Krakow ATTRACTIONS See all

Wieliczka Salt Mine

Just outside Kraków, some 9 miles (14km) southeast of the city centre, Wieliczka is famous for its ultra-deep Salt Mine, which has been in continuous operation for 700 years. It's an eerie world of pits and chambers and everything has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DEREK G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

incredible tour, I will remember it for life. We had a tour guide named David Kennedy, he was so knowledgeable and an incredible orator. I was blown away by it tbh.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

LYNN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guides were fantastic, had good knowledge of the places.
It was a little confusing to find the right bus as there were multiple buses at departure site,
however everything went well and all tours were done as promised.
Will recommend to anyone who's visiting Krakow.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We LOVED everything about these 2 tours - - knowledgeable tour guides, comfortable transportation, small group - I highly recommend!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Dimitrios T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Tour bus and driver were easy to find in the center of Kraków. It was a fantastic experience to see the Salt Mine
But the guided tour Went to fast, so you didn't have enought time for photos. ELEVATOR in the end of tour MUST BE CHANGE. It is very small and claustrophobic!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Jean

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was the super saver, two tours in one day. We had limited time in Krakow so this worked for us. However, if you are able to do these two tours on two separate days, that would be my recommendation. The tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau was amazing. The trip from Krakow was just over an hour. We watched a documentary about the liberation of the camps on the way. Our group was of a reasonable size- maybe 15 people-and we had headphones for the tour which worked very well. Our tour guide was excellent. Having read a lot on this topic, I was amazed by how much I learned from the tour. The pace was just right. It did not feel rushed. The total time on site was between 3 and 4 hours. Then we went back to Krakow and had roughly an hour break before loading up a different bus and heading out to the Salt Mine. This was a larger group, too large in my opinion. Once we got down in the mine it was difficult to see things as there were just too many people. The tour guide gave us some information but I felt like she was going through the motions and we were being rushed from one thing to the next. It was worthwhile, and I am glad we made the visit. Just wish it had been under better management. I wish I could rate the two parts of the day separately. I would give the Auschwitz tour a 5 and the Salt Mines a 3.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

john W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was good but the private 6 seat mini bus we paid extra for but didn't turn up ruined the experience. We ended up on a 20 seater spread all over the place. We were supposed to be picked up at the hotel and dropped off there after but were dumped in the main square afterwards. VERY POOR SERVICE!!!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

John L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was good, but the tour guides left a bit to be desired personality wise and attentiveness speaking. Organization of the group both prior to entering the mine and upon exiting was a bit chaotic. We saw all the best sites in the mine, but there was just not a lot of emotion or group interaction from the tour guides. We kind of felt a bit ram-rodded through the tour. The mine itself, however, is amazing! Anyone staying in the Krakow, Poland area should definitely set aside a half day to go visit it.
John Long - Cairo, Egypt

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Daniell A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent excursion, well worth it.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

yvonne a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both excellent trips - fascinating and harrowing in places. Would definitely recommend doing the tow separate trips - you can do both in a day but it would be very tiring!
The Salt Mines have to be seen to be believed!
Pick up and drop off at hotel was perfect, good guides and all stress free.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A wonderful site to see and experience, the only negative, which is not really clear when you book this, it is a long way down, and if you are not fit, it can take its toll on you. Once you start to go down you have to keep going down to get the lift back up. I am in my sixties and I found it very hard going. Suffered very badly that night and following day with leg cramps and muscle pain. Even though it was a wonderous site to see!

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Mrs P B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really interesting to see the mine.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Malcolm G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good quality tour with ample time at each location and back to Krakow in time for afternoon beers. Efficient tour managers and location guides were excellent location guides not part of Viator. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Stephen H Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both tours were very informative and the guides were very knowledgeable and knew every question put to them. Would recommend both tours to other travelers. Collection service to and from hotel was excellent from tour guides. A very good experience !!!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Maire S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience to see and be apart of. Do not recommend doing both tours in one day unless you have no other option. Both tours are long and do require a lot of walking. Please be advised the lift in the Salt Mines is an experience on its own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Trudy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent trip. Good pick up, comfortable transport. The guide in Auschwitz-Birkennau was superb

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Sean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A really interesting tour down some 130 metres below the ground level. The guide took us through areas where the miners worked and we saw sculptures and the equipment they used. They even had stables for horses! The highlight was the chapel, hand crafted by three miners over 30 years. Truly amazing.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

DEBORAH C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A VERY INTERESTING TAKE IN. MY ONLY WISH TOUR GUILD AT START
HAD ASK IF ANYBODY NEEDS TOUR TO BE ADJUSTED. THE FIRST 376
STEPS CAN BE AVOIDED BY ELEVATOR. WOULD OF BEEN HELPFUL
SINCE I HAD BROKEN MY LEG RECENTLY. THE REST OF STEPS
ANOTHER 400 ARE SPREAD OUT IN 50-100-75 AMOUNTS AND THIS
MAKES IT MORE DO ABLE. A WONDERFUL TOUR EVERYONE SHOULD
SEE IF VISITING IN KRAKOW.
.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Flash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Auschwitz-Birkenau brings the reality of what happened here to stark reality. The Salt Mine should go on everyone's bucket list. St Kinga's Chapel is awe-inspiring!

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

corinna w

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was good but the tour guide to and from the salt mines was useless and had a I cant be bothered attitude, she actually left half the group at the mines as she marched off to the bus without checking who was actually following her. She wasn't born to be a tour guide, lets just put it that way.

Doing what: Krakow Super Saver: Auschwitz-Birkenau Half-Day Tour plus Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Tour

Agnes J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The salt mine is a interesting and beautiful. The organization was good, the guide in the salt mine was perfect, took care of the group was easy to understand.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message