Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu and rice—a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and vegetarians. This was partly due to the lack of modern refrigeration, which made popular Japanese dishes of raw ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neftali C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great experience, I went with my boyfriend for the tea ceremony with Kimonos. It was fun being able to dress up in kimonos and taking pictures outside before we began the tea ceremony. We both learned so much about the tea experience in Japanese culture and had fun trying to make the tea ourselves afterwards. If you want to learn about the Japanese culture and like tea this is a must do and in Kyoto of all places, where Japanese green powder tea was born. It was very fun and enjoyable, I really recommend this experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Xian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tea master was attentive and knowledgeable and she took heaps of photos of my mum and I wearing kimonos. Both my mum and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Lutgadis Aso M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mrs. Seiko was very expert about Japanese Tea Ceremony : She do the ceremony with beautiful way

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Mike d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour of Fushimi Inari is an amazing sight and definitely the highlight of the Shinto temples we visited during our week in Kyoto. Our tour guide, Junko, was quite facile with English and offered many helpful insights regarding the Shinto temple visit and sake brewery tour. She was also very helpful guiding us along the complicated train system to arrive at each of our destinations. The final stop at the sake bar/shop was a great opportunity sample and learn about the different sakes. The selection of sakes for purchase at the shop was also outstanding. As an added bonus, our entire tour entourage consisted only of our group of three travelers, making the experience feel quite VIP.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent introduction to Japan. We had a lot of fun, and the photos wearing
kimonos were great!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My partner and I had a surreal experience with our tea master Kimi and the other WAK women in Kyoto. I would totally recommend it to my friends and family when travelling to Japan. A must do!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

karumichan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A must-do!

The people behind the group handling this activity are very helpful, friendly and nice. They appear to be really happy to share this little piece of traditional culture with those who want to have a different kind of visitor's experience in Kyoto.

A few tips to the uninitiated:
The Kimono can be tight but small movements would really help you get to where you need to go, and do what you need to do like sitting daintily on your little stool while watching the tea ceremony
Sitting on your legs may hurt. Especially if you do it long enough. Shift positions every so often, if need be.
Go to the restroom toilet before doning the kimono.
Pay attention to what the Tea Master is sharing.

How to find the location:
The venue can be found across the street from the exit side of the Kyoto National Museum.
It is best to walk the street and look for the store. It has a red, japanese umbrella in front, and a little red sign that says WAK Japan see picture
If you find yourself staring at a shrine to your right this is in fact the Toyokuni Shrine and has reached the stop light and pedestrian line, you have in fact, missed the studio/venue. So walk back a little bit slowly and look for the sign WAK Japan.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Jade M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We attended the tea ceremony with kimono. It was fun being dressed traditionally and does add to the experience. Hosts are welcoming and lovely. Seiko is very nice and explained the tea traditions well. We had 6 person group total which took more time I prefer smaller groups max 4 to maximize info

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Natalya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was our second tea ceremony experience and we really liked it!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Jenny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Yoshie, our guide for the Market tour and Sake tasting was excellent. At the market, we purchased the ingredients for our cooking class and learned about the various foods on sale. She also taught us some small Japanese phrases to use.
Mieko, our teacher for the cooking class also was outstanding - we made dashi, miso soup, rolled egg omelette and Sushi for dinner.
The whole experience was fun and informative and our groups was only 4 people. Highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Anne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. The cooking class was first rate . I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

laura v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the owner was wonderful and the experience so real.
unbeliveable

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great class! The instructor really went went out of her way to make me feel welcome. She guided me through all the dishes and shared the meal with me. I really enjoyed this class!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Lois W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hosts were warm and friendly and very informative

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Alexander F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Completely brilliant. We loved it. We got dressed in kimono a must-do and they even had an outfit for our baby. We loved every minute and our hostess was so lovely. Very helpful and kind. A great way to experience a tea ceremony and highly recommended!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Taran C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a lot of fun. Both my husband and I are very glad that we got the kimono option, it really set the tone. There was a lot of giggles and everyone was happy and cheerful. One of the guys was just too sexy when he sat showing the undergarments accidentally. It was a small group, just us and another couple. It went a little long, because we were having too much fun.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kenney Oh United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time during this activity. The hosts were very gracious and took their time to make the experience of dressing in a kimono for my wife and daughter a special experience. My son and I also enjoyed dressing in traditional japanese attire. The tea master was very instructive and patient while also being flexible and pragmatic to accommodate a diverse group which included young children and elderly guests. We found the match green tea surprisingly good and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience and ritual. We would definitely recommend it to others. Even our eight and six year old found it fascinating and were thoroughly engaged throughout.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most amazing and romantic things we have done as a couple. Very different and very cool to be so deep into the culture. We loved it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Alain G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was knowledgable, and the market we explored with her was fascinating. The brewery was similarly interesting, with samples of delicious beer and sake. We learned a lot about Japanese food and beverages, including the sake-brewing process. Finally, the cooking class was very fun and we produced simple, delicious food under the guidance of a patient instructor. This was a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very fun! Was nice to learn a little more about Japan's cooking styles.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

robinghammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We'll never forget it, and I can't imagine an activity that can bring a foreigner closer to the Japanese.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Heather V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience, with a lot of fascinating information

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

dobrolioubov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience. A great mixture of seeing a must-see shrine, learning about culture and religion, gaining a perspective on sake brewing, and topping off with a sake tasting session that didn't lack in variety and left you feeling great.
Yoko Akamizu was our guide and she was easily the nicest person that we've come across in Japan. She went above and beyond with teaching about the country and even helped us buy baseball tickets online.
I only wish that we would've taken this tour at the start of our trip because we had so much more appreciation for everything we saw afterwards.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

baskalina c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide and the cooking teacher were great. Looking forward to trying out the recipes we learnt.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message