From the colonial grandeur of the Plaza de Armas to its pre-Columbian huacas, a walking tour of Lima serves up a melting pot of Peruvian culture and history, but the city’s proud heritage is also on display at its many museums. Today, the one-time ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Aubrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Knowledgeable guide. Interesting museum. Good meal afterwards.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

John B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent way to spend an evening, go hungry as you get some food and a drink.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

ruthwarden71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide, Gabriella, was very informative and taught us a lot about the Inca tradition. The tour of the museum was great and I learnt a lot. We were quite shocked at the erotica part and how graphic some of the pottery was - maybe it was the Peruvians who wrote the karma sutra after all!
The added bonus was stopping at a local bar to sample a pisco sour and a pork roll which was delicious. Seeing it on a Friday night was an experience as it was packed full of locals, ready to start the weekend.
We then went on to the water fountains and it was great to see families out with their children enjoying the show and the two fountains where you can get wet. Bring some spare clothes and a towel if you want to get wet - there's changing rooms where you can change. The theme this year was about Peru and it was great to see some of Peru's culture projected onto the water fountains.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Michealt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic night and Susanna our guide was so knowledgeable and gave us so much information. She really knew her stuff and was able to explain everything so clearly. Highly recommend this tour, which was well organised from start to finish and the dinner in the beautiful gardens was very good.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Diane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour to Larco Museum and the Magic Waters park. My guide spoke English very well and provided an outstanding, informative tour. As a solo traveler I was especially pleased to have been picked up at my hotel.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

jmp325

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good trip. Water show was unbelievable.

Our tour guide Victor was very nice and knowledgeable. One thing I really liked about this trip was that the bus picked up only people from our hotel and went right to the museum. A lot of tours I've been on they will have busses go to various hotels and then meet at a central point and go in a large group from there. There were only five total in my group which made it really nice.

The trip to the hotel bar was fun in between the museum and water show. The pisco sour was great and had a few peru appetizers and it was fun chatting with the other people on the tour during that and the guilde answered questions on Lima.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing tour. Guide was knowledgeable on museum and dinner was fantastic in an amazing setting. Do not miss this museum .

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Louise K T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Natalie is a knowledgeable and friendly guide. Museum tour just right time-wise, though one could literally spend hours there. Water circuit is fun to see.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Lou Peresa Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What an amazing tour. We had a wonderful English speaking Lady Guide who showed us around the Museum, which was such a privilege doing it After Hours ... wowee!!! Dinner was absolutely fantastic too in the Private Gardens. Special Evening.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

davis.diana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and very enjoyable. Tour guide was very knowledgable and welcoming. Museum was very interesting and the fountains were spectacular. Well pleased with my experience.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Dr. Frederick C O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was a great introduction to Peruvian history and the meal was wonderful.!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

cyberkat72

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was right on time at our hotel to pick us up and was very knowledgeable. The museum is outstanding in both the amount and quality of the collection. We had a wonderful tour with our guide and a delicious dinner in the museum restaurant. Our driver was ready and waiting when we finished dinner and took us right back to the door of our hotel. A wonderful experience and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Hitomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Larco is a must see and of all the Viator trips I took while in Peru the 1 experience.
The museum is a great introduction into the history and archaeology of Peru and should be the first stop of anyone going to Peru.
If nothing else, the restaurant was the best of any of the places I ate in Peru. Fabulous food and beautiful surrounds.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

sugaronmars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour! Loved the magic water circuit. Larco museum was interesting. I didn't realise when booking, but the tour included a Pisco Sour and light dinner famous pork roll at a very old tavern. Tour guide and driver were both amazing and minibus was new and comfy.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Penelope A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderfully enjoyable evening, great guide. A lovely end to my stay in Peru.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Diana L D New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Victor was very knowledgeable and professional. Both the Larco Museum and the Magic Water Circuit were spectacular. Some parts of the water park are interactive and you are likely to get wet if you fully participate so a change of clothes is advisable.

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

DIANE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So glad we did this! Only wish we had done it at the beginning of our trip. The way the museum and our guide pulled the early history and cultures together really deepened our understanding. 45,000 artifacts. It was truly amazing. Just wish we had been able to spend more time there

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

sscott94117

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Lima. What a great introduction to our trip to Peru! We were picked up at our hotel and driven to the Larco Museum. We had an excellent guide who explained the significance of the pottery and artifacts. There was a separate building for erotic art, which I thought was interesting. The Larco Museum has a beautiful garden and a nice restaurant, or so I hear. We drove to a nice hotel near the main square and enjoyed pisco sours and some typical Peruvian snacks. Then we went to the park where we saw a laser light show with music and beautiful fountains with changing patterns and colors. This was a fun evening!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Daniel passionately guided us through the museum with patience and insights. He was as comfortable and professional explaining the highlights of the treasures throughout the museum as he was guiding us through possible explanations of the sculptures in the erotica museum. The dinner at the end of the tour was good, but not spectacular.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

James S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour with wonderful guide going to the museum when it was almost empty. Our guide was very knowledgable and walked us through each exhibit explaining the entire time. Then dinner at the onsite restaurant in the beautiful lit garden, a truly memorable experience, thank you Victor and Julio our driver.

Doing what: Experience Lima: An Evening at the Larco Museum with Dinner

Erin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nataly and Julio were great!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Christine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Larco is not to be missed! Beautiful grounds with an amazing collection of pre-Incan and Incan artifacts. These were an amazing people with a very advanced civilization. It was a great introduction to the Incan culture. If you are headed to Machu Picchu through Lima, do yourself a favor and see this museum. It will totally enhance your experience in Peru. The February night we went to the the Magic Water Circuit the place was packed. I would not attempt this without a guide. He knew right where to take us for the best views, plus he knew how to navigate the crowds. My apologies, but I can't seem to find his name right now, but he was super!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour for me and my family! Our tour guide, Gabby, was outstanding. She is an expert on Peruvian history and ancient cultures. Her tour at the Larco Museum was exceptional. Her enthusiasm and excitement made for a wonderful tour, and the exhibits were very interesting to see. Our children ages 13 and 10 had a great time at the museum too. The exhibits told a great story of the history and culture of Peru. The stonework, pottery, jewelry, artwork, artifacts, and mummies were all wonderful to see. Gabby's commentary and answers to our questions were enlightening and allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the museum. For me, the museum became an unexpected highlight of our trip to Peru. After the museum, the Pisco sour and appetizers were a nice treat before enjoying the magic water circuit at the Parque de la Reserva. This water show was beautiful. Our entire family was amazed by the show. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

MARIANNE B D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

DON'T MISS this tour!!! If you think you've seen fountains at Bellagio - you ain't seen nothin' yet! The water show has laser lighting and pictures and music. Definitely don't go on your own - when you take this tour you get to jump the line which can be three hours long. And the Larco was absolutely the best museum we visited in Lima. Displays were fascinating as is the historic house that houses the museum. Tour company guide and bus were what we've come to expect from Viator - perfect!!

Doing what: Larco Museum and Magic Water Circuit Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message