That classic tourist-industry truism, ‘something for everyone,’ could have been coined with England’s Lake District in mind. A faultless combination of impossibly beautiful scenery, impressive literary history, and endless outdoor adventure ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 417 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

martin j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

this was a terrific day out, highly recommended. Peter was an excellent and considerate driver for his passengers and very knowledgable especially on sheep. On visiting the area again would probably do this tour again !

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was worth every penny

Doing what: Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FantasticDerek was great to us. Read..you brought the trip to life

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Khin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Splendid, Love the breathtaking views and the tour

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Harry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel was fantastic. The room and facilities were very clean and comfortable. We had a great breakfast and even better dinners every night of our stay. The chefs were amazing and the pastry chef even more amazing: the desserts were world class. The tours were excellent too. The High Adventure truly gave us great views of lakes and vistas that will always be remembere. The Ten Lake Tour was excellent too. My wife and I were very happy with the time we spent in the Lake District and we felt the cost was well worth it.

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Larri o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip and a great choice. Hotel was excellent...food was excellent.... tours were fun and exciting. I would love to do it all again!!!

Doing what: 4-Day Lake District Discovery Tour from Windermere including Lake Cruise, Muncaster Castle and Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway

Nicholas A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Quite enjoyed the tour but our driver was a little fast through the corners.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Amitava N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a good trip. However the driver guide could have spoken less. There was just too much commentary. I frankly did not want to know all about the sheep

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Asela K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour and guide. Must do thing for anyone visiting Lake District.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Nidharshani D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great tour. Especially as we didn't have a car with us, this tour helped us cover off the rest of lake district in a well-planned 1 day tour.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great guide who was incredibly informative and enjoyable. The trip did exactly what we wanted in giving us a comprehensive snapshot of areas that would have taken us days even if we had found them
Thoroughly recommended

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Shaun H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day out. The driver Richard was cool, calm, collected and incredibly knowledgable. What a beautiful part of the country, we took excellent photos thanks to all the stops at the best locations. I cannot praise this experience more highly.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very nice tour. Our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise

Susanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour and I'm sure I experienced parts of the Lakes District that I would otherwise have not seen. Our tour leader Chris was very informative and always checked to see that everyone was happy and had enough time for photos etc. would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

dvniemi

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed the tour very much. We would have liked more time in the scenic stops on the tour.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Susan O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Phil did a great job and it was a most enjoyable day

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

G H T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Scenery was lovely but long day on coach. We were in back seat as coach was full when we were collected. Seats whew uncomfortable and driver insisted we wear seat belts which kept getting twisted. Feel it was too long a trip for such an uncomfortable seat. Sorry.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Gajraj K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Total wash out due to rain. Could not enjoy even countryside scenery due to misty windows. According to driver this was the oldest minibus in their fleet waiting to be sold off and air conditioning was not working. Driver tried to entertain by telling some personal stories and giving paper towel roll to clean windows. Nothing worked.
Ultimately it was 10am to 5pm bus ride. Even lake cruise was cancelled.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Leeroy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I whisked my now fiance off for a surprise weekend at the Lake District last Friday and we did the Mountain Goat tour on Sunday and i must say what an awesome experience and recommended to anyone who wants to see as much as possible in one day, some absolute stunning views and I topped it off by proposing at Surprise View, the Mountain Goat team made it an extra special occasion with a congratulations gift from the team presented to us by our driver on the day Allan who was ever so helpful gave great commentary on the bus with a great knowledge of the Lakes, happy to take photos or engage in conversation and made the day very enjoyable a very nice man. Would definitely go on another Mountain Goat tour in the future.

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a spectacular tour! Our driver, Mike, was so knowledgeable about the Lake District and told so many interesting stories about all of the places we visited. It was amazing how much we were able to cover in one day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Lake District!

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Chinta H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our 10 lake tour of Lake District was amazing.
The coach collected us from our hotel and dropped us of at hotel.
It and #39;s a 9.30 till 6ish, pending on how the passengers react.
Very enjoyable and informing, our tour driver was Chris. Patience and helpful.
For best seat go to mountain goat place .

Doing what: Borrowdale, Buttermere and Beyond: Spectacular Ten Lakes Day Trip from Windermere

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message