From the imposing white façade of the Belsfield Hotel to the busy shops in the town centre, much of Bowness reflects its rise to prominence during the Victorian era. It was then that the town’s position on Windermere first made it a magnet ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

linda.browning

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very informative and interesting tour, the driver was very friendly and helpful and was clearly knowledgeable about the area. He particularly looked after a lady who had a visual disability. We saw some amazing sights and would thoroughly recommend it. It was my first visit to the area and it certainly gave me thirst to return!

Doing what: Winter Day Trip including a Lake Cruise in the Southern Lake District from Windermere

Harry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was fantastic. The room and facilities were very clean and comfortable. We had a great breakfast and even better dinners every night of our stay. The chefs were amazing and the pastry chef even more amazing: the desserts were world class. The tours were excellent too. The High Adventure truly gave us great views of lakes and vistas that will always be remembere. The Ten Lake Tour was excellent too. My wife and I were very happy with the time we spent in the Lake District and we felt the cost was well worth it.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Larri o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip and a great choice. Hotel was excellent...food was excellent.... tours were fun and exciting. I would love to do it all again!!!

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Nicholas A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Quite enjoyed the tour but our driver was a little fast through the corners.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very nice tour. Our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour! The lakes district was absolutely beautiful. This tour was such good value. The restaurant was first class. I highly recommend this tour. We had a few days relaxing in the middle of our busy trip to Europe.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Tour from Windermere Including Ullswater Lake Cruise

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a brilliant trip. Driver on the minibus was very informative pointing out sites and updating us constantly on the history. Well worth the money

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Katrina G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was far more than we expected. The tour guide Joan, was very knowledgeable and may the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Virginia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely 4 1/2 hour tour around the area. Very much enjoyed this tour done nicely.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

dmkennedy

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hotel was good although staff, with some exceptions, were not very well trained, unsmiling and some with poor English.
Tours were excellent with an outstanding guide from Mountain Goat called Derek. He was knowledgeable, friendly and amusing. Content of tours was also very good.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It can't be easy to drive a 12-seat van on the narrow, curving roads of the Lake District, while providing lively commentary. Our driver did a fair job, but a two person team would have been better.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got train at early morning from London to Lancaster and then bus to Windermere and this traip was at 12. I almost thought that somehow I will miss this but well how punctual everything runs in this country I reached on time had little lunch in Booths at Windermere station and then went to tourist center for this tour. They booked me in wrong trip and thank god there was space in this tour so they could correct it. Jerry was the driver and he was fantastic. To be honest the reason for booking this tour was that i did not wanted to miss this time and wanted to see something so I booked it. I know nothing about Beatrix Potter. But this tour is more than enough to understand about her and her contribution. apart from that drive along lake district and many stop points are great

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

sharon.hayes253

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic experience. A wonderful way to see the district and learn about her life.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Angela B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed our tour with Tony. We had a small group which was good and he was happy to stop at places so we could take photos. We were glad to see other parts of the Cumbria area rather than just the lakes which is why we took this tour and it didn't disappoint

Doing what: Winter Day Trip including a Lake Cruise in the Southern Lake District from Windermere

Nicole M A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was very nice, and with good weather we enjoyed it even better.
I don't want to upload photos and don't want you to send me more inquiries.
Please no more. Thank you.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

ESTELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely afternnon.

Great trip for those interested in Beatrix Potter, her life and surrounds. Afternoon concluded with boat ride across Lake Windemere. Guide friedly and knowledgeable .

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Melinda J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris exceptionally good guide. Beautiful country! Great food at this hotel.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District and Beatrix Potter Experience from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I absolutely loved this little trip, when you don't have your own transport it was the perfect way to experience the lake district scenery which was breathtakingly beautiful. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to explore this area.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

holly.weise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Chris, Bob, and Tony were great drivers and guides. Four nights of very formal dining at Lindeth Howe House got a bit tedious. Otherwise, everything was fine. For the the Beatrix Potter tour, I suggest adding the Amrit Library in Ambleside.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District and Beatrix Potter Experience from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Scott W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very beautiful tour. Guide was a little difficult to understand. Not sure if this was due to mumbling or the quality of the sound system. Bus was late due to train problems but there did not seem to be any contingency for this.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Bandhana D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

LOVED the Lake District! The Lindeth Howe was charming although the room we were given overlooked a car park- not exactly the best view- especially in a place with so much natural beauty. The tour on Day 1 was well planned and the driver/guide good. The return to Oxelholme on Day 2 was awful. Despite confirming and reconfirming the return arrangements to Oxelholme train station with the hotel/tour company multiple times as suggested by Evans Staff at London Euston there was no transport arranged to bring us back to the train station on Day 2. Pegasus Taxi service saved the day and after a hair-rising drive back to Oxelhome we caught our train to London with a minute to spare. A sad ending to a trip to this beautiful part of England.

Doing what: Overnight Lake District Rail Trip from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message