Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1431 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic and special experience. This was a once in a lifetime excursion, expensive but boy was it worth it. My family (4 of us with a 15 and 11 year old) were met at our hotel and transported by taxi to the GIon district. We were taken to a private room in what was clearly an authentic Japanese restuarant and treated like royalty. Course after course was brought out to us whilst we were entertained by a Maiko. We were able to ask any questions, learning a lot about Japanese culture and the life of the Maiko and Geisha. It was just wonderful. The food was not always entirely to our palate (lots and lots of fish) but that just added to the overall sense that we had stepped back in time. If you have the opportunity ... Do it.

Doing what: The Art of the Geisha: Private Dinner in Kyoto

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

FabianoKM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately I forgot the name of the tour guide, but he was very funny and gave us great information of the places and the landscape until we got there. The temples were beautiful and deserve a visit, specially Todaiji with the massive statues.
The deer park is at the same place of Todaiji temple, and there is plenty of time to visit the temple and to play with the deers. They sell special cookies to give them, so if you buy the cookies, be ready to have a lot of deers gathering around you and maybe even biting lightly your clothes. It can be scary, but it's a fun experience! For those not willing to take such risk, there are deers laying around and taking naps, so you can gently approach and cherish them.
Unlike other bus tours, this one didn't feel rushed. We felt we had enough time to visit the places and take great pictures.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Cheryl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful tour. It was a fantastic peek into Japanese history, and Yuki our guide was very informative. There was a bit of walking but it is manageable for elderly people with creaky bones. The drop off at the end of the half day tour can be at the Handicraft Centre. Another couple of hours spent perusing the three floors of gifts to take home.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Kelly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was such a high quality experience. Loads of fun to meet the other dinner guests, and the maiko themselves were beautiful and very graced in conversation. I recommend it for everyone!!

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Anne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. The cooking class was first rate . I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

felixfvm1980

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great. Pick-up-point is easily reachable. Just be aware of the circumstance, that the Kyoto station is big. It might take some time to find your way through it.

The attractions were awesome. The guide was friendly and from a persoective of knowledge ok.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

felixfvm1980

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome experience! It made the whole trip to Kyoto beeing more than just a sight seeing tour - esspecially if you are interested in martial arts and in Japanese history a little.

I strongly recommend the two hour lesson. It contains a brief introduction, basics, foto session, short coreography.

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day that I went on was beautiful and perfect. Our guild was good, vary knowledge and quite funny too. Its is actually hard to explain how awesome this tour was. All I can say is that I got some amazing photos and memories!!!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had a LOT OF FUN!!! I loved samurai's since I was a kid from watching old movies and cartoons shows, so getting to dress up like one was cool. They give you a couple of gifts at the end, they're small but they're still gifts.

All around I had a great time!!!

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Got to see everything I wanted to in a short space of time and I was well informed about each location by a very friendly tour guide. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Catharine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was excellent, informative, kind and patient. We thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

felixfvm1980

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great! Highlight was the Kinkaku-Ji temple. I felt like in a fairytale.

The guid was friendly and provided us with Basic informations. regarding the time this was fine for me.

The transition between the morning and afternoon tour was way too long.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Cathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day at Himeji, made all the more special by our guide Tyco. She was very knowledgable, liked a laugh and interacted so well. Himeji castle is a magic place and a must see. Akashi bridge is nice but a filler really. I would just do Himeji castle.

Doing what: Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Kyoto

Michael O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good quick overview of Kyoto on an extremely hot day

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

shobetata

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

William M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great guides, good overall - but could have used more variety in the places visited.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

hugo g

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting and well done - little short though

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was a good introduction to Kyoto. The lunch break of two hours was too long . The food was good and plentiful.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Nicolas M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good personal approach.

Guide seemed a little shy during the introduction but I think it was due to waiting on some no shows. Tour at the market very good with lots of specific and interesting information on the food that would be impossible to know without the inside information.

Sake tasting OK but somewhat basic an quick.

Cooking class very hands an by nice lady. We wouldn't have minded that it would be longer with more dishes.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Frieda B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The staff were informative. It was unfortsunate that itwas stormy during our tour. We were most impressed with Nara.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Mary E O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour hour and ten minute lunch hour was way too much for the full day tour. You just sit in the middle of nowhere waiting for the rest of the tour to continue. And the lunch buffet was a lot of fried food that sat under lights for way too long...not enjoyable at all.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Blanche L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Groups were too large... not everyone can hear what is being said all the time, or most of the time because of how large the huddle was

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Bronte E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great, gave lots of information, and took us to some amazing places, my favourite being the Golden Pavilion. Highly recommended, especially if only in Kyoto for a short amount of time, but still wanting to see some of the famous landmarks.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message