Hoover Dam (also known as Boulder Dam) is one of the largest in America. It was built between 1931 and 1936 across Black Canyon and above the mighty Colorado River. It's a national historical landmark with remarkable views of the Colorado River, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1400 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fred G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

DO find a way to visit Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon on your visit to Las Vegas. But, if you take this tour, please be aware that they picked us up about 45 minutes late, then shuffled us off to the Gray Line bus terminal where they herded us through a half hour line intended only to sell you more things breakfast, additions to your tour like a helicopter ride and/or a boat ride on the Colorado River. If you opt into either or both of these add-ons Gray Line tries to sell you, you WON'T have enough to enjoy the two scenic spots overlooking the Grand Canyon. I do, however, highly recommend the Optional Skywalk add-on. It's a fabulous experience and you'll have plenty of time to do it and enjoy the rest of the trip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

l4nsw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A brilliant day out taking in the whole Hoover Dam experience. I would have liked longer at the dam as there was so much to look at but we had to get down to the lake for our cruise on the paddle steamer. Lunch was more than adequate with a relaxing cruise that took you right up to the dam itself. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Ron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tony our tour guide was very good and entertaining. Had plenty of local stories and statisics about what we were seeing. It is a long day but it is the grand canyon. Wish we had done the helicopter/boat part of the tour but couldn't get the bride on the helicopter. Skywalk is incredible. It along with canyon pictures and words don't do it justice you need to be there. Hoover Dam and Bridge were good as well.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very good tour to Hoover Dam. Dana was an excellent driver and Jason was very enteratining during the drive. He was very knowledgeable of the area and information about the Dam. We did a side tour of Boulder and also had a hot lunch during our travels.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My daughter surprised me with the special helicopter ride for my birthday and I had the best time. We got to sit up front with the pilot which gave us the best views. Getting to see all of the beautiful mountains, Hoover Dam and then going over Lake Mead was beautiful. I especially enjoyed seeing downtown Las Vegas and the Las Vegas strip. I wish we could have gone longer.

Doing what: Vegas Strip and Hoover Dam Twilight Helicopter Tour

Kelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a birthday present for my mom’s 75th birthday. It was such a great time. Our pilot was Matt and a really great guy. The take-off was very smooth and as we flew out to Lake Mead we did get to see some of the sunset over Red Rock which was spectacular. It was so amazing to see the bridge over Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. After passing beautiful rock formations, we approached old Fremont Street and could see all the neon from up above. We turned again and passed the Stratosphere, then flew right alongside the strip all the way down to the end and back to the landing area. I got to take so many pictures while we were up in the air.

Doing what: Vegas Strip and Hoover Dam Twilight Helicopter Tour

Steven M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour taking in all the famous landmarks on the way such as the Las Vegas sign, drive through Boulder City and views of Lake Mead. The Hummer was so much better than constant stops to pick up at numerous hotels and the 2 hours at the Hoover Dam including the tour of the generator rooms is easily enough time. Our driver Antonio was fantastic throughout and had lots of interesting facts about the places we went to.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Hoover Dam tour was much more than I could have imagined. It was great! If I travel again to the area, I wouldn't hesitate to re book it. The driver and the guide were outstanding, very informative and up beat. Everyone should do the tour, Highly Recommended!!!
Joe

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

CHLOE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Grand Canyon with a quick visit to HOOVER DAM and OPTIONAL SKYWALK was the best tour we ever experienced with GREY LINE TOUR yet! I LOVE LOVE the GREY LINE TOUR there in Las Vegas. My Fiance and I has booked our excursions through GREY LINE TOUR before and by far, Las Vegas the most organized and most professional team we've ever encounter. Las Vegas Grey Line Tour has the biggest Grey Line Tour Terminal I've ever seen too. I love our Grand Canyon trip from start to finished!

We got picked up in the morning around 6 am by our hotel and got dropped off at the Grey Line Terminal Station where we checked in and lined up for our specific bus to go to the WEST RIM. Our driver was great. We love the automatic computerized tour guide through the bus ride, makes it really entertaining while we pass all the location that the computerized tour guide is telling us. Our driver explained to us what's going to happen when we get to our location. We had little about 3 hours to visit the 3 sites which are HUALAPAI RANCH, EAGLE POINT, and GUANA POINT

HUALAPAI RANCH is where we ate our delicious BBQ, surprisingly their baked chicken and baby back ribs were really good. And it was designed to be a little ranch with native americans dancing as well. We were really entertained
EAGLE POINT is where we went to go to SKYWALK, it was really daring to get up there but so much fun at the same time. Eagle point was amazing. Breathtaking
GUANAPOINT has a very beautitful LONG scenic view of the GRAND CANYON. It was mezmerizing

At 2:30 p.m we go back to our bus and head back to Vegas. Gave us enough time to relax and sleep and we got dropped off back to our hotel at exactly 5:30 pm.

WE LOVED THIS TOUR AND EVERYBODY SHOULD DO IT!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Melissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jason was out guide for our Hoover Dam tour- he was knowledgable, fun, and best of all funny! Dana was our driver- he kept us safe, was friendly, and helpful.
We went as 2 friends, and I would recommend this tour to people of all ages. Jason gave us the history as we drove out to Hoover Dam, and gave us interesting facts all the while keeping us laughing.
We had an absolute ball on this tour and would go again.

Doing what: Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour

Eoin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Prompt pickup and drop off at hotel. Hoover Dam is a govt facility so there is a short security check in. No food, drinks other than water or pocketknives allowed but backpacks are. A short introductory video followed by tour of the generator hall with plenty of time after the tour to wander across the dam. The Lake Mead boat trip is a great option and I'd highly recommend it. Its very relaxing, you go quite close to the dam, its very relaxing and even slightly cooler on the water than ashore. I had one of the most reasonably priced beers of my Las Vegas trip in the bar - very enjoyable day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

teresaadamsg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The motorbus were roomy and comfortable and air conditioned. It was a long bus ride out to Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon but was comfortable and could sleep on the bus. The driver was talkative and friendly. Great experience.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was VERY knowledgeable of the Hoover Dam - he was a fountain of knowledge pertaining to Nevada history. Being in a 6 passenger Hummer, the tour was personable and the other passengers did not feel like strangers. Bret was punctual and gave us all the time we needed.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed our day trip to the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out many interesting areas. The Grand Canyon is really something to see, it's amazing! The only thing that would have made it better was cooler weather not 116 degrees

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Cheryl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip with thoughtful and experienced guide. Hummer was nicely air conditioned and very comfortable. Would recommend this trip to anyone wanted a Hoover Dam tour. Round trip in under four hours!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Hummer Tour

Rhonda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour once arriving at the Grand Canyon and great to have an opportunity to take pictures at the Hoover Dam. The skywalk was nothing short of amazing. Truly an awesome experience. I will be back!

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

DOROTHY G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this trip was amazing! the trip to the hoover dam and west rim was well planned and the lunch provided was delicious. I would highly recommend booking this.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Priscilla J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam is a must see. The driver, Thomas, was very knowledgeable about the City of Nevada and made the tour very interesting. I learned a lot of interesting history.

Doing what: Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam Day Trip from Las Vegas with Optional Skywalk

Claire H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour to the Hoover Dam, the Express gives you more than enough time to enjoy the exhibits and tour as well as to walk out over the Dam. Plus we had a fantastic bus driver who gave us a guided tour to and from the Dam. Note that the refreshment and souvenir facilities at the site are pretty poor.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

Bill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great trip day trip or half day from Las Vegas. It is a fascinating part of southwest and American history close up. The bus driver was friendly and prompt, and the Hoover Dam tour guides were knowledgeable. The joke really does not get old -- this really is the best dam tour!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

Wendy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! The bus arrived promptly to our hotel to take us to the transfer station. The ride was comfortable and the guide was entertaining and knowledgable! The Hoover Dam is an engineering marvel and a must see! We took the Hoover Dam Delixe tour which included a tour of the power plant which was very interesting, and a stop at the oldest Casino in Vegas for a buffet lunch! Great experience.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

Joyce G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the whole tour - Everything was so well organized from picking us up at the hotel and the tour of the Hoover Dam to the lunch on the cruise. Well worth it

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I never knew much about Hoover Dam and how it was built. WOW. Great information and great views of the dam. From the river raft to the inside electric turbines, it's an awesome tour with an awesome guide!!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Top to Bottom by Luxury SUV with Colorado River Float

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I always tour the city and surrounding areas I am visiting to have an understanding of the past and present overview. This is a great tour of the Hoover Dam. Incredible views and great tour guide.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Top to Bottom by Luxury SUV with Colorado River Float

Ivaylo K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceptional value for the price, friendly and helpful staff. I wish we had more time after the Hoover Dam facility tour, it is rather rushed to get back on the bus. Thank you.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message