Lisbon ATTRACTIONS See all

Pena National Palace

Technically, UNESCO considers the entire cultural landscape of Sintra the World Heritage Site here, but the crown jewel is the royal Pena National Palace. Considered the greatest example of 19th-century Romanticism in the world, the palace sprawls ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Inna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great trip with the castle as the highlight.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Julz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome tour and day and guide

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

DAVID P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was great! Highly recommended if you only have a 1/2 day and see both places!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Kamika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly worth the money! Katarina was a great guide! She provided tons of interesting information but with a sense of humor. The castle is absolutely stunning and my tour happened on a very rainy day so I can only imagine what Sintra is like on a beautiful sunny day. The trip to Cascais and the beach were also very nice, but I must say I could have spent the full day at the castle.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ellen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day and tour guide.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ROBERT NELSON B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time exploring Sintra Royal Palaces with our knowledgeable tour guide. Palaces were truly beautiful and amazing. We were able to stroll more around the city on our own since we did not book with meal. Fascinating panoramic views, very informative tour, excellent weather condition. Job well done by the guide, sorry we forgot her name. First time visitors should not miss this. You won't regret for your time and money's worth.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

S E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a most informative and professional guide. The trip to Sintra is well worth your time as well as the opportunity to view some of the coastline of Portugal.

As an aside....I accidentally put in the wrong dates as I booked this tour at the last minute. According to Viator's policy I would not be able to get a refund as I was booking a tour with such little notice. I called the company and much to my surprise they were most helpful, understood my mistake and gave me full credit. This type of customer service will bring me back to them in the future.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip and wonderful place to visit. The group was well organized and we negotiated the crowds and saw everything.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very good trip, amazing sights etc--would highly recommend

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharon V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Small Group day trip was shared with 6 others and was the best. Our guide Harald Rothermel was friendly, knowledgeable. He took us to a great family run restaurant in Sintra and the visited the amazing coloured castle. We then proceeded down to mountain to sea level and Cascais which was just beautiful, we went to go back there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide - a day well spent.
The tour guide made the day interesting - sharing not only history but useful facts. I would recommend it to see more of what Portugal has to offer.
Just be aware of the walking as Sintra is in the hills and the palace is on a steep incline - sensible shoes recommended.
Enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my trip! This tour was fantastic and we all had a great time.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Erzsebet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The day trip to Sintra was amazing! Our guide, Juan was well prepared, helpful and a perfect host. We enjoyed every minute of the trip and his guidance. Highly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gaines5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and also a good driver. Sintra and the Pena was very nice and also the drive on the way to Cascais. Very good day trip especially if you are traveling solo.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Mark P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. We went with a group of eight people from different countries. There were many
tourists at the meeting place going to different places with the same company. Minivans were
arriving one after another. Each guide had a list of people they were taking on the tour. There
was an accident and heavy traffic in Lisbon the morning of our tour so most of the guides arrived
one hour later than expected but our tour was not shortened at all. Our tour guide Jorge was very
informative and entertaining. He successfully engaged all the participants in conversations. We
asked many question on Portuguese history, culture, wine, industries, education and received
broad and deep answers. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

leschang68 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip! A must if you have a full day in Lisbon. Small group size was nice for the ease of getting in and out of the mini-van and feeling that you get a more personal experience with our wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

angelo r m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide,great day tour,would do it again.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Angela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Totally worth the trip. The architecture and history is amazing. It's a bit of a climb to get to the palace be prepared for some burning leg muscles or take the tram. The stop at the most western point of Portugal was a great view of the coastline. We found a great family business and had a nice leisurely lunch at our last stop on a beautiful day learning to enjoy all the lovely local food. Don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Terry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sintra is just so beautiful. This was one of the highlights of my trip. Great guide and lots of history.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a group of eight. Minivan type car was very clean and pleasant to drive in. Our tour guide, Harold was fun, friendly and efficient! He was very knowledgable and on the drive told us all about the local history and the relevance of our destinations. We wondered on our own periodically to explore the sights. It was the perfect mix of self and guided tour. Definitely wear layers and comfortable walking shoes. Harold also drove us up the narrow streets of Sintra to a quaint little local coffee shop where the views were spectacular. The entire day was filled with breathtaking sights and adventure. One of the best day tours I have been on.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Cathi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see Sintra and the coastline. We had a fabulous day and our guide was great at getting us to Sintra to see the castle prior to the crowds. Then the rest of the day was beautiful and relaxing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tracy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour, really beautiful. Perfect day tour outside of Lisbon if you are short on time.

Doing what: Half Day Private Tour: Sintra and Beaches

Rey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour .... . We love it, every penny worthy. Experience Priceless.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message