Kyoto ATTRACTIONS See all

Arashiyama Park

For classic Kyoto in a nutshell, head to Arashiyama Park. The perennially popular area is rich in temples and a riot of fall colors in November, with pink cherry blossoms in April. The park area embraces several major sights, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

karumichan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a great introduction to Arashiyama. My tour guide, Koji, was very welcoming and gave an excellent overview of the area. We overshoot our time a bit because we were having some great conversation with lots of sharing of the differences in our culture, in between the stories and information of the sights and sounds we experienced in the 3-4 hour tour, as we went around the main Arashiyama area. I think the tour is worth the money you pay for it. The food will keep your tummy happy and having someone as knowledgeable as Koji walking beside you and ensuring that you are well taken care of every step of the way makes this an enjoyable and must-do experience.

Koji's english is great and he understands english very well. So the exchanges and chit -chat was quite lovely.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Walking Food Tour

Gagandeep K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a beautiful and tasty tour. My lovely guide Kimi made my day! It was easy to get to the JR station and Kimi was waiting for me. It turns out that I was the only person for the tour that day. I was happily surprised that they did not cancel the trip! Kimi and I walked around Arashiyama looking at beautiful sights, learning more about Japanese culture and architecture, and tasting diverse foods. I tasted yuba sashimi not a big fan, various types of pickles tasty!, fresh rice cake delicious, delicious pancake, shaved ice, and several other foods. Walking through the temples, across the river, through the bamboo grove, and the residential neighborhoods was such a delight. I feel I got a good idea of the touristy part of Arashiyama which is beautiful, of course but also the regular day to day life/culture of Arashiyama residents. Kimi was a delightful personal tour guide who answered all my questions. This was my favorite tour in all the ones I did in Japan Kyoto and Tokyo. Kimi also made sure I got the correct ticket for the Torokko the romantic train ride - highly recommend you do it!. In addition to this Kimi also took photos of me throughout the day and the company e-mailed me the photos within a couple days - wow -- I did not accept this Above and Beyond service - It was a pleasant surprise. All in all, an absolutely lovely day with Kimi and this tour. I highly recommend this tour and checking out the Arashiyama area.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Walking Food Tour

Randi A A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very fun and delicious walk through Arashiyama and Sagano. The small group made the tour very personal and our tour guide Kimmi was friendly, informative and funny. A terrific combination of sightseeing, walking and eating.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Walking Food Tour

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I signed up for this tour as part of my free third day activities on the 3-day Mt. Fuji, Kyoto and Nara tour.
The tour was started at New Miyako at 8:45 and I was led to the Kyoto station across the street to board a local train to Arashiyama. It was cherry blossom week and it was very crowded. You would be amazed by some of the sceneries and temples in this region. The tour concluded at 1PM and you would have option to return to Kyoto with tour guide or to explore the city on your own thereafter. This tour is very efficient but you will have to walk through out. I highly recommend this tour especially during the cherry blossom season.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Jacqueline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This rickshaw tour was such a great way to explore the Arashiyama district. Our rickshaw driver Mayu was just lovely and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour, it is such a great way to experience the local area and the bamboo forest.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First class. Great Trip. Arashiyama was lovely and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A friend and I were visiting Japan and decided to check out this rickshaw ride in Kyoto. We had never ridden an old fashion rickshaw and figured such a ride would at the very least make for a great and humorous story. Based off a friend's recommendation, we chose the Arashiyama tour on the west side of Kyoto. To begin, the tour was incredibly beautiful. Bamboo forests, cherry blossoms, ancient temples and a scenic river line the entire route. The tour lasted a little bit over 2 hours, which seems long, but flew by given all we saw, learned, and laughed about with our guide. Secondly, our guide was great. He spoke English pretty well and had great stories and banter--he use to be a tank driver in the Japanese army and was also a sous chef in Toronto. He also recommended food in the area, which we took him up on and had a dinner that was another highlight of our trip. And of course knew the history behind the area we were touring very well. The three of us laughed and joked quite a bit the whole time. Finally, they took most hilarious pictures of our whole trip. The also met us at the train station, which was nice given that we didn't know Kyoto particularly well.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Anny Wang Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was initially skeptical of the tour as we began. It involved taking the local train and a lot of walking. I have no problem doing either, but coulldn't see the value of the tour. However, as the tour went on, it became clear that the value lay in the amazing tour guide and the intimacy of the small group. Our guide, Michiharu, was very knowledgeable about Kyoto and Osaka, but particularly about Arashiyama. He was able to give us full histories on all the sights we saw and answered any questions we posed to him. During the slower parts of the tour, such as on the train or walking from one sight to another, he was able to recommend us to various sights tailored to our interests. He pointed my boyfriend, an avid martial artist, to the Budo Centre, where we spent the rest of the day. However, Arashiyama is amazing, and we went back the next morning. If you are able, stay the whole day!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Vega R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Arashiyama is a western suburb of Kyoto, so we took the train to get there. Once there, we walked through the streets of the town, admiring personal shrines put up by people living there, to Tenryoji Temple. We walked through the botanic garden, which has signs identifying the various plants. Next we walked to the bamboo grove and on a path through the forest of bamboo on our way to the Jojakkoji Temple. We walked past a lake and then up many sets of steps getting to the temple, then up more steps to get to the pagoda, then up more steps to get to a vista point overlooking Kyoto. Heading back, we walked past the Suminokura Ryoi statue on our way to the river. At the river, those people on the tour who had purchased the package including lunch on a boat waited for a boat, while the rest walked along the river to the Togetsukyo Bridge. The tour guide gave us our return train tickets and stayed with the group having lunch on a boat. We then walked along the street in this touristy area and found a place with pizza for lunch, next to a souvenir ship. After lunch we walked across the Togetsukyo Bridge to the Iwatayama Monkey Park. After leaving the park, we walked back to the train station. It was a very pleasant day, and we enjoyed the pace of the tour.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Theresa O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Lots of walking and lots of stairs to walk up and down. My only negative comment is that we were asked to use our JR pass from Kyoto to Arashiyama and did not get a rebate on the price we paid. I had asked before I left Canada and was told there is no rebate.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Joanne W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We really enjoyed our trip to Arashiyama. Its a beautiful town with so much to offer. Great scenery and walks along the river, through the town and of course the bamboo and gardens. Our guide Mitch was really informative and made the trip interesting. Id definitely recommend the this trip.

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message