The mighty Inca Empire once stretched from northern Ecuador to central Chile and northern Argentina, encompassing at least 12 million people and lasting 300 years. Beginning in around 1200 AD as a tribe from Cusco, this well-organized, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 763 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We purchased the train/bus/guide package from Viator. It was a great package and we had a terrific time. A bus picked us up at our hotel in Cusco early in the morning and took us to the train station. From there we rode the Vistadome train which is great because you get terrific views of the countryside for more than 3 hours to Aqua Caliente, a town at the base of the mountain upon which Machu Picchu sits. We were met there by our guide Hector, who was terrific. We had nine people total in our group so it was very manageable and everyone had an opportunity to ask questions, etc. We then stood in a long line for the bus to Machu Picchu. The line moves very quickly though because there are many people going up and the buses just continue rolling through. It is about a 30 minute back and forth ride up the mountain. Once there you need to walk about another thousand feet up to the spot where you see most photos overlooking Machu Picchu. It is a more breathtaking view than I had imagined. The tour of the site then takes about two and a half hours. This is plenty of time and affords you plenty of opportunities to explore and take many photos. One thing I had not realized is that if you want to take any hikes of the nearby mountains you'll need a permit. The number of permits per day is limited. So if you want to do that plan ahead. Our guide Hector was terrific. He was very knowledgeable and answered every question posed to him. Once the tour is over you'll take the bus back to Aqua Caliente where your guide leaves you remember to tip him or her. You'll then have about an hour before catching the train back to Cusco. You can either grab a bite to eat or shop, as there are many shops by the station. The train ride gets you back to Cusco around 6:30 pm and then a bus picks you up and returns you to your hotel. In sum, this was an outstanding day for my family and me. Every aspect of the tour was first rate and I highly recommend this package.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The journey to actually get from Cusco to Machu Picchu is a very long jorney. From the Cusco hotel pickup 4am ish there was a 1 hour and 30 min drive to the train station on a curvy road through the mountains. Once on the train, it was another 1hour and 25min train ride to Machu Picchu on a very, very slow train one track. Once at Machu Picchu there was a 30 min during high periods it can be as long as a 4 hour wait wait for the bus to take you up the 30 min journey to the mountain. We were fortunate to have decent weather no rain and the sights were awesome.

The tour guides changed throughout the journey efficient process but Hamilton was the tour guide once we got to Machu Picchu he was awesome.

All in all a long journey you may want to research shorter routes. All in all the views we awesome and the journey unforgettable.

The journey back down was the same very long returning to the hotel around 6:30pm.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

ERIN.MDOYLE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The sights were incredible. The guides were so nice and professional.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Mark M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

All went as expected communication around pickup time day of tour could have been improved - ended up having to call the local tour operator day before to confirm.

Guide in Aguascalientes/Macchupicchu was great - very knowledgeable of Inca culture and history of this special place.

Would recommend.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Margarita K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

As advertised was a full day tour, we were only able to see Machu Picchu for an hour. Although an amazing hour nonetheless the travel it takes to get to Machu Picchu 4.5hrs from Cusco, it would've been great to be able to spend the day as advertised in the description of this package. There are a variety of other websites to search for that with this crazy price you can do a whole week tour of Machu Picchu, we realized that after the fact.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great comprehensive tour. The market and town of Pisac were fun to walk through. The archeological complex of Ollantaytambo was very impressive - it offered great views if you can make it to the top! A must do if you're visiting the area.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Jeama Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour guide was great!!! Informative tour.

Doing what: Archeological Park of Sacsayhuaman Half-Day Tour

Lou Peresa Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Definitely recommend this tour. Amazing history which Hector our guide shared with us. This seemed a little rushed but wasn't too bad. Good walk up a hill so walking shoes are a must. Bring a bottle of water too. Very fascinating tour and Hector had a great sense of humour, which added to our day!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Kenneth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It met my expectations fully. A truly wonderful day. The Guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was just as described. The guide was awesome and very informative during our tour! it was also very convenient to be picked up from the hotel then taken to the train/bus station instead of meeting the group at those locations. We would definitely do it again but would want to spend a night closer to Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The most amazing experience! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. I am glad that I took the tour rather than exploring on my own because I learned so much and saw things that I otherwise wouldn't have gone to see. The train ride was very cool. Don't expect to sleep on the way home, however there's entertainment throughout the ride!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

stnnb2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly an amazing trip. Tons of night life, food and adventures are every turn. We took the 1 day Machu Picchu tour and it was wonderful!! Beautiful day, comfortable bus and train ride and our guide was the BEST!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

PS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

On-time and well-organized!!! Bucket-list achieved!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ben T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing, great organisation, lovely train journey in the dome train, excellent tour guide, great day trip if you are short of time

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shuying L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Additional ticket to Wayne Picchu is highly recommended. Had to get up 4 in the morning. Estimated travel time is more than 8h. But it's all worth it when I hiked all the way up to Wayne Picchu and enjoyed the great view of Machu Picchu and all the mountains.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Darcy S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Overall a great experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Logan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Good to see a lot of sites quickly, but the tour was rushed and cut short as a lot of people were dropped off in surrounding villages instead of coming back to Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Lou Peresa Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

What a day out to be had! Only thing is by the time you get picked up from Cusco Hotel, then transported to Train Station 30 mins away, then head onto the Train 3.5hrs --- food is delicious by the way. Then wait in line for the Bus to transport you up to Machu Picchu Entrance at least 30 mins ... that only leaves you about 2 hrs to explore the region. Jonny our guide was informative. But you have to catch the train back at 3:20pm, but the tour would be MUCH better if you were able to organise for the 5:10pm train back instead. At least you can explore a little bit of the gorgeous mountainside on your own. But other than that, AWESOME!!! But when we travelled there was a 3 day train strike with Peru Rail .. so instead of 3,000 visitors we had to battle with 7,000 visitors .. so very very long day. Vistadome Train experience is fantastic!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jacques G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was a great experience, i enjoyed visiting all the places included in the tour, it is a must while in Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Shirin B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour - not to be missed

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

MEHMET AKIF D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour in Cusco. See all must places other than Macchu Pichu at once. Definetely worth it

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

WPagan529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do while in the vicinity of Cuzco. Amazing views!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

margaret howard t

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip! Very long day. Have sturdy hiking shoes and altitude pills.... and maybe some extra oxygen! Perhaps more information should be given in advance.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message