Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Belém Tower (Torre de Belém)

Portugal's caravels sailed off to conquer the great unknown from Belém, and today this leafy riverside precinct is a giant monument to the nation's Age of Discoveries. Belém Tower, or Torre de Belém, the much-photographed symbol of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent value for money as we had free access to the other city buses and the trams and aerobus. This is a very good way to see as much of Lisbon as you can during a short break. Buses are frequent and take you to all the interesting areas of Lisbon. We particularly liked the monastery, Belem tower blue line tour and the red tram tour was the highlight of our trip, which we did twice to get up to the Cathedral and St Jorge castle. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Lisbon Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Four Routes Including Tram

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was informative and fun. The guide was bilingual and handled it nicely. We were taken to all sights on the plan. My issue is that the Tower of Belem is not worth the time to enter so I would try to come up with something else that might be more enjoyable. I would say a 30-60 minute walk in Alfama would be much better. And the modern neighborhood, while curious, is not interesting to see as a tourist.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

frew.crew United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour got off to a bit of a rocky start as we had to drive to Cascais to pick up two members of the tour and we picked up the wrong people. We were taken on a bit of a tour of Cascais, which was unnecessary for us as we were heading there the next day. It was discovered that we had the wrong people and had to take them to where they needed to go and then go pick up the couple who should have been picked up an hour earlier. An hour and a half after we were originally picked up, our tour began. Our guide was apologetic. He was also knowledgeable and interested in giving us a balanced view of life in Portugal. He was a bit jaded in his views making a decent living has not been easy for him. I appreciated his candor. The tour itself was pretty thorough although we could not get into the monastery as there was a wedding going on and perhaps due to our delayed start. In any case, this mishap is not likely to happen and the Tower of Belem and the tile museum were highlights.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour. Our guide Andrea was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable on the country's history and a very pleasant person to spend the day with. In a single day you hit most of the main attractions, Belem Tower, Jeronimos Monastery, St. George castle, etc. Plus you eat at a wonderful non-touristy restaurant for lunch.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour


4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Could have been better. Head phone connection for my husbands set did not work. Lots of traffic so slow progress. Sometimes not much or minimal information about where we were.
On plus side lots of stops. We visited Belem tower. Then took bus further on to visit Maritime museum. Well worth a stop.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dario M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was fun! The go car is easy to drive and gave you the possibility to visit Lisbon independent. We drove till Belem Tower and the route was lovely. Highly recommend

Doing what: Lisbon GPS-Guided GoCar Tour


2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour was so so. The tour guide took us to the Belem Tower, a church and stopped for a pastry, which was great. After that, we drove through the city sights and were dropped off right smack in the middle of an aggressive touristy restaurant district for two hours! It was awful. After that we cruised through the other city sights and never stopped, not even in Barrio Alto, which is supposed to be a must see area. All the while in an old van where the air conditioning was not working well, especially in the back. The worst part was being dropped off at a mall for 2.5 hours. I have malls in California. I did not go to Lisbon to go to a shopping mall. I would have preferred to see city sights on foot. This tour was not good.

Doing what: Lisbon in One Day Small-Group Tour

R The Traveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This is worth the price of the tour. I bought the 24 hour tour. I started in the afternoon and had the whole day the next day. Note that there are two itinraries available:
the Red and the Blue line. I was able to take both of them and actually took two rounds of each. On the first round, i wrote down what places i wanted to spend more time on (Tower of Belem is highly suggested and the nearby Discoveries Monument). Then on the second round, i actually went down the bus. You won't go wrong with this hop on hop off.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We went on the Hop-On Hop Bus bus tour as soon as we arrived, and it was a great way to get the lay of the land. We took both the Red and Blue routes. If you can only do one, I recommend the Red Route, and get off at the Belem Tower for half an hour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Lisbon Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message