With its incredible mix of cultures and ethnic backgrounds, Kuala Lumpur has developed a diverse cuisine, with dishes influenced by Chinese, Indian and local Malay flavors and ingredients. Outside of Asia, most people probably aren’t familiar with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natalia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great food and very authentic places. Charles took us in his very comfy van to the different areas. It was a great choice to do a night tour as the temperature was much nicer to go from one place to another and eat outside in the street. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Dianne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This has been one of the best tours I've ever done, could not fault it at all, absolutely brilliant. Tried so much amazing food and had a great time!!!!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Tia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must for all visiting Malaysia! Our tour guide Charles was amazing! He took us to some great places, was accommodating, friendly and informative. There were 2 other couples on our tour was an ideal number. Managed to go to a night market as well which was on my list of must do and #39;s! Recommend to all!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

lee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although I was not hungry this tour was enjoyable due to tour guide, Charles Steven. He made the whole situation enjoyable informative and knowledgeable. We learnt about the history of people of Kuala Lumpur the importance of food to cultural and journeyed thru the different types of neighborhoods. Walking around the neighborhoods and sampling of the local cuisines was adventure itself because it forces you to live the culture. Sampling Chendul cold dessert , drinking cold white coffee, eating Indian food with your hands different types of desert and sampling Elk meat in the chow mein made this one of the most enjoyable activities on my trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Charlie was awesome, very informative and great knowledge of KL. He was friendly, great fun had a wicked sense of humour. The food was great and the walk fascinating. All in all great value and good fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

chris d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was fantastic. Our tour guide Charlie was a true treasure who had soo much knowledge to offer and yet made the day fun and very informative and treated us like we were his best friends. Everything he did and showed us was done with true love and passion and as a result we all had a sensational day and loved every moment of it. Don't miss this tour and THANKYOU Charlie for a terrific day.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Charles was a great guy and very knowledgable! Love all the local haunts that we went to and the market was an eye opening experience.
There was no shortage of food and by the end we were full to the brim.
Fabulous way to start our holiday.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Tariq S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best tour I did in KL..Farrah was a fantastic guide. She took us to 3 main restaurants plus a food stand. Farrah is very passionate about her work and taught us so much about Malaysian cuisine and traditions. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Charles by far provided us with the best experience in Malaysia. From the moment he picked us out of the crowd as the tourist that he would be escorting around to the moment he graciously dropped us off at our hotel instead of the meeting place like we thought. He provided us with the opportunity to taste the culture of Malaysia. I thought as a vegetarian, my experience would be slighted, but he took care to include dishes that I could partake in. He was kind, funny and we felt safe. In addition to being a vegetarian we had our toddler with us who was in a mood. She was being rather unfriendly and if I were the tour guide I would have ignored her. Instead, it appeared that Charles made it his mission to win her over which he did by the end of the night. We enjoyed the food, was never forced to eat or try anything and the food was plentiful. We were forced to wave the white flag as Charles was prepared to keep the food rolling in. We sampled fish head curry, nasi lemak, roti, satay, fried chicken and fried ice cream just to name a few of the dishes. It was truly an experience to remember.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We went on this tour in February this year and it was the highlight of our trip in KL. Gabby was an exceptional guide/host with a hive of local knowledge and very entertaining. This is a fabulous tour taking in the Indian and Chinese quarter of KL. The day was brilliant which overran by a few hours due to the wonderful banter and information from the very special Gabby, but no one cared as we were all having such a fantastic time. This tour I cant highly recommend enough, the food is plentiful and delicious with the aromas of the restaurants divine. Don't have a large breakfast before embarking on this tour but do enjoy a brilliant day out in KL.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

john k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fabulous tour with great food and lots of local information.Charlie was fantastic. I would definitely encourage anyone visiting KL to do this tour to get an insight into the culture and food.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Graham E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Charlie was fantastic, very knowledgeable and interesting character. We had a great group and thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Gabriel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow! What a fun tour--our guides were incredibly passionate, knowledgeable and communicated easily with me and our tour group. We had a great time and were very well fed. I really felt like I experienced the culture, and wasn't a passive tourist. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

no problem at all finding the guy and the food was excellent well done Charles would highly recommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Usman C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The meal at the end with a night view of KL was most definitely the highlight of this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: KL Tower Revolving Restaurant Buffet Dinner and Central Market Night Tour

Randy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Charles was a great guide !! As we walked around he gave us a little history of the area. The food places he had set up for us to go to where GREAT !! Very easy walk, a lot of fun. Wonderful food choices

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The food was outstanding, and Charles was a delight. Despite it being a rainy night, we had an excellent time visiting various food malls, and even a walk through little India as that community prepared for Deepavali. Highly, highly recommended!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour led by very knowledgable and friendly guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guides and lots of fun and laughs. We were only sorry we had to duck off the last part through China Town to check out of our hotel and make it to the airport. We have told lots of our friends about the great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Jenny O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent Tour! Our guide, Farrah, was very knowledgeable and I appreciated the extra service especially since I brought along my 3-year old son. We were stuffed after the tour and the food was super! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Kuala Lumpur Hawker Center and Street Food Tour by Night

Colsbits99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour with a very friendly, funny and warm tour guide Charles. Slightly off the beaten track with some great choices of food and drink. Don't eat a meal too close to the tour as you are given more than enough to eat along the way!!!

Highly recommend the tour even if you normally eat at small stalls and like to eat like a local. You will not be disappointed.

Colin

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

sian682 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great guide, Gabby. Small group. We all got on and sat and ate and drank and chatted. Pretty good food and alot if it. Very interesting

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really great tour, Charles the guide was extremely knowledgable and fun, with great stories and energy. The food was delicious and we got to try a range of options, and if we wanted to a bit extra, it was no bother. All the stops were at real local places and their character added to the experience. Great value for money and would recommend to anyone...

Doing what: Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message