A Trabant, a classic European car popular in communist bloc countries in the late 1950s and early 1960s, offers a retro way to see the sights of Kraków. When the Berlin Wall came down, many Germans moved west in their Trabants, making the car a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was great fun and a real experience with a great guide! Maciej was very enthusiastic and full of facts about the local area.

Who wouldnt want to be driven around Krakow in a lime green Trabant!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

davidandjuneburkitt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was fantastic! She was an amazing communicator and had in depth knowledge and understanding of Krakow, its history throughout all of its somewhat mixed experiences, its special characteristics and features. After this tour we felt that we really understood how Krakow developed to where it is now and that we had seen all of the important sites.
The Trabant is an amazing car, a real throwback to earlier days. Our guide drove it really well and it's obviously not easy to do that! Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Oliver R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We did the deluxe tour and I can't recommend the tour enough. It was the best thing that we did in Krakow.

What I didn't realise before I got there was that Nova Huta is a really special place and one of a handful of towns that are built in the Socialist Realist style in the former Soviet Union. It was an attempt to create a workers utopia through town planning and architecture, rather than how to build housing as cheaply as possible. As a result it had much more in common with a city like Paris than a Soviet sprawl of tower blocks.

The result was a fantastic guide taking us around an extraordinary place in a wonderful car, it was simply brilliant. The deluxe tour allowed us to see a bit more of what it was like in communist times and the lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was wonderful. Very informative and made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved every minute - wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable. He arrived in good time and was great company. We had a blast in the car - a great experience - Thank you!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Lilla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were so fortunate to have Carolina as our guide. She was full of good information and fun to be with. We were especially interested in learning about Krakow during the Communist era, and this tour did exactly that. We even had a chance to visit an apartment that was furnished as it would have been during that time. The pictures and video added so much, in addition to being able to see how families lived during that time. It was an amazing four hours, and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

James T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an amazingly fun time! From the moment our guide met us, folks marveled after his lime-green Trabant parked near our hotel at Wawel Castle, and were taking photos. So, it was a heady and unique experience even from the start. Nowa Huta was fascinating on all levels. While we were more interested in politics initially, we also came to learn lots about architecture, food and culture. And also about the Trabant itself. The shag carpet in the back seat was kinda the best thing ever! This tour is an easy and complete mix of fun, adventure and education, with a warmly personable and knowledgeable guide. Most highly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Claire S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Nigel A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour, the authentic green Trabant - great! Our tour guide was fantastic, we must thank her for a really enjoyable trip, very knowledgeable, an all round lovely person, and we do hope that she will be able to go on and finish her studies as well. Cannot thank her enough for her insights and anecdotes into both the communist history in general and also how her family lived within the communist system.
Would we do this again - you betcha!

Nigel and Paul Bristol, UK

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

ROBERT V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

first class tour and our guide Maciej was superb. His knowledge and enthusiasm for Crakow was remarkable. Maciej wsa the best guide you could hope for and it was super to travel in such an iconic vehicle as the Trabant.
Robert

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

First Class afternoon, Cuba took us too places we would never had seen.
Great guy, amazing car. excellent value
John Greory

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Joan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a fantastic tour. Pick up from the hotel was punctual and the guide was brilliant. A great opportunity to see a completely different dimension of Poland and Krakow, with an excellent background commentary from the guide. The Trabant was great fun, and very memorable. We loved the little cafe in Nova Huta which had stopped in time, and we both felt that when we left the tour we had learned so much. This is a must do.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An interesting and entertaining way of getting to see areas of Krakow that you probably wouldn't visit on the standard tours.

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Tuuli H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice couple of hours in rainy Krakow - funny guide, very relaxed atmosphere and unhurried cruising around in a Trabant, of course! I truly enjoyed this tour and the history of Nowa Huta the guide explained while we two visitors were sipping some Polish beer. Warmly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

diane f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great fun and very informative too! Super way to get an insight into communist poland with a vodka and jokes thrown in!

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience! Learned a lot from this tour

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. I had a lot of fun and learned quite a bit. Would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the communist era.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A million thanks to Maciej (i think that's the right spelling) for providing the highlight of a fantastic 4 days in Cracow.He was an genuinely knowledgeable,enthusiast with an obvious passion for his polish history.The more we asked questions the more accommodating he was.This introduction to Polish communism is a must,augmented by period car travel.Dont hesitate,get booking!!
Chris and Sandra (December 2014)

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were lucky enough to have an authentic Trabant for this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and put us ease immediately. The meal in the milk bar was certainly different and something I'm glad I experienced. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Eoin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. The guide was friendly, informative and was very willing to anwser all questions. Would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

MIchael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was fun riding in a Trabant and enjoyed the milk bar

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

david m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Very unusual. Drivers/guides excellent knowledge and very good English.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

stanley r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

informative guide [Phillip] Value for money

Doing what: Krakow Half-Day Tour by Trabant

Christopher A Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

On the recommendation of other Viator respondents I booked the Deluxe tour and was not disappointed. The experience was brilliant and the guide outstanding. Driving the Trabant was great fun and perhaps the highlight of the visit to Nova Huta. We had coffee at an old haunt of the communist elite and lunch at a state supported worker's cafeteria called a Milk Bar. The tour of a worker's flat was also spot-on, especially the traditional welcome shot of vodka and pickle. The added experiences and time that are part of the Deluxe tour made for a memorable outing.

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Sharalyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was fantastic! The guide was lovely, very informative and the information was interesting. I really enjoyed having a go at driving the trabant and my son (who has not yet learnt to drive) was very jelous. Great half day trip - well worth doing!

Doing what: Communism Tour in a Genuine Trabant Automobile from Krakow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message