Las Vegas ATTRACTIONS See all

The Neon Museum

Many Las Vegas visitors lament that the city has no history, but that’s not quite the truth. Though some buildings have been imploded and several hotels and businesses have closed over the years, many of the neon signs that branded these buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jillian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the tour. Kelly our guide made it really interesting,was very knowledgeable and had some great stories about the old town. We learnt loads about the original Las Vegas.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Jane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great experience, we loved this tour, it was informative, interesting and really gave you an appreciation for Old Vegas. Kelly is a very knowledgable and engaging guide. Highly recommend this tour, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Ian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour of downtown Vegas. Our host, Kelly, was a mine of information and kept us
Supplied with fascinating facts of the growth and changes in downtown Vegas. There was just a small group us
Shame it was with woolly back Canadians only joking Mercedes and hubby! I had been to Fremont Street before
almost ten years ago and the changes since then were incredible especially in Fremont East where they are trying
to create a community of shops and bars to entice tourists from the Strip and at prices way below what you would
pay on the Strip. Kelly, you were a great host to our little band! So folks, go on the tour and find facts and info that
may entice you to stay Downtown in the future. Remember,the Strip is just a bus ride away!

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Zoya G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was wonderful experience. The guide was so enthusiastic, informative and fun! Great way to see vintage Vegas!

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Rosinwien Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fascinating tour full of information for history buffs but also really entertaining with anecdotes and funny stories. Great guide with a real passion for his subject. Comparing the then photographs to the now buildings gave an extra insight into the foundation of this town in the desert. Walking out of the Fremont Experience on the Strip was not recommended when I visited 8 years ago - it was dangerous after dark. Everything has changed in the last couple of years - urban renewal on every front: modern office space behind original building facades, refurbishing derelict hotels, the opening of the first new school in the area for more than a generation, cafes, restaurants and more! Wonderful to have a rich benefactor with vision. The Container City is a great place to end the tour with some really nice places to eat. Great tour. Use the Deuce bus to get to Fremont Street and walk through the Fremont Experience to get to the meeting point.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Dave United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I really enjoyed this tour, there was only me and the guide KelleyI think that's what his name was. He gave me the whole history of early Las Vegas and it was interesting just walking around listening to him. His story of how Lee Marvin shot Vegas Vic to shut him up so he could get some sleep did make me laugh. Really good tour

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

cass c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Was such a good tour. Learnt so much and actually enjoyed this strip better than the one now! Must, if in Las Vegas!!

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Nicole R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide was great. He gave us a lot of history on how Vegas came to be. I learned a lot about downtown Vegas and the hotels that I didn't know before. The tour included a walk to Container Park and we leanrned all about what is currently going on in Vegas today.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the highlight of our Vegas trip. That includes the Grand Canyon excursion. Kelly was phenomenal. Well worth the time and money. I would've paid twice the cost for this. I liked it so much, I included in my newspaper column.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

nje76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and guide. A walking history of Vegas from the start to the present day. Useful info on current hotels and places to go/eat. Some discounts provided too. A must do for locals as well as tourists. A great use of two of our hours in Vegas. Quite a long walk from the strip to it.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Robert P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed our tour with Kelly immensely. He has honed his presentation to perfection. At the same time, since we were the only ones on the tour that day, he tailored the emphasis to customize the experience and patiently answered all our questions. With articulate descriptions and fluid transitions, he brought all the interesting facts and anecdotes to life. Binder photos, held up to the current scene as we went, made it easy for us to compare and contrast as we followed along. You can't get that kind of immediacy from guide books. As we moved into the East Fremont district he brought us up to date on recent trends and changes, linking history, giving restaurant and museum tips, and pointing out specific places along the way. All so useful and absolutely fascinating, Kelly's tour was a real highlight of our trip. Please treasure this guy he's the best!

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We toured in June 2016 and it was HOT! 114 degrees at noon. We originally booked the tour at 1pm - but asked to change to a 9am tour in order to get ahead of the heat. They were truly accommodating and rescheduled the time. The tour was SUPERIOR!!! Much to see behind the scenes of Fremont Street and our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and very patiently teaching my brother and sister-in-law who were new to the sport of Segway. My brother and sister-in-law are now hooked on Segway and want to take more tours just because of their great experience. Thank you!

Doing what: Las Vegas Segway Tour: South Fremont Street

Susan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an outstanding walking tour and Kelly does a great job! The story of Las Vegas' development and growth is fascinating. If you're interested in history, don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Kelly is a great tour guide. Clearly he loves the old Vegas and his knowledge of the area was obvious. I've been to Fremont Street before but having Kelly as our guide really made it a whole new experience. We came back the day after the tour and were able to revisit many of the places and take advantage of some of the quirky and fun things we learned about on the tour.

I would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

josemorales4217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kelly was fantastic. My husband and I were the only ones on the tour which made us feel like VIPs. We have always enjoyed staying downtown but never knew the inside scoop or it's history and now we have gained much more knowledge thanks to this tour. There is still much to explore, taste, and see, during our next visit. The strip is overrated, come and explore downtown, there is so much going on!

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Kendra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So glad we did this first, the strip leaves me cold, but Downtown was awesome. we got a lot of great info, and suggestions on what else to see/ do downtown, and actually went back when we had free time later in our trip.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

malcolm r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very good and informative talk.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. The tour guide was extremely friendly and so knowledgeable about the area that it made the time fly by. He did what he could to keep us in the shade and from burning up in the heat! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone coming to Las Vegas. The downtown area has so much history and charm, and to learn about all of the transformations still happening is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Brian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great little tour that tell you from the beginning of how Vegas was founded to the new revitalization of Fremont Street. He tells you the story of all the signage, hotels, and restaurants, It takes you from rail barons to mobsters to successful business owner trying to bring downtown back to the hidden gem of Vegas. Would highly recommend. Our next visit, we will stay downtown, instead of the strip.
Brian NC

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Cheri H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Would recommended taking the tour, was very interesting.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Larry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and shared some very interesting stories about downtown. Especially liked the container park.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Colleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time. Kelley was very nice. Had a lot of facts and photos

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Ron L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very informative our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to know about the history of Las Vegas.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Geoffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to know more about downtown Las Vegas. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable and answered any questions that we had. All in all an excellent afternoon.

Doing what: Downtown and Fremont Street History Walking Tour

Kristy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved our tour with Segway Steve as our guide. It was a fun and informative two hour tour. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Las Vegas Segway Tour: South Fremont Street

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message