Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

Lake Mead National Recreation Area

With its sharp craggy mountains, deep canyons and desert basins, you won't believe that Sin City is only a few hours away from the deserted, dramatic and often surreal scenery of Lake Mead National Recreation Area. There are many activities to do ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour begins with hotel pick up in a nice A/C charter bus. The driver was friendly and so knowledgable about Las Vegas. A quick photo stop was made at the famous Las Vegas welcome sign and then we were on to the Dam for what turned out to be a very informative day. Our tour included the power plant beneath the dam, views of the water intake areas and the new by-pass bridge and finally a paddle-boat lunch cruise on Lake Mead where we were able to see the back side of the dam and the beautiful rock cliffs surrounding the dam. This is an all-day tour we left the hotel before 9:00 and returned after 5:00 but such a nice way to see the sights.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

troll_lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Plenty of time to explore the Dam inside and out. We both really enjoyed the lake Mead cruise too...some amazing views !! Pick up and drop off all on time. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

jfaris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OUr trip was wonderful. The bus that picked us up gave us so much information and history. Wehn we got to Lake Mead the boat wasnt full so it was nice the weather was 100 but the ladies serving us were fabulous. I would highly recommend this trip we did it for our 25 anniversary and my sister had ordered flowers. The captian of our boat had gone and picked up the flowers and went out of her way to make it nice for us. Since there were only about 20 guests on the boat we all got to know each other and had fun. The food was also fantastic!

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Eoin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Prompt pickup and drop off at hotel. Hoover Dam is a govt facility so there is a short security check in. No food, drinks other than water or pocketknives allowed but backpacks are. A short introductory video followed by tour of the generator hall with plenty of time after the tour to wander across the dam. The Lake Mead boat trip is a great option and I'd highly recommend it. Its very relaxing, you go quite close to the dam, its very relaxing and even slightly cooler on the water than ashore. I had one of the most reasonably priced beers of my Las Vegas trip in the bar - very enjoyable day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Martin I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience, friendly service and great fun.
We are a family of four, kids aged 16 and 13. We booked the 2 hour splash package in August 2016.
We did many activities on our holiday including white water rafting in the Grand Canyon, Zip Lining in Bootleg canyon which in themselves were all very good, however the 2 hours we spent on Lake Mead was the best experience of our holiday.
Our Captain was John, we started our experience with a quick ride to view Hoover Dam from the Lake and got some great photos of us all jumping from the boat and swimming in front of the dam. We then moved on to Water Skiing and finished off with some Tubing. Great fun all round and plenty of laughs.
We made use of the Complimentary Shuttle and were picked up and returned direct to our hotel.
Before booking we were a little apprehensive due to some of the earlier negative reviews, however we learned that John took over the business earlier this year and from our experience we received first rate service and had no complaints.

Doing what: Private Water Sports Package on Lake Mead

Joel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great water skiing boat, great captain, great equipment, great boat music sound system. Nice marina cafe for lunch afterward. Ontime shuttle pickup at Encore Hotel and return afterwards. Nice clear blue water in Lake Mead.

Doing what: Private Water Sports Package on Lake Mead

Connie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A beautiful evening on Lake Mead for our family of 11. Trip was well organized, food delicious, service perfect and the sightseeing was breathtaking. Thanks

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was terrific. Tommy T out bus driver was very personable, friendly and informative. Boat ride on Lake Mead very relaxing, friendly staff and delicious lunch. Neef 30 more minutes at Hoover to review exhibits in Visitor Center and walk across the top of Dam.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out and an excellent way to see the Hover Dam and Lake Mead. The tour guides at the dam were really knowledgeable and Daryl our driver was a great guy, really funny, helpful and made the coach trip pass quickly. Thank you Viator for a well organised trip.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

julieclough

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Following our Grand Canyon All American Helicopter Tour in the morning we thought we would do the Lake Mead Dinner Cruise in the evening .... We're so glad we did ! Seeing the Grand Canyon, Lake Mead and The Hover Dam from different angles was just amazing. It was a lovely relaxing evening enjoying a fabulous 3 course dinner, and amazing views as the sun set.
Excellent value for money and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff on board .
Thanks Viators for a very special day !

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

gary b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The lake mead dinner cruise was faultless great food excellent vistas and the colours in the sunset are magnificent . Just one criticism we where at the mgm hotel and told the pick up point was the married hotel which was an extra taxi fare .

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommend ,the Lake Mead cruise was brilliant and relaxing soaking up all the views .Would do it again :

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour and Lake Mead cruise

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic cruise, friendly staff and a great way to see Hoover Dam and Lake Mead - the family thoroughly enjoyed the dinner.

Doing what: Lake Mead Dinner Cruise

Rhona B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic trip. Highly recommend. Good value for money. The grey line driver Kirklyn was both courteous and knowledgeable. The Hoover dam guide Joe was both knowledgeable and humorous. The structure itself was extremely impressive. The highlight of the trip was the Lake Mead cruise. Beautiful weather spectacular views and substantial lunch. The pictures at the welcome to Vegas sign were rushed. And the stop at the chocolate factory was disappointing. We arrived too late for the demonstration and the chocolate was very expensive but it tasted good. This was a tour timing issue and no fault of the driver. Fantastic day out loved every minute!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very interesting and Lake Mead is just beautiful! The lunch provided was good! Mark, who was our driver, was excellent!! Very on time with the pick-up and kept the entire ride interesting!

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

walkinginsunshine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour - the Lake Mead cruise was awesome and the tour of the dam was informative.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was good to visit the Hoover Dam and see the inside working of the dam. Impressive. The cruise on Lake Mead was so peaceful. The rock formations were amazing. Good value for money.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A good days tour, being picked up and dropped off at our hotel, Although expect to wait at the company depot in the morning before the tour begins. Seeing the internal workings of the dam was interesting. The lake mead trip was relaxing and the scenery was spectacular.
Tony our tour guide looked after us really well although some of what he told us was then repeated in the official recording played during the trip. He also explained why he was taking us to the chocolate factory first, but this meant it was not a good idea to buy any chocolate as there was no where cool to store it, and it was a hot day. We also assume we did not see the factory working as it was a Saturday.
Overall we enjoyed this trip and thought it good value for money.
One thing we found really tedious by the end of our trip to America was the constant reminding about tipping. The suggestion for this tour was 5-10 dollars per person.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Jeanette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day on Lake Mead. Hoover Dam spectacular. Weather, a little windy but sun appeared before we returned to the dock. All was good.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this very much. Our tour came with an in depth tour of the dam itself and finished with the Lake Mead boat cruise. Lunch and staff were wonderful! Would recommend for anyone visiting the area. We finished up with a stop at the chocolate factory!! What a way to end the day. The bus staff taking us to and from the Dam was very professional and very knowledgeable. Plenty of time given to explore the area and got back to Vegas early enough to catch a show.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great day tour which included the chocolate factory, Hoover Dam and the highlight was the Lake Mead cruise. It was very informative with knowledgeable tour guides. Lunch was provided and it was good and filling.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Especially enjoyed the Lake Mead Cruise

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Patricia T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely brilliant, the Hoover Dam tour is amazing and the Lake Mead cruise was fabulous. Thoroughly recommend

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Jackie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Hoover Dam tour was very informative and enjoyable to see how the dam works. The Lake Mead Cruise was great to get up close to the dam and see the shore line of the lake and the food was good on the cruise along with the drinks.

Doing what: Hoover Dam Tour With Lake Mead Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message