The multi-ethnic population of Malaysia is reflected in the culinary scene of Kuala Lumpur, where Malay, Chinese, and Indian techniques and ingredients combine to form delicious dishes worthy of any foodie's bucket list. Here are a few dishes and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an awesome tour and Charles is an excellent host. He took us on the and #34;locals and #34; tour and we had great food and saw great sites. Thanks Charles, we and #39;ll definitely be back. Cheers, Rick and Lisa.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed the tour. We sampled local food we would never have tried otherwise. Charlie did a great job in taking us around and pointing out different things as we went round four different markets. Well worth it

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide, Charles, gave me a comprehensive look at a side of KL I hadn't explored before despite being a resident for one year. He coaxed me into trying things all good, some of which I've made a note of to make sure I try again. Highly recommend both the guide and the tour

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

anne_goodwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful evening with Fala, our food guide, as well as Geraldine and Lois from NZ! Sampled the 3 different main types of cuisine around KL and was given the background and history of Malaysia - had a great laugh, soaked up the atmosphere, ate and drunk lots of different things we wouldn't probably have had the nerve to try on our own - it gave us the confidence to try some other dishes later on. We would thoroughly recommend this trip as a good way to experience Street food.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Street Food Hawkers Tour with Charley was the highlight of our Kuala Lumpur trip. So informative and the food was really good. Never would have found or tried the food with out this tour.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide and a very good trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Bernadette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

From the moment we meet our Guide Charleston the banter began. Excellent Knowledge and insight to the local cultures and the food was impressive. Anu trainee tour guide was bubbly and friendly and will make an excellent guide. Hours had passed and we hadn't even notice as we were all having such great time
Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Leah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would recommend this to anyone interested in all things foodie - we would never have sampled any of the fantastic food without the guidance of the fabulous Charlie. For anyone wondering we ate everything and weren't even the slightest bit sick afterwards so go for it!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Excellent guide who made it fun and explained where we were and what we were eating. Good to meet a varied bunch of nationalities too. I would certainly recommend.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Natalia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great food and very authentic places. Charles took us in his very comfy van to the different areas. It was a great choice to do a night tour as the temperature was much nicer to go from one place to another and eat outside in the street. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Dianne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This has been one of the best tours I've ever done, could not fault it at all, absolutely brilliant. Tried so much amazing food and had a great time!!!!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Tia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must for all visiting Malaysia! Our tour guide Charles was amazing! He took us to some great places, was accommodating, friendly and informative. There were 2 other couples on our tour was an ideal number. Managed to go to a night market as well which was on my list of must do and #39;s! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although I was not hungry this tour was enjoyable due to tour guide, Charles Steven. He made the whole situation enjoyable informative and knowledgeable. We learnt about the history of people of Kuala Lumpur the importance of food to cultural and journeyed thru the different types of neighborhoods. Walking around the neighborhoods and sampling of the local cuisines was adventure itself because it forces you to live the culture. Sampling Chendul cold dessert , drinking cold white coffee, eating Indian food with your hands different types of desert and sampling Elk meat in the chow mein made this one of the most enjoyable activities on my trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Yolanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour. Loved the variety of foods offered. The interaction with Mimi, our guide was amazing. She was very familiar with the area. I felt as if we were truly experiencing this from a local perspective.

Doing what: Kuala Lumpur Food Tour Through Chow Kit

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Charlie was awesome, very informative and great knowledge of KL. He was friendly, great fun had a wicked sense of humour. The food was great and the walk fascinating. All in all great value and good fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

chris d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was fantastic. Our tour guide Charlie was a true treasure who had soo much knowledge to offer and yet made the day fun and very informative and treated us like we were his best friends. Everything he did and showed us was done with true love and passion and as a result we all had a sensational day and loved every moment of it. Don't miss this tour and THANKYOU Charlie for a terrific day.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Charles was a great guy and very knowledgable! Love all the local haunts that we went to and the market was an eye opening experience.
There was no shortage of food and by the end we were full to the brim.
Fabulous way to start our holiday.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Tariq S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour I did in KL..Farrah was a fantastic guide. She took us to 3 main restaurants plus a food stand. Farrah is very passionate about her work and taught us so much about Malaysian cuisine and traditions. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Charles by far provided us with the best experience in Malaysia. From the moment he picked us out of the crowd as the tourist that he would be escorting around to the moment he graciously dropped us off at our hotel instead of the meeting place like we thought. He provided us with the opportunity to taste the culture of Malaysia. I thought as a vegetarian, my experience would be slighted, but he took care to include dishes that I could partake in. He was kind, funny and we felt safe. In addition to being a vegetarian we had our toddler with us who was in a mood. She was being rather unfriendly and if I were the tour guide I would have ignored her. Instead, it appeared that Charles made it his mission to win her over which he did by the end of the night. We enjoyed the food, was never forced to eat or try anything and the food was plentiful. We were forced to wave the white flag as Charles was prepared to keep the food rolling in. We sampled fish head curry, nasi lemak, roti, satay, fried chicken and fried ice cream just to name a few of the dishes. It was truly an experience to remember.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We went on this tour in February this year and it was the highlight of our trip in KL. Gabby was an exceptional guide/host with a hive of local knowledge and very entertaining. This is a fabulous tour taking in the Indian and Chinese quarter of KL. The day was brilliant which overran by a few hours due to the wonderful banter and information from the very special Gabby, but no one cared as we were all having such a fantastic time. This tour I cant highly recommend enough, the food is plentiful and delicious with the aromas of the restaurants divine. Don't have a large breakfast before embarking on this tour but do enjoy a brilliant day out in KL.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

john k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fabulous tour with great food and lots of local information.Charlie was fantastic. I would definitely encourage anyone visiting KL to do this tour to get an insight into the culture and food.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Graham E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Charlie was fantastic, very knowledgeable and interesting character. We had a great group and thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Gabriel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow! What a fun tour--our guides were incredibly passionate, knowledgeable and communicated easily with me and our tour group. We had a great time and were very well fed. I really felt like I experienced the culture, and wasn't a passive tourist. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message