Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1297 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

AMANDA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trips were very well run and we were taken care of at every point. The reps were always about and the handover to the local reps was very smooth.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Stewart R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Pick-up from accommodation worked well. Guide was informative and spoke excellent English. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

michael c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Booked this 2 day trip before we left uk, printed off voucher and contacted company upon arrival to confirm pick-up time,
tour company very helpful, collected us from hotel both days, transported us to venue, then handed us over to very professional tour guides, appreciated that both tours were in English only, so no going through listening to other languages,
both tours very informative, 100 satisfaction, would highly recommend, and certainly we would use them again.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

ann.noble2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A definite must when you are visiting Kraków. It really has to be seen to be believed. Totally amazing. Our visit was well organised and our guides spoke very good English and were also very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Really loved this underground tour. It was very interesting and exciting to see the salt mines, and we only saw 1 of it. Our guide was so unenthusiastic, boring voice and it felt like she didn't want to be there. It was also warm in the mines constantly around 18 degrees as it was 0 degrees outside it was lovely. Our bus driver and escort were very kind and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Julio L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

the 1/2 days activities really made the trip better glad we chose this option vice full tours of both

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

DEREK G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

incredible tour, I will remember it for life. We had a tour guide named David Kennedy, he was so knowledgeable and an incredible orator. I was blown away by it tbh.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

LYNN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guides were fantastic, had good knowledge of the places.
It was a little confusing to find the right bus as there were multiple buses at departure site,
however everything went well and all tours were done as promised.
Will recommend to anyone who's visiting Krakow.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We LOVED everything about these 2 tours - - knowledgeable tour guides, comfortable transportation, small group - I highly recommend!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Joy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Just amazing, has to be seen to be believed.
On a practical note, a lot of walking and steps so wear comfortable, practical shoes. It's a constant 16 degrees so wear layers as this is bound to be different to the outside temperature.
A bit of hanging around at the start waiting for our turn to get in with our guide, but he was very professional keeping us all together and was very informative. In summary, all very well organised.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Yvetta R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fascinating trip that gives you a good overview of the salt mine. There was plenty of time to admire all the important bits. My favourite was St Kinga's chapel.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything with Viator was great from start to finish, ease of booking, on time pick up, great guides, i cannot fault them.
I recommend this operator and would use them again.
Thank you.
Mark Bailey

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Anthony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing but harrowing experience our guide was excellent its one tour that I would certainly recommend

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time in Krakow as well as on the tours. It was easy to find the meeting point in town. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. There is a lot of walking on the camp tours, however, it is well worth it. The salt mine was amazing and the well worth the trip. The tours themselves require a lot of walking therefore if you have any problems with mobility it is challenging.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Dimitrios T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Tour bus and driver were easy to find in the center of Kraków. It was a fantastic experience to see the Salt Mine
But the guided tour Went to fast, so you didn't have enought time for photos. ELEVATOR in the end of tour MUST BE CHANGE. It is very small and claustrophobic!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Jean

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was the super saver, two tours in one day. We had limited time in Krakow so this worked for us. However, if you are able to do these two tours on two separate days, that would be my recommendation. The tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau was amazing. The trip from Krakow was just over an hour. We watched a documentary about the liberation of the camps on the way. Our group was of a reasonable size- maybe 15 people-and we had headphones for the tour which worked very well. Our tour guide was excellent. Having read a lot on this topic, I was amazed by how much I learned from the tour. The pace was just right. It did not feel rushed. The total time on site was between 3 and 4 hours. Then we went back to Krakow and had roughly an hour break before loading up a different bus and heading out to the Salt Mine. This was a larger group, too large in my opinion. Once we got down in the mine it was difficult to see things as there were just too many people. The tour guide gave us some information but I felt like she was going through the motions and we were being rushed from one thing to the next. It was worthwhile, and I am glad we made the visit. Just wish it had been under better management. I wish I could rate the two parts of the day separately. I would give the Auschwitz tour a 5 and the Salt Mines a 3.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

john W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was good but the private 6 seat mini bus we paid extra for but didn't turn up ruined the experience. We ended up on a 20 seater spread all over the place. We were supposed to be picked up at the hotel and dropped off there after but were dumped in the main square afterwards. VERY POOR SERVICE!!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

John L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was good, but the tour guides left a bit to be desired personality wise and attentiveness speaking. Organization of the group both prior to entering the mine and upon exiting was a bit chaotic. We saw all the best sites in the mine, but there was just not a lot of emotion or group interaction from the tour guides. We kind of felt a bit ram-rodded through the tour. The mine itself, however, is amazing! Anyone staying in the Krakow, Poland area should definitely set aside a half day to go visit it.
John Long - Cairo, Egypt

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Sianthomas8

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Pick up from hotel on time but very little communication from guide on minibus. Different guide in auschwitz who was very knowledgeable , tour conducted with earphones so you could lag behind a bit. Very sad place but a must see. Birkenau is a different set up. It is all outdoors and no earphones to hear the guide. Same guide who again was very knowledgable but there is a LOT of walking and if you have any mobility problems , ie me ! It is very difficult to keep up. The tour is conducted at breakneck speed and if you don't keep up you don't hear anything the guide says. Bearing in mind the path was covered in snow and very icy I think the guide should have slowed it down a bit ! Also no alone time at either site to just sit and think as it is very profound. PS , need to pay for the toilets at Auschwitz. I wouldn't recommend doing this and the salt mine in same day.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Constanse M S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Good but the salt mines themselves are very touristy!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Constanse M S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very touristy but interesting however would be better if it wasn't so busy.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Daniell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent excursion, well worth it.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

yvonne a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both excellent trips - fascinating and harrowing in places. Would definitely recommend doing the tow separate trips - you can do both in a day but it would be very tiring!
The Salt Mines have to be seen to be believed!
Pick up and drop off at hotel was perfect, good guides and all stress free.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A wonderful site to see and experience, the only negative, which is not really clear when you book this, it is a long way down, and if you are not fit, it can take its toll on you. Once you start to go down you have to keep going down to get the lift back up. I am in my sixties and I found it very hard going. Suffered very badly that night and following day with leg cramps and muscle pain. Even though it was a wonderous site to see!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Mrs P B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really interesting to see the mine.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message