Lima ATTRACTIONS See all

Catedral de Lima

The baroque twin-towered Lima Cathedral (Catedral de Lima) dominates the city's central Plaza de Armas with an elaborate exterior. Constructed in the 1530s but the victim of earthquake damage over the years, much of what is standing today dates back ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mjafferany USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a good tour especially for those people who have limited time. The guide was awesome. She was knowledgeable. My couple concerns. There was no time or importance given to Huaca Pucllana. More time was spent in Cathedral. Overall the tour was worth the money.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

DAVID B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

knowledgeable guide and interesting places to visit such as the convent with its library of ancient books and the cathedral with the tombs. A bit too much talk from the guide and no concession to those a bit unsteady - 0ne guy with a walking stick had a major struggle with steps, especially those without handrails. More sensitivity in this respect would be good.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Dennis S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a very good tour. Gave us the highlights of the City especially the Miraflores.
The tour of the Plaza de Armas was excellent and a comprehensive tour of the Cathedral and the Monastery.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Ginna C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Do not sign up for this trip. It is advertised as 8am-12pm. We drove through Lima's heavy traffic and visited St. Paul Cathedral and Basílica de Santo Domingo and that was it. It wasn't even 11am when we got back onto the bus not an open top bus and headed back. Apparently, this trip was piggybacked on another day trip. Since some folks on the bus were continuing onto lunch and the water park in the afternoon.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Zico

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was a brief introductory tour of Lima. A lot of time was spent in the cathedral and monastery, perhaps more time to learn about the City of Lima would be more appropriate?

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

JMTravel30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our first day in Lima was a 10! We started off with your City Sightseeing Tour. We were picked up promptly at the scheduled time, the bus was brand new, and both the tour guide, Ursula, and the driver, Jorge, greeted us with a friendly smile. The tour guide was very professional, knowledgeable, accommodating as the time we wanted to spend at each location and her English was excellent. We visited Love Park, the Cathedral, Plaza de Armas, Kennedy Park, and many other Lima highlights. Overall, the tour was very informative, not only did we learn about the many places visited but also learned about the history and culture of Peru. As we drove through Lima, Ursula pointed out some of Lima's best restaurants. Again, thanks to Ursula, our tour guide, and Jorge, our driver for a wonderful day in Lima!

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good overview, but lots of time driving in heavy traffic. Three opportunities to walk around were excellent: seashore, cathedral and monastery. No real photo opportunities from the bus.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Dean R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I had a one-day layover before embarking on hiking the Inka Trail. Took the tour as a way to see a cross section of Lima with the short time that I had.

We headed to the city center and to the Santo Domingo Monastery it was Sunday, so couldn't visit the cathedral. Enjoyed the city center and the monastery. Spent some time understanding the importance of verandas on the colonial structures and veiwed some of the more elaborate.

Then headed to some pre-Inka ruins in a different part of the city. Much like the structures in Chichin Itcha except mud brick instead of stone. Also viewed some burial remains from the period - over 1500 years old.

Lastly headed to love park on the coast and walked thru the park. Also saw the mall and restaurant complex built into the side of the cliffs. My hotel was close by, so I walked back here to have dinner ovelooking the ocean.

Overall a nice overveiw of the city for someone having a short stay in the city.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

sharon m

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

seemed like we could have covered more sites. guide was informative and it was a pleasant afternoon. the cathedral and monastery beautiful.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Katija M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My friends and I had an excellent tour giving a good overview of the city especially the historic center. We were able to see a lot in a limited time.My favorite was the main square and the Cathedral. The tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Lynette C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

I felt this tour was too short for the money we paid. I understood we would be going to the underground catacombs in the monastery but this did not happen. The guide gave a very good tour of the cathedral, but spoke English so quickly (especially in the car), it was impossible to understand her. Face to face with her was much better. The tour only last for about 2 hours and a lot of that time was sitting in traffic. I have done other Viator tours and have always been satisfied, but would hesitate to use you again.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

As I was the only person on the afternoon tour, I had a private tour. The guide was very knowledgeable on the tour through the Cathedral, and her English was good. Although I was the only guest, she was thorough, and I did not feel rushed. She gave me plenty of time to take photos. The Convento was also interesting. These, however, were the only two stops except for the Love Park in Miraflores, which is only a couple of blocks from my hotel. I would have liked perhaps more stops and more of an orientation to the city-- its history and pointing out the various museums, things to do, good shopping, etc.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Sundaram R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see the sights in Lima including the main square, the Cathedral, and the other historical sites such as the Santa Rosa de Lima church and library. The architecture is exquisite and you are transported back in time as you observe these priceless artifacts. As it turned out we were the only persons on the tour - so we pretty much had a private guided tour with our guide Hernando (great person) and our driver Eduardo. Muchas Gracias!

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Luv2travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This city tour is recommended if you have little time in Lima but want to explore the highlights of the city. In my opinion, there was not much to see in Lima without knowing your way around the various neighborhoods, so this tour gave me that option.

Fortunately and unfortunately, the day I took this tour was the Santa Rosa (the patron saint of Peru) Fiesta, so the Cathedral was not available for viewing since there was a formal ceremony and parade that was happening in the main square. But at the same time, we were able to see other areas such as Santo Domingo and the local ruins that weren't as crowded yet due to most of the people wanting to view/participate in the parade.

Our guide was informative and let me and another person (there were only two of us on the tour that morning) ask and see things at our own pace. It was a relaxed tour that gave me the highlights of Lima, ideal for anyone short on time and at a decent price.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Ashley D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

If you have a few hours to pass in Lima and would like to see the highlights I highly recommend this. Small group of people and the driver and tour guide were great. Very knowledgeable and professional. Felt very safe with them and got to see the coast, cathedrals, etc.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was wonderful. We were in a minivan with a total of 6 tourists. Our guide and driver were great. We enjoyed seeing the cathedral, the monastery and all the other sights of Lima. We stopped at the Love Park for photos. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Gerard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything was great nice guide, nice driver. she was very knowledgeable about lima … the cathedral was my favorite place to visit beside the story of san martin de porres. the way to lima was nice too we went around san isidro by el olivar park really nice town. i have to say that we didn't regret doing this tour was worth it all the way!!! thank you!

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Lee O

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

This was a perfectly enjoyable tour with a very good guide. We visited the Plaza de Armas as well as a Jesuit church and a cathedral. We also drove around some residential areas. I would have preferred to go to a museum or two, but was able to do that just as well on my own.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Stepen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Rodolpho, our guide picked us up at our hotel right on time. He was very personable and gave us Spanish language pointers and Peruvian history along the way. We first visited Love Park on the coast, then the neighborhood of San Isidro with its 400 year old Spanish olive trees. We then headed downtown and drove around the main square viewing it and the statues from our van. The driver then dropped us and Rodolpho off at the cathedral to continue the tour on foot. After the cathedral, we visited the oldest Italian coffee house in Lima for an expresso and a tamale. We continued on foot to the Presidential Palace and got to see the marching band in action. Then to the Convento Santo Domingo, home of the Dominican monks and burial site of San Martin de Porres. We then wandered around for a few more minutes and or driver picked us up and returned us to our hotel. I would recommend this tour to anyone with a day to spend in Lima as a great introduction to the city and its history. I had a friend of mine visit Lima the following week and do the same tour. His impression of the tour was as good as mine. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour was good and very informative. The pick up for me was prompt from my hotel in Lima city and then we drove to Miraflores to pick up another 2 people (so 3 of us in total) and then drove through San Isidro and then back to the the colonial part of Lima for a tour of the main square, the cathedral and the monastery. The guide was excellent. I'd recommend this tour as a great intro to Lima. FYI the traffic between Lima and Miraflores is choked so be prepared for being in very slow traffic.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Martyn A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed our tour of Lima with Viator. A small modern minibus picked us up from our hotel and was perfectly timed. There were two stops where we got out to sight see and take photographs. The first was at the park for lovers and the second was Plaza des Amas where we went into the Cathedral and walked a short distance to visit the Catacombs. Our gude was very informative pointng out all the buildings in the Plaza and on the journey and giving us plenty of time for photographs.A very good value trip.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Gloria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to have Elena as a guide. She was very well-informed and spoke English. Our group was very small--just one other person. We were staying with relatives in Miraflores and were picked up and returned to a hotel near us. We were also thankful for the excellent driver of the van, David, who navigated the horrendous Lima traffic skillfully. Our drive into Lima took us past local sites, including ruins and olive groves. The official tour included the Plaza de Armas, Cathedral and San Francisco Monastery. This was a good experience.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Cruiser Craig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Pick up was on time by our guide Ursula. This was a great overview of Lima, Plaza de Armas, Cathedral, San Franciscan Monastery/catacombs and Parque del Amor. Ursula was great. No waiting in lines anywhere. Whether it's your 1st time or if you've already been there briefly, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Well organised tour that covers all of historical central Lima in detail but none of the other districts. You see all the relevant sites and can easily go back to relook at any of them if you want. You end near the cathedral and it is worth going back to visit that after the tour ends.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

janet m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent service and very informative tour given by knowledgable tour guide, Ophelia. I happened to be the only one on this tour and was well looked after. Mixture of walking around the city areas, including visiting the Cathedral and the catacombes at the Franciscan monastery.

Doing what: Lima City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message