Peru’s capital city was founded by Pizarro in 1535, and the modern-day city of Lima is a sprawling metropolis encompassing ruins from pre-Inca times, ultramodern shopping malls and coastal beaches. Here are a few ideas on where and how to spend your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stan T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

There were many problems that plague this air tour that apparently not changed since August 2014 review. The Pisco airport is new as of 2015, but the Lima traffic, 4 hour drive there, delay of flight that did not have a flight time, no lunch break and drive back were the same and mind-numbingly bad. There were delays, so the stated 11 hour tour ended up being 13 hours! The most disappointing aspect was the Nazca Lines flight itself, which was long on commute, short on the destination. This tour is not worth 465 that's for sure.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Suk Ling L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was the only person on the walking tour and had a great time with the guide Millie who was informative and funny. It was a great trip. Thanks Millie!

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Dr. Frederick C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was a great introduction to Peruvian history and the meal was wonderful.!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was excellent. The food and culture was excellent. The tour guides were great and the tour members were really friendly. The only problem I did have was it seemed that Machu Picchu became more touristy as you arrived at the city. The really fun of the trip was the trek with the group and hiking in the mountains.

Doing what: 8-Day Tour of Lima and Cusco Including the Inca Trail

Diana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I don't think I can say how incredible our walk tour around Lima with Millie was. She gave us 100 of her energy, time, sense of humor, knowledge for over 3 hours. We saw architecture, food markets, monistary, catacombs - it was the best day ever. At the end she treated us to a Pescos Sour which was delicious. Thank you, Millie, for a great day. Di and Richard

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was awesome and since there were only 2 of us on the tour, she adjusted to what we wanted to see and was super patient in answering all of our questions about Lima and the area.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

cyberkat72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was right on time at our hotel to pick us up and was very knowledgeable. The museum is outstanding in both the amount and quality of the collection. We had a wonderful tour with our guide and a delicious dinner in the museum restaurant. Our driver was ready and waiting when we finished dinner and took us right back to the door of our hotel. A wonderful experience and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Hitomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Larco is a must see and of all the Viator trips I took while in Peru the 1 experience.
The museum is a great introduction into the history and archaeology of Peru and should be the first stop of anyone going to Peru.
If nothing else, the restaurant was the best of any of the places I ate in Peru. Fabulous food and beautiful surrounds.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Penelope A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Could only spare one day so feel I missed a lot. The lines were not as big as I'd thought they were and so would have liked to spend time in the town and see the water system. Suggest 2 day trip if you have the time.

Doing what: Nazca Lines Air Tour with Transport from Lima

Rbpuno

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Lunch was great tour and lessons were somewhat boring price for comparable experience was high compared to other local companies.

Doing what: Lima Market Tour, Cooking Class and Pisco Sour Lesson

Renata W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

DIANE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So glad we did this! Only wish we had done it at the beginning of our trip. The way the museum and our guide pulled the early history and cultures together really deepened our understanding. 45,000 artifacts. It was truly amazing. Just wish we had been able to spend more time there

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Casie L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great guide! Small group so she was very focused on explaining the history. Very knowledgeable and great way to see the city of Cuzco.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Brenda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best tour! Lili was great! I recommend this option , I traveled SOLO and this was a great option.

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Melanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We learned so much from Fafiana.She was smart, funny,and very sweet. She explained th sights to us in perfect English. The tour was very worthwhile and recommend to all to get a flavor of downtown Lima and its history. Fafiana even accompanied us on our taxi ride to Park de la Reserva afterwards

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Maria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Traffic is a terrific headache in Lima so walking to discover downtown is really the best option. We loved the tour, very interesting history and Fabiana, the guide was great!!

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Corinne H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This tour is quite different from other tours as you are not on land. Watching the sea lions and other wildlife on the islands was a treat. You will also get to swim with them. They provided snacks which was nice. Just a note that you will need most of the day. The description on line states that it starts in the morning but that is when they pick you up. The actual cruise really starts around 11am and you do not get back to your hotel till after 3pm.

Doing what: Islands of Lima Sightseeing Cruise

Julie Ireland C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Paula was knowledgeable and picked up on what we wanted to see and moved along when we were ready to visit the next site. The length of the tour was perfect and Paula was easy to talk to and her English was excellent. Lovely person.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

James S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with wonderful guide going to the museum when it was almost empty. Our guide was very knowledgable and walked us through each exhibit explaining the entire time. Then dinner at the onsite restaurant in the beautiful lit garden, a truly memorable experience, thank you Victor and Julio our driver.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Daniel passionately guided us through the museum with patience and insights. He was as comfortable and professional explaining the highlights of the treasures throughout the museum as he was guiding us through possible explanations of the sculptures in the erotica museum. The dinner at the end of the tour was good, but not spectacular.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Melissa H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our Gabriela was very knowledgeable and provided a really good tour. The Museum is beautiful and well worth visiting. There was major downside, when I called to book the tour was told we would be picked up about 6:30, as it turned out we were not picked up until 7:30 and after driving to the Museum and doing the tour it was after 9 pm before we were taken to the restaurant to eat, this really interfered with my enjoyment of the tour. Way too late to eat and would not have booked if I had been told the truth. This would be a great tour if it started much earlier so that you could eat by 7:30 8 at the latest.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Georgia S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This is a great way to see the Larco if you are short on time double up dinner and a museum. We enjoyed the tour and dinner but are only giving it 3 stars for the following reasons: 1 the driver was late so everything was pushed back. Our tour was wonderful but is left about an hour for dinner. 2 Dinner felt rushed and by the 10 PM closing we were stuffing down our dessert with no time to peruse the wonderful gift shop.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Melissa H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This is advertised as a 4 hour tour we were through in 2 hours. Our guide Paula was very nice and answered questions when asked but was not really forthcoming with lots of info, would have appreciated much more info about Peru and Lima.

Doing what: Small Group Lima Discovery Walking Tour

Ed L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you find yourself with a long layover at Lima Airport, this would be a good 4-hour option for a single traveler or couple. You could most likely deal with a 4-hour wait in the Airport, itself. Lima airport has many shopping and eating options. The lounge provided a comfortable and quiet retreat for our long 8 hour wait for a late flight to Florida. Not for those who are specifically budget-minded.

Doing what: Lima Airport Lounge: VIP Layover at Jorge Chavez International

Peter K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was very informative. It was a great way for me to be able to get some basic history of the city and be able to learn how to get around the city on my own. Being able to see the ruins is the Sacsaywaman valley was very interesting. The San Pedro Market was amazing and I liked how the guide encouraged me to try the foods and interact with the locals. Thank you

Doing what: Cusco Markets and Ruins Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message