Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very humbling trip to Krakow, another one off the bucket list, been to Bergen-Belsen, guarded Rudolf Hess at Spandau Prison. Next The Menin Gate Memorial. The Tour was interesting and informative, the guide spoke as if she was reliving the ordeal. Thanks

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Julia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thought both trips were really excellent and well run.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jessie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really well organised and a fabulous tour!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Derry L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating underground trip, quite stunning.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Marianna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great guide (evelina) and the guide on the bus (juliett)

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Bonita I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour and our guide was wonderful. Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

kurt.brackx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Iedereen zou dit eens moeten bezoeken.
De zoutmijnen zijn ook een aanrader.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jo a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Both tours were interesting and informative guides.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Helen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You don and #39;t want to miss this tour; however, be prepared for a lot of walking. Our tour also moved along quickly - there is so much to see, a lot of information that the guide has to share and there and #39;s a sense of s tight schedule to keep. Breaks seemed too short.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Gizelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good and very informative tour. The tour guide inside the salt mine is an expert and very entertaining.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Martha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow is all I can say. How these men carved such wonders in salt blows your imagination. A must !

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing trips!
The Auschwitz and Auschwitz-Birkenau is a very long half day - we didn't get back until after 8 - but well worth it. The guides we saw were all very knowledgeable and seemed to have a real concern about the place. Auschwitz main camp is quite somber and Birkenau is eerie, particularly when you realise that you are standing in the place where the incoming prisoners were split up - some going for the deadly shower within minutes.
The salt mine is stunning and a good few hours well spent. The standard of the guides again was excellent. I didn't realise that the tunnels went so far until we came up in the lift to find ourselves the other side of town.
Two little points though. Both tours involve a considerable amount of walking if you are to get the best out of them. If it's raining, neither of the venue's have much in the way of group shelters on the way in, so take something to keep the wet off.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and the day flew in. If you're planning to do both in one day - there is a lot of walking involved, but it's so worth it!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Christian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very hassle free pickup and drop-off for tour. I guess you can save a bit of money if you find your own way to the museum and then join one of the organized tours but in my experience this is easier way to do things as the tour operator takes care of transportation. Overall we were happy with the way everything turned out. Auschwitz is a must see if you're in Krakow and have never been. Even my wife who doesn't really fancy doing these types of tours because of the depressing nature found it very interesting and educational.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Dawn M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour to an amazing place. Our hotel was too far out for the free pick-up so we met at the pre-appointed meeting point, which was easy to find. Excellent guide. Very interesting place to visit.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Claire W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pick up times from hotel were on time and staff information was always clear. Trip it and #39;s self would recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Susan B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a hot day when we did the Auschwitz - Birkenau tour and we realised that the trip would mean lots of walking, it would have helped if the minibus had kept its door shut and the aircon on, so that we had a cool environment to come back to.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Ines T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Not far from the center of Krakow, definitely interesting to see. People from Discover Cracow agency were very flexible and forthcoming and the guide was very nice.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Highly emotional but well organised day. Surprised at the vast area it all covered.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Susan G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Both places were amazingly interesting however I cannot think why you have linked the two tours together as both are trips which involve a lot of walking, and I don't believe it was mentioned anywhere that the visit to the salt mines involves a great deal of walking, plus you have to walk down 800 steps.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

MARCOS F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Auschwitz was very good organization nevertheless Wieliczka was a completely mess, more than 1 hour waiting in the line, many groups that arrived after us enter before. I do not recommend to do Wieliczka with Viator.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was very interesting and our tour guide had a dry sense of humour which was an added plus to the whole experience.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message