It can be challenging trying to keep everyone happy and entertained when traveling with children. We've put together a few ideas and attractions that will help keep the younger members of the family entertained in Kyoto without boring the socks off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 697 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Regina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Best tour! Knowledgeable guide, beautiful sites - superb experience

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised tour with a half day in Kyoto and then a trip to Nara. Nara is totally worth doing, but I don't think you need more than half a day, so this is perfect. So glad we picked this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Svetlana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting! I did this on my first day and it really helped to plan the rest of the trip from the guide's recommendations and what I heard from fellow group members. The true value of having a guide I recognised when we ended up in the same area I visited by myself just a few hours before - on my own I missed a whole awesome shrine Fushimi Inary - i.e. an elephant in the room!, an opportunity to sample local snacks and a whole lot of very interesting history and modern day facts that I got on this tour. I am definitely doing guided walking tours from now on. Paul, the guide was great, native English speaker, he answered a lot of our questions about challenges of living in Japan for a westerner. Very very informative and enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Delia Teresa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a wonderful tour. I strongly recommend it for everyone.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Lutgadis Aso M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Guide Ms. Lulu was Very Expert and Nice

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Marie-Therese D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting temple and shrine . Particularly we learn more in details these 2 religions.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Caitlin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so fantastic! I'm so glad I was able to do it. Our guide, Lulu, was so helpful and knowledgeable and so easy to chat and get along with. It felt like we had a mate taking us around, rather than a guide just doing their job. You could really feel her passion for Kyoto and it made the tour so much more fulfilling for us. It was only a short tour, roughly 4 hours, but within that time we covered all the sites in Kyoto I wanted to see and even spot some professional Geisha at Gion! I had to travel a far distance to do this tour as I was staying in Okayama, not Kyoto itself, but I would happily do it all over again for a Viator tour in Kyoto. This tour was a fantastic way to get to know the city of Kyoto in a short amount of time. Highly, highly recommend!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

george s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Even with mobility issues, accommodations were readily available and the tour guides Superior. The in-sight, knowledge, and direction shared by the am and pm guides enriched our experience. The morning tour seemed rushed, too much to see, not enough time. Nara in the afternoon wonderful.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Deo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour with Lulu, a wonderful guide. Brought us to some parts of Kyoto that aren and #39;t usually included in the full day tours. The small group size allowed us to be more forthcoming with any questions about the sights and the beautiful culture of Kyoto.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Donna F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour and tour guide. We enjoyed every minute of it even in the rain, thunder and lightning.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Karineh G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Charming afternoon spent in the company of the deer as well as seeing some historic temples!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

S R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

graceckim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was very nice, funny, and knowledgeable. You get to see so much for the cost.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time! Really nice tour. Can only recommend it.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

alfsenk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a very comprehensive tour. We felt like we really got to know about the culture and history of Kyoto in one day. It was exhausting, but our guide seemed to be aware of that.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Karin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very meaningful day. We were met promptly, had a knowledgable guide, and visited several temples, all different, as well as the Imperial Palace. Have used Viator many times around the world, and they are reliable and take you to the best sites.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

felixfvm1980

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great. Pick-up-point is easily reachable. Just be aware of the circumstance, that the Kyoto station is big. It might take some time to find your way through it.

The attractions were awesome. The guide was friendly and from a persoective of knowledge ok.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderfull afternoon! Our guide was the best! Friendly, knowledgeable, we learned a lot. We really recommand this Tour. We did another tour with another tour operator the next day, and we were utterly disappointed. But again, great guide who made this tour an awesome experience. Sadly I forgot his name...

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Catharine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was excellent, informative, kind and patient. We thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Ermanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour and very knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

FabianoKM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately I forgot the name of the tour guide, but he was very funny and gave us great information of the places and the landscape until we got there. The temples were beautiful and deserve a visit, specially Todaiji with the massive statues.
The deer park is at the same place of Todaiji temple, and there is plenty of time to visit the temple and to play with the deers. They sell special cookies to give them, so if you buy the cookies, be ready to have a lot of deers gathering around you and maybe even biting lightly your clothes. It can be scary, but it's a fun experience! For those not willing to take such risk, there are deers laying around and taking naps, so you can gently approach and cherish them.
Unlike other bus tours, this one didn't feel rushed. We felt we had enough time to visit the places and take great pictures.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Louise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Paul was very knowledgable and friendly, we bombarded him with questions and he didn and #39;t mind this at all, giving us a lot of information. He also recommended us a brilliant place that he enjoys for dinner which we would never have found ourselves, so we were so pleased to go there.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message