Traditional Kyoto food relies heavily on vegetables, tofu, and rice - a simple but elegant diet that for centuries has catered to monks and other vegetarians. Before modern refrigeration technology, popular Japanese dishes of raw fish and sushi were ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great class! The instructor really went went out of her way to make me feel welcome. She guided me through all the dishes and shared the meal with me. I really enjoyed this class!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

Lois W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hosts were warm and friendly and very informative

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Alexander F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Completely brilliant. We loved it. We got dressed in kimono a must-do and they even had an outfit for our baby. We loved every minute and our hostess was so lovely. Very helpful and kind. A great way to experience a tea ceremony and highly recommended!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Taran C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a lot of fun. Both my husband and I are very glad that we got the kimono option, it really set the tone. There was a lot of giggles and everyone was happy and cheerful. One of the guys was just too sexy when he sat showing the undergarments accidentally. It was a small group, just us and another couple. It went a little long, because we were having too much fun.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Kenney Oh United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time during this activity. The hosts were very gracious and took their time to make the experience of dressing in a kimono for my wife and daughter a special experience. My son and I also enjoyed dressing in traditional japanese attire. The tea master was very instructive and patient while also being flexible and pragmatic to accommodate a diverse group which included young children and elderly guests. We found the match green tea surprisingly good and all of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience and ritual. We would definitely recommend it to others. Even our eight and six year old found it fascinating and were thoroughly engaged throughout.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most amazing and romantic things we have done as a couple. Very different and very cool to be so deep into the culture. We loved it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Alain G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was knowledgable, and the market we explored with her was fascinating. The brewery was similarly interesting, with samples of delicious beer and sake. We learned a lot about Japanese food and beverages, including the sake-brewing process. Finally, the cooking class was very fun and we produced simple, delicious food under the guidance of a patient instructor. This was a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very fun! Was nice to learn a little more about Japan's cooking styles.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class

robinghammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We'll never forget it, and I can't imagine an activity that can bring a foreigner closer to the Japanese.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Heather V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience, with a lot of fascinating information

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

dobrolioubov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience. A great mixture of seeing a must-see shrine, learning about culture and religion, gaining a perspective on sake brewing, and topping off with a sake tasting session that didn't lack in variety and left you feeling great.
Yoko Akamizu was our guide and she was easily the nicest person that we've come across in Japan. She went above and beyond with teaching about the country and even helped us buy baseball tickets online.
I only wish that we would've taken this tour at the start of our trip because we had so much more appreciation for everything we saw afterwards.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

baskalina c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide and the cooking teacher were great. Looking forward to trying out the recipes we learnt.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Though it rained pretty bad my trip was awesome! Our guide was very knowledgeable and polite in helping us and answering any of our questions.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

alerica2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really loved this tour and our tour guide. She provided lots of information and answered all our questions. We had plenty of time to explore the areas on the schedule for this tour. Highly recommend to do if visiting Kyoto!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

jeremy.tang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My partner and I attended the two hour tea ceremony session with a tea master. They got us dressed in kimonos and were able to take traditional photos in a zen garden. We then participated in the tea ceremony learning the proper etiquette of servicing and receiving matcha. This was a great experience.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were great. Very enjoyable overall. A great way to see local Kyoto plus sake tasting plus learning to make sushi!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

jason h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

didn't know what to expect, but had and amazing experience with Tea Master Seiko She was wonderfully hilarious. Learned a lot about the customs, culture, and intricate details of making tea properly. Did not know that there was a lot of meaning attributed to a simple task of making tea. From demonstration, to having you experience it yourself. It was a pure highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Milena P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was wonderful experience with a kimono wearing and explanation about the meaning and traditions for tea ceremony.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Shannon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Dont miss out! On previous trips I have been to shrines and temples without a tour guide and I totally regretted it. So when planning my trip to Japan - I would this tour and jumped on it. You should too - you wont regret it! Our tour guide - Yoshie - was amazing. She spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge about not only the shrine and sake, but also Kyoto in general, Japan foods and culture in general. It was like spending the day with a friend. Dont miss out and request Yoshie if you can!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sitting on your knees on a tatami mat is not the most comfortable, but a small price to pay for participating in a tea ceremony. It as fascinating to learn how each movement has meaning and Kaori was beautiful to watch. Take the opportunity like I did to make a cup of tea. Definately worth it.

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

Marise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour. The people were very helpful and lovely. My daughter and I had a fantastic time

Doing what: Japanese Tea Ceremony with a Tea Master

martinko09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great way to get to know a typical household and connect with the chef/teacher. This experience was more about getting to know the chef/teacher and eating an amazing home cooked meal. A recipe book and a few small gifts were given at the end to make sure I knew how to cook everything again!

Doing what: Private Sushi and Tempura Cooking Class at a Local Kyoto Home

Karyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We travelled as a group of 6 adults aged between 19-53 on this wonderfully engaging and interactive tour. Although it went for several hours we were sad to say goodbye. We had knowledgeable women walk us around the back blocks of Kyoto proudly showing us their markets, their special foods, their magnificient department store produce, then a very interesting insight and educational session on the making of sake and finally a delicious dinner partly prepared by our group pf 12 but under the expert guidance and care of the most beautiful ,humble and gentle Kyoto women. Sensational!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message