Lima ATTRACTIONS See all

Larco Museum (Museo Larco)

To help you get your head around Peru’s centuries of history and culture, visit the well-regarded Museo Larco Herrera in Lima, housed in an 18th-century vice-royal mansion, built over a 7th-century pyramid and surrounded by leafy gardens. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sugaronmars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour! Loved the magic water circuit. Larco museum was interesting. I didn't realise when booking, but the tour included a Pisco Sour and light dinner famous pork roll at a very old tavern. Tour guide and driver were both amazing and minibus was new and comfy.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Hitomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Larco is a must see and of all the Viator trips I took while in Peru the 1 experience.
The museum is a great introduction into the history and archaeology of Peru and should be the first stop of anyone going to Peru.
If nothing else, the restaurant was the best of any of the places I ate in Peru. Fabulous food and beautiful surrounds.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Diana L D New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Victor was very knowledgeable and professional. Both the Larco Museum and the Magic Water Circuit were spectacular. Some parts of the water park are interactive and you are likely to get wet if you fully participate so a change of clothes is advisable.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Ameeta S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the day with our knowledgeable guide to see the historical centre of Lima and especially the Museo Larco. Unfortunately, traffic in Lima meant that we spent too much time in the car but our guide made the right decision and we walked for sections of the tour which was more efficient than driving! Well worth the experience.

Doing what: Private Tour Lima City Tour and Larco Museum Tour

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoy hearing about the history of Lima and seeing the Larco Museum. The Lima traffic took up too much time. I don't know if there would have been a better time to go?

Doing what: Private Tour Lima City Tour and Larco Museum Tour

sscott94117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Lima. What a great introduction to our trip to Peru! We were picked up at our hotel and driven to the Larco Museum. We had an excellent guide who explained the significance of the pottery and artifacts. There was a separate building for erotic art, which I thought was interesting. The Larco Museum has a beautiful garden and a nice restaurant, or so I hear. We drove to a nice hotel near the main square and enjoyed pisco sours and some typical Peruvian snacks. Then we went to the park where we saw a laser light show with music and beautiful fountains with changing patterns and colors. This was a fun evening!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Joanna S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The guide was delightful, charming and incredibly well informed - we had a great deal of fun. It was a little eccentric - the car broke down after about 5 minutes so we had to leave the driver behind and take taxis and walk. The museo larco was amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour Lima City Tour and Larco Museum Tour

Georgia S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This is a great way to see the Larco if you are short on time double up dinner and a museum. We enjoyed the tour and dinner but are only giving it 3 stars for the following reasons: 1 the driver was late so everything was pushed back. Our tour was wonderful but is left about an hour for dinner. 2 Dinner felt rushed and by the 10 PM closing we were stuffing down our dessert with no time to peruse the wonderful gift shop.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour for me and my family! Our tour guide, Gabby, was outstanding. She is an expert on Peruvian history and ancient cultures. Her tour at the Larco Museum was exceptional. Her enthusiasm and excitement made for a wonderful tour, and the exhibits were very interesting to see. Our children ages 13 and 10 had a great time at the museum too. The exhibits told a great story of the history and culture of Peru. The stonework, pottery, jewelry, artwork, artifacts, and mummies were all wonderful to see. Gabby's commentary and answers to our questions were enlightening and allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the museum. For me, the museum became an unexpected highlight of our trip to Peru. After the museum, the Pisco sour and appetizers were a nice treat before enjoying the magic water circuit at the Parque de la Reserva. This water show was beautiful. Our entire family was amazed by the show. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Larco is not to be missed! Beautiful grounds with an amazing collection of pre-Incan and Incan artifacts. These were an amazing people with a very advanced civilization. It was a great introduction to the Incan culture. If you are headed to Machu Picchu through Lima, do yourself a favor and see this museum. It will totally enhance your experience in Peru. The February night we went to the the Magic Water Circuit the place was packed. I would not attempt this without a guide. He knew right where to take us for the best views, plus he knew how to navigate the crowds. My apologies, but I can't seem to find his name right now, but he was super!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

MARIANNE B D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

DON'T MISS this tour!!! If you think you've seen fountains at Bellagio - you ain't seen nothin' yet! The water show has laser lighting and pictures and music. Definitely don't go on your own - when you take this tour you get to jump the line which can be three hours long. And the Larco was absolutely the best museum we visited in Lima. Displays were fascinating as is the historic house that houses the museum. Tour company guide and bus were what we've come to expect from Viator - perfect!!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour, hugely knowledgeable guide! The Larco museum is a must visit in Lima :)

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Larco Museum is breathtaking, not just the 45,000 genuine artefacts dating back hundreds and even thousands of years, but also the courtyard which is an outstanding flower garden. We are told the restaurant was also great, but we went for sandwiches and pisco drinks in a 150 year old bar: that was really fun. Then it all finished with the many dazzling fountains of the city park, topped off with an elaborate display of colored lights on the water. Our guide was exceptionall nice, and also well-informed.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

retobibi

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

We spent a bit too much time in the Larco museum and missed some of the Magic Water Circuit.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Artur Ribeiro Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelente passeio! O museu Larco é muito bom, a paradinha para os snacks e Pisco Sour no Hotel Bahia é ótimo para recarregar as baterias e o Parque das Águas é um verdadeiro encanto. Nossa guia foi muito agradável e competente.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Anjela E

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Loved the pisco sour and ham sandwich. This tour would be great for kids. We liked it but weren't thrilled with it. As for the Larco Museum that was fantastic !!!! We loved it. the Magic Water Circuit we could have done without it!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Jaclyn N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tours! Both the morning and evening guides were excellent and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the buffet lunch at Mango. The Larco Museum is a must see and we loved the Magic Water Circuit!

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

monicaduenas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was amazing, the pick up at our hotel was timely, the knowledgeable and lovely guide was great, and dinner was perfect. The Larco Museum at night is such a wonderful sight, I consider it a must when in Lima.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Robert G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Larco museum was excellent. You could spend all day looking. The Magic Water show was also a treat to finish off the night. Highly recommend seeing both in Lima.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

raptorjd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Suzanne was a great tour guide! She not only did a great job making sure we were having a good time, but she also took advantage of the commute to explain interesting facts about districts, cultural facts, and ancient history.

The Larco Museum, although small when compared with others, it has a very interesting and nicely arranged exhibition. I really liked the way our guide organized our visit, and all her knowledge. Incredible how those civilizations didn't left writen testimonies, but their pottery is so rich tht we are able to know how they lived, what they ate and their sexual practices.

The visit to the Querono bar, is a nice way to relax a bit and take energy, while having a nice Pisco Sour :.

Last but not least, the water circuit. The great thing about the tour is to be able to cut the lin-ups and go directly to the front to the special access. Suzanne suggested going to the second row, to be able to have a better view of the show, it was amazing. I wasn't expecting such a beatiful display of technology and art sound and images. The rest of the fountains are also very nice, and it's the best way to finish your day.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Laura L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

We only had one day in Lima before a trip to Machu Picchu. I chose this tour because it seemed to fit so much in. Unfortunately, the trip did not seem as advertised. It was billed as an 11-hour tour. This was deceiving. It was actually two tours-morning and evening- and we were left with nearly four hours between tours. Our first guide left us in Miraflores at a mall, at 1150- 40 minutes before we could even have lunch.
We did NOT stop at Las Huacas as advertised- when I asked if we would be stopping, I was told no, but they pulled over for 20 seconds to allow me to take a photo. The afternoon tour didn't start until 1550- leaving us stranded at a mall with no sense of where we were in relation to the rest of the city. The morning tour itself was fine, the afternoon tour superb, but I wandered along a foggy seashore for hours while my husband fell asleep on a bench- you really don't want to have to kill 3 hours in an unfamiliar foreign city near a MALL - I can do Gap and Banana Republic at home.
That being said, I can't say enough positive about the fabulous Larco Museum of pre Incan and Incan pottery, the stop for Pisco was fine and the evening light show just fabulous. The morning tour of the Cathedral of Lima and the Santo Domingo convent was fine. I really would have wished to be able to use my hours of free time to see more of the city. The buffet lunch at Mangos was very good. Again, wanted to but did not see Las Huacas as advertised. Booking was easy, pick ups on time, guides Ursula and Marie Isabel were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

Rakel D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour guide was helpful and clear. I think we needed more time at Larco- it felt extremely rushed : And for what? Just 15 min of water show... I think we should have stayed at Larco much more...And the bar stop wasn't good at all since none of us ate meat : and there is really no point of eating cheese and bread in peru!!!! when they have all that amazing ceviche culture.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great way to see many of the highlights of the city. I had 2 guides and both were amazing. The first guide escorted me to the restaurant for my lunch. It was an amazing Peruvian buffet in Larcomar with an oceanview. I had a couple of hours to walk around and then catch the 2nd part of my tour. It was a great way to see and learn about Lima. Loved it. Thanks.

Doing what: Lima in a Day: City Sightseeing Tour, Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide very good although at times hard for us to understand (a little noisy in the museum). We really enjoyed the Pisco/snack stop because there were so many locals there. Larco and water show both well worth seeing. We liked that it was a small group and included pickup and dropoff at our hotel.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Sergey P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

it was well organized but it was not worth it...
first our group visited Larco museum which happened to be very far away from Miraflores. Then we were brought to the cheap bar in cheap hotel to try badly prepared PISCO Sour cocktail.
Then the fountaine show was pretty strange and not worth a visit at all.
The guide spoke very fluent English!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message