For many travelers, Kyoto represents the highlight of a trip to Japan, thanks to its rich history and beautiful architecture. Whether you have one day or one week in Kyoto, don't miss these city highlights. Nijo Castle Built in 1603, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 847 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Svetlana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting! I did this on my first day and it really helped to plan the rest of the trip from the guide's recommendations and what I heard from fellow group members. The true value of having a guide I recognised when we ended up in the same area I visited by myself just a few hours before - on my own I missed a whole awesome shrine Fushimi Inary - i.e. an elephant in the room!, an opportunity to sample local snacks and a whole lot of very interesting history and modern day facts that I got on this tour. I am definitely doing guided walking tours from now on. Paul, the guide was great, native English speaker, he answered a lot of our questions about challenges of living in Japan for a westerner. Very very informative and enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Lutgadis Aso M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Guide Ms. Lulu was Very Expert and Nice

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Marie-Therese D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A good tour to have a global view of Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Marie-Therese D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very interesting temple and shrine . Particularly we learn more in details these 2 religions.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

mk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great tour.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Caitlin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so fantastic! I'm so glad I was able to do it. Our guide, Lulu, was so helpful and knowledgeable and so easy to chat and get along with. It felt like we had a mate taking us around, rather than a guide just doing their job. You could really feel her passion for Kyoto and it made the tour so much more fulfilling for us. It was only a short tour, roughly 4 hours, but within that time we covered all the sites in Kyoto I wanted to see and even spot some professional Geisha at Gion! I had to travel a far distance to do this tour as I was staying in Okayama, not Kyoto itself, but I would happily do it all over again for a Viator tour in Kyoto. This tour was a fantastic way to get to know the city of Kyoto in a short amount of time. Highly, highly recommend!!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Deo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour with Lulu, a wonderful guide. Brought us to some parts of Kyoto that aren and #39;t usually included in the full day tours. The small group size allowed us to be more forthcoming with any questions about the sights and the beautiful culture of Kyoto.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Phil S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent tour led by very knowledgeable and informative tour guides.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

riccardo j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent value for money . guide easy going aussie. easy ride ,covers a lot of ground.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

riccardo j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent value for money . guide easy going aussie. easy ride ,covers a lot of ground.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Pallavi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

You cant ask for more! The Kyoto tour was very good! I am amazed at the effortless experience these tour operators provide us with meticulous planning!! The full day tour included the most important places out of the innumerable historical places in Kyoto. English speaking enthusiastic guide gave basic information of Japan and Kyoto in a lighter vein. We had 45 mins stop for most places that included Nijo Castle, Kinkaku-ji Temple, Buddhist temple of Sanju-Sangendo Hall and the Kiyomizu Temple that offered panoramic views of Kyoto. Kiyomizu being the last stop, we left the tour to soak in the environment. I would have liked more time in each place but that is the compromise you need to do.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Donna F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour and tour guide. We enjoyed every minute of it even in the rain, thunder and lightning.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Karineh G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All in all, a great way to see Kyoto if you only have a day. Our guide was great fun and very helpful. The most impressive place was by far the Kiyomizu-dera temple complex.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time! Really nice tour. Can only recommend it.

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Melanie Clare S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip, would recommend sound equipment when really crowded as it was impossible to hear the guide.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Melanie Clare S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Japan, absolutely fantastic !

Doing what: Private Scholar-led Kyoto Walking Tour: Shintoism and Buddhism in Japan

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Despite the rain, we were able to join many sights in Kyoto. I recommend it as a good overview of the city.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

grantkwriter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding tour of the iconic Kyoto sights. The highlights involved the Sanjusangen-do temple with its 1,000 Buddha statues and the Golden Pavilion.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Dena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing bike tour - the guide Lulu was very easy to understand, had great stories and history, and knew a lot about the places we were visiting. This tour was the highlight of my 12 day trip to Japan.

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

felixfvm1980

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was great! Highlight was the Kinkaku-Ji temple. I felt like in a fairytale.

The guid was friendly and provided us with Basic informations. regarding the time this was fine for me.

The transition between the morning and afternoon tour was way too long.

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderfull afternoon! Our guide was the best! Friendly, knowledgeable, we learned a lot. We really recommand this Tour. We did another tour with another tour operator the next day, and we were utterly disappointed. But again, great guide who made this tour an awesome experience. Sadly I forgot his name...

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Tanja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great bike tour of Kyoto and the surrounding area. We rode along the river to see three temples. Guide was wonderful and knew a lot about Kyoto and Japanese life style. Note that this was a rigorous bike ride and riding between cars and crossing busy intersections means that you should be an experienced bike rider to enjoy this. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Small-Group Bike Tour

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day that I went on was beautiful and perfect. Our guild was good, vary knowledge and quite funny too. Its is actually hard to explain how awesome this tour was. All I can say is that I got some amazing photos and memories!!!

Doing what: Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo Castle and Kiyomizu Temple

Ermanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour and very knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Half Day Small-Group Kyoto Cultural Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message