Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

National Palace of Sintra (Palácio Nacional de Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 459 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jslotwinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Tiago, was a very good driver and explained a lot about the area as he drove from Lisbon to the sights. He parked in the Sintra forest and took us on a little hike where we could see the palace from a distance. This was a nice touch. Once at the palace, which is uniquely beautiful, we toured with him and then had some time to look around. It was a nice combination. After the palace, we drove to Sintra. Most of the group ate lunch in the restaurant Tiago recommended, and then we had time to walk around the town. I loved all the pottery and cork shops! Wish we had more time there, but we had several more stops to make. Next we went to the westernmost point in Europe, which was stunning! The scenery is gorgeous, but it is windy and cold! Bring a jacket. Last, we went to Cascais. It was so hot by then that we just wanted to go to the beach. Both beaches were so jam-packed, it was impossible to navigate the sand. Plus, the water was freezing, so we just wandered around. After we all met back at the van, we drove back to Lisbon. It was a lot to do in one day, but is very efficient if you don't have a lot of time, like us. All in all, very fun and interesting tour. Thanks Tiago!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day out. Sintra was the highlight. A 'must do' for any visit to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anindya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Our guide John was a very knowledgeable and funny guy. He was also very patient with all our questions. We got to see the Sintra castle and the park. It was a beautiful castle! With so many unique architectural aspects. The trip cascais was okay. It was a very hot day! And we ended up not spending too much time on the beach. Instead we headed for the ice cream shop and enjoyed some good yummy ice cream! Overall a day well spent.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect day trip with a lot to take in and see! Our guide Christoph did a great job telling us the history of Portugal and interesting things about each place we visited. Pena palace is gorgeous! Cascais and Sintra are both beautiful cities. Cabo da Roca is colder and windy but still worth the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gabriela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another well done tour by Inside Lisbon. The small group limit made the tour more personable than those big tours. The guide was a history teacher and was a wealth of information. Vans were comfortable. I enjoyed the list of sights. Sintra was amazing. Cascais was nice.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour completely met our expectations and is a perfect day trip from Lisbon. Sintra was amazing, hard to visualize from pictures alone, and the seaside town of Cascais was beautiful. We loved the small group tour and our guide, Filipa, was knowledgeable and patient. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Juanita Enid D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and Cascais are really very beautiful places.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Christi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Loved the small group and our guide Christoph was great. If you see ANYTHING in the Lisbon area we recommend the Pena Palace. Sintra is charming and the beaches at Cascais are great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, awesome day spent looking at many different castles in Sintra and exploring Cascais :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mkirk99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable trip to Sintra! Our guide Pedro was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. Sintra was beautiful and the Pena Palace was the true highlight of the day. Cabo da Roca was super cloudy but we got a glimpse of the Atlantic. Cascais was just ok. Beach town with touristy stores.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Charlotte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fellippa was a great tour guide! Sintra is a can and #39;t miss destination and it was fun to swim in the waters of Cascais ( bring your bathing suit!).

Overall I would say there isn and #39;t enough time allocated for Sintra. You could easily spend the whole day there. If the weather wasnt nice, cascais =boring.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

MKLIONSKY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We gad great time.
Our guide Pedro told us story about Sintra and Pena Palace.Pena Palace is must to see place when you visit Lisbon.It is colorful and fairy tale castle with gorgeous view.
The stop at Cabo da Roca was highlight of the trip .Unbelivable view..
We like our stop at Cascais also.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a memorable trip. There are no words to describe the beauty we witnessed. Sintra is a true gem.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour- Sintra, Obidos, Nazare were nice places. Fatima for the religious side of things. Cascais was nice but too commercial. Very good value for a 2 day tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Erika F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day out. I cannot recommend the views and the castle experience enough! - as well as the chance to explore Sintra and Cascais. My tour guide was absolutely wonderful and it truly made our trip to Lisbon even better.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day, our guide was a lovely guy called Edgar who shared his local knowledge with the group. Well worth the effort and money as you see places that you wouldn't normally experience unless you had hired a car. 4 of us in the group wanted to see the underground well, even though it wasn't on our tour Edgar dropped us at the entrance and arranged to meet us in the local square in Sintra later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic 2 days. Pedro was our tour guide on the first day to Sintra and he is absolutely fabulous!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Yvonne Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour although at times was worried if we would make it through the day as our guide drove rather fast and tended to look at us in the back or at sights he was pointing out to us! But all in all a lot of fun. We had the red beetle and fortunately it was warm enough - just - to have the roof off. Made getting in and out of the back seat much easier. Our guide was a great guy and really friendly and nice. Sintra and Cascais are beautiful places to visit and the coastal scenery at the most western point of the continent was fantastic. Highly recommended day out from Lisbon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Willie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day out. Sintra is cooler than Lisbon so dress appropriately. Very cool place and highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Camelia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was such a great tour! Wish we could and #39;ve stayed in Sintra longer. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and bus was very comfortable.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sintra is a fairy tale place we would not want to have missed. We especially liked the small group tour and very knowledgeable and personable guide.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sintra and Cascais are amazing places to see! Our tour guide, Abel, was great. He really made our trip enjoyable.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fabulous day! Our first stop was Cascais with a lovely beach and great shopping. Next stop was Cabo Da Roca, Europe and #39;s most western point. We had lunch in Sintra with some of our small group. We ended the tour at the beautiful Pena Palace! Christof our guide was friendly and informative. :-)

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rhonda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guy was the top. He was kind, and had great knowledge of Sintra and Cascais. We fell in love with both places and plan to return. We had time to get to know are travel mates who was from Japan, Canada . Taking a small tour is the only way to go. Once again I give are tour guide 5 stars and more. Sorry, I believe his name was Evan. Please tell him thank you again from the Chapman's. We had him on both tours from Lisbon. The pick up was in a central location 10 mins from our hotel which was just a short taxi ride. Sincerely, Theodore and Rhonda Chapman, Florida USA

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carleton L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were very satisfied with this all-day tour. Pickup from the hotel Sheraton Lisboa was prompt although the ultimate departure time was later than scheduled. The hotel pickup is just transportation to the bus station which is really just a collection of buses in a pleasant tree-lined street not far from the Sheraton. We did finally leave but there was an accident causing traffic backup so we were rather late arriving at the palace, obviously not the fault of the tour. This tour visited the main sites you want to see, Sintra, Pena Palace, Cascais, Cabo de Roca. The tour guide was quite good and did her best to accommodate everyone. We spent about 2 hours in the town of Sintra, which is where the included lunch is served. My wife and I chose not to do the included lunch and I was very happy for that! There are tons of little pastry shops and restaurants where you can get sandwiches and other food very reasonably, and spend more time exploring. The one complaint I have is that we didn't have time to explore the gardens around Pena Palace, which are supposed to be amazing. Other than that, highly recommended!

Note that this tour was provided by the Gray Line service which does a bunch of bus tours and hop-on/hop-off bus services. We used Gray Line for 2 hop-on/hop-off city tours where we just stayed on the bus for the full circuit and that worked well. However, I DO NOT recommend using hop-on/hop-off for the longer trips e.g. to Cascais. My poor wife waited an hour and 45 minutes for the bus to return on the Cascais line. The problem is that the hop-on/hop-off buses do not stick to a schedule so you have no idea when they are coming. However, they're fine if you stay on for the shorter circuits, and the guided day-trip not a hop-on/hop-off was great. I also highly recommend Uber, outstanding service in and around Lisbon all week.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message