Fátima, located 88 miles (142 kilometers) north of Lisbon is one of the most important shrines to the Virgin Mary in the world. Here, in 1917, she appeared several times to three shepherd children. The last time, on October 13th 1917, there ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rahume63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent Tour! We primarily booked for the Fatima tour, but were impressed with Obidos and Nazare. Tour guide Anna Margarita was very knowledgeable about the sites, and extremely friendly. We also requested a slight change to our schedule, which Anna accommodated and assisted us with purchasing bus tickets. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fatima Nazare and Obidos Small Group Tour

charl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour of the four sites. However, we only had an hour to visit Fatima...need at least two to do it justice. Great guide and tour, otherwise. Great lunch!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

william p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were given an introduction to the story of Fatima then left to explore on our own for a couple of hours. Group was also small so very informative.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed Fatima and Nazare this is very well put together tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fatima was just mind blowing. so beautiful, so majestic.... so spiritual - just gorgeous.
Excellent tour. Excellent tour company. Excellent tour guide Edgar. Fabulous small group of 8 as stated on the ad which was so great as we were never waiting for the late comers to turn up to be able to move on! Such a refreshing change from the big tour bus companies. Will definitely travel with this particular tour company again when I return to Lisbon!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the greatest tour I have every taken. The city of Obidos was small, charming and so heartwarming. Nazare' was beautiful too. Fatima was surreal. It was amazing to walk there where Our Lady has appeared. It was a very quiet and peacefully serene place. Perfect place to pray and reflect. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Jackie D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. The only thing we wish was to have a little more time at Fatima. However, we still were very pleased overall. This tour brought us to 3 completely different places in Portugal. I was only in Portugal for 2 nights and I felt, because of this tour, I really made the most of my first trip to the country. The car we rode in was also very clean and comfortable! I recommend this trip!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Janis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was informative but not overwhelming. We enjoyed each of the stops, but wish we had a little more time in Fatima. Obidos is a charming, beautiful walled city. Thoroughly enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

normand_racicot

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

6-day North Portugal tour of September 17th 2016
Negative feedback for this tour
We were very disappointed by the tour handled by Cityrama/Grayling with a bad start, becoming a tri-language tour and an attempt to make a drastic change on the initial program we paid for.
Pick up time was set for 09.00hrs, another couple waiting with us were told 08.30hrs we were not able to connect with anyone and finally we were picked up by 10.00hrs. The pick up exercise ended at 10.30hrs with 52 people on board, half french, half english with 2 persons from Argentina. On the first day we were told it was a bilingual tour and during the visit our guide would translate in Spanish without the microphone since they were seated at her side. The next day the tour became tri-language with the micro and during the entire visits. The group did complained since we were delayed by this exercise without success, our guide was stubborn.

During the tour we were always running out of time, sometimes with too many little attractions convent, churches and university site we never stop for lunch before 14.00hrs, on two occasions we stopped at 15.00hrs for lunch. In Tomar we were told all kitchen at restaurants were closed since it was after 15.00hrs. We had to eat sandwiches. Every evening the tour ended after 19.00hrs for dinner. No possibilities to have a free evening.

We spent only 20 minutes in Obidos, a charming middle-age village. We spent only 1 hour in Aveiro, the Venice of Portugal, not even able to do the famous gondola 50 minutes tour.
We arrived in Fatima at 19.00hrs at dust and we had to visit the site at 07.00hrs the next morning before the tour departure.
The Porto disaster
Our program we bought specified a 3 nights stay in Porto. ONE HOUR before arriving in Porto we were informed by hour guide a major change in the program as Porto destination was to be changed to Santiago de Compostela. There was almost a riot on board the bus since most people bought the tour to visit PortoAfter 4 surveys under pressure and numerous calls to the tour operator by our guide it was decided that 10 people in our group would go to Santiago de Compostela. Then we heard the real story, there was an hotel overbooking in Porto. The Ipanema hotel 4 listed in our program was not available and we had to split in two different hotels for the first night -3hotel. There was about an hour drive between the 2 hotels and our free time in Porto just vanished since we check-in at 19.00hrs for dinner. The second night had to be spent in the city of Braga an hour drive from Porto since no hotels were available for us in Porto. The third night we came back to Porto at the same 3 hotel, 20 minutes taxi drive for Porto downtown. Beside the program in Porto we had only 2 hours of free time in our 3 days in Porto.

In this adventure I must say the guide did not tried to alleviate these events and became very adversarial. Obviously she was also a victim of the situation but did not do any effort to diminished our frustrations. Considering the problems we had in Porto, not being able to enjoy the city and staying in a -3 stars hotel

Hoping these comments will help you to improve
Normand from Canada

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved the tour but needed additional time in Fatima. My favorite was in Obidos with the castle. Eating on the beach was a great time for all of us. The food was incredible. !

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Pamela M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was great but I wish we had more time in Fatima. I will have to return to really experience the place. Our guide Lydia was very good, very informative. The bus ride was very comfortable also. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

JON L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent tour. plenty of time in Fatima and other stops were interesting. would recommend this tour. worth a day's time.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Frank United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good overview of Obidos,Fatima and Batalha. The trip long, 9 hours with the drive alone from Lisbon being 1.5 hours each way. You have about an hour in Obidos, 45 minutes in Batalha, and 1.5 hrs in Fatima. Lunch is in Nazare with and hour stop. If your interests are lingering and expanding your sightseeing in one of these destinations I would recommend a different trip. If your interests are seeing a lot of different sights, two UNISCO destinations, walled historic towns, seaside villages, and Fatima, in a day this is a good trip to consider. FR

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

marilely0813 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! Our tour guide, Ana was great! Although it was in four languages, she was good about moving things along! Ana was very knowledgeable and had great communication skills. She worked very hard and I can't even imagine how tired she must be at the end of these tours! I would have liked to be in Fatima longer, perhaps next time we will just go to Fatima on our own. The lunch was very good, ready when we got there and the view from the restaurant was very nice. Would have like to see Nazaré from the very top, as I saw in pictures, perhaps to see some of those famous waves they talk about so much. But all in all, excellent tour, great tour guide and saw many beautiful places. I recommend it! Maria E.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Kenneth P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We booked a tour with Viator that offered going to Fatima first and finishing at Obidos and the reason for doing that was other reviews I read about tours offered that started in Obidos and finished up in Fatima talked about being rushed in Fatima due to time restrictions as they were running behind. Well much to our surprise when we were picked up at our hotel and taken to the bus for our tour we were told the tour would be going to Obidos first and finishing up in Fatima. I told our guide Helder about this and she claimed she knew nothing about a tour starting in Fatima first. Well we did go to Obidos then onto a Monastary then to Nazare, Batalha and finally Fatima. Guess what by the time w got to Fatima we were running behind and to top it off the bus stopped for nearly 35 minutes at a tourist trap just a few minutes away from Fatima to funnel us through a massive retail outlet selling religious artifacts. Very tacky and it led to a major revolt amongst the people on the tour. We all basically told Helder that we were all staying in Fatima for 90 minutes to take in all Fatima has to offer. To say the least we returned to Lisbon quite late. In my opinion what happened was that the tour we booked and after asking around in the bus many other people booked starting in Fatima first was rolled into one tour starting in Obidos which is not what we booked. Second this tour is far too rushed and they need to cut out the visit to the Monastary as all we did was look in the church part, never visited the Monastary and could have cut out an hour to add to time better spent in Obidos and Fatima. Next our guide Helder had to give the tour in four languages, English, French, Portugese and Spanish which was ridiculous. This meant standing looking at a place and waiting for the same explanation four times. My understanding was the tour I booked was in English , not 4 languages adding to my suspicion that two different tours had been amalgamated without our knowledge. The other five couples who told me they had booked a tour starting in Fatima were English speaking as well. Very suspicious. I would not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Acsseahawk

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We booked a tour that had Fatima as the highlight, but we ended up being there only one hour. Also, this tour was booked to visit Fatima in the morning and in a mini-van. We ended up with a tour bus with over 50 people. This tour should be changed to visit less places and more time in Fatima. We did not have time to participate in the mass. The tour guide was very good and informative but she had to narrate the tour in four languages, and again with too many people. They mentioned that Viator was the problem and that this happens often, so we got short-changed. We received a partial credit already, but you cannot compensate what we experienced and probably we will not get an opportunity to visit Portugal again.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Rebecca A Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I liked some parts of this day trip, especially Obidos, Nazare and both the Alcobaca and Batalha cathedrals/monasteries. I was disappointed time was wasted at the soveiners factory and didn't know this was part of the trip. More time to walk and explore Obidos and the castle wall would have been fun. Also the last Fatima stop was rather longer than necessary. I was disappointed I was NOT dropped of at the hotel I was told by Viator to walked to. I knew how to walk home from here. When I tried to explain I was anxious about a long walk home up hill, in the dark after a long day, I received no help. Without my iPad I would of been seriously lost and in potentially in danger. Women solo travellers have a right to be safe. On the whole this wasn't my favourite Viator day tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Ken R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

This was not a tour at all but rather it was only an over-priced bus ride to Fatima. Our guide gave minimal background on Fatima and the visitation by Our Lady in 1917 and for the majority of the trip did not say anything at all. She had said she would be available for the first 10 or 15 minutes at the site to point things out and tell us where things such as the washrooms, chapel, graves, etc were located but she was the first person off the bus when we arrived and gave us no help whatsoever. The tour description said there would be 'free time available to attend Mass' but that was very misleading, as the entire time at Fatima was free time and there was no tour of any sort. While I highly recommend visiting Fatima, I also highly recommend getting there by some other method or some other tour and NOT to book this particular tour.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Angela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Greyline service was very professional and the tour guide Rosa was lovely! Rosa was so experienced, friendly, knowledgeable and very informative! The bus ride was smooth and comfortable. We had an incredible time, Fatima was beautiful :

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Not far out of Lisbon so no long bus drive. VERY crowded at Fatima though. But we did have time to go to all the sights on campus if you were determined. Probably not enough time to go to a mass though and see all the sights.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Daniel E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour through some beautiful areas! Batalha was particularly beautiful to me though a little short, and Fatima was both beautiful and profound. Our guide was very nice and clearly worked very hard.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

joeoliva3

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Guide was ok but driver was bad he would consistently brake and gas brake and gas what noise from squeeking brakes.Not good driver it and #39;s probably a four star.Fatima was amazing to see .

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Sinead F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an amazing tour, you will be taken to some beautiful places and get to experience the real 'Portugal'.

Obidos - is a beautiful town with such pretty buildings, lots of lovely cafes and lots of history.
Nazare - a lovely seaside town, I did not take the 'lunch' option when booking and this allowed me to spend an hour on the beach enjoying the spectacular scenery.
Fatima - this is such a special place, very glad I got to go there.

- This tour is so well organized, adequate time is allowed at each location.
- Our guide was lovely and she provided a lot of valuable information.
- Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Evelyne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our visit at Fatima the guide was knowledgeable and gave us a good history account before we arrived. The minibus was very comfortable and the free time we had to visit was good though it was a little short

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message