Known as the cradle of Japan's cultural heritage, Kyoto was Japan's capital. Today it's the country's seventh largest city, thoroughly modern while remaining Japan's most traditional city. Get to know Kyoto with this three-day itinerary. Day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was knowledgable, and the market we explored with her was fascinating. The brewery was similarly interesting, with samples of delicious beer and sake. We learned a lot about Japanese food and beverages, including the sake-brewing process. Finally, the cooking class was very fun and we produced simple, delicious food under the guidance of a patient instructor. This was a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

thprakash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was informative and humorous. We had a fun day trip, saw all the important locations in a day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was absolutely amazing, but at the end of it, we were absolutely exhausted, but well worth it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Mickeychuchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour and it covered all of the places that I wanted to see in Kyoto in one day. Kyoto is not a place like Tokyo that one can just take the subway and get to places, so this tour really helped make visiting these famous places in Kyoto easy and comfortable. The tour guides were helpful and knowledgeable too! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Wen Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my boyfriend didn't bring a big luggage to trip so we couldn't buy any sake, but the owner did not mind and still be very polite and welcoming. We are going to buy some of their own branded sake next time.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time! Saw more than we would have walking around and the staff was very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Leroy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great experience and met some nice people.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Alain G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kelvin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was both informative and humourous. I believe his name was Yasutoke sp?. Made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

jbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a lot of fun! The instructor and other staff were all very helpful and spoke excellent English. Definitely a worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Samurai School: Samurai for a Day

Kellie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! June was friendly and informative and the views and scenery were fabulous. A big highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour

Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing!!! Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Nhon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour in all aspects.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our one hour Rickshaw tour around the Arayshiyama area was a one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. Our drivers Suguru and Kyotaro were both friendly, helpful and informative and made sure our trip was all that we were expecting. They took photos for us in great locations during the tour and managed to communicate well with us along the way with interesting pieces of information. These guys are awesome! We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day for our tour as well which really added to an all round great experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Rickshaw Tour

Kaye B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised, and a fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Kaye B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised, and a fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Morning Tour: Kyoto Imperial Palace, Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle

Kenney Oh United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time during this activity. The hosts were very gracious and took their time to make the experience of dressing in a kimono for my wife and daughter a special experience. My son and I also enjoyed dressing in traditional japanese attire. The tea master was very instructive and patient while also being flexible and pragmatic to accommodate a diverse group which included young children and elderly guests. We found the match green tea surprisingly good and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience and ritual. We would definitely recommend it to others. Even our eight and six year old found it fascinating and were thoroughly engaged throughout.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kimberley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was amazing. A dream come true to get to meet real Maiko and Geiko. They were so beautiful and so lovely to chat to and very beautiful dancers. It made my trip to Japan and so amazing to see this incredible culture. Best thing I have done on holiday :

Doing what: Maiko Performance with Kaiseki Dinner in Kyoto

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most amazing and romantic things we have done as a couple. Very different and very cool to be so deep into the culture. We loved it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Taran C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a lot of fun. Both my husband and I are very glad that we got the kimono option, it really set the tone. There was a lot of giggles and everyone was happy and cheerful. One of the guys was just too sexy when he sat showing the undergarments accidentally. It was a small group, just us and another couple. It went a little long, because we were having too much fun.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Randi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really informative guides with strong English skills. Both were charming and had a good sense of humor. Don't do full day tour lunch is terrible

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

dd04ray

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a really friendly and knowledgable guide. Well learned a lot about Hiroshima and found it extremely interesting and obviously very somber. The trip or Miyajima island was excellent as well. We very extremely impressed by the Great Torii gate in the sea and the Itsukushima Shrine was beautiful and again made interesting by our guide. Had a lovely lunch in one of the many restaurants. We would recommend this tour without hesitation.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto

dd04ray

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed the Samurai show. It was interesting to learn the history of the Samurai and really enjoyed the performance of the performers. Would recommend this Samurai performance show.

Doing what: Samurai Performance in Kyoto

Ashley R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message