One of Portugal’s most fascinating destinations, Evora is a city full of historic national treasures that keep any visitor intrigued. From the Roman ruins of the Templo de Diana (Temple of Diana) featuring 14 original Corinthian columns, to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a terrific tour. It was a great opportunity to get out of the city and see more rural areas. Evora is a very charming town. It was interesting to see cork trees and learn about cork harvesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Beth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Evora trip is well worth it! The trip well balanced covering the key sites as well as providing time to stroll around the town. Our driver - Andrea - was very informative, flexible and an absolute joy to spend the day with. She added in a wine tasting at the end of the day in addition to the olive oil tasting. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Having only 8 guests was the perfect size.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ken R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This tour was quite good. There were two couples so it was a very small group and we ended up with two guides Lilliana, who was the regular guide, and Rosio I think that was her name who was there as an apprentice guide. The tour included everything it was supposed to and the wine-tasting and olive-oil tasting were excellent. Our guide was quite knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions. They ate lunch with us, which was a bonus, as they were able to explain the menu and make suggestions. The only reason I did not give 5 stars for this tour was that CoolTours refused to honour our hotel pickup. We booked the tour at least 3 weeks ahead of time, with our hotel and the hotel address included, and then around noon the day before the tour we received an email message stating that they could not pick us up before it would take too much time and it would not be fair to the other participants. As there was only one other couple on the tour, this did not really make sense and we tried to get them to do what they had agreed to do but could not get it changed. One of the reasons we selected this particular version of the Evora day trip was because it specifically stated that hotel pickup was included. Since they refused to honour that committement, we ended up spending an addition 21 euros to get to the pickup point they specified. They DID drop us off at our hotel after the hotel, although not until dropping off the others first. And I expect that it was only because we had told them that it was not at all fair to commit to something and then refuse to do it. However, none of this was the fault of the tour guides and so we did not hold it against them in any way. But be very careful when booking anything with CoolTours Lisbon to ensure you get what you are supposed to.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

mvalencia1223

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Our guide, Anna, was wonderful. It was a private tour which was nice. However, Viator was a misleading in their tour description. Description said wine tasting. We toured the winery with other people not with Viator. At the end of the tour, there was olive oil and 3 wine tastings. However, we only got to taste one wine because Viator only paid the winery for one wine tasting. That was disappointing. We just had to watch everyone else enjoy their 2 additional wines. I think this was a bad decision for Viator to allow us to taste only 1 wine. It was misleading, irritating to us, and there was no way we were going to purchase wine from the winery with that experience. The winery shouldn't even let that happen. Besides, that Evora was pretty neat, especially the Chapel of the Bones. Our guide, Anna, was great, and tried to rectify the situation and make us happy.

Doing what: 8-Hour Semi-Private Évora City and Vineyard Tour

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a tour not to be missed. The mysterious menhirs near Evora are first on your visit and the town itself has a lot to offer, from Roman ruins to medieval churches. Our guide from CoolTours Lisbon, Anika I think, was excellent and I learned so much on this day trip. I won't repeat the praise of others, but just to say that this was certainly a highlight of my 15 or so day trips I took while in Europe this summer.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a convenient way to get to Evora and to learn about it. Our guide, Francisco, was excellent! He made the day worthwhile.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Larry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved Evora, and our guide Fabio was excellent. When I requested information about an online link to the shop where we tasted olive oil, the company--Cool Lisbon Tours--couldn't have been more accommodating. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

MIchael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Would have liked some free time in Evora but otherwise and enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really great tour! Evora and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. And our guide, Isabel and guide-in-training, Francisco, who also contributed to the day were outstanding! One of the highlights of our stay in Lisbon. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our small group tour to Evora was amazing we had so many great opportunities to ask questions of Cecilia and she was an amazing hub of information. Thank you Cecilia for making our day really special! I highly recommend taking this day trip and learning more about Portugal and it's amazing history!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour to see the highlights of Evora. Yet, It was little bit annoying that it was a 2 language tour which takes time to hear twice the same thing as a result we did not have enough time on our own to hang around in Evora and do some shopping

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

susancourtney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were very fortunate to have the most excellent tour guide Raquel. She was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She also found us a fantastic patio for lunch that we never would have found on our own. And although we have been to Lisbon before we had not been to Evora and it was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Évora and Almendres Cromlech Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a trip--Evora and the megaliths outside of Guadalupe. Without our guide, Michela, we would have never learned about so many things megaliths, olive trees, olive oil, cork and all the things made from cork, acorn beer, traveling in Portugal in just one day! Our group was small, but that made it quite easy to navigate through places and to take our time when needed. When we return to Lisbon, we will ask for Michela again!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ross USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour. I took it on Sep. 2. Our guide was very informative. While visiting the cathedral in Evora, go up the tower. It's not a very long climb, and the views of the town are spectacular. In addition to the Roman temple and the cathedral, Evora still has a large section of its medieval wall.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Keith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide, Gustafo, was excellent. Besides being amusing and funny, he was also well informed. He shared a lot of history and cultural information as we traveled on to Evora. The stones at Cromlech were fascinating to experience and walk around, and the information on the cork tree harvesting was enlightening. We had a chance to be interactive as a small group which also was great. The walking tour of Evora was fantastic, as we saw and heard a lot and had some independent time for lunch. The entire town is very worthwhile experiencing. The wine tasting and olive oil tasting were also great. Definitely one of my favorite tours of our entire trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Gustavo was a great guide with the ability to juggle 3 languages. Gustavo was very friendly with a sense of humour and was happy to answer any questions. I really enjoyed Evora!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Martin F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Evora was a great city to visit and the tour guide was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Kathie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Yoki was a great guide. Full of information and little asides. She knew just when the best photo opportunity was for the storks. She recommended a nice little restaurant in Evora. Loved Evora! The intertwining of the old and new. Our free time was just enough and not too much. Cork trees, who knew how fascinating they were. The ancient stone formations were a perfect end to our day. And Yoki is a great, safe driver!

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Evora is a beautiful little town and the tour guides did a great job hitting all the good spots and sharing great information. Bruno and Isabella were wonderful and quickly made me feel welcome. They were very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this tour. The Chapel of Bones is particularly interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Richard o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very enjoyable trip. Evora is an inviting place. The location and attractions were interesting. The guide Gustavo was enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

LisaC

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Michaela was very knowledgeable and even though it was raining all the way from Lisbon to Evora, we were lucky that it only drizzled upon arrival. The wine tasting was very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ryan B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

lot of driving. would have liked more time in the old town of Evora. tour guide was excellent. enjoyed her a lot. had lunch with her.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

hitandrun38

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Andrea was awesome. Very pleasant and eager to answer questions. Our group only consisted of 4 people, down from the usual 8 that would normally go, so the van was even extra roomy and comfortable. Evora is a must see just for the Chapel Of Bones. They were renovating it at the time of our visit so it took away a little of the "Awe" as workers worked along the inside walls but still was very enjoyable. The town is charming with nice restaraunts and shops. You have some free time to walk around, have lunch ,or shop. Andrea gave us the choice of doing lunch alone or going with her which i thought was a nice gesture. We went on our own but in hindsight i wish we had gone with her. Great tour and Great tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Ailien T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we had a lovely time in Evora, the guide very frienly and polite.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Barbara F S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our guide Edgar was a pleasure to be with and we really liked our little group of fellow travelers. The weather intermittently rain and sun which frustrating. Liked Evora a lot although the chapel of bones very creepy place. Day well,organized and well paced. Long drive back to lisbon.

Doing what: Small-Group Évora Day Trip from Lisbon with Olive Oil Tastings

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message