The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a highlight of our 9 day visit to Costa Rica. Extremely well planned an executed tour. People of all ages on our tour and everyone had a great time. Our guide, Adan, did a wonderful job and we felt he was always in control of our raft. Very nice lunch and the end of the day on the river was very good.

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Iris Yolanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

One of the best tours we had, The guides were excellent and provided information on the ride and the location.
Very accommodating after i fell a few times. They took us to an alternate location where we were able to enjoy the biking and lunch.

Doing what: Single-Track Mountain Bike Tour in Arenal Volcano

Berto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long drive from San Jose all the way to Arenal area, but the trip was in a very comfortable bus, so it was all good and so worth every single dime we paid for. The view of the volcano is amazing, but definitely the hot springs at the resort it was a must!!!
It's totally awesome!!!!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day Highly recommended. Dinner was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Chris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

this was super fun . great guide.

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Eliane Q

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The trip started at a stop on a large souvenir place where we bought coffee and other souvenirs,the prices were in the high end, what to expect is made for tourist, then we went to see Arenal,beautiful volcano, we went to an area what the called the Mirador, where you see the volcano from a distance , we can't get any closer, close enough for pictures and we can have a sense how big and magnificent it is. Love driving through the varies plantations, waterfalls and rivers, we end at Tabacon springs, very beautiful, nice hot water, and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves. They served a very nice dinner,buffet style,lots of choices. The bathrooms are large, showers with lockers and bathing suit drying machines.then it was a long drive back to hotel.The guide was knowledgable,organized and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Linda W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonder trip. We were a little tired when we got back to our hotel about 10:00 p.m. but it was well worth it. The transportation was a little rough. It almost felt like riding on a school bus, but the staff was great! Over all a nice trip.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a super fun outing! Totally loved it! We've been ziplining and rappelling before, so it wasn't scary. It's adventurous, but they can tailor it for many ability levels. Wish the waterfalls had been a bit more dramatic, but overall, I'd do it all again and again! The crew and guides for DeSafio Adventure Co are fantastic and they really MAKE the trip. Lunch at the end is ample and tasty, served on a nice outdoor patio. There are lockers for your things. Don't bring a camera on the outing, unless it's totally waterproof.... Prepare to get completely wet they provide towels. Wear sturdy footwear! The photos they sold as a package at the end are absolutely worth the price! Loved, loved this and would do it again.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

America D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

BEST THING TO DO IN LIFE!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

kaustic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome!! These guys were pros and had wonderful personalities. We had a great time. We would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Ashley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Talk about a fun adrenaline packed day! We had such a blast and recommend to anyone who is in pretty good physical shape and not too afraid of heights. The lunch at the end of the excursion was delicious. The tour guides were amazing! Would do this tour every trip to Costa Rica.

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so great! Between the food, the sights and the hot springs, you cannot go wrong. Please be prepared that weather is not necessarily cooperative and this is the rain forest, there may be rain and clouds. The clouds covered the volcano, but that has be a possibility to expect the guides have no control over this. The food was fantastic at both locations and I felt authentic to Costa Rica. I chose Tabacon over Baldi and other hot springs for the resort's reputation and I was not disappointed. Four hours at that paradise was more than amazing. Everything on the tour ran like a well-oiled machine. We got back later than I expected, but I didn't really care after relaxing in the hot springs, I just went right to bed at my hotel.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jesus and Juan Carlos took great care of us on this day! We learn much about the country and had a great time enjoying the beautiful Hot Springs! The meals were also delicious. Another amazing day in Costa Rica!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lucero G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Naomi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time with a nice guide.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

spaquin72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time! Want to go back!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Nardy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Our guides were a delight and they took every measure possible to keep everyone in the group safe. It was the most fun trip we did in Costa Rica!! We would definitely do this trip again!! Fun Trip, Fun Group!!!

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was scary at first but so so worth it! It was amazing and the food was delicious!!!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Steve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guides were entertaining and informative. Awesome fun for first time whitewater rafting family!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding! Well worth evry penny. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny, professional and safety conscious. My wife and were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time! It was exhilarating!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome! Had a great time, made a few new temporary friends, and faced a fear of open water all at the same time. Very safe, secure, and the guides make you feel this way the entire time. Shout to Moises, our guide, who made the trip a blast. Riding the bull! So fun!

I went by myself, and was the only solo traveler, but I quickly found a group to join so don't let that deter you. Favorite activity I did while in Costa Rica!!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message