Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1532 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paula c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour, very well organized!! Kyoto was amazing, especially the Golden Pavilion. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour when time is tight. Great guide, very helpful and happy. Thank you.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

I G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Everything was breathtaking! We also had time to see everything, the guide made sure we tied everything perfectly. I will definitely book again! And I highly recommend Viator, you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

lisabadovinac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was so wonderful. It was moving and historical. Our guide was fabulous and so knowledgeable. We loved the island-- lovely and fun. Great tour overall!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

Sandy T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Very long lunch break for 2 hours. We could've done somewhere during that time but other than that, it was a great tour. The guide speaks good English and it covers most of the important sights in Kyoto except for Fushimi Inari

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Namaste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were so IMPRESSED by the guide, she is extremely knowledgeable and very experienced in tour guiding ! This is a very very compact tour, in a short amount of time we got to see a lot of sights, the group size seems a bit big 40 people and a bit rush but nevertheless we enjoyed it and learnt a lot !!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Karin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely go to Hiroshima Peace Memorial, but try to spend more time inside the museum, to see artifacts from people who were affected. Very moving, but you need time to read all the notations on the exhibits. I was very happy to see Hiroshima has risen from the ashes and is a vibrant, modern city.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Our male guide in the morning tour was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Kirsten M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A really lovely peaceful 1 hour origami class. Just myself and my 11 year old daughter in the group so we moved quickly and made several pieces. Tomoko our tutor was a delightful lady and very kind to my daughter.
A welcome break from the hustle and crowds
We came away with a booklet of instructions.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Cultural Experience: Calligraphy or Origami Class

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best experiences I have ever had. A must. Friendly staff, knowledgeable and funny too. A wonderful experience overall. I recommend it to two more people I met along the way and they also went and had a great time. So worth it!

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Christina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family of 5 had a really wonderful time with our tour guides. We reserved 2 rickshaws and did the 1 hour tour. We highly recommend it for Fall or Spring, it was a beautiful day in Kyoto for us! We saw many attractions and they even took us further and dropped us off near the next site we wanted to visit. These men we extremely kind, friendly, and strong with great endurance...my husband is a bodybuilder and weighs a ton! Thank you Kyoto Ricksaw Tour for a fantastic experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Lauren T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Found the morning part of the tour more enjoyable then the afternoon. Imperial palace had some beautiful spots. Very interesting history. Tour guide spoke well and came out with some funny jokes. Only spent a maximum of 45-60 mins or less at each place. Lunch was a average buffet. Overall good day.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

nikask United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour in a lovely little tea house close to a stunning temple. Our guide was perfect and shared with us her secrets of 20yrs of tea service and then we all got to make our own. Great fun and the perfect way to see some Japanese culture in action and to participate.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Karen Yap

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

In general it was a good trip. A little bit rush at the Golden Pavilion but I guess it was because we need to walk about 10 min. to an alternative new entrance due to renovation.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Tin Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I love Kyoto! So much to see, and this short tour captured the wonderful sights in Kyoto. Our tour guide was very informative, and very strict with time, which is a good thing because travellers are able to see a lot and get their money's worth. I would recommend this for those wishing to explore the palaces in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

William M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

very good, saw lots of stuff

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Ashley W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Excellent morning tour and guide. We had a new guide in the afternoon and we found her difficult to hear, but the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Jane W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Organisation, timing and pick ups etc were good. Guide was quite good, once she sorted out how to work the bus microphone. Disappointed that on the day we went we only actually visited one of the 3 attractions listed the Golden pavilion because the palace was closed. Alternative shrines were interesting but a bit too much of the same thing. Would recommend the tour if you haven't got long in the city as it was a quick and efficient way to get around to several places in a short time. Guide on the second bus we transferred to on the return journey was brilliant and full of interesting information.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Jordan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Nijo Castle was closed the day we were there so we went to some temple with a rock garden instead. It should be more clear when booking that some of the places are closed.

Aside from that, the places we saw were cool, the tour guide was fun and tried to make jokes but they all fell flat. Like worse than a comedian at a high school talent show, if it was a special needs school.

Overall the value for the money was meh, it was good but not great.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Ann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highlight of the trip. It's actually very difficult to see a Geisha performance if you're a westerner. I heard a lot of the venues are members only and there aren't very many Geisha and Maiko, even in Kyoto. Prices are also extremely high. So when I saw the opportunity to partake in an organized group dinner, I jumped on it. It was magical. The ryokan that hosts it is in the heart of Gion, and looks amazing. The food was very authentic and local, and there were many courses and all-you-can drink plum shoju, beer, or sake. The performance by the Maiko and Geiko were amazing. We got to ask the Maiko questions after, and were able to get photos with them, and finally play some drinking games. They are stellar entertainers and I walked away feeling full of joy for partaking in such a magical experience.

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Regina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best tour! Knowledgeable guide, beautiful sites - superb experience

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Neftali C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great experience, I went with my boyfriend for the tea ceremony with Kimonos. It was fun being able to dress up in kimonos and taking pictures outside before we began the tea ceremony. We both learned so much about the tea experience in Japanese culture and had fun trying to make the tea ourselves afterwards. If you want to learn about the Japanese culture and like tea this is a must do and in Kyoto of all places, where Japanese green powder tea was born. It was very fun and enjoyable, I really recommend this experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great time and a helpful guide made seeing some of the highlights of Kyoto easy.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Sharon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

such an experience!

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message