The heart of Kyoto's sake industry lies in Fushimi, a southern area of the city. From the Fushimi Momoyama Station, it is only a short walk to the sake breweries "district." The area developed as a hub for sake making due to the famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wen Lan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my boyfriend didn't bring a big luggage to trip so we couldn't buy any sake, but the owner did not mind and still be very polite and welcoming. We are going to buy some of their own branded sake next time.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Amanda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was knowledgable, and the market we explored with her was fascinating. The brewery was similarly interesting, with samples of delicious beer and sake. We learned a lot about Japanese food and beverages, including the sake-brewing process. Finally, the cooking class was very fun and we produced simple, delicious food under the guidance of a patient instructor. This was a highlight of our time in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

dobrolioubov

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience. A great mixture of seeing a must-see shrine, learning about culture and religion, gaining a perspective on sake brewing, and topping off with a sake tasting session that didn't lack in variety and left you feeling great.
Yoko Akamizu was our guide and she was easily the nicest person that we've come across in Japan. She went above and beyond with teaching about the country and even helped us buy baseball tickets online.
I only wish that we would've taken this tour at the start of our trip because we had so much more appreciation for everything we saw afterwards.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were great. Very enjoyable overall. A great way to see local Kyoto plus sake tasting plus learning to make sushi!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Shannon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Dont miss out! On previous trips I have been to shrines and temples without a tour guide and I totally regretted it. So when planning my trip to Japan - I would this tour and jumped on it. You should too - you wont regret it! Our tour guide - Yoshie - was amazing. She spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge about not only the shrine and sake, but also Kyoto in general, Japan foods and culture in general. It was like spending the day with a friend. Dont miss out and request Yoshie if you can!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Karyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We travelled as a group of 6 adults aged between 19-53 on this wonderfully engaging and interactive tour. Although it went for several hours we were sad to say goodbye. We had knowledgeable women walk us around the back blocks of Kyoto proudly showing us their markets, their special foods, their magnificient department store produce, then a very interesting insight and educational session on the making of sake and finally a delicious dinner partly prepared by our group pf 12 but under the expert guidance and care of the most beautiful ,humble and gentle Kyoto women. Sensational!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Demitrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although there was a mistake at the start of the tour and we were left behind, when I phoned the tour operator they were very apologetic and searched through the busy Nishiki markets to find us only knowing what colour clothing we were wearing. We were reunited with the tour group and went to the Sake Museum and the Cooking Class. We were generously refunded for the part of the tour we missed.

I highly recommend this tour operator. Although there was a mistake with the booking they did all that they could to reunite us with the tour group. The Cooking Class was a great experience.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

RONALD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were looking for a tour that offered a cultural experience of Japan and felt this tour experience looked to meet what we were seeking. We began with a tour of the Nishiki Market. Our tour guide Yosie, was excellent and knowledgeable about the foods and products available at the market. She taught us how to ask in Japanese for items to be used in our cooking class. Thie tour enabled us to see products and vendors we wanted to spend more time visiting. We were able to return to the market for shopping the next day to visit some of the vendors we wanted to spend more time shopping.
We then walked to the sake tasting. Since Yosie had been educated on sake brewing, she was able to share interesting insights about the sake and brewing process.The highlight was to taste the sakes and beer .
Our next stop was the machiya, where the cooking class would take place. Mieko was our teaching chef, who walked us through preparing miso soup, spinach salad with roasted sesame seed dressing, and maki sushi. We watched demonstrations and took part in some of the cutting and assembly. The result was a delicious dinner.
A couple notes for the experience. The directions to meet our guide were not provided and required calling the listed number for questions. Second, there is a bit of walking through out the tour sidewalk walking that might be difficult for some.
The entire experience was excellent and we recommend it for anyone.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

nebisu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Arrived at WAKJAPAN offices for start of our Sake Brewery Tour. Was pleasantly greeted by a charming Japanese lady sorry, I don't remember her name, who was key to this positive review. She escorted us by taxi to Matsui Sake Factory. Note: My husband and I were the only members of the group so it was essentially a private tour. Our tour guide at the factory, Shigeki Matsui, was terrific. He spoke perfect English and was very informative. He showed us the processes in the brewing of sake. We actually got to see inside of a fermentation vat! Really cool! Previous to tour, we knew nothing about sake after, we had a basic understanding of the differences between rice wine and grape wine production. After the tour, we got to taste around 6 different types of sake, with very generous pours. We even got seconds of a couple that we liked! We walked away with a bottle of our favorite. We were limited by USA customs laws about bringing back alcohol. After the tour, our WAKJapan tour guide walked us to the train station and even took the train with us and told us where to get off! Along the way, she talked to us about what we were passing and answered any questions we had. Great service! Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband and I took this tour with Yoshie in August. This was a great day, and Yoshie was an excellent guide. At the Fushimi Inari shrine, she talked us thriugh many of the traditions and rituals,,as well as the shrine's history and cultural significance, which really elevated the experience for us as compared to other shrines we visited on our own in Kyoto. She also walked us through the sake-making and -tasting process and told us some great stories about the sake brewing district of Kyoto. She kept us on schedule without any stress or fuss, had a great sense of humor, and was obviously incredibly knowledgeable about the subjects of the tour. I would highly recommend this tour to others!

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed, our guide was really good taking photos etc. The amount of Sake tasted was generous and the brewery master was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

howtaobrowncow United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this small brewery tour of the Matsui Shuzo Brewery. They've been around for a couple of hundred years, and supply many of the local shrines, and for good reason. The brewery staff and master brewer were super nice, and the sake was really excellent I bought a couple of bottles of my favorites to keep me company during the remainder of my trip. The tour guide, Ms. Kinoshita, was terrific she was very knowledgeable about sake and about the local area, her English was very good, and she was excellent company during the tour. I had a terrific time.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour. Our tour guide was great and gave us some interesting information. The Fushimi Inari is very scenic with an interesting history. Loved the sake tasting and museum tour. A great half-day tour.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Marjorie T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour through the Nishiki market was great, discovering the various types of preserved vegetables and fish was interesting and fun to look at. The artistry and creativity of the candies and all the foods was amazing. Our sake tasting was very educational and well done. The cooking class was so much fun and Yayoi did a fantastic job teaching us how to make miso soup, a delicious sesame dressing for our spinach salad and the trick to making rolled sushi. A big highlight for our family of 4! Domo Arigato Gozaimashta!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this tour! My husband and I ended up being the only ones on our particular tour, but that actually worked out great! Our tour guide was fantastic and I learned so much about the history of the market and the things we were buying. It was fun to pick out ingredients and ask for them in Japanese. The sake tasting was a lot of fun, too, and it was even cooler to see the historic area where it was made.

The cooking lesson really topped it off for me, though I had a great time! I already really love to cook, and I had tried a few things already with minimal success. Our teacher was really nice, and was able to show me how do things better or more neatly. I really can't wait to try cook everything at home. Dessert was new for me---vanilla ice cream with dark brown sugar syrup and soybean flour on top---but it might just be my new favorite.

All in all, I can't recommend this tour highly enough. I loved every minute, and hope that you will too! This tour company is amazing!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Justine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We are very glad to choose this tour. Our guide Yoshie is a certified Sake Sommelier, who is very passionate about the Sake culture as well as very helpful in answering our questions.

The Sake Brewery Matsui Brewing is highly recommended. It is small however the owner is the 15th generation who is very kind, friendly and well knowledgable. We also visited other bigger brewery, we are very glad that we have visited Matsui.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Tomoko and her assistant Rita were excellent. First the basics. The meeting place was easy to find, the train transportation went smoothly, and they were both helpful with taking pictures. The mix of history, culture and sake tasting was just what we were looking for. Fushimi Inari Shrine is beautiful and Tomoko helped direct us to several spots off the beaten path that were less busy and allowed us to see the true magic of the site. But even more important Tomoko is an International Kikisaki-shi sake sommelier! Her knowledge of sake, food pairings and what makes good vs. great sake is wonderful. She provided us with materials on sake types and parings that I have kept to help guide my purchases back home. The tasting done in a regular liquor store, not a tourist trap included both aged sake and unpasteurized sake neither of which are really available outside of Japan. We bought two bottles of sake but there was no pressure to do so. Thank you to the tour company, Tomoko, and Rita for a wonderful Kyoto experience.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

June D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour! We were lucky enough to be the only two on this tour, with a guide who spoke excellent English. Fushimi Inari is a fascinating place, and our guide explained all the customs and traditions as we wandered through. Afterwards to the Sake Brewery museum and store with plenty of tastings was a nice way to finish off the tour - then back to Kyoto station again by train.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Dominique V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Nobu, our guide was very nice. It was an amazing tour.
We enjoy the market tour, sake distillery without a feeling of being rushed.
The cooking class was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a private experience as my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. With most sake production, it is a small, modern operation. The owner was very generous with his time, gave us the history and background of sake production, and answered all our questions. The sake tasting was excellent. Of course it is set up to tempt you to buy, but we had no problem with that!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Laura Rose I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Was really good, learned a lot, and got to indulge in some awesome sake, now I know a good sake to a bad ones! Would recommend.

Doing what: Fushimi Inari and Sake Brewery Tour

Joyce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nobu our guide was nice and helpful, good English ! The walk through the market a wonderful experience. Then the brewery was Ok, a pity is not a working one but the sake tasting was good. And then the cooking was so much fun!!! We shared with a charming Vietnamese girl. We learned and had fun !!!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

rainerice Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was just my girl and I and had a blast. Great sake and very informative.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Sake Brewery Tour with Sake Tasting

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another fantastic experience w/ the ladies of the Women's Assn. of Kyoto. Tour included the market, an historic tea shop, local craft stores, and sake tasting. Our guide was patient w/ our many questions. Our cooking instructor was attentive, inclusive, and an excellent teacher. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Dilip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip worth evry cent. The tour guide was well informed about myriad Japanese delicacies on display at the Nishiki market and our small group of eight people. At the sake outlet we tasted quality sakes and ended up buying a bottle for the cooking class. The cooking class gave us hands on experience at sushi-making. Our teacher was very clear in her explanations and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our experience, We will recommend anyone to take this tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Cooking Class, Sake Tasting and Nishiki Food Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message