At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 443 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brett L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out!! We don and #39;t usually do the and #34;tour and #34; thing but have to say this was an exceptional day out. Our tour guide Elliot was great!! Knowledgeable,and witty, he really made the day. Just wish I could have sat down and had a beer with him at the end of the day, I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the lake district in one day. The mountain goat small tour bus picked us up from our hotel and we saw so much more than we would have been able to see on our own in a day.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Virginia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely 4 1/2 hour tour around the area. Very much enjoyed this tour done nicely.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! Peter was a great tour guide. I went in April and the weather and area was enjoyable. Not overly crowded or cold! If you're worried about taking a train to and from London... 3 hours really goes by fast on the Virgin trains.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Grit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you have never been in the Lake District, have little time and no car, but want to see more of the area, this tour is a great start. Lisa was a great tour guide and on top of it, we were blessed with glorious sunshine. Lots of interesting information and random facts, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour! The day was cloudy but enjoyed the scenery and guide Bob. This became one of my hilites on my 3 wk. trip to the UK. Thanks for great day!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

maidstone49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I use a walking frame, the driver made sure it was ready for me at every stop. He was also a very well informed about our trip and made the whole experience, very pleasant.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to see a few lakes and the roads that take you there.
The castle was remarkable.
Fantastic views of mountains and lots of sheep.
Friendly,informative and. (Most importantly) competent driver.
Plus got to ride a little steam or diesel train.
Would not even bother renting a car.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

sanjaybankagzb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great tour. The guide did a super job. Her energy level even towards the fag end of the day was amazing. My first class recommendation for this and #34;value for money and #34; tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Sienna C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Thankful to Florence for changing our tour dates due to the postponement of the match at Old Trafford. The Windermere tour was excellent and our guide Richard was very informative. Only one problem is the sound system on the bus needs improvement.
On the whole it was a good tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Vanessa G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

i loved my ten lakes tour.the good thing about this tours is that you can see alot in just one day, is really good when you dont have much time,the only not so good thing is that you arent able to take pictures in the places you stop, don't have time to explore,its a 10 to 15 minutes stop.but is normal on this kind of tours

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

dmkennedy

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Hotel was good although staff, with some exceptions, were not very well trained, unsmiling and some with poor English.
Tours were excellent with an outstanding guide from Mountain Goat called Derek. He was knowledgeable, friendly and amusing. Content of tours was also very good.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Monad United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and driving by Richard. We had a lovely day and the views were fantastic. Well worth the money.

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Monad United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip and great driver David. A lovely ride through the lakes with great views and a few high roads thrown in for variety. I would say a must do introduction to the lakes for the first time visitor like me and my wife. Plenty of ideas of where to stay when we next visit.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It can't be easy to drive a 12-seat van on the narrow, curving roads of the Lake District, while providing lively commentary. Our driver did a fair job, but a two person team would have been better.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Uday J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our driver, Peter, also served as the guide. On the whole, he did a good job of driving the tricky roads of the Lake District, providing informative commentary, and looking after a passenger who suffered from motion discomfort.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

LYNN B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very nice tour which had a bonus of touring Beatrix Cottage and a lake cruise. The only complaint was that we were shorted tour time because the driver/guide had to pick up additional tourists at their hotels and going back to the tour office to sign in. They could have had the others brought to the tour office to be there when our group arrived. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience and wonderful scenery.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great day, Allen was a joy and I had a relaxing day after my driving experiences the last couple of weeks.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Tegan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Knowing we had only limited time in the lakes, my SO and I decided to book this trip to maximize the time we had. I can't say enough wonderful things about the experience. We were treated to the most breathtaking scenes imaginable. While we were kept to a schedule, there were many opportunities to get out of the van to take pictures and otherwise bask in the beauty of the locations. Many thanks to the driver and staff!

Doing what: The High Adventure - High Mountain Passes Spectacular

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting tour. Takes you a long way, that you can't cover alone. Also, the driver was very knowledgeable on the places we visitied. Managed to get a few good shots and seen many interesting places. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Trip was spectacular. Jerry was our driver and he was so good. So much passion he has for Lake district. Just when I thought I have seen all in UK I found this gem and it is so beautiful. It was beautiful weather and Jerry made sure all of us are happy. I requested to see blue bells in woods and he kindly obliged to it. Many lakes, peaks are covered in this trip and it just covers whole of lake district in a day giving you idea of what it is being here. I highly recommend this trip as I had made so many memories here

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

yasmin w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got train at early morning from London to Lancaster and then bus to Windermere and this traip was at 12. I almost thought that somehow I will miss this but well how punctual everything runs in this country I reached on time had little lunch in Booths at Windermere station and then went to tourist center for this tour. They booked me in wrong trip and thank god there was space in this tour so they could correct it. Jerry was the driver and he was fantastic. To be honest the reason for booking this tour was that i did not wanted to miss this time and wanted to see something so I booked it. I know nothing about Beatrix Potter. But this tour is more than enough to understand about her and her contribution. apart from that drive along lake district and many stop points are great

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Moriah H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

This tour was painfully boring. Eight hours of our tour guide droning on about the most useless facts ever. I am not exaggerating when I say I slept through 80% of the tour and only woke up when we actually got off the bus. There were a few really beautiful sights, but besides that it was too long.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message