Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

National Palace of Sintra (Palácio Nacional de Sintra)

Sintra lies in hilly country close to Lisbon and is considered such an extraordinary town that the whole place is UNESCO World Heritage listed. As one of the most popular day trips from the Portuguese capital, Sintra has a cluster of beguiling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 470 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kcorres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Abel was very knowledge about Portugal's history and familiar with Sintra's. It was obvious that he has a deep love for the country and made a great tour guide! Would definitely have him again if I've ever back in Portugal!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Marita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed both tours and specifically enjoyed our tour guide for the Sintra/Cascais trip. Gonzalo was simply a great and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour of Sintra was fantastic - our tour guide was very informative and the whole tour ran very smoothly. We were able to explore the incredible Pena National Palace at a leisurely pace and then had a very nice lunch and free time in Sintra village. The weather in Sintra was a little misty and chilly so be prepared and dress accordingly. The drive back to Lisbon is quite lengthy however the sights in Cascais are a joy to behold and pass the time quickly. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Most informative tour guide, who gave us an overview of Portuguese history and how Sintra, Cascais and Estroril fit into all this. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very good. The small group size was perfect. Sintra was amazing. The trip to Cascais is an added bonus. I would recommend this day trip to anyone coming to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jia Yun E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thelma was very knowledgeable and keep us posted along the way to Sintra and Cascais. The air-conditioned minivan was very comfortable too. Wonderful experience, breathtaking scenery and magnificent architecture. Besides the scorching hot sun this July, everything else was perfectly fine!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An incredible 2 day tour with very knowledge guides. Highly recommend this day trip if you want to see how diverse Portugal is. Sintra is stunning and the the Palace de Pena and it's gardens is just incredible. The drive from Cascais is really beautiful with the sand dunes and visiting the Western most point of Europe is a must. I'd recommended doing Fatima, Nazare and Obidob on day one and don't dine in the restaurant the guide recommends, service is very slow, then do Sintra on day two as it's the better out of the 2 days so a highlight to finish up. Highly recommended tour and worth every cent.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Jo Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and the castle were amazing!!! Enjoyed the beautiful architecture and beaches of Portugal. Our guide was very informative and helpful ...thanks Gonzab! For a truly wonderful experience I would suggest taking this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

jslotwinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Tiago, was a very good driver and explained a lot about the area as he drove from Lisbon to the sights. He parked in the Sintra forest and took us on a little hike where we could see the palace from a distance. This was a nice touch. Once at the palace, which is uniquely beautiful, we toured with him and then had some time to look around. It was a nice combination. After the palace, we drove to Sintra. Most of the group ate lunch in the restaurant Tiago recommended, and then we had time to walk around the town. I loved all the pottery and cork shops! Wish we had more time there, but we had several more stops to make. Next we went to the westernmost point in Europe, which was stunning! The scenery is gorgeous, but it is windy and cold! Bring a jacket. Last, we went to Cascais. It was so hot by then that we just wanted to go to the beach. Both beaches were so jam-packed, it was impossible to navigate the sand. Plus, the water was freezing, so we just wandered around. After we all met back at the van, we drove back to Lisbon. It was a lot to do in one day, but is very efficient if you don't have a lot of time, like us. All in all, very fun and interesting tour. Thanks Tiago!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day out. Sintra was the highlight. A 'must do' for any visit to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anindya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Our guide John was a very knowledgeable and funny guy. He was also very patient with all our questions. We got to see the Sintra castle and the park. It was a beautiful castle! With so many unique architectural aspects. The trip cascais was okay. It was a very hot day! And we ended up not spending too much time on the beach. Instead we headed for the ice cream shop and enjoyed some good yummy ice cream! Overall a day well spent.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect day trip with a lot to take in and see! Our guide Christoph did a great job telling us the history of Portugal and interesting things about each place we visited. Pena palace is gorgeous! Cascais and Sintra are both beautiful cities. Cabo da Roca is colder and windy but still worth the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gabriela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another well done tour by Inside Lisbon. The small group limit made the tour more personable than those big tours. The guide was a history teacher and was a wealth of information. Vans were comfortable. I enjoyed the list of sights. Sintra was amazing. Cascais was nice.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour completely met our expectations and is a perfect day trip from Lisbon. Sintra was amazing, hard to visualize from pictures alone, and the seaside town of Cascais was beautiful. We loved the small group tour and our guide, Filipa, was knowledgeable and patient. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Juanita Enid D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and Cascais are really very beautiful places.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Christi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Loved the small group and our guide Christoph was great. If you see ANYTHING in the Lisbon area we recommend the Pena Palace. Sintra is charming and the beaches at Cascais are great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, awesome day spent looking at many different castles in Sintra and exploring Cascais :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mkirk99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable trip to Sintra! Our guide Pedro was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. Sintra was beautiful and the Pena Palace was the true highlight of the day. Cabo da Roca was super cloudy but we got a glimpse of the Atlantic. Cascais was just ok. Beach town with touristy stores.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Charlotte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fellippa was a great tour guide! Sintra is a can and #39;t miss destination and it was fun to swim in the waters of Cascais ( bring your bathing suit!).

Overall I would say there isn and #39;t enough time allocated for Sintra. You could easily spend the whole day there. If the weather wasnt nice, cascais =boring.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

MKLIONSKY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We gad great time.
Our guide Pedro told us story about Sintra and Pena Palace.Pena Palace is must to see place when you visit Lisbon.It is colorful and fairy tale castle with gorgeous view.
The stop at Cabo da Roca was highlight of the trip .Unbelivable view..
We like our stop at Cascais also.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a memorable trip. There are no words to describe the beauty we witnessed. Sintra is a true gem.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour- Sintra, Obidos, Nazare were nice places. Fatima for the religious side of things. Cascais was nice but too commercial. Very good value for a 2 day tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Erika F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was a wonderful day out. I cannot recommend the views and the castle experience enough! - as well as the chance to explore Sintra and Cascais. My tour guide was absolutely wonderful and it truly made our trip to Lisbon even better.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent day, our guide was a lovely guy called Edgar who shared his local knowledge with the group. Well worth the effort and money as you see places that you wouldn't normally experience unless you had hired a car. 4 of us in the group wanted to see the underground well, even though it wasn't on our tour Edgar dropped us at the entrance and arranged to meet us in the local square in Sintra later.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic 2 days. Pedro was our tour guide on the first day to Sintra and he is absolutely fabulous!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message