The refined traditional arts of Japan are highlighted for visitors at Gion Corner, an entertaining and informative nightspot. From tea ceremony to the twang of the Koto, Ikebana floral arranging to puppet plays, Gion Corner dramatizes and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic and special experience. This was a once in a lifetime excursion, expensive but boy was it worth it. My family (4 of us with a 15 and 11 year old) were met at our hotel and transported by taxi to the GIon district. We were taken to a private room in what was clearly an authentic Japanese restuarant and treated like royalty. Course after course was brought out to us whilst we were entertained by a Maiko. We were able to ask any questions, learning a lot about Japanese culture and the life of the Maiko and Geisha. It was just wonderful. The food was not always entirely to our palate (lots and lots of fish) but that just added to the overall sense that we had stepped back in time. If you have the opportunity ... Do it.

Doing what: The Art of the Geisha: Private Dinner in Kyoto

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cultural walking tour was fun and enjoyable and very relaxed and easy while taking in the history and cultural of Buddhist and Shinto temples as well as Gion and history of geishas. Great trip and experience Lulu and assistant were fantastic!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

davebaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour. Our guide Mari was excellent and informative. Loved Fushimi Inari Shrine although would have liked to have gone to the top but given the length of the tour and other places to go it was not possible. I will return to Japan to complete this. Gion is definitely another highlight and a fascinating insight.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Dimitrios M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice introduction to Kyoto culture. Very efficiently organise and great hospitality and tour from June.
It would have been better if we had some more time to stroll in Gion. The best part was the tea ceremony.

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to spend a night in Kyoto! Pick up was easy and very efficient. The show was great however would have been better if we'd arrived a bit earlier when we got there the only seats left were at the back and we couldn't really see the stage our guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable of the Gion area. The dinner and tea ceremony were the highlight of the night! They gave us a tour of the tradition Japanese house, The dinner even though was all vegetarian was AMAZING!! It was great to eat traditional Japanese food. I would definitely do this tour again!

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

martinko09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to know Gion and Kyoto traditions. Food was vegetarian and amazing!!!!

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour to get to know a bit of a Japanese culture. Unlike castles and museums this needs to be witness with real life commentary. Our guide was excellent. Worth the money spent. Definitely recommend - and it's walking - great way to soak in atmosphere of Nara, Gion and Kyoto.
Guide knew what he was talking about, his English was good and tour was well planned. All fees included but the return to Kyoto train station taxi - ca. JPY1,200

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lauraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour, perfect way to find my feet in Kyoto!
Our guide Lulu was warm and engaging and very Smiley and happy to help in anyway.
The pace and size of the tour was great and finishing off in the Gion district at dusk works well for dinner after! We saw 9 Geishas! Only recommendation would be a 20-30 minute stop somewheere for a coffe or beer, all the others in the group felt the same pretty much about that!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Kyoto one of my favourite places. Gion district Cultural Tour a must for everyone, so much history to see and it shows how the normal Japanese live. Very clean city as is all of Japan. Tour guide absolutely amazing and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Melanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Took this tour on our first day in Kyoto and it's a really great introduction to this lovely city. Our guide Terin was very engaging and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the afternoon visiting Tofukuji temple, Fushimi Inari shrine and the Gion district. Highly recommended for those visiting Kyoto on limited time.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Norman R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We took this tour two weeks ago and it was one of our highlights of our whole Japan trip - a very informative day out around some of the temples and shrines of Kyoto, ending up in Gion spotting geiko and meiko - if you don't know the difference, go on this tour and you'll learn. Great fun. Special mention for our tour guide, Terin, a young American guy who was very knowledgeable and extremely accommodating with his tour-guests I had a bad ankle, and he was continually making sure I was OK and felt part of the group - top marks! - he was good fun to be with and gave just enough information not to cause overload - just right. At the end of the tour he went out of his way to help us get where we needed to go. Brilliant.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

David F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Didn't know quite what to expect with the Gion by Night tour. The theater performance was enjoyable. I was especially impressed with the dance of the maiko. The dinner and tea ceremony was great too, although it seemed a little rushed at the end.

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Laura M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

As someone with a previous interest in the culture of Japan, I found this to be a great evening. The tour guide was excellent and she ran things very smoothly. The performances in Gion Corner were fantastic, and we were convinced we had made the right choice when as we left, the queue had reached the outside of the theatre! We had had it almost to ourselves!
The tour continued with a traditional tea ceremony, where the symbolism was all explained to us, and we rounded the night off with tempura.
All in all a fantastic tour, and all the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

SALLY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great experience and we loved our guide who took the time to answer all the kids questions. We learned a lot about the temple and shrine we visited. It was fun approaching from the backstreets on foot rather than pulling up on a coach. Gion was fun and we spotted 4 elusive Geisha!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour with a very knowledgable guide. Visiting fushimi inari was a dream come true. Spotted a geisha in Gion to top it off.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Clayton K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a very good tour. Performance was nice, walk in Gion district was pleasant. We enjoyed the tea ceremony and dinner. Everyone spoke English well. This was the best tour we had in Kyoto. We highly recommend the tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic. Saw a bit if culture , a bit if the Gion and had a great experience with dinner. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We actually even saw a Gion parade festival passing by the street on our way to the other Gion side flew here we would experience feudal times of tea ceremony.

The theatrical experience was most enjoyable which showed various arts of Japan in a nutshell.

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Sherry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour! Directions were clear on where and when to meet at a hotel different from where we were staying. Our guide was prompt, organized and well-prepared. Taxis drove us to the Gion area - exactly like we pictured it. We were part of a medium-sized group, yet our guide tried to make sure everyone could hear her. She explained the traditional show before it began so we would know what to expect. Although she had a schedule to keep, she was kind to give us a moment to snap a photo many times. The traditional dinner was delicious (although some in the group were. to as adventurous to try's something different), and the tea ceremony was so informative! (Loved learning about the special little door). Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Gion by Night: Culture Performance with Dinner

Troy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a small group of two families and both of us had small children in prams. Keep in mind that there is a lot of walking.
Our guide was Ramon, who was friendly and informative He provided a different slant on the Japanese culture that you would have otherwise got from a larger more corporate tour company.
The tour features a temple and shrine as well as well as the backstreets of Gion. We would have never found these places by ourselves. Our guide had spent some time overseas so had a great take on western life compared to Japanese life and narrated the tour well and in a funny way.
After the tour concluded our guide walked us back to the bus stop to get back to Kyoto Station. We were lucky to catch the express bus and I understand the normal one would have taken a while. It’s too far for taxi so remember to grab the express bus. Well recommended and a highlight of our trip to Japan.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Collie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fabulous from start to finish. We even saw three geisha girls in the Gion district. The Gion district was amazing and we were walking down the cobbled alleyways in the moonlight. Fabulous experience!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Elizabeth P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic and definitely a highlight of our time in Kyoto. Our guide Kumiko was very knowledgeable and informative, easy to understand and funny. We learnt a lot about the New Year traditions, the Kyoto way of life, the geisha traditions, Japanese food (we really enjoyed the Japanese sweet shop in Gion!). The small group made it easy to ask lots of questions. All of the tour sightseeing was amazing and my favourite was the Fushimi Inari shrine which every visitor to Kyoto must visit! Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Leslie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and it was more than we expected. Our tour guide was wonderful and she went to great lengths to make sure we spotted a geisha in Gion. Our walking tour with her was also fantastic and we really enjoyed the local feel of the walk. The sweets we're were given were also enjoyable.
Loved this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Panda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Lovely way to see Kyoto. Our guide, Kaz, was fun and informative. Because the group is small (there were 6 of us), it was much more enjoyable then parading along with a larger bus tour. We enjoyed chit chatting with one another as we strolled along. I was staying in Gion and that is also the last stop of the tour so it worked out well for me. I just walked a couple of blocks to my hotel. We did spot Maiko too!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Chris Hord Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is perfect tour for first time visitor to Kyoto since it shows you the best places to see in this old city. We went to the most popular area Gion and met Geisha on the main street in Gion and then we went to try the traditional Japanese dishes in one of the restaurants in Gion by ourselves. Our tour guide also took us to the theater which has daily shows for tea ceremony, Geisha show and other traditional show. If you do not want to pay expensive meal to see Geisha show, this theater is the most economic way to see Geisha show.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message