In the lush, tropical rainforest an hour and a half drive from Kuala Lumpur, the Kuala Gandah Elephant Sanctuary is an ambitious conservation program implemented and managed by the Malaysian Wildlife Society. Visitors to the Sanctuary have the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 370 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this experience! Everything that we did was memorable - the Batu Caves, Deerland Park, and of course, the Elephant Sanctuary. Washing the baby elephants was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Not to be missed. And of course, our guide Zul was fantastic. He did everything possible to make us comfortable and get us acquainted with Malaysia. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing trip, the driver was very informative and professional, he was also very friendly. There were just two small issues, the small bus we took was very old and I was not sure it would make it back and forth, it was very shaky to say the least. I think they need to update the vehicles. The other small issue was when we got there, there was a little confusion over the tour guide at the sanctuary.

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Julia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A brilliant day out. My guide went out of his way to make it all very personal and took me to additional stops on the way as I was the only passenger to get some cheap shorts and top The bathing of the baby elephants was wonderful, but do remember to take with you an old pair of shorts and top to wear on the river and a towel as there aren't any in the showers. Hence my stop to buy! I'd booked at the very last minute on a Sunday but the company went out of their way to let me know the times and pick up and checked with hotel to make sure I'd received them. All I can say is brilliant !

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Raymond C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Something not to be missed, and a trip never to be forgotten! Our guide, Chia, was absolutely fantastic, and went out of his way to make it such a memorable experience. Thank you. Ray and Barbara Cavill

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Layne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an absolutely amazing bucket list kind of tour!!! I would highly recommend it to everyone!
We had a really great guide name Ai who was so helpful and made the day even more wonderful for us!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

hijennyanderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This Tour was a Great way to see the Malaysian Countryside. Excellent Guide, small Group, highly recommend it. The Elephant Sanctury was very good, well Organised, and of course the Baby Elephants were Gorgeous.

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Jens Uwe K Andorra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Incredible great experiance. No stress. Enough time with the elefants. Good driver with knowledge about everyting I wanted to know about Malaysia

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great day - the private guide Ai was terrific and the elephants were fabulous. Feeding the elephants and bathing them is an opportunity not to be missed. The visit to the deer park also offered more than expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

hang n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic we had "T" and my partner and I can't not speak highly enough of him. Fun knowledgeable made sure we had best position at the elephant sanctuary even had spare food for us ready to feed the elephants. When booking this tour request t!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was superb! The tour guide was so full of knowledge and very friendly!

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the best things I have done in my life. The elephants are beautiful and well taken care of. You spoil them with peanuts and fruit. You can also bathe the baby elephants extra cost. I also admire that the sanctuary does not let the public ride the elephants.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Radoslav P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide, Ai, was fantastic. He went out of his way to show us interesting things on the way to the sanctuary and was very informative and helpful. We can recommend this to anyone who is interested. Remember to take some bathers, a towel and old joggers along if you want to bath the baby elephant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

G D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Ai, was fantastic - really laid back and easy going. He knew the way things worked and made sure we didnt waste any time waiting in line. All in all a fantastic Valentines Day experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Jackie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Cheai, was awesome. This tour is definitely worth every penny and every star. Cheai picked us up right on time and when I asked him how many other people would be joining us on the tour he surprised me by telling me that this was a private tour! Just me and my girlfriend! We had great conversation about Malaysia, its' history, culture, current events, etc. Cheai was very hospitable to all our questions and knowledgeable. Included in this tour is transportation, entry fee to deer land and the elephant sanctuary. Deer land was awesome! It is not just deer, but there is also an ostrich, pythons, hedgehogs, etc. The elephants were great! Although it is sad that they are not free in the wild, they seem well taken care of here and that the guides have good relationships with the elephants. At the sanctuary Cheai definitely went above and beyond to make our experience extra special by having us be first to get in the water, and pulling plugs to allow us to pet the 7 month old baby elephant. Definitely book this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

plucka73

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Tour guide was "I" and he made this tour special for us! We stopped along the way to see how the rubber sap is taken from the tree and the got to smell the raw rubber. "I" arranged for us to have photos taken with a 7 month old baby Elephant and pat the little One. A definite advantage to having your own guide, he knew all the staff ad where we should be before the crowd moved. It was a wonderful day and "I" made it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

joy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing just not long enough. Loved every minute. Hi our guide was was very good, very informative and easy to talk to.would love to do it all again!! ☺

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

z84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely amazing!!! Feeding and swimming with the elephants was truly incredible. And a special thanks to our tour guide "Ai", who was warm, friendly, and a true professional. His guidance made the day easy and fun the whole time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

tori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A really great tour experienced by my wife and I when we were treated to more of the same jovial attitude when we visited the Elephant Rescue site,again with Ai as the guide. We cannot recommend more highly this tour guide for both his knowledge of the area and his jovial attitude throughout the drive. We have both experienced two fantastic tours with this guide,thanks Ai, and thanks for explaining what those large concrete buildings were on the home journey, getting up close and personal with the Woma's at the little zoo and making our time with the elephants a treat.
Victoria and Wayne NSW Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Arica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guide and tour. We didn't get to bathe the elephants, but it was still great to feed and pet them.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Lynley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous tour, great guide, fantastic day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

j-n.b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Don't forget your swimmers!!! Thoroughly enjoyed tour and would recommend.

Doing what: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary and Aboriginal Settlement Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Evonne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic, great for everyone, this private tour is the way to go

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Paula T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful experience which I would recommend to everyone. The only problem I had was the heat managed to get to me, mainly because I only arrived in KL late the evening before. The guide was wonderful and full of knowledge. Feeding the elephants and watching them swim in the river with their keepers was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Elephant Orphanage Sanctuary Day Tour from Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message