Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Castlerigg Stone Circle

There are numerous neolithic stone circles in the Lake District and nearby areas, the most popular being at Castlerigg. This more-or-less round grouping of 38 boulders, with a rectangle of 10 more joining the inner edge of the circle, dates back ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Asela K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and guide. Must do thing for anyone visiting Lake District.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Nidharshani D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great tour. Especially as we didn't have a car with us, this tour helped us cover off the rest of lake district in a well-planned 1 day tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rabbie's Tours does an incredible job. Their tour guides are always very knowledgeable and amenable.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great guide who was incredibly informative and enjoyable. The trip did exactly what we wanted in giving us a comprehensive snapshot of areas that would have taken us days even if we had found them
Thoroughly recommended

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Shaun H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day out. The driver Richard was cool, calm, collected and incredibly knowledgable. What a beautiful part of the country, we took excellent photos thanks to all the stops at the best locations. I cannot praise this experience more highly.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Shirish G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing Guide, helped by excellent weather made the tour really enjoyable and memorable.

Doing what: The Best of the Lakes Small-Group Day Trip from Windermere

G H T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Scenery was lovely but long day on coach. We were in back seat as coach was full when we were collected. Seats whew uncomfortable and driver insisted we wear seat belts which kept getting twisted. Feel it was too long a trip for such an uncomfortable seat. Sorry.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Gajraj K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Total wash out due to rain. Could not enjoy even countryside scenery due to misty windows. According to driver this was the oldest minibus in their fleet waiting to be sold off and air conditioning was not working. Driver tried to entertain by telling some personal stories and giving paper towel roll to clean windows. Nothing worked.
Ultimately it was 10am to 5pm bus ride. Even lake cruise was cancelled.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Leeroy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I whisked my now fiance off for a surprise weekend at the Lake District last Friday and we did the Mountain Goat tour on Sunday and i must say what an awesome experience and recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible in one day, some absolute stunning views and I topped it off by proposing at Surprise View, the Mountain Goat team made it an extra special occasion with a congratulations gift from the team presented to us by our driver on the day Allan who was ever so helpful gave great commentary on the bus with a great knowledge of the Lakes, happy to take photos or engage in conversation and made the day very enjoyable a very nice man. Would definitely go on another Mountain Goat tour in the future.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a spectacular tour! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable about the Lake District and told so many interesting stories about all of the places we visited. It was amazing how much we were able to cover in one day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Lake District!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Chinta H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our 10 lake tour of Lake District was amazing.
The coach collected us from our hotel and dropped us of at hotel.
It and #39;s a 9.30 till 6ish, pending on how the passengers react.
Very enjoyable and informing, our tour driver was Chris. Patience and helpful.
For best seat go to mountain goat place .

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thanks to Bob our driver and his comentary, great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Chow Ming Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

very good experience by this day trip. Ann is a very good driver and guard, she do a very good job.

Doing what: The Best of the Lakes Small-Group Day Trip from Windermere

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour! The lakes district was absolutely beautiful. This tour was such good value. The restaurant was first class. I highly recommend this tour. We had a few days relaxing in the middle of our busy trip to Europe.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Sangeeta N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely spectacular! Only downside our driver's headphones were not working properly so it was a bit hard to hear all the wonderfulness about the tour and the place. Overall a must do trip and also if you are thinking of getting this one, I would say wait for the surprise spots as there will be plenty.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

SOON POH K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! It was very well arranged and guide was able to clearly explain the iconic sites of the Lake District. Highly recommended!

Doing what: The Best of the Lakes Small-Group Day Trip from Windermere

Brett L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out!! We don and #39;t usually do the and #34;tour and #34; thing but have to say this was an exceptional day out. Our tour guide Elliot was great!! Knowledgeable,and witty, he really made the day. Just wish I could have sat down and had a beer with him at the end of the day, I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the lake district in one day. The mountain goat small tour bus picked us up from our hotel and we saw so much more than we would have been able to see on our own in a day.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Muatasam J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. One of the best tours I have ever been, full of surprises, you would never get bored, Highly recommended. Well-structured and Well-organised. High standard Mercedes Minivan. Top Tourist guide. Must take if you only have one to two days to spend in lake district, Overall great tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exquisite adventire. Soul purifying with all the beauty

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message