The majestic gray cone of Costa Rica’s most famous volcano, Arenal, has the frustrating habit of veiling itself in thick clouds about 80% of the time. That’s why clever travelers plan to spend a few days in the region, patiently waiting for the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really fantastic. The lunch after a few hour bus ride was very good they gave you a choice of several options. The town of Sarchi was interesting, as well as the world's largest ox cart. The Arenal volcano was cloudy at the top the day we were there, but you could still see the volcanic black lava on one side very clearly. The hot springs was absolutely terrific, they provide you with dry towels and a medium size locker. You can turn your towel in for a dry one as many times as you want. I left my towel in my locker. The shower area was very nice and clean, but they only provided body soap so I was glad that I brought some shampoo and conditioner from my hotel. The buffet dinner afterward was equally delightful. There was a large salad bar, a hot soup, several kinds of breads, a pasta station, grilled steak, chicken, vegetables, and a dessert buffet. If I went back to Costa Rica again, I would do this tour again. Definitely worth the money, but be advised, it is a long day.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Naomi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time with a nice guide.

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

spaquin72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time! Want to go back!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Nardy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! Our guides were a delight and they took every measure possible to keep everyone in the group safe. It was the most fun trip we did in Costa Rica!! We would definitely do this trip again!! Fun Trip, Fun Group!!!

Doing what: Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna

Vipil

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good and refreshing. The travel guide was very helpful and took care of the entire group.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was scary at first but so so worth it! It was amazing and the food was delicious!!!

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Steve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guides were entertaining and informative. Awesome fun for first time whitewater rafting family!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding! Well worth evry penny. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny, professional and safety conscious. My wife and were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time! It was exhilarating!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome! Had a great time, made a few new temporary friends, and faced a fear of open water all at the same time. Very safe, secure, and the guides make you feel this way the entire time. Shout to Moises, our guide, who made the trip a blast. Riding the bull! So fun!

I went by myself, and was the only solo traveler, but I quickly found a group to join so don't let that deter you. Favorite activity I did while in Costa Rica!!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Ours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky that we were able to see it, the hot springs were the best part!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Edward N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very fun tour with enthusiastic tour guides although not all rafting guides speak conversational English so it is a little difficult to get to know some of the rafting guides. Family friendly experience. Nice fruit lunch. Very professional outfit, appear to be the most professional and organised rafting tour group in La Fortuna with largest number of tour guides and well organised hotel pick up.

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Pedro M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best experience we have ever had. Our bus were on time at the Hotel to pick us. Our guide, Super Mario, was an excellent animator and the travel to the river was very fun. Our Boat Captain, Yader, is the best guy doing this adventure, he trained us to be safe during the adventure, and we always felt safe and he make us the adventure even more safe and fun. We were the TEAM CUBA.
Bus on time at 8.25
Stop at the fruit market at 9.00
River from 10.00 o 12.30pm very fun and safe, fruit snack at 11.45am
Lunch from 1.30 to 2.30pm
Hotel at 3.30pm

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Vincent R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Bus ride took forever. Tour included lunch and dinner buffet. But to be out from 7am to 11pm for 7 minutes at a elevated view of the volcano isn and #39;t worth it.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Samuel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic rafting experience, including a delicious lunch and fruit snacks. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Jean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome time! There is a 'staircase' to hike at the end to the base camp, but most of the hike is on rocks and paths. Wear shoes and clothes to get WET! I had never rappelled before and had a great time. 57, active, and adventurous, took 20 year old son.

Doing what: Best Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Haynes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is All about the Hot Springs and the Dinner Buffet at Tabacón ☆ the mini bus while well air-conditioned the seats could use a little more padding - Our tour guide Eugene and driver Roy were wonderful, informative and safe. This is a Must Do tour every time I am in Costa Rica

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

MICHELLE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great time, Alejandro was very knowledgeable as a guide, and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs Day Trip from Guanacaste

zas07

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The sites visited were fantastic on their own but any added fun depends on tour guides and tourist group. If you research individual prices and tranport for these places you will quickly realize this is the better deal. The schedule runs as described and yes it is a really long day! But so much fun!

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Lei United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome day trip. The tour guide was very nice. The hot spring felt amazing. I would definitely do it again. Great stop to buy souvenirs. Please note: if you are scared to drive on winding roads at night take a sleeping pill on the way back. But do not miss out on this. Totally worth every penny. The drive is long but I really didn't mind.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I have differing views on vacation activities. She would prefer to relax on the beach, while I am an action junky. She surprised me by booking this tour while in Costa Rica. I'll start by saying that we loved every minute of it! The local tour company was professional, funny, and put safety first. On the way to the river, they stopped and bought tons of fresh fruit, which they cut up and served on the riverbank during a brief rest stop. We could not have asked for a better activity!

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Ana C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with an early pick up at the hotel and then a pretty lengthy ride to the Arenal park area. We stopped at Sarchi at a coop and took some fun photos and purchased souveniers. Then we had lunch at La Fortuna. The guides shared information along the way. Lunch was pretty tasty! Then we went to the Arenal area. We lucked out that it was very visible. After that, we made our way to Tabacon, which was absolutely gorgeous. It was surreal to be in the hot springs when it started raining as it created this very cool steam. Dinner at Tabacon was above average. Then we headed back for into San Jose on a three hour ride. You spend a lot of time on the van. We enjoyed getting to know our fellow travelers on the way there and all napped on the way back. You should definitely pack a swimsuit. Towels and small lockers are included at Tabacon.

Doing what: Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip from San Jose

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly

Doing what: Hanging Bridges Walking Tour in Arenal

Amanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family enjoyed this tremenously! We had a great guide with us and felt very safe. We stopped and had some delicious fruit halfway down the river and after it ended, we were taken to a delicious organic farm for a wonderful lunch. We saw sloths, iguanas and other wildlife along the way. We would highly recommend it!:

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Bill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Excellent guides. Recommended...

Doing what: Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message