At 10.5 miles (17 kilometers) in length, running in a north-south direction, Windermere is the largest of the Lake District’s waterways and a magnet for holidaymakers, especially in summer. Pleasure cruisers, rowboats, passenger ferries and other ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 460 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leeroy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I whisked my now fiance off for a surprise weekend at the Lake District last Friday and we did the Mountain Goat tour on Sunday and i must say what an awesome experience and recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible in one day, some absolute stunning views and I topped it off by proposing at Surprise View, the Mountain Goat team made it an extra special occasion with a congratulations gift from the team presented to us by our driver on the day Allan who was ever so helpful gave great commentary on the bus with a great knowledge of the Lakes, happy to take photos or engage in conversation and made the day very enjoyable a very nice man. Would definitely go on another Mountain Goat tour in the future.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour by Peter Fox. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and adept at getting us around the area without a hitch. The boat ride and the cream tea were nice features. It was a fabulous way to see this region in one day and still get back to London.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a spectacular tour! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable about the Lake District and told so many interesting stories about all of the places we visited. It was amazing how much we were able to cover in one day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Lake District!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Chinta H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our 10 lake tour of Lake District was amazing.
The coach collected us from our hotel and dropped us of at hotel.
It and #39;s a 9.30 till 6ish, pending on how the passengers react.
Very enjoyable and informing, our tour driver was Chris. Patience and helpful.
For best seat go to mountain goat place .

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thanks to Bob our driver and his comentary, great knowledge of the area.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Jonathan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved this tour! The lakes district was absolutely beautiful. This tour was such good value. The restaurant was first class. I highly recommend this tour. We had a few days relaxing in the middle of our busy trip to Europe.

Doing what: 3-Day Lake District Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Sangeeta N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely spectacular! Only downside our driver's headphones were not working properly so it was a bit hard to hear all the wonderfulness about the tour and the place. Overall a must do trip and also if you are thinking of getting this one, I would say wait for the surprise spots as there will be plenty.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

ahila m

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was amazing. Learnt a lot of the places and our tour guide was excellent. Would definitely recommend it. Planning to take my mum for some peaceful views.

Doing what: The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere

Julie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed my day, the weather was bad to start with but what ever the weather it was a brilliant day.

Doing what: The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere

Katrina G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was far more than we expected. The tour guide Joan, was very knowledgeable and may the tour very enjoyable.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

jubitzbk

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

A must if your a Beatrix Potter fan. The tour is operated in the Lake District by Mountain Goat Tours. The scenery is beautiful, the day was packed with activities. Our tour guide gave great history about the area, gave us a little to explore the sites.

I gave it three stars because if you need someone to guide you from London, you'll be disappointed. Evan Evans was the local company that met us at Euston station in London. She was difficult to find, had no identifying name tag or banner. We roamed and asked people who looked official. She handed us our packet including tickets and said, Have a good time, that we would be met at the station in Kendall. A little disconcerting for those of us who have never been to England.

If you're in for a quick day trip, this is it. Otherwise book a longer trip. The area is beautiful and needs time to explore.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Brett L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out!! We don and #39;t usually do the and #34;tour and #34; thing but have to say this was an exceptional day out. Our tour guide Elliot was great!! Knowledgeable,and witty, he really made the day. Just wish I could have sat down and had a beer with him at the end of the day, I would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the lake district in one day. The mountain goat small tour bus picked us up from our hotel and we saw so much more than we would have been able to see on our own in a day.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Muatasam J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. One of the best tours I have ever been, full of surprises, you would never get bored, Highly recommended. Well-structured and Well-organised. High standard Mercedes Minivan. Top Tourist guide. Must take if you only have one to two days to spend in lake district, Overall great tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very beautiful views, very interesting and friendly driver.

Doing what: The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exquisite adventire. Soul purifying with all the beauty

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Dwaipayan B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour is good and I enjoyed every moment. The lady, who was our tour operator, is a very good person.I would like to go there again.
I will prefer two options, which can be added in the tour -
1. Seat reservation in bus
2. Option to arrange a hotel like other major international tour operators provide

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Virginia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely 4 1/2 hour tour around the area. Very much enjoyed this tour done nicely.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour! Peter was a great tour guide. I went in April and the weather and area was enjoyable. Not overly crowded or cold! If you're worried about taking a train to and from London... 3 hours really goes by fast on the Virgin trains.

Doing what: Lake District Rail Day Trip from London

Grit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you have never been in the Lake District, have little time and no car, but want to see more of the area, this tour is a great start. Lisa was a great tour guide and on top of it, we were blessed with glorious sunshine. Lots of interesting information and random facts, we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

Gerald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour! The day was cloudy but enjoyed the scenery and guide Bob. This became one of my hilites on my 3 wk. trip to the UK. Thanks for great day!

Doing what: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip to Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond from Windermere

maidstone49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I use a walking frame, the driver made sure it was ready for me at every stop. He was also a very well informed about our trip and made the whole experience, very pleasant.

Doing what: The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message