Fátima, located 88 miles (142 kilometers) north of Lisbon is one of the most important shrines to the Virgin Mary in the world. Here, in 1917, she appeared several times to three shepherd children. The last time, on October 13th 1917, there ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gore.glenda Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent tour and definitely worth every minute. My Journal explains......
Sometimes you just make the right choices and today was one of those days, a day trip to the Portuguese towns of Óbidos, Nazaré, Fatima and Batalhait was always going to be long day.
You may or may not know but it is autumn fall in Lisbontoday it is going to be 28 degrees, I am so glad that I only packed thermals and jumpers not. Obviously, I need some cooler clothes, tomorrow might see me doing some shopping!!!

The first stop was the town of Obidos, an extremely charming medieval village and I loved it, absolutely adored it, it kind of had a feel like san Gimignano Italy, high castle walls, and a town that is only allowed to use blue and yellow on their house colors . And I absolutely love the fact that the castle is a hotel this is now on my bucket list to stay there.
The other interesting and unique part of the town is the drink they serve, it is a cherry liqueur served in a cup, which is made of chocolate. Now I am not fan of cherries, however I decided to try it knowing that I could spit it out lady like of course if I did not like it. For 1 euro, it was a good chance to take. I can report that it was very delicious. So madly seeing as much of Obidos in the 45 minutes I had, I think I did alright with just looking at a couple of choice sights.
Next was a quick stop to visit a monastery at Monastery of Santa Maria d'Alcobaça a UNESCO heritage sight. Beautiful unique and a great love story behind it. The story of the dead queen, which I will park and research more lately. I also caught the drivers having some time out which you will see in the in the photos -we had a great laugh about this
Next stop another UNESCO World Heritage-listed site, another monastery - Batalha Monastery and then followed by a lunch at a very picturesque fishing village of Nazaré.
At lunch, I sat with a family from Brazil, between the sign language, the broken English and some help from the tour guide we managed to have a great conversation over lunch. Rhyss an FYI there are some sons out there that take their mum on holidayI will leave you with that thought.
Lunch was overkill, but a good overkill, entrée of buffalo cheese, then verge soup very delicious then seafood and salad and finally a to die for chocolate cake, with amaretto and coffee. I could have curled up and slept all afternoon needless to say I passed on dinner.
The final stop was at Fatima, known for the 1917 apparition of the Virgin Mary and ostensibly one of the most important Christian sites in the world, whether you believe it or not it was quite a surreal experience.
The other part of Fatima was that it has a part of the Berlin Wall located there...now that was really interesting - to actually see the construction and the height of the berlin wall was pretty damn good.
A couple of favorites today were Obidos and the beach at Nazaré.
Adios from one very tired puppy!!!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Linda M W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

If u take multiple tours u may overlap on sea coast villages from a visual standpoint but they are different locations. I would have preferred a trip to just Fatima and back. But enjoyed the guide and gen locations. Long day though.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Saman United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a great experience. We were picked up from the hotel by the shuttle service at the arranged pick up time and we joined the group at a central place. The tour guide gave us lot of information about the places we visited. All sites had historical value and at Fatima we were give time to visit the cathedral. A Lunch was provided and this was very well served with wine and beverages. On the return journey we were dropped back at the hotel.For a day trip this was good value.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Debotosh L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The itinerary, places visited, things seen are all great. The views and seafood at Nazare were awesome. The guide himself was a very interesting and well informed person and gave a lot of information while driving. However, when it comes to historic locations such as Fatima and Obidos, and while the approach seems to be to let the visitors do their own exploring, it would be better if the guide accompanied them throughout the walking parts of the tour and explained matters of interest. This in my opinion would complete the picture and make the tour exceptionsal

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Wanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience!!! The drive was nice and our tour guide Jose was great!!! The town of Nazare, amazing!!! We had lunch at Rosa dos Ventos restaurant and the food was great. Jose tried to please everyone. The ony thing I have to say on the down size about this trip is that the ime allowed to visit Fatima is a bit short. The time allowed is not much considering the size of the place. Overall, a great trip!!! And our tour guide Jose was so knowledgeable, moito simpatico!!! He was a great guy,

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mrgregory158

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful tour. Everything clicked - the pickup, the tour guide, Fatima, Nazare, Obidos, lunch in Nazare, and stops in between were all fun and memorable. Our tour guide was awesome, she was funny, informative, and inclusive. The incredible feeling I had during my visit to Fatima was spiritually strong and emotional, it was extremely special. The castle and town of Obidos was so classically medieval that you read about and see in movies, I could have wandered around there all day. But Nazare was the place, I've got to go back there. The town is crazy busy, the ocean is immense and right there in your face, the beach was huge, the food tasty. This was a very nice tour. I loved it. I have now taken a few Viator tours and they have all been on the mark - keep up the great work Viator.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Marianne T M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Goncalo was a great tour guide. We went to Fatima, Batalha, Nazare, and Obidos. Goncalo was well-informed, personable, and tweaked the tour so everyone was able to get the maximum out of the tour. He shared the information on the places and Portugal en route to the sites and at the sites, allowing us time to explore the sites on our own, and made sure that we had enough time at each place. When it was time to break for lunch, he was happy to share restaurant suggestions. At Obidos we tried the ginja liquor which was quite good. He was happy to answer questions. Thank you for a good tour!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ricardo r

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

very interesting little time at fatima

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

khadijatu.cole

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was very informative overall. I wish we could have spent a little bit longer in Alfama. The tour to the Museum of Carriages was interesting but too long- That is something I can do on my own. The Fatima tour got cancelled in the afternoon as I was the only passenger however I was given a free 48hr hop on hop off bus ticket and the option to do the Fatima half day tour the next day. Enjoyed the half day Fatima tour. Could have used an extra 2 hours but not a whole day.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Fátima Half-Day Trip

Nancy E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It felt too rushed, did not enjoyed having to stop at a souvenir store 25 minutes before visiting the Shrine of Fatima. I understood the store had contracted with the tour company to offer special discounts but souvenirs could be dealt with afterwards. Also, tour could possibly be restructured to exclude Batalha and reallocate this time to Obidos and Nazare. For example, in Nazare the stop was mostly for lunch at a very nice restaurant if you signed for it. Since I had not chosen lunch, I had ample time to explore the town, socialize with locals, enjoy a nice walk on the promenade and still have time for a delicious seafood plate.
Also, make sure to double check where you will be dropped off upon returning to Lisbon - it may not be the same place where you were picked up. I found myself rearranging my plans back to the hotel before I got off the tour bus and after 9PM.
Price was reasonable and transportation was comfortable.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Beatriz Kane

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We had a strange day. We started in Obidos that was nice and small. Then we went to Nazare, a small fishing town where we ate at ROSA DOS VENTOS. This wonderful family owned small restaurant was GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!. the food delicious and the personal was very sweet !! NOW.... our TOUR GUIDE , NAMED FRANCISCO , was a very strange person. When asked a question about the tour he would answer very short answers and even would in ocasions say I DO NOT KNOW. The worst was when we were late arriving at our private van, after our lunch , that FRANCISCO SCREAMED AT 3 of us for 5 straight minutes!!! . I could NOT beleive my ears!!! Knowing we were in the middle of a small fishing town we decided to just get in the van and get back to Lisbon. But we still had FATIMA to visit and there the group of 8 of us tried to dust away FRANCISCO bad HUMOR and enjoy the site with out asking him another thing. It was for the BEST of THE GROUP.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Xiaorong Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our trip was fantastic. I'm someone who usually hates going on tours and prefers to go on my own, but on this trip, I found myself pleasantly surprised. Our tour guide, Luis, was the best - very knowledgeable and experienced, held a positive attitude throughout, and made our trip truly unforgettable. On this trip, you'll spend roughly 1 hour at Fatima and Obidos, 30-40 min at Batalha Monastery and 90 minutes at Nazare for lunch. We had only 5 people on the bus, so the tour was very intimate. Given we went in the off season December, there were no crowds anywhere, and we found that the time allotted was more than enough with the exception of Batalha, where I would have liked to spend a little bit more time. Would definitely recommend if you are spending a couple of days in Lisbon.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

glen4lv

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

If you want to have more time in Fatima, don't get this tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

rahume63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent Tour! We primarily booked for the Fatima tour, but were impressed with Obidos and Nazare. Tour guide Anna Margarita was very knowledgeable about the sites, and extremely friendly. We also requested a slight change to our schedule, which Anna accommodated and assisted us with purchasing bus tickets. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Fatima Nazare and Obidos Small Group Tour

charl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour of the four sites. However, we only had an hour to visit Fatima...need at least two to do it justice. Great guide and tour, otherwise. Great lunch!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

william p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were given an introduction to the story of Fatima then left to explore on our own for a couple of hours. Group was also small so very informative.

Doing what: Fátima and the Sanctuary Basilica Half Day Tour from Lisbon

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed Fatima and Nazare this is very well put together tour.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fatima was just mind blowing. so beautiful, so majestic.... so spiritual - just gorgeous.
Excellent tour. Excellent tour company. Excellent tour guide Edgar. Fabulous small group of 8 as stated on the ad which was so great as we were never waiting for the late comers to turn up to be able to move on! Such a refreshing change from the big tour bus companies. Will definitely travel with this particular tour company again when I return to Lisbon!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rhonda T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the greatest tour I have every taken. The city of Obidos was small, charming and so heartwarming. Nazare' was beautiful too. Fatima was surreal. It was amazing to walk there where Our Lady has appeared. It was a very quiet and peacefully serene place. Perfect place to pray and reflect. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Jackie D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. The only thing we wish was to have a little more time at Fatima. However, we still were very pleased overall. This tour brought us to 3 completely different places in Portugal. I was only in Portugal for 2 nights and I felt, because of this tour, I really made the most of my first trip to the country. The car we rode in was also very clean and comfortable! I recommend this trip!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Janis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was informative but not overwhelming. We enjoyed each of the stops, but wish we had a little more time in Fatima. Obidos is a charming, beautiful walled city. Thoroughly enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

normand_racicot

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

6-day North Portugal tour of September 17th 2016
Negative feedback for this tour
We were very disappointed by the tour handled by Cityrama/Grayling with a bad start, becoming a tri-language tour and an attempt to make a drastic change on the initial program we paid for.
Pick up time was set for 09.00hrs, another couple waiting with us were told 08.30hrs we were not able to connect with anyone and finally we were picked up by 10.00hrs. The pick up exercise ended at 10.30hrs with 52 people on board, half french, half english with 2 persons from Argentina. On the first day we were told it was a bilingual tour and during the visit our guide would translate in Spanish without the microphone since they were seated at her side. The next day the tour became tri-language with the micro and during the entire visits. The group did complained since we were delayed by this exercise without success, our guide was stubborn.

During the tour we were always running out of time, sometimes with too many little attractions convent, churches and university site we never stop for lunch before 14.00hrs, on two occasions we stopped at 15.00hrs for lunch. In Tomar we were told all kitchen at restaurants were closed since it was after 15.00hrs. We had to eat sandwiches. Every evening the tour ended after 19.00hrs for dinner. No possibilities to have a free evening.

We spent only 20 minutes in Obidos, a charming middle-age village. We spent only 1 hour in Aveiro, the Venice of Portugal, not even able to do the famous gondola 50 minutes tour.
We arrived in Fatima at 19.00hrs at dust and we had to visit the site at 07.00hrs the next morning before the tour departure.
The Porto disaster
Our program we bought specified a 3 nights stay in Porto. ONE HOUR before arriving in Porto we were informed by hour guide a major change in the program as Porto destination was to be changed to Santiago de Compostela. There was almost a riot on board the bus since most people bought the tour to visit PortoAfter 4 surveys under pressure and numerous calls to the tour operator by our guide it was decided that 10 people in our group would go to Santiago de Compostela. Then we heard the real story, there was an hotel overbooking in Porto. The Ipanema hotel 4 listed in our program was not available and we had to split in two different hotels for the first night -3hotel. There was about an hour drive between the 2 hotels and our free time in Porto just vanished since we check-in at 19.00hrs for dinner. The second night had to be spent in the city of Braga an hour drive from Porto since no hotels were available for us in Porto. The third night we came back to Porto at the same 3 hotel, 20 minutes taxi drive for Porto downtown. Beside the program in Porto we had only 2 hours of free time in our 3 days in Porto.

In this adventure I must say the guide did not tried to alleviate these events and became very adversarial. Obviously she was also a victim of the situation but did not do any effort to diminished our frustrations. Considering the problems we had in Porto, not being able to enjoy the city and staying in a -3 stars hotel

Hoping these comments will help you to improve
Normand from Canada

Doing what: 6-Day North Portugal Tour: Porto, Braga, Fátima, Coimbra, Guimaraes, Aveiro and Batalha, from Lisbon

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved the tour but needed additional time in Fatima. My favorite was in Obidos with the castle. Eating on the beach was a great time for all of us. The food was incredible. !

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Pamela M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was great but I wish we had more time in Fatima. I will have to return to really experience the place. Our guide Lydia was very good, very informative. The bus ride was very comfortable also. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

JON L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent tour. plenty of time in Fatima and other stops were interesting. would recommend this tour. worth a day's time.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message