, friendly and understanding. She made the tour very interesting and spoke at an excellent pace. The hosts driver and assistant were very friendly, helpful and were very pleasant throughout the trip.

Planning to return next year with family rather than as a solo traveller although as a two day tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Kevin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding! Yes, we could have done the tours ourselves and taken public transportation for less, but it was well worth the price to ride in a comfortable coach and have knowledgeable and competent guides leading us through the experience. We were a fairly large group 8, including two children, and we felt like we were in good hands. It is intense and exhausting to do both tours in one day, but our time in Krakow was limited, and all of us had an excellent experience. Highly recommended indeed!!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Andrew E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Experienced and friendly guides who make sure that everything runs smoothly as both Auschwitz and Wieliczka are busy during the summer months.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Michael A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I happened as it was advertised. There were no surprises.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Maria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was interesting and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Shannon C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good guide in Auschwitz, she was so passionate and informative. Staff from Discover Krakow were very friendly, but could have been organised slightly better in terms of which groups are going to which buses. Would definitely recommend though for a great price!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The salt mine tour was very good although very tiring as you do a lot of waiting about and walking. It seemed a bit rushed at times especially in the major Chapels where the main photo opportunities came.I would not advise doing the 2 tours i.e. Auschwitz and salt mine on same day as both were very long and with a lot of walking. Only mistake was that the girl on the bus told me there was no toilets at he salt mine and that we had to go before getting there. This information was innacurate as there are lots of toilets in the salt mine. another not to be missed tour.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Θάνος Κ

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

tour is higly recommended. The agency though was late

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Debra G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really good. The Aushwitz one in particular was very organised, a little bit less for the Salt Mines as driver unsure where he was going, but both were good and more than exceeded expectations. Both guides were really knowledgeable and i would recommend both but not in the same day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Alison E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The salt mines are superb and the carvings amazing. It was very busy when we went however meaning there was a lot of hanging about, which was just one of these things. However there was a lot of walking to do

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

timothy t

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

very impressive and a must do trip when visiting Krakow. Very busy and did feel the tour was rushed.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Noel N

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the tour to the salt mine. We were promptly picked up at the specified location. Transportation to and from the mine was excellent. The tour of the mine was very interesting.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Nicholas J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Auschwitz-Birkenau ....
When we arrived and saw the incredibly LONG lines of people waiting to get in, we were very glad we were part of an organised tour that could jump the lines and get in probably hours earlier than doing it alone. Out tour guide spent a little too long showing us pictures on the walls before moving on to the actual exhibits, meaning the middle part of the tour was somewhat more rushed than we would have liked. The final part of the tour took us by short bus ride to Birkenau, which then involves a long walk through what are mainly destroyed by the Nazis buildings. We have no complaint about the walk, it was however quite hot and some participants had trouble keeping up the pace. Given the nature of suffering our fellow human beings endured here 70 years ago, there was nothing to complain about but we are submitting this review purely as an indication of what to expect on this tour.

Salt Mines.....
From the beginning of this tour, we were given precious little information by our bus guide as to what was to happen next and how long each step would take. When we exited the bus, after a 10 minute wait another tour guide apparently took over. We then walked up to the Salt Mine entry area, where we were then told to wait while the new guide went to buy the tickets !!!! You'd think somebody might have done that a little earlier !!!! We waited in the sun for a good 10 minutes until the ticket-bearing guide returned ..... and we then circled around to join a queue, waiting for 20 minutes or more for yet another guide to usher us in the front door ..... where we waited for another 20 minutes or so to be allowed in the actual tour. There are then an enormous number of steps down and down and down and down to reach the first tour level. So ..... after the best part of an hour, the actual tour began. From this point on the sights were nothing short of AMAZING, worth the huge wait ... well almost, then up by lift.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Mi C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The shuttle is nice conditioned. The tour itself is OK, but not well organized. However after getting off the shuttle, we were not clear about the next steps, without clarification the tour guide left us. In total of 7 person, we struggled to find the bigger group, we asking each other, what's the next move, and everyone was confused.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Aman B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour comapny emailed me that they'll pick me up at 6:30 am but nobody came. When I called them, they told that they'll come at 7. Wasted half an hour early morning. I had very high expectations from the Auschwitz tour. But, the tour guide lacked passion, emotion and was repetitive. I had read a lot about Auschwitz before coming to Krakow and I didn't gain much information from this tour. I'd advise you to go to Auschwitz on your own. They dropped us in Krakow for an hour or so after the tour. The second part of the tour was much better. Our guide in Wieliczka salt mine was very knowledgeable. Overall, the day didn't feel rushed. There isn't too much traveling involved. Both tours are easily doable in one day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Mi C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Missed the first appointment as we expected the hotel pick up service, as we tried to confirm the meeting point and time twice with the guide during the Auschwitz tour the day before with the same tour company. Then we were blamed not calling for the 2nd half day tour in advance, which I personally took granted that confirming with the tour guide the day before from the same company would work.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Morgan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The tours themselves were GREAT- but I wish I would have booked with another company. The tour was advertised as minivan transport- for Auschwitz we were picked up in a giant tour bus and spent nearly an hour driving around packing it in before we even departed. Then, we were shown a video en route that continuously paused, skipped, cut out, etc. It was more of a nuissance than entertainment. Highly disorganized upon arrival, and though the tour said we would be dropped off at our hotel, we were informed on the way back that we would be dropped off several blocks away IN THE RAIN. Beyond disappointed with the service we received. My recommendation: go to Auschwitz, go to Wieliczka, but go with someone else!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very humbling trip to Krakow, another one off the bucket list, been to Bergen-Belsen, guarded Rudolf Hess at Spandau Prison. Next The Menin Gate Memorial. The Tour was interesting and informative, the guide spoke as if she was reliving the ordeal. Thanks

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message