Arguably Europe's prettiest city, Krakow i s also one of the best preserved. Krakow's eventful history has only embellished the UNESCO-World Heritage listed city. Day 1: Krakow Old Town and Jewish Quarter The Old Town centers on Rynek ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2546 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Senthil R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything on this trip went as planned. Good English speaking guide and comfortable bus and the guide at Oswiecim was good as well. I'd highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Alison L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent guide imparting many details not easily gleaned from books.
Historic, heartrending tour.
Trip in bus easy, but take water and sunscreen on summer days.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Oliver R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We did the deluxe tour and I can't recommend the tour enough. It was the best thing that we did in Krakow.

What I didn't realise before I got there was that Nova Huta is a really special place and one of a handful of towns that are built in the Socialist Realist style in the former Soviet Union. It was an attempt to create a workers utopia through town planning and architecture, rather than how to build housing as cheaply as possible. As a result it had much more in common with a city like Paris than a Soviet sprawl of tower blocks.

The result was a fantastic guide taking us around an extraordinary place in a wonderful car, it was simply brilliant. The deluxe tour allowed us to see a bit more of what it was like in communist times and the lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organized, good guide both on bus and on site who did justice to the content. In my opinion it was good value for money. At Auschwitz the security is tight so no large bags but if you have can be left in bus which is locked. Left at 8.45 returned at 3.30 due to Sunday traffic .

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Njalalle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Being just the two of us, Tom made me fall even deeper in love with Krakow. He was well informed, informal, great fun to be with, and because of him I did not want the tour to end. We saw a great deal of the city's attractions in a few hours, but I still couldn't get enought of the city. I hope to visit Krakow again, and I'll seek the very same cycling tour.

Doing what: Sightseeing Bike Tour of Krakow

Sherin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful experience ,beautiful scenery, guide was friendly,helpful a real gent, even though it rained it was exciting ,would love to do it again if I return to Kraków.

Doing what: Dunajec River Gorge and Niedzica Castle from Krakow

robynandbruce4 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

While very sad and confronting this is a must do tour. Lest we forget

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Catherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour offered hotel pick-up and drop-off which made it convenient for us. The bus was clean and on time. Both guides on the bus and at the site were friendly, sensitive, and informative. A well organized and excellent trip. Auschwitz-Birkenau is a truly moving experience. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Sherry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was great. He took us on an easy walk for someone like me who has bad knees and back and has trouble with walking. The food he introduced us to was delicious and we even went back to the open air farmers market to get some delights we were shown the day before.

Doing what: Krakow Street Food Walking Tour

Katherine E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. I could not have wished for a better guide for the Krakow Tour. The local guide we had was passionate, engaging and highly knowledgeable. The crowds were large at the museum but it was well organised so that this caused as little disruption to the tour as possible. I could not rate this highly enough.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Aimee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The town of Krakow is beautiful and the food is the best. There is a lot to see, such as the old city gate and defensive system to WWII landmarks. There was also a heritage festival going on while we were there June timeframe, so that was enjoyable. The people were exceptionally friendly. There was a gentleman who paid for our entrance fee to an activity because we were confused and didn't know what we were doing. It was very generous! He wouldn't take any compensation when we tried to offer. For the half day, we picked Auschwitz-Birkenau. That was one of the best tours of my life.
I really have no complaints at all about the city or the activities planned through Viator. Everything went well overall.
I only have two suggestions for those of you planning a trip:
1. Unfortunately, the buses don't mess around in Krakow. If you are looking to use the Hop On, Hop Off bus, I say forget it. The bus barely stops and sometimes it blows right past the stop that was awkward when that happened twice, but hey, the next one comes in 30-60 minutes if I remember correctly, which isn't too bad. We only used public transportation one day anyway. You really can walk the entire city. We walked the rest of the trip, rain gear ready in case of a storm. Also, if you are going to walk, the city streets get a little confusing. Get a very good map. Sometimes street names change depending on which direction you head.
2. The only not-so-cool thing that happened with Viator was that our driver forgot to pick us up at the airport and Viator could not find another driver, so we had to take a taxi. I would suggest skipping on arranging rides through travel agencies. I had a lot of missed pickups with another travel agency as well on a trip to Europe. Just take a taxi when you get there and have the hotel get you a taxi when it is time to go.
Overall, great trip! I would go again.

Doing what: 2 Nights in Krakow with Guided Half-Day Tour of Auschwitz-Birkenau or Wieliczka Salt Mine

Stephanie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized. Respectful. Our Crakow Tour leader did a wonderful job presenting this history. She was extremely knowledgeable and sensitive to the magnitude of what she was saying. This is a very important trip.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

julietpilkington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a lovely evening of food, drinks, legends and history of Kraków with Mateusz, our guide.

Doing what: Krakow Evening Food Walking Tour

E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Smooth organisation.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organized. The bus was on time. Our guide was courteous and visible. The video on the bus was informative.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

davidandjuneburkitt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic! She was an amazing communicator and had in depth knowledge and understanding of Krakow, its history throughout all of its somewhat mixed experiences, its special characteristics and features. After this tour we felt that we really understood how Krakow developed to where it is now and that we had seen all of the important sites.
The Trabant is an amazing car, a real throwback to earlier days. Our guide drove it really well and it's obviously not easy to do that! Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

B was an excellent tour guide, very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Krakow in One Day Sightseeing Tour

JC Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very Moving experience, one which we are very happy to have had the opportunity to take off our bucket list .

One and half hours from Krakow ,we arranged this tour in advance for the Saturday of the long weekend in September . The pick up was as scheduled for 7 am , and our English speaking guide was truly a prize. Her understanding of history and her storytelling ability took you back into the darkest places in these 2 awful camps , almost as if she was there in real time . There were 10 of us on this tour ,travelling 1 and half hours from Downtown Krakow. Enroute they showed a film which acted as the introduction of what was to come . We left,on time in a fatastic mini bus at 7 am, that was so smart as we arrived at Auschwitz as one of the very first groups to enter the grounds and allowed us to moved through all areas at a easy pace. Upon completion of this tour we had a break and a box lunch was served ........ prior to heading back to the mini bus to a short drive onto Birkenau............... Brutal............leaves you speechless learning of the tragic events that took place here on these massive grounds. Tremendous value , and worth the 7 hour tour once returned back to the centre of Krakow to our hotel ...............allowing for a wonderful afternoon evening to reflect on what we witnessed. It was well worth the weekend adventure from Toronto ,Canada.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Michelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Extremely well organised and our Guide was very knowledgeable and we found this to be a very good tour Thanks

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Anthony A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although, due to our own lack of planning, we missed our original booking (small group tour), the local representative took care of us and allowed us to join a later tour. In addition, we were given the bag lunch that was part of original booking.

This is a tour everyone should take. Viator rocks!

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

Anthony A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When your night is filled with good Polish food, good Polish beer and dancing with good-looking Polish women and then walking back your hotel on the central square in Krakow, that and #39;s a five-star night.

Enjoyed the audience interaction, dancing with the cast and meeting other guests.

Fun night.

Doing what: Polish Folklore Show and Dinner in Krakow

Matt D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend this tour if you're interested in learning about the history of the Jewish people in Krakow. We covered a lot of ground ending at Schindler's Factory during the tour, but the best part was our guide. Big guy with a voice to match, who is a subject area expert in all that he covers. I feel terrible because I don't recall the guide's name, but if you book this tour and see this guy at the beginning, you're in for a treat.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour of Kazimierz in Krakow

Elena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was amazing experience, despite a very large size of the group. We had a good tour guide in the mine. I was picked-up on time from the hotel. I would strongly recommend this unique tour.

Doing what: Wieliczka Salt Mine Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Dianne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a place that I had on my list of and #34;must do and #34;. The small group tour was well run and the guides friendly and knowledgeable. It was nice to have a bag lunch provided. The day was wet and cold so visiting in those conditions added to the impact that Auschwitz has. Very moving experience.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Small-Group Tour from Krakow

YASMIN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Very well organized. The guide was very informative, and knowledge.

Doing what: Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum Half-Day Trip from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message