Nara, situated 26 miles (42 kilometers) outside of Kyoto in Japan's Kansai region, was the country's first permanent capital city. It's easily accessible from Kyoto by either train or bus (trains leave Kyoto twice an hour and the journey to Nara ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well organised tour with a half day in Kyoto and then a trip to Nara. Nara is totally worth doing, but I don't think you need more than half a day, so this is perfect. So glad we picked this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

george s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Even with mobility issues, accommodations were readily available and the tour guides Superior. The in-sight, knowledge, and direction shared by the am and pm guides enriched our experience. The morning tour seemed rushed, too much to see, not enough time. Nara in the afternoon wonderful.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour - this is a great way to see Nara if you are short on time.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Dean P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guides and Tour - It was very comprehensive - covering a number of sites and locations . Bring comfortable shoes and be prepared for rain. The lunch at handicrafts centre was good. Our personal highlight was the trip to Nara - Deer and Temple. - our only concern was for some older people who chose to stay on the bus at locations where walking was intensive. -

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

holidayhangover

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great full day out you see a lot on this tour and still have enough time to linger in places like Nara. Lunch was buffet style and tasty. Our tour guide Seiko pronounced psycho was fun organised and informative, Lots of photo opportunities and the highlight would have to be the deer park. Only downside was head office didn't get back to us about our transfer hotel pick up so had to make our own way to Sunrise Tour Office by bus.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kellyk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great way to see both Kyoto and Nara in one day. We happened to be there at peak Sakura time and it was just beautiful. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and very polite.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Elicia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had great fun on this Day Tour. Our tour guide Yuki is simply fantastic! She is very detail in everything she explains and bothers to guide us how to return to the meeting point. This tour is amazing especially the Nara Park with deers roaming around and those beautiful blooming Sakura trees.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Eleanor Joy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very informative. Food was yummy. Nara deer were the highlight of this tour. I have recommended this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Truly an outstanding way to see major highlights of Kyoto and Nara in a limited amount of time! My only needs improvement comment pertained to the lunch, which was far and away the worst meal of my 10 day stay in Japan cannot remember when I ate worse. Much better to simply let people off the bus in a commercial area with different options for lunch and pay their own way, rather than do the buffet that was offered.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ALOK K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour guide. A lot packed in a day, couldn't have done it without a packaged tour. Nara was the best part.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Glen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good deal for the price. Worth the day trip to Nara. Casey was my guide he was funny and had great energy.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy way to see the Nara highlights while saving yourself the hassle or to'ing and fro'ing on your own from Kyoto. Our guide was lovely and the Todaiji Temple was truly impressive!

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Laura M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was quite a busy and full on day, not helped by the heat in Kyoto on this day! The trip to Nijo Castle was highly informative and interesting, but the icing on the cake was the trip to visit the deer in Nara! There is a huge temple which we took the time to be shown around, but feeding the deer and getting them to bow to you was loads of fun.
You can buy deer biscuits for 100 yen, which contain natural ingredients and made me feel much better about feeding them.
It was a long day, probably not advisable for young children as there was a fair amount of walking involved but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Sergio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Even though Kyoto itself has a lot to offer to last for years of temple-viewing, visiting Nara was a refreshing and unique experience that was totally worth the trip. Lunch was great and the temples in Nara were pretty amazing. The tour guides both in Kyoto and in Nara were great at explaining the surroundings, context and history. I'm glad to have taken this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic. Nara was beautiful ...just as i expected Japan to be. The visit to the Shrine, Temple and Deer Park were all worthwhile.

Doing what: Nara Afternoon Tour of Todaiji Temple, Deer Park and Kasuga Shrine from Kyoto

Jeremy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was happy to be able to visit all the major spots in Kyoto and Nara in one day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Matt M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice tour. The Kyoto morning tour was very informative and hospitable. I actually enjoyed the tour despite the heavy rain. After that we were dropped off on the first restaurant for the transfer for the Nara afternoon tour. The tour guide, Ms. Itsuko, was very enthusiastic in delivering the tour from Todaiji to the Kasuga Shrine. Sunrise tours also dropped us off at our hotels. Plus points for customer service.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

kauaijess2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yumi our guide in the morning was AWESOME!!!! Great morning!!!! The afternoon to Nara was incredible!!! Lunch was ok. Great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My sister and I took the full day Kyoto and Nara trip, and it fulfilled all our expectations. The guide was knowledgeable and very helpful, the sights included were beautiful, and as a bonus, lunch was absolutely delicious. Nara was the highlight - what a gem! Our only criticism was that some of the seat belts on the bus weren't working - ours included - and no real effort was made to rectify this. Otherwise, it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

JSBerg01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Outstanding tour - fantastic way to experience Nara as an afternoon adventure

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent to both the Kyoto sights and Nara. Our morning and afternoon guides were very knowledgable, pleasant and responsible to keeping our group together.
Only downside was lack of time in Nara. I really felt rushed. On looking back we should have separated from the group and wandered on our own.
Over all the tour was great and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

ZHI WEI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed the Kyoto and Nara One day tour, the pace was not too fast and we were able to visit all the places by the recommended time. The tour guides were local Japanese who can speak good English. The lunch provided was of good quality and we are happy about the service we received.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Yashar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great day tour. don't miss Nara!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of our most fascinating tours we took in Japan. Nara is an interesting, historical, place and the tour makes the trip easy and enjoyable. The guides were great and gave us a fabulous commentary on the background of the places we visited, as well as the historical perspective. The lunch was not great, but tolerable. The trip was well planned and very comfortable. A must in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara Day Trip from Kyoto including Nijo Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message