Lille was once part of Flanders, a region in Belgium. Flanders, and in particular, Ypres (also known as the Salient), some 120km (75mi) from Lille, saw the most intense battles of the First World War on its soil.   World War I, also known as the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour to the Somme. Claude picked us up from our hotel in Lille and spent 8 hours with us showing us the Australian battlefields and monuments on the Western Front. He was very knowledgeable on the history of the war and answered all our questions. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants an insight into the war fought by Australians.

Doing what: Australian and New Zealand Battlefield Tour in Somme

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful trip with Dave who was so knowledgeable and paid attention to the 3 different nationalities on the coach
The empathy shown to people who had relatives buried on the battlefields was very special
The choice of hotel was great since we were still in the middle of the battlefield
The weather was shocking but it made us realise something of what the troops went through

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We would highly recommend, Claude our guide was exceptional and very knowledgeable and always willing to go the extra mile

Doing what: Australian and New Zealand Battlefield Tour in Somme

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We would highly recommend, Claude our guide was exceptional, very knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile for his clients

Doing what: Australian and New Zealand Battlefield Tour in Somme

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip to the battlefields. Great guide with Dave. No complaints to report. Mark

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Mark was a superb guide! Very interesting indeed - good to learn about Australian and Candian contributions as well as NZ.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Iain A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 Day Battlefield Tour with Back Road Tours. The guide, Tony Wade, was excellent. His knowledge of the battles and general French/Belgian history was incomparable. The accommodation at the Kastelhoof was excellent and the locations and routes travelled - spot on.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Sherri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide!!! Saw so much more on this tour then we would have ever by ourselves! Well worth the money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

margaret s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From the moment we arrived in Lille the night before our trip began I was delighted with the town and the vibrancy. we enjoyed a meal surrounded by a young crowd just enjoying themselves.

We found the 'meeting point' with ease and got talking to fellow group members immediately. Australians are without doubt friendly people to spend a few days with.
Our guide and driver, Tony, stamped his personality on us and we felt safe and privileged to be part of this tour. His knowledge and the way he put it over was awe inspiring.
WE thoroughly enjoyed our trip even though it was a trip into such sadness which bought our family history right up to date.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Tony Ward was an excellent guide and we would love to take another tour under his leadership - perhaps WWII battle sites next time. His depth of knowledge and experience leading this tour was exemplary - we had a diverse group and made an effort to be inclusive and relevant to all aboard. The accommodation in Ypers was superb - excellent food and very comfortable rooms. Situated on a battlefield site was amazing and added to the overall experience. We highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting an in-depth and informative accounting of WWI.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was quite amazing. Our guide, Mark, was very educated about all aspects of the war and the places we visited. His commentary while we were driving filled in many holes in my understanding. We went to places I have only seen in pictures (Thiepval, for example). Mark took us to the Menin Gate, and made sue we knew where to stand for a good view of the ceremony. I want to do another tour in a different art of the Western Front someday with Viatour, and maybe even with Mark.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Colin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The 3 day battlefields tour was great tour guide / driver did a great job and was able you personalise the trip for travellers. He showed great respect for all nations involved in the war. Thank you Mark. M and M Russell

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

rj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide/driver was great. Really knew his history. Hotel and restaurants were good. I was the only American on the tour, the guide was British and the others were Australian and Canadian, and this enhanced the tour for me. It far surpassed my expectations. The tour operator should be commended

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Marla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was even better than we had expected. It was the first organised tour that we had ever been on as we have always travelled independently in the past. Our guide/driver, Mark Banning, was an absolute font of knowledge that he geared completely to our group that happened to be all Australians and Kiwis. It was a relaxed, enjoyable and very informative way to spend 3 days. The transport, accommodation and meals were all great. Good value for money.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A wonderful moving experience. The entire tour was organised well, even though the weather was not good, our Guide patiently reorganised the tour according to the needs of his passengers, most accommodating for those who wished to see things of most interest to them. Our Guide was a wonderful historian and most entertaining and made the day. We would highly recommend to anyone wishing to make this trip. Another trip,stay at the Novotel Lille across the road from the Eurostar and TVG Train station, so if time is a problem London is 1.5 hours by Eurostar.
Paul and Chris, Sydney

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Allison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to accommodate our requests. Transport was comfortable and spacious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

adrian b

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The guide was very knowledgeable and he clearly took account of the nationalities in his group. Seeing the locations and the level of human sacrifice was very moving. We thought the price was very "full" since it cost nearly as much as the entire weekend including travel and accomodation costs. AB Northampton

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

PAULL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We loved this tour. Our pick up point was easy to locate in Lille, our driver, English and full of war time knowledge, and the mini bus was new and very comfortable. Our small group soaked up everything and we found it a very emotional and valuable experience. Our lost soldiers from WW1 so well respected and cared for in the many gravesites we visited. Highly recommend this tour to all age groups.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely enjoyable tour of the Somme battlefield. We boarded the van knowing very little about WWI, unlike the other four passengers. Our guide, Mark, made presentations that fully satisfied our curiosity and obviously met the needs of the other passengers who posed more particularized questions than we did. The day was worth every penny of the very reasonable cost.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Geoffrey M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Found the trip met my expectations and gave me a good idea of what our troops went through. The guide was knowledgable and able to paint a very good picture of what happened. All in all I enjoyed the experience greatly and would recommend it to others.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Gordon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide. It met my expectations especially the time spent at Vimy Ridge.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very much enjoyed this holiday, if enjoyed is the right word when dealing with something as heavy as WWI. Really helped fill me in on the background and physically being there and seeing it made it real for me. Our guide Tony Wade was a fount of knowledge and didn't trust any source without carefully evaluating it first, with characteristic humour. Seeing I was the only Irish person on the tour, he took time to show me some of the Irish monuments, such as that tower at Messines that Kevin Myers keeps going on about! I would say that if you need to buy provisions, stock up in Lille or the airport, because there isn't much opportunity later on. I would definitely recommend this trip. Susan

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Rowan M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

I found the tour very interesting and worthwhile. Our guide, Mark was extremely knowledgeable. I liked the flexibility of the tour - Mark was happy to take us to a particular spot if it was of interest to a guest, even if it wasn't on the itinerary. My one disappointment was not seeing trenches, but I understand that the Somme tour shows that aspect. I didn't go on it because I thought the connection with Eurostar from London would be too fine. It turns out that the guide would have waited and that any luggage could be taken along. I think this should be made clear. We were a small group and the flexibilty allowed for us to all have dinner together, with Mark happily taking two of us back to Lille later in the evening. That was a nice touch.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

KEVIN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Had a remarkable day, a fantastic guide who was very passionate about his tour. Anyone interested in the Great War this tour is a must. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The tour was good. Jeff was an interesting and knowledgeable guide. Our only wish was that we had stopped at more sites rather than just driving by them.

Doing what: 3-Day Small Group Tour of French and Belgian WWI Battlefields from Lille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message