Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

National Palace of Sintra (Palácio Nacional de Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 489 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Palaces were beautiful and enough time was spent at each and enough time for lunch in Sintra. Guide however, was pretty much non-existent.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Kimbra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing tour! Sintra and Cascais were absolutely striking and beautiful!!! Our guide Gonzalo was the best. He spoke great English, was super nice, very informative and even gave in to all our photo taking requests!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gglmbl899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lisbon Super Saver 2 Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos exceeded expectations! Thelma was our tour guide both days with our small group of 8 tourists and she was excellent, really knows her history, the area and extremely professional. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day out! The palaces are beautiful, and Sintra is a charming little town. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I had a great time.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

DENISE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Tiago was a wonderful guide and took us on very scenic roads to and from Sintra and Cascais. He was knowledgeable and helpful and the sites were worth the trip! If you have several days in Lisbon, this tour should be on your list. We loved it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Alison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Joao was a great guide. Would recommend going to Sintra and the Pena Palace

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good way to see the Pena Palace. Rather than have a lunch there was plenty of time to visit the National Palace during the break in Sintra. The return along the coast is an opportunity to see the coastline and the resorts. Our guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

krissy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My niece and I were picked up by our guide, Ricardo, in a green VW Beetle convertible at the front of our hotel. We instantly felt a connection with him as he listed our options for the morning. Along with the usual spots, Ricardo arranged for us to try the best custard tarts we've ever tasted! He customized our trip through our questions and conversation so that we would see those things that we most wanted to see, and he also threw in a few extra surprises. The second half of the day was the Sintra portion where Ricardo took us on the scenic drive along coastal streets and we visited several well-know sites. He was obviously very proud of his country and gave us really insightful information that made the sites come alive for us. Our trip included a trip to the town of Sintra, which was very beautiful. We had a wonderful stop in Cascais at the 'best' gelato store, according to Ricardo, and he was right! We travelled through the forests and smelled the Eucalyptus trees through the open roof of the car and had a wonderful lunch in an authentic neighbourhood restaurant. All in all the tour was terrific and I think our most favourite spot was Cabo da Roca. Had we not had Ricardo as our guide it might have been similar to other tours except for the car. It was truly his enthusiasm and enchanting personality that had made it a wonderful tour. He was so flexible with the locations that he even arranged a last-minute visit to a reputable tattoo parlour to get my first tattoo. I think my request was even surprising to him, but he went through with it for me. I love my tattoo. Thanks for a very remarkable tour, Ricardo!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Khoi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Gustavo, was great. At each stop, he gave us an in-depth explanation of the historical background. I liked his dark sense of humor. He was accommodating and his driving skill was superb, proven with his skillful maneuvers through those narrow alleys with other vehicles and people around. He knew well where to stop to let us out to avoid long walks and where to have the best lunch. We were lucky to have him tour-guide us in Sintra. We skipped the second day so can't tell how it would be. I highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Ms L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have done a few Viator tours however on this tour our tour Gide Gonçalo was exceptional. He was incredibly knowledgable, spoke both English and French and went out of his way to ensure that we had a wonderful experience visiting Sintra and concais. Gongalo was exceptionally courteous, balanced the needs of the group given different laguages and physical capacity. We would highly recommend this tour it was beautiful, and ask for Gongalo.
Lee-Anne and Geoff. Australia

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour and day at Sintra and Cascais! It completely met our expectations, and Luis was an excellent guide and driver and made us feel very welcome and delighted us all day with his charm and knowledge of the area.
We had the best time, and I highly recommend this tour! Everything was exactly as described, and we had the best time!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

kcorres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Abel was very knowledge about Portugal's history and familiar with Sintra's. It was obvious that he has a deep love for the country and made a great tour guide! Would definitely have him again if I've ever back in Portugal!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Marita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed both tours and specifically enjoyed our tour guide for the Sintra/Cascais trip. Gonzalo was simply a great and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour of Sintra was fantastic - our tour guide was very informative and the whole tour ran very smoothly. We were able to explore the incredible Pena National Palace at a leisurely pace and then had a very nice lunch and free time in Sintra village. The weather in Sintra was a little misty and chilly so be prepared and dress accordingly. The drive back to Lisbon is quite lengthy however the sights in Cascais are a joy to behold and pass the time quickly. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Most informative tour guide, who gave us an overview of Portuguese history and how Sintra, Cascais and Estroril fit into all this. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very good. The small group size was perfect. Sintra was amazing. The trip to Cascais is an added bonus. I would recommend this day trip to anyone coming to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jia Yun E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thelma was very knowledgeable and keep us posted along the way to Sintra and Cascais. The air-conditioned minivan was very comfortable too. Wonderful experience, breathtaking scenery and magnificent architecture. Besides the scorching hot sun this July, everything else was perfectly fine!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An incredible 2 day tour with very knowledge guides. Highly recommend this day trip if you want to see how diverse Portugal is. Sintra is stunning and the the Palace de Pena and it's gardens is just incredible. The drive from Cascais is really beautiful with the sand dunes and visiting the Western most point of Europe is a must. I'd recommended doing Fatima, Nazare and Obidob on day one and don't dine in the restaurant the guide recommends, service is very slow, then do Sintra on day two as it's the better out of the 2 days so a highlight to finish up. Highly recommended tour and worth every cent.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jo Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and the castle were amazing!!! Enjoyed the beautiful architecture and beaches of Portugal. Our guide was very informative and helpful ...thanks Gonzab! For a truly wonderful experience I would suggest taking this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

jslotwinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Tiago, was a very good driver and explained a lot about the area as he drove from Lisbon to the sights. He parked in the Sintra forest and took us on a little hike where we could see the palace from a distance. This was a nice touch. Once at the palace, which is uniquely beautiful, we toured with him and then had some time to look around. It was a nice combination. After the palace, we drove to Sintra. Most of the group ate lunch in the restaurant Tiago recommended, and then we had time to walk around the town. I loved all the pottery and cork shops! Wish we had more time there, but we had several more stops to make. Next we went to the westernmost point in Europe, which was stunning! The scenery is gorgeous, but it is windy and cold! Bring a jacket. Last, we went to Cascais. It was so hot by then that we just wanted to go to the beach. Both beaches were so jam-packed, it was impossible to navigate the sand. Plus, the water was freezing, so we just wandered around. After we all met back at the van, we drove back to Lisbon. It was a lot to do in one day, but is very efficient if you don't have a lot of time, like us. All in all, very fun and interesting tour. Thanks Tiago!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day out. Sintra was the highlight. A 'must do' for any visit to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anindya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Our guide John was a very knowledgeable and funny guy. He was also very patient with all our questions. We got to see the Sintra castle and the park. It was a beautiful castle! With so many unique architectural aspects. The trip cascais was okay. It was a very hot day! And we ended up not spending too much time on the beach. Instead we headed for the ice cream shop and enjoyed some good yummy ice cream! Overall a day well spent.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect day trip with a lot to take in and see! Our guide Christoph did a great job telling us the history of Portugal and interesting things about each place we visited. Pena palace is gorgeous! Cascais and Sintra are both beautiful cities. Cabo da Roca is colder and windy but still worth the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gabriela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another well done tour by Inside Lisbon. The small group limit made the tour more personable than those big tours. The guide was a history teacher and was a wealth of information. Vans were comfortable. I enjoyed the list of sights. Sintra was amazing. Cascais was nice.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour completely met our expectations and is a perfect day trip from Lisbon. Sintra was amazing, hard to visualize from pictures alone, and the seaside town of Cascais was beautiful. We loved the small group tour and our guide, Filipa, was knowledgeable and patient. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message