Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Beatrix Potter Gallery

For over a hundred years, characters like Jemima Puddle-Duck, Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle and Peter Rabbit have made an indelible impression on children in Britain and beyond. Their creator, author Beatrix Potter, is intimately connected with the Lake ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicholas A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Quite enjoyed the tour but our driver was a little fast through the corners.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very nice tour. Our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour by Peter Fox. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and adept at getting us around the area without a hitch. The boat ride and the cream tea were nice features. It was a fabulous way to see this region in one day and still get back to London.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a brilliant trip. Driver on the minibus was very informative pointing out sites and updating us constantly on the history. Well worth the money

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Katrina G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was far more than we expected. The tour guide Joan, was very knowledgeable and may the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

jubitzbk

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

A must if your a Beatrix Potter fan. The tour is operated in the Lake District by Mountain Goat Tours. The scenery is beautiful, the day was packed with activities. Our tour guide gave great history about the area, gave us a little to explore the sites.

I gave it three stars because if you need someone to guide you from London, you'll be disappointed. Evan Evans was the local company that met us at Euston station in London. She was difficult to find, had no identifying name tag or banner. We roamed and asked people who looked official. She handed us our packet including tickets and said, Have a good time, that we would be met at the station in Kendall. A little disconcerting for those of us who have never been to England.

If you're in for a quick day trip, this is it. Otherwise book a longer trip. The area is beautiful and needs time to explore.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Virginia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely 4 1/2 hour tour around the area. Very much enjoyed this tour done nicely.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! Peter was a great tour guide. I went in April and the weather and area was enjoyable. Not overly crowded or cold! If you're worried about taking a train to and from London... 3 hours really goes by fast on the Virgin trains.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It can't be easy to drive a 12-seat van on the narrow, curving roads of the Lake District, while providing lively commentary. Our driver did a fair job, but a two person team would have been better.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

LYNN B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very nice tour which had a bonus of touring Beatrix Cottage and a lake cruise. The only complaint was that we were shorted tour time because the driver/guide had to pick up additional tourists at their hotels and going back to the tour office to sign in. They could have had the others brought to the tour office to be there when our group arrived. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience and wonderful scenery.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got train at early morning from London to Lancaster and then bus to Windermere and this traip was at 12. I almost thought that somehow I will miss this but well how punctual everything runs in this country I reached on time had little lunch in Booths at Windermere station and then went to tourist center for this tour. They booked me in wrong trip and thank god there was space in this tour so they could correct it. Jerry was the driver and he was fantastic. To be honest the reason for booking this tour was that i did not wanted to miss this time and wanted to see something so I booked it. I know nothing about Beatrix Potter. But this tour is more than enough to understand about her and her contribution. apart from that drive along lake district and many stop points are great

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

sharon.hayes253

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. A wonderful way to see the district and learn about her life.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Lucie R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent birds eye view of the Lake District, very good guide informative and efficient. The seat reservations were not good, fortunately the train was not full and we were able to change, a window is infinetly preferable to a blank wall. Trains unlike aeroplanes do have views, often scenic! Departure information was incorrect, we were told to be at the station by 7.30am for an 8am departure but the train was not scheduled to leave until 8.30am.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

ESTELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely afternnon.

Great trip for those interested in Beatrix Potter, her life and surrounds. Afternoon concluded with boat ride across Lake Windemere. Guide friedly and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Ai Vee N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The upgrade to first class was worth it. Even it is just a day trip , you get a taste of Lake District. There plenty of time on each location as advertised on trip. David was an excellent driver and got us on time and safely from 1point to the other. The tea was good. The lake cruise was enjoyable.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Melinda J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District and Beatrix Potter Experience from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I absolutely loved this little trip, when you don't have your own transport it was the perfect way to experience the lake district scenery which was breathtakingly beautiful. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore this area.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

holly.weise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District and Beatrix Potter Experience from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Scott W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very beautiful tour. Guide was a little difficult to understand. Not sure if this was due to mumbling or the quality of the sound system. Bus was late due to train problems but there did not seem to be any contingency for this.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Kelly M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The accommodation and tour were fantastic! The only disappointment was that the time given to begin the tour was 9:30 and it didn't really start until 11:40 from the hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic ringing to get information etc and luckily I had a book and a lovely place to read it while I waited.

Doing what: 3-Day Beatrix Potter Experience in Lake District Including Lakeland Tour and Lake Cruise

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Lake District Day Trip was a wonderful experience.
We loved getting to see Beatrix Potter's home, but the rest of the Lake District was also wonderful.
Having afternoon tea at the hotel was a wonderful experience.
What a beautiful area!

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Joseph M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. It would not be possible to see and do so much doing a self drive. Good value.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message