Lake District ATTRACTIONS See all

Castlerigg Stone Circle

There are numerous neolithic stone circles in the Lake District and nearby areas, the most popular being at Castlerigg. This more-or-less round grouping of 38 boulders, with a rectangle of 10 more joining the inner edge of the circle, dates back ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 291 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leeroy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I whisked my now fiance off for a surprise weekend at the Lake District last Friday and we did the Mountain Goat tour on Sunday and i must say what an awesome experience and recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible in one day, some absolute stunning views and I topped it off by proposing at Surprise View, the Mountain Goat team made it an extra special occasion with a congratulations gift from the team presented to us by our driver on the day Allan who was ever so helpful gave great commentary on the bus with a great knowledge of the Lakes, happy to take photos or engage in conversation and made the day very enjoyable a very nice man. Would definitely go on another Mountain Goat tour in the future.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a spectacular tour! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable about the Lake District and told so many interesting stories about all of the places we visited. It was amazing how much we were able to cover in one day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Lake District!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Chinta H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our 10 lake tour of Lake District was amazing.
The coach collected us from our hotel and dropped us of at hotel.
It and #39;s a 9.30 till 6ish, pending on how the passengers react.
Very enjoyable and informing, our tour driver was Chris. Patience and helpful.
For best seat go to mountain goat place .

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thanks to Bob our driver and his comentary, great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

SOON POH K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour! It was very well arranged and guide was able to clearly explain the iconic sites of the Lake District. Highly recommended!

Doing what: The Best of the Lakes Small-Group Day Trip from Windermere

Brett L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out!! We don and #39;t usually do the and #34;tour and #34; thing but have to say this was an exceptional day out. Our tour guide Elliot was great!! Knowledgeable,and witty, he really made the day. Just wish I could have sat down and had a beer with him at the end of the day, I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the lake district in one day. The mountain goat small tour bus picked us up from our hotel and we saw so much more than we would have been able to see on our own in a day.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Muatasam J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. One of the best tours I have ever been, full of surprises, you would never get bored, Highly recommended. Well-structured and Well-organised. High standard Mercedes Minivan. Top Tourist guide. Must take if you only have one to two days to spend in lake district, Overall great tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exquisite adventire. Soul purifying with all the beauty

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Dwaipayan B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour is good and I enjoyed every moment. The lady, who was our tour operator, is a very good person.I would like to go there again.
I will prefer two options, which can be added in the tour -
1. Seat reservation in bus
2. Option to arrange a hotel like other major international tour operators provide

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Grit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you have never been in the Lake District, have little time and no car, but want to see more of the area, this tour is a great start. Lisa was a great tour guide and on top of it, we were blessed with glorious sunshine. Lots of interesting information and random facts, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour! The day was cloudy but enjoyed the scenery and guide Bob. This became one of my hilites on my 3 wk. trip to the UK. Thanks for great day!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

sanjaybankagzb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great tour. The guide did a super job. Her energy level even towards the fag end of the day was amazing. My first class recommendation for this and #34;value for money and #34; tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Sienna C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Thankful to Florence for changing our tour dates due to the postponement of the match at Old Trafford. The Windermere tour was excellent and our guide Richard was very informative. Only one problem is the sound system on the bus needs improvement.
On the whole it was a good tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

i loved my ten lakes tour.the good thing about this tours is that you can see alot in just one day, is really good when you dont have much time,the only not so good thing is that you arent able to take pictures in the places you stop, don't have time to explore,its a 10 to 15 minutes stop.but is normal on this kind of tours

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

dmkennedy

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hotel was good although staff, with some exceptions, were not very well trained, unsmiling and some with poor English.
Tours were excellent with an outstanding guide from Mountain Goat called Derek. He was knowledgeable, friendly and amusing. Content of tours was also very good.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Monad United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip and great driver David. A lovely ride through the lakes with great views and a few high roads thrown in for variety. I would say a must do introduction to the lakes for the first time visitor like me and my wife. Plenty of ideas of where to stay when we next visit.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our driver, Peter, also served as the guide. On the whole, he did a good job of driving the tricky roads of the Lake District, providing informative commentary, and looking after a passenger who suffered from motion discomfort.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, Allen was a joy and I had a relaxing day after my driving experiences the last couple of weeks.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting tour. Takes you a long way, that you can't cover alone. Also, the driver was very knowledgeable on the places we visitied. Managed to get a few good shots and seen many interesting places. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Trip was spectacular. Jerry was our driver and he was so good. So much passion he has for Lake district. Just when I thought I have seen all in UK I found this gem and it is so beautiful. It was beautiful weather and Jerry made sure all of us are happy. I requested to see blue bells in woods and he kindly obliged to it. Many lakes, peaks are covered in this trip and it just covers whole of lake district in a day giving you idea of what it is being here. I highly recommend this trip as I had made so many memories here

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Moriah H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This tour was painfully boring. Eight hours of our tour guide droning on about the most useless facts ever. I am not exaggerating when I say I slept through 80% of the tour and only woke up when we actually got off the bus. There were a few really beautiful sights, but besides that it was too long.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message