The arid plains surrounding the small town of Nazca are detailed with South America’s most enigmatic sight, the extraordinary Nazca Lines. Etched into more than 80 km (50 miles) of rocky desert, and only properly appreciated from the air, the Nazca ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

megenbarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I usually handle all aspects of booking travel and tours by myeself, so this was quite a different experience. The service was EXCELLENT! They were so incredibly organized. We were picked up at our hotel around 3:00 a.m. and the guide gave us our tickets and itinerary for the day. She waited with us until we were on the bus, which was surprisingly comfortable. They serve a small breakfast snack and offer a pillow and a blanket, as most people sleep almost the entire trip. Once in Paracas, we were met by another guide and he took us to Hotel Paracas to use the facilities before our two hour boat ride to the Ballestas Islands. Be sure you don't drink too much before the boat ride, as there are no facilities on board. The Ballestas Islands did not disappoint, however, if you suffer from sea or motion sickness, it is highly advisable that you take something before you board. The boat tour lasts about 2 hours total.
Once we returned to Paracas, our guide informed us that due to the weather, our flight was delayed, so he changed our lunch time to before the flight. That worked well for us because we had gotten up at 2:30 a.m. The restaurant was nice, with a great view, and the food was good, too. Two choices for appetizers and two choices for entrees. Drinks not included.
After lunch there was a little time to stroll around the boardwalk before meeting up to drive over to the airport. Different guide this time, who was a wealth of knowledge about Paracas and the Nazca lines.
The flight itself was amazing. The pilot and co-pilot made sure both sides of the plane saw everything and they made sure to point out exactly when and where to look. The Nazca lines are indeed a sight to behold.
After the flight we were again met at the airport be sure to get your novelty stamp in your passport, if you like that sort of thing by another guide and we taken back to the office to get our belongings We had only brought two small backpacks with not much in them, but we were advised to leave them at the office as they add extra weight on the plane and then were taken back to the bus stop for our 3.5 hour ride back to Lima. The staff took really good care of us and the tour itself was pretty amazing.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

RHODA F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Amazing Nazca Lines, worth the travel from Lima. We got the private tour with our own driver and guide, professional and informative. However, we didn and #39;t go to Huacachina, wasn and #39;t advised that we need to leave right away after lunch to reach Lima at 6pm. Such a disappointment.

Doing what: Private Tour: Nazca Lines and Huacachina Day Trip from Lima

sscott94117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first trip to Peru, and I wanted a multi-day tour that covered the highlights. This tour covered what I wanted to see...and more. Axel Tours designed this 15-day journey starting at sea level in Lima and ending in the higher elevations. Every local guide was outstanding! We started with a city tour of Lima, including the Convent and Church of San Francisco with its underground Catacombs. We traveled to the Paracas Peninsula and saw an incredible array of wildlife on Ballestas Island. Seeing the Nazca Lines from a small plane is an unforgettable memory. We loved Arequipa, where they had a huge festival one evening. Driving across a National Reserve we saw herds of vicunas, alpacas and llamas. We saw condors in flight in Colca Canyon. We really enjoyed our stay at a lodge in Chivay Valley, where stunning agricultural terraces were just outside our room. On Lake Titicaca we visited the floating islands of the Uros and had an entertaining lunch on Taquile Island. In Cusco the tour of several ruins just outside the city was awe-inspiring. A train to Aguas Calientes led to our experience at Macchu Picchu, which was absolutely amazing. Axel Tippe was our tour coordinator, and he was responsible and helpful to us in every way. I especially appreciated that he arranged an optional private car to see some places not included on this itinerary. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 15-Day Tour of Peru from Lima Including Machu Picchu, Nasca and Arequipa

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a long day but well worth it for the amazing experience. Everything went smoothly and I was very satisfied with the service provided by everyone.

I was promptly picked up at my Lima hotel in Miraflores at 3 am by a driver and a guide and taken to the bus station to catch the 3:45 am bus to Paracas.

Seats on the bus were assigned. A pillow, blanket, and a meal were provided for the 3.5-hour trip to Paracas. At Paracas, I boarded a mini-bus and driven to a dock to board an open-topped boat for the tour around the Ballestas Islands. It highly recommended to bring a hat, sunglasses, sunscreen, and a jacket for the windy 30-minute boat ride to the Islands. Our boat left the dock at around 8:20 am.

It was amazing to see so many birds which included penguins. Sea lions were also seen. We spent an hour sailing around the Islands. Back at the dock, we were given a free souvenir of a little sea lion sculpture.

We boarded a mini-bus for the transfer to the airport for the flight over the Nazca Lines. Ensure to get a free copy of the card depicting the various Nazca Lines images. Around 11:30 am, we boarded our plane for the 40-minute flight to the Nazca Lines where we spent about 30 minutes observing the various lines. Be prepared for the sharp turns which can be nauseous.

Back at the airport, you receive a certificate confirming your flight over the Nazca Lines. There is a small gift shop at the airport. From the airport, I was driven to nearby Paracas Restaurant at 2 pm for lunch which was included with the tour. I had two options for an appetizer and two options for an entree. Drinks were not included.

After lunch, I had time to walk around the beach area of Paracas before my 3:40 pm transfer to the bus station for my 4-hour bus ride back to Lima. A ham sandwich and juice were served on the bus. Back at the Lima bus station, I was picked up for my ride back to my hotel. I arrived back at my hotel by 8:30 pm.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Josef L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was worth the money. The Ballestas Islands were amazing....seals, pelicans, penguins, and so many birds. I had read some other reviews about the terrible smells from the islands but we didn't experience any of that. It was absolutely perfect weather and amazing views. The Nazca Lines flight was safe and smooth. They tell you as you get on the flight to not worry about pictures as the lines are hard to capture on film from the altitude. Of course we all rushed to take pictures as we flew over them but the guide was right...it is better to see the lines and appreciate them rather than having a few bad pictures from an airplane window. Put away the camera, enjoy the view and buy a framed copy of your favorite lines at the airport gift shop. PS- You go through airport screening so bring your passport with you!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

kim w

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Missed several of the Nazca Lines as the nararrator spoke in Spanish 80 of the time and when he spoke English it was too late to see let alone photograph the character line.Way too much Spanish on an English speaking tour. The rest of the tour was well done and I felt we were taken good care of as fart as the ground personal and transperation aspects..

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Jeremy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip in every way. We were met by Paul at our hotel promptly at 3 a.m. And taken to the bus station. The buses were surprisingly nice, with entertainment systems, food, etc.... My only regret was not bringing headphones for the 4 hr. Journey. In Paracus, we were guided the whole day by Alex, who made sure we were never left unattended to. The Nazca lines flight was amazing, al little dizzying for sure, but wonderful nevertheless. We arrived back in Lima around 8:30 p.m. -- this was my first Viator tour, as I usually like to do things myself and explore different countries on my own, but after this trip I am hooked! Great job to everyone involved during our day, thank you.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Joseph R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour itself was fine. Long bus trip from Lima and had to get to pick-up point, which was difficult. Probably better to go to Paracas and spend the night.
Island tour was great with lots of super photo ops. Nazca overflight was short, tedious and the lines themselves were not nearly as well demarcated as you might think. Would not do again.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Gregory N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this was a worth the money. Fun airplane ride and got to see all of the Nazca Lines the pilot tilted the plane to each side to insure everyone on board got a good look at the Lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

lrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It would have been ideal to spend 2-3 days in the Nazca area. But we only had one day to do the Nazca Lines from Lima - and I was so grateful that this tour made it possible for us to do so! But it made for a very long day 12/13hrs, with most of it in the van driving along the coast on the Panamerican Highway. The drive down was nice - looking at the desert and sand dunes, surprisingly green agricultural fields, all the towns along the way. The drive back to Lima re-traced the same route of course, with half of it after sunset. There was a lot of cloud cover in the morning, and our Nazca flight got bumped from noon to 3pm. It was a private tour, so we had a lot of flexibility. Upon arrival at Ica, we first went to the airport to check-in and verify the status of the overflight. We had a very nice lunch at El Catador and toured their pisco production facility and museum and bought pisco!. We visited the Huacachina Oasis, but opted out of dune bugging or sandboarding. The overflight was great it was wonderful to finally see the Nazca Lines. There were 10 people on board the aircraft we each had a seat by the window, and each side had a turn looking at each figure. The co-pilot would point out the figures - his advice was to look at the wing tip, then below to the ground. From all the banking though, it's easy to get motion sickness - there were vomit bags, but no one got sick on our flight. Our guide, José, was wonderful - he was warm and friendly, and very knowledgeable - we talked about many things: the sights and towns we saw, Incan history, pre-Incan history, the desert landscape, agriculture and irrigation, Maria Reiche, etc. Our driver, Fernando, was also amazing - he too was knowledgeable about the areas we visited. We really appreciated all the driving he did, especially with the traffic in Chincha and Lima - we always felt safe and comfortable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Nazca Lines and Huacachina Day Trip from Lima

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great, each guide or representative was there on time and helpful.
It a long day and starts early but the bus in the morning was really comfortable and provided pillows for sleeping.
The boat trip was fantastic and there was snacks while I was waiting.
The guide provided information on the Nazca lines before the flight and the lunch was 3 courses at a great resort. Overall a great day.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Donald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Experience. The Ballestas Islands were amazing. All the Sea Lions, the Penguins and the million seabirds were a sight! The flight over Nazca could not have been more perfect. The pilot and Co-Pilot ensured we had a great experience. The lunch on the terrace at he Hacienda Hotel was superb - top notch. Lastly, all the shuttle staff were so polite and so helpful. Al in all, it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Jaclyn N USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour was expensive and underwhelming. First, you leave at 2am to catch a bus that takes you to Paracas. When you get off the bus, you are shuffled around to different tour guides and one of them finally takes you to the departure point of the Ballestas Islands. The Ballestas Islands were beautiful, but remember to take a motion sickness pill before your Islands and Nazca Lines tours many people were vomiting. After the Islands, there was a delay in the Nazca Lines tour, so we were told to wander around in Paracas for an hour. We were finally taken to the airport for the Nazca lines. You have to fly for about 50min-1 hour to get to the lines, you view the lines for 10 minutes this is not for the faint of heart, as the plane nearly tilts on it's side and is pulling Gs, and then another hour back to the airport. Afterwards, you are taken to a resort to have lunch. My meal was fine, but my husband ended up contracting a parasite from his meal and was ill multiple times over the course of our trip. The tour company also rushes the meal, so you only have 30min to eat before boarding a cramped bus for a 4 hour drive back to Lima. I would suggest actually spending the night in Paracas for a more stress-free tour.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Ronald L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Although the guide did speak English, he spent most of the bus ride speaking Spanish without translating what he was saying for the English speakers. The flight over the Nazca lines was disappointing in that each passenger got very little time to see each image. I didn't feel the entire trip was worth the cost.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Aida Portia F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My son and I traveled to view the Nazca lines from Lima on Oct 4. We were picked up from the hotel at exactly the time we were told. The car was clean and comfortable and the drive was long (we were told that and expected it). Our guide Angelo was nice and attentive to us although he did not talk much except to identify some of the towns that we drove through. The flight over the lines was uneventful with the pilots not saying anything which prompted one of the passengers on the plane to ask whether we will be told when we reached the lines. Then without warning the pilot said to look to the left side of the plane and see the "ballena", then the pilot made a sharp turn and said "now on the right side "the same ballena". This continued for a few minutes with the plane swinging sharply from one fantastic image on the ground to the other. In my mind the turns were very sharp that many of the 12 passengers in the plane were airsick. I don't know that there is another way to see the lines but there has to be a better way. After the plane landed, we once again boarded our ride back to Lima. Angelo was very attentive and helpful to one of the other passenger who was still motion sick. I rate this trip four stars because they may not be a better way to see the lines from the air.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Govind A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was great to see the Nazca Lines, pictures do not do justice to this. Our group of nine enjoyed the trip. The flight experience was also nice and the co-pilot explained was nice to point out the various lines.
We wish the guide had talked about the history, or showed a video to give us background of Nazca Lines, as we had 4 hours of van ride.
Overall good experience. Thanks, Govind Arora

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Rebecca H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day on this tour. The group managing the tour was very efficient and well planned. At first we didn't understand that we would have a different tour guide throughout but once we got a handle on the system we were comfortable. The bus from Lima was wonderful and provided us with blankets that I wanted to keep! (We had to be ready at our hotel at 3:00am and were sleepy!) The boat tour to the Ballestas Islands was unbelievable and our guide was so well informed. He explained everything in both English and Spanish. One of my favorite experiences was going in a cave full of sea lions and the alpha male barking at us to get out! The Nazca Lines air tour was also amazing, however I would recommend taking some dramamine before hand, even if you aren't prone to motion sickness. Our lunch was delicious and the hotel we ate at was beautiful. We were served snacks of ham sandwiches on the bus both to and from Lima so if you are traveling with a vegetarian, make sure to request a special snack ahead of time.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

christopher c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour has been badly organised and executed by the tour agent. I would describe this tour as the vomit comet over Nazca. The trip starts with a 4 hour journey to an airport with stop off at a poor service station, then a pointless 2 hour wait in a very small airport. The tour guide provided very limited information on our trip and no reason for the flight delay. The tour information states that the guide provides information on the tour and Nazca lines, but this was not the case. The tour guide barley interacted with the guests and provided very little information. The same can be said for the flight crew. Again the tour information states you will receive information on the Nazca lines during the flight, but all we got was one of the pilots pointing erratically out of the plane, which provided little help in identifying the lines. The major issue is the way they fly the plane after it reaches the Nazca lines. They perform very tight G circles making it difficult to spot the markings and take photos, plus it does not help when other passengers are vomiting due to the crazy flying, and others looking very ill. I can only describe this as the vomit comet. The flight itself is a 1.5 hour round trip with only 5 to 10 minutes at the Nazca lines. The trip in total took 14 hours, most of it just wasted time. Lastly we were not offered an chance to stop for food as described in the tour information.
We have raised a compliant due to the cost of the tour and the lack of value, so hopefully this will help improve the tour for others, but under its current structure I would recommend looking at other options to see the Nazca lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome. A very early pickup (3:10am) but the company made sure we knew exactly the time, etc.
They took great care of us, there were guides at every stop. The islands were beautiful, and the Nazca lines were wonderful. We had to wait a bit, but we were comfortable. We were late getting back from the lines, and had to eat our lunch, via box lunch on the bus back, but no problem. The bus was nice and had refreshments, etc.
We got back on timE, and had time to catch a 1am flight.
I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Miles

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2013

It was a very long day, but we really enjoyed the islands part. It was hard to pick out many of the figures of the Nazca lines.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

mark s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Although it is a long coach journey, the coach is very comfortable and you can sleep. Simple meals are provided on the coach. The Ballestas islands have amazing wildlife and we also saw whales while on that trip. There are good views of the Nazca lines (worth seeing) and the lunch was good as well.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Dennis Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Ballestas island was great. Nazca line was short and wasn't able to see since I was in the middle seat of the plane.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

lfn1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Had to get up really early for this trip but was worth it! Ballestos Islands were great and Nazca more exciting than I had expected. Great trip!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is a fantastic one-day trip from Lima to see the Nazca Lines. I was traveling by myself and every detail was taken care for me. The bus ride to Pacaracas was great for sleeping until you got there. I was met by a guide as soon as I disembarked at the station. The Ballestas Islands are amazing with how close you get to the wildlife. Then I was taken to the airport for my flight to see the Nazca Lines which were incredible! After the flight, off to a beautiful resort for lunch poolside, looking at the ocean. Then I headed for the bus back to Lima. Incredibly well organized and a perfect way to add the Nazca Lines when you don't have much time.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Tishers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

I was told by tour companies that it was impossible to do both the islands and Nazca in the same day from Lima, well Viator has them beat!! We were able to fit it all in, although it is a long day, I think 16 hours, it was a great day as well, with time for naps!! The description states that only lunch is included on this tour, but you get two meals on the bus rides to and from Paracas, and the lunch is an amazing 3 course experience at an amazing Ocean front resort in Paracas, the food and view were soo amazing! Have the crab appetizer, still dreaming about it!! The bus ride out there is a few hours, but so comfy, the seats lean back, there are leg rests and yes a bathroom on board. From there you get on a speed boat to the islands and then you go to Nazca before the lunch, but both of these things are not to miss items, and who knew there were penguins in Peru!! Would do again in a heart beat!

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour and Ballestas Islands Full-Day Trip from Lima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message