Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bronte E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great, gave lots of information, and took us to some amazing places, my favourite being the Golden Pavilion. Highly recommended, especially if only in Kyoto for a short amount of time, but still wanting to see some of the famous landmarks.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Lois W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hosts were warm and friendly and very informative

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Alan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very good, allowing plenty of time for siteseeing. The guide spoke excellent English and was most helpful. At the end of the tour, we were returned to our hotel on the tour bus.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

jali2005office

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A brilliant evening - not to be missed. The dinner, food, entertainment, games and learning about the Geisha was just amazing. A very entertaining evening. Loved particularly that we got to speak with both the Geisha and Maiko - felt very privileged. It really gave me an appreciation of Japanese culture and left me with a little hope that some of the worlds specialness was being preserved.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Basel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The tour guide was fantastic, knowledgeable, and very organised

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Bradford B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were looking forward to this experience and it did not disappoint. The people were friendly and the instructor did a nice job mixing instruction with stories and jokes. It was a good introductory experience into Samurai sword techniques and movements.

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Santa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was fantastic. Tour guide's English was excellent. The tour company was very accommodating. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Gianni S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The maiko performance and Kaiseki dinner in Kyoto was one of our favorites from our trip to Japan. We enjoyed every minute of the experience, from the elaborate multi-course meal to the ryokan setting and the maiko dance and drinking games. It was an amazing experience and definitely a key highlight for our vacation. It's something we would do again for sure.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great class! The instructor really went went out of her way to make me feel welcome. She guided me through all the dishes and shared the meal with me. I really enjoyed this class!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Bradford B United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A very well done performance. It is like a multi act play. They come out and discuss the meaning in English of each upcoming demonstration. The movements and techniques are great to watch. Good for groups or individuals. Friendly courteous staff.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Neil H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall the tour was very good. What prevents me from giving it 5 stars was that there was a long 2 hour break for lunch when we were essentially left in a mini shopping mall. Though the lunch was included it was cafeteria style and not that exciting. Aside from that the morning and afternoon tours were great. The tour guides were different in the morning versus the afternoon and had their own unique style but that kept things entertaining. I think we covered about as much as possible in the time provided aside from the lunch delay.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was knowledgable, and the market we explored with her was fascinating. The brewery was similarly interesting, with samples of delicious beer and sake. We learned a lot about Japanese food and beverages, including the sake-brewing process. Finally, the cooking class was very fun and we produced simple, delicious food under the guidance of a patient instructor. This was a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

thprakash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was informative and humorous. We had a fun day trip, saw all the important locations in a day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was absolutely amazing, but at the end of it, we were absolutely exhausted, but well worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Mickeychuchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour and it covered all of the places that I wanted to see in Kyoto in one day. Kyoto is not a place like Tokyo that one can just take the subway and get to places, so this tour really helped make visiting these famous places in Kyoto easy and comfortable. The tour guides were helpful and knowledgeable too! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Wen Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my boyfriend didn't bring a big luggage to trip so we couldn't buy any sake, but the owner did not mind and still be very polite and welcoming. We are going to buy some of their own branded sake next time.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time! Saw more than we would have walking around and the staff was very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Leroy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great experience and met some nice people.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Alain G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kelvin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was both informative and humourous. I believe his name was Yasutoke sp?. Made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

jbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a lot of fun! The instructor and other staff were all very helpful and spoke excellent English. Definitely a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Kellie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! June was friendly and informative and the views and scenery were fabulous. A big highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing!!! Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message