Lake Tahoe ATTRACTIONS See all

Vikingsholm Castle

One of the showpieces of Emerald State Park, Vikingsholm is a 38-room mansion that is one of the finest examples of Scandinavian architecture in the western hemisphere. The original owner, Lora Josephine Knight, bought the property to build a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

barbara c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worked out really good!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

JANE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a few hours to kill, so we figured, why not. It was well worth it. Very enjoyable tour. The scenery was beautiful. the guide was very knowledgeable about the area and its history. I would recommend the tour very highly.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

willumarryme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was everything and more

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a beautiful boat ride to Emerald Bay. The scenery was breathtaking. Nice to have tickets purchased ahead of time because we avoided a long line. Would highly recommend this boat ride.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Janice C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our excursion on the M S Dixie II. It was a great boat ride and beautiful scenery. Emerald Bay is gorgeous. I highly recommend this excursion to anyone visiting the Tahoe area.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

clifford w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful part of the world. Wonderful day and fantastic views!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

DL H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time. Lunch, we had the chowder bowls, was really good. The narrations were especially informative. Beautiful scenery and super weather.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Debora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was awesome we really enjoyed it and recommend for people to go on a cruise. The food was fantastic and the staff was very nice. The scenery is just beautiful we took a lot of pictures.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Keith T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour of Lake Tahoe is beautiful. The ship is as expected, good seating, good views. the back window to see the paddlewheel was so dirty could not get a good photo

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Lois C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very pleasant time through some beautiful scenery. Friendly staff and decent food/drinks available.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Steve K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A beautiful scenic trip to Emerald Bay and back. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only thing missing was ice cream! We would definitely take guests that come to visit on the cruise in the future. Thank you.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Dolores G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed the boat trip very much.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Miguel M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It is worth doing, but be aware that the boat is extremely crowded. The boat officially holds 500 passengers and they pack that many on board. Unless you are there way early to line up you will not get a deck seat and you will be stuck inside where it is hard to see the picturesque beauty of the lake. They apparently used to have two boats, but one was in a fire. Maybe with two boats running, it would have been less crowded. I don't know if I would pay the price again since I wasn't able to get an outside deck spot, and we were there 45 minutes early!!! It wasn't early enough. Plan to be there at least an hour early to line up if you want a chance at the outside seating.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

mrshuang

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Overpriced and boring. The first few minutes of the trip were enjoyable, with breathtaking views, but it just was too long 2 hours and not worth the 55 ticket price. Might be good for individuals who can't walk very much, but otherwise, you're better off just parking at the top of Vikingsholm, and walking the 1-mile hike down to the castle and the water. Same views but you're not stuck on a crowded boat for 2 hours and you'll have more money in your pocket at the end. Disappointing.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Elizabeth P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The trip appeared to be wonderful, the only hitch was that the wheelchair that my mother was brought on board with was given away. She was told that she would have to wait until everyone was off the boat before the 2 wheelchairs could be taken up and unloaded before they could come back and get her. For a boat with over 200 people they only have 2 wheelchairs. WE WILL NOT RETURN!
She is 81 years old and not in good condition. A WASTE OF MONEY!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The boat ride was fantastic and the scenery was amazing. It was a beautiful day to be on the water.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Carrie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended!! Wonderful welcoming people and great tour!

Doing what: Emerald Bay Helicopter Tour

Denise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was such a beautiful day and the trip was really a lot of fun. I took my grand daughter visiting from New York!! She loved it!!

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Emerald Bay is Gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Ramona S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour! The boat is wonderful, the trip is just the right amount of time, and our family enjoyed it immensely! I highly recommend this tour if you want to truly enjoy the Lake Tahoe experience. It was one of the highlights of my time in Tahoe.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

James S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

we really enjoyed the cruise and the food was good.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Alan C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Okay, maybe a bit overpriced.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Jean C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

There were some very noisy people in a group of about 40 that made it impossible to hear the narration. Finally, an employee asked them to stop singing and dancing. Our grand kids were bored. I probably wouldn't recommend taking a 13 year old and a 17 year old. Nice view of the lake.

Doing what: Lake Tahoe's Emerald Bay Cruise on M.S. Dixie II

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message