Cradle Mountain is a world-famous wild and beautiful World Heritage area of glacial mountains, pristine lakes and legendary hiking and bushwalking. This unique slice of Australian wilderness also protects ancient rainforest and alpine heathlands.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GUODONG C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

very beautiful place, something must do in Launceston. we had a great day.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Areeya Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time with this trip! Our driver and tour guide, Lain not sure how to spell his name, was wonderful! You need to take this trip!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide Hedley was fantastic

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was amazing - loved every minute of it! Lane not sure how to spell his name was fantastic - he is very knowledgeable and gave a fascinating commentary as we drove along! In fact his commentary made the trip for me - that plus the scenery! He was also able to get a 4WD vehicle so we could get to Dove Lake which was great otherwise we would have missed that spectacular experience.....snow everywhere.....wombats munching away and little wallabies sheltering under the trees - it was a treat from start to finish!......then to cap it all off we stopped at the Lodge for a hot chocolate by the log fire.......oh sigh.....bliss! I'd recommend this trip to anyone as a must do must see experience! Thank You!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was Monday 27 April and I was the only tourist on the trip. Headley the driver/guide was excellent, with a wide range of interesting information to impart. The weather was super so the views to the peaks was fabulous. All in all, a great day out.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Paula A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour Guide was fantastic. Took us to some amazing places. Loved this tour. Long day but well worth the trip. Loved Sheffield too.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

JINEANE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day spent, our guide/driver Leigh was very knowledgeble and shared a lot of information about Launceston and all the places we drove past all the way to the National Park and back. Cradle mountain is a must-go, beautiful landscape, Dove lake and a boat shed on the other side. On the way back, we stopover at Ashgrove Cheese Farm, great tasting. Definite must-taste cheeses (at least for me) are the black pepper, wasabi and marinated feta. :)

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour made even better by the minibus driver, Stan, who added a 'wealth of knowledge' to a very full day to Cradle Mountain. He was obviously very proud of his island and conveyed that love with a very informative chat all the way from Launceston to the National Park! We stopped along the way at Railton (town of wall topiary) and coffee and cake at Sheffield (town of wall murals) before heading into the spectacular scenery of Cradle Mountain. We had plenty of time at Dove Lake for lunch and a walk at the water's edge. It's a tour I won't forget in a hurry, absolutely wonderful! A visit to Waldheim, home of Gustav Weindorfer, pioneer and acknowledged founder of the park was 'a must', and we all felt priviledged to share this national treasure. I could have stayed longer but alas, it was soon time to leave. We still managed to stop-off on the way back to a cheese farm/shop at Elizabeth Town to sample the goodies of Ashgrove Diary. A memorable tour with lots of extras thrown in for good measure, highly recommended!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

jeff b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a great day. Our driver was very knowledgeable and you wouldn't want to be doing the driving on the winding road into the park. We had plenty of time to stretch the legs at Dove Lake ( which was quite beautiful). The Cheese Shop was a nice break on the way home.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Rhonda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A great day touring. Cradle Mountain was fabulous so too the scenery on the way. The coach driver was very familiar with the area and was very obliging and informative. Definitely a must see area!!!!!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

FEIYANG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Really nice place to go, I will visit this place again if I can.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Rhonda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Amazing day. Tour bus driver friendly and informative. Bus comfortable but little cramped.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Evan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A wonderful smorgasbord of good information and beautiful sights! Leigh is a brilliant and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Highly recommended - very well organised, beautiful place - a must go.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

RAY N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

According to plan and good guide

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Barry M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A relaxing tour with interesting stops along the way. Cradle mountain was worth seeing and would have liked to have spent overnight there. The cheese factor and fudge cafe were a delight.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Kerry M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. A little disappointed there was not time to walk right around the lake - but that giives us an excuse to come back. A very enjoyable day. Thanks

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

KAREN E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Professional and friendly staff. Well timed. Variety of activities which were challenging but achievable. Great way to explore the environment.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain Canyoning: Dove Canyon

Vanja Radisic Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great landscape, too many wasps unfortunately. I wouldn't go back again in January, but would love to see it in winter. Long drive from Launceston, shame we didn't go those extra 80km to see Lake St Clare Dove Lake is lovely though. Stopping in Sheffield to look at murals and buy food was an excellent idea, 45 minutes would have been better 25 wasn't enough to do or see much. Lots of info and excellent homemade ice cream to top off a nice day. Making this tour longer to accommodate visit to Lake St Clare for an hour, and 20 more minutes in Sheffield, would make this tour a truly spectacular experience. Make it 12h not 9h trip, and you can fit it all in.

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Richard F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Okay, the weather wasn't the best for a return visit to Cradle Mountain but it was still as spectacular! The peak, shrouded in mist, had a mystic. Walked to Lake Killa and shared my lunch with some very bold currawangs. Returned to Waldheim, and the home of Gustav, the Austrian responsible for saving the area as a National Park, a truly dedicated man!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

hltam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

As a transportation mean for us to the Cradle Mountain , I found it quite good and the driver Headley was helpful and considerate too !

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Julie H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great day out with much-appreciated stops in Sheffield for the murals and for cheese on the way back. Loved the walks at Cradle mountain, the knowledge of our guide and the scenery. We went with our 8-year-old son, and he was as captivated by it all as we were! We definitely recommend this activity!

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

kay.ottewell

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Steve, the tour leader, couldn't do enough to help and showed an amazing depth of knowledge of the areas visited. Although the hostel at Strahan is rather basic it was comfortable enough for 2 nights. Our fellow travellers were a great bunch and the mix of age groups was a bonus. Some concern that the elderly mini bus would actually make the distance and would have felt more comfortable with seat belts, which I thought would have been mandatory by now.

Doing what: 3-Day Tasmania West Coast Tour from Hobart: Strahan, Cradle Mountain, Launceston

Hyunjin J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The gide was very knowledgeable and kind, Cradle Mountain was an absolutely beautiful place.
Personaly, liked the rain forest more than the lake dove.
Overall, we had a very good time but the tour fee is still expensive, I guess. :)

Doing what: Cradle Mountain National Park Day Tour from Launceston

Sam S B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful guide -- Steve was knowledgeable, helpful, hard working.
The accomodations and meals were a bit sparse. Would have much preferred a genuine hotel.

Doing what: 3-Day Tasmania West Coast Tour from Hobart: Strahan, Cradle Mountain, Launceston

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message