Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour, really liked Sintra and Obidos. The tour guides were really good.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

pinto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

augustus the guide was superb.. sintra was enchanting.. had a amazing fish at nazare.. obidos was great.. so was divine fatima.. over all had a amazing 2 days.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our first experience with Viator and we met up with 3 other couples who have used them for their travels for years and swear by them. Such and easy way to see what you want in an unfamiliar city for great prices. Sintra is jaw dropping and should not be missed, as well as, Cascais and Obidos. We found Fatima a little boring but would not have missed this day for the world

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

executive63

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was great, we could use a smaller bus as it was only 10 people or so, the Lisbon Sightseeing was great with lots on information and free time, the only thing I would recommend was to stop in the bottom of the city instead of on the top of the park for more eating lunch options. Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast tour was great and we got to see the sunset perfect timing. Thanks

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

Kamika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly worth the money! Katarina was a great guide! She provided tons of interesting information but with a sense of humor. The castle is absolutely stunning and my tour happened on a very rainy day so I can only imagine what Sintra is like on a beautiful sunny day. The trip to Cascais and the beach were also very nice, but I must say I could have spent the full day at the castle.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Crystal R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this tour. The driver gave us lots of info during the drive. Sintra was beautiful. The castle was great but I wish we had more time to walk around and explore the town during our lunch break. Stopping at the light house and Cascais was great too. I opted to lay on the beach.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved this tour. Sintra was beautiful. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable. He gave us great tips and things to look out for in our tour. He was very talkative and entertaining.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

larraine3800

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Harald was a great guide and driver. We saw so much and I only wish we had a little longer time to shop in Sintra although I really loved the fact that we left the touristy restaurants in Sintra to visit the restaurant we did go to in a small village.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Vanessa D. United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We truly enjoyed every single place that we've been: Jerónimos Monastery, Coach Museum, National Palace of Sintra and the stunning Hell's Mouth cliff Boca do Inferno! Although, I was a little bit disappointed when we didn't go to Cabo da Roca, Europes westernmost point since it wasn't a good time of the year to travel there. Therefore, we will definitely go back again Summer time when the point would be perfect to visit! This tour made my birthday celebration a very memorable one so a massive thank you to our incredible guide José from Cityrama/Gray Line Portugal.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

naya

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

what good about it was max 8 people per guide in a small mini van. our guide Pedro was very good.Sintra was interesting good tour. Cascais was a beach water front area where we were dropped off to check the stores out. not much to see and do.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gaines5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and also a good driver. Sintra and the Pena was very nice and also the drive on the way to Cascais. Very good day trip especially if you are traveling solo.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Erzsebet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The day trip to Sintra was amazing! Our guide, Juan was well prepared, helpful and a perfect host. We enjoyed every minute of the trip and his guidance. Highly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide - a day well spent.
The tour guide made the day interesting - sharing not only history but useful facts. I would recommend it to see more of what Portugal has to offer.
Just be aware of the walking as Sintra is in the hills and the palace is on a steep incline - sensible shoes recommended.
Enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharon V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Small Group day trip was shared with 6 others and was the best. Our guide Harald Rothermel was friendly, knowledgeable. He took us to a great family run restaurant in Sintra and the visited the amazing coloured castle. We then proceeded down to mountain to sea level and Cascais which was just beautiful, we went to go back there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a most informative and professional guide. The trip to Sintra is well worth your time as well as the opportunity to view some of the coastline of Portugal.

As an aside....I accidentally put in the wrong dates as I booked this tour at the last minute. According to Viator's policy I would not be able to get a refund as I was booking a tour with such little notice. I called the company and much to my surprise they were most helpful, understood my mistake and gave me full credit. This type of customer service will bring me back to them in the future.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ROBERT NELSON B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time exploring Sintra Royal Palaces with our knowledgeable tour guide. Palaces were truly beautiful and amazing. We were able to stroll more around the city on our own since we did not book with meal. Fascinating panoramic views, very informative tour, excellent weather condition. Job well done by the guide, sorry we forgot her name. First time visitors should not miss this. You won't regret for your time and money's worth.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

dimple.bhandia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to Sintra was excellent. In Cascais, it would have been nicer if there had been a short guided tour to point out the main sights especially the light house. Instead there was only free time there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mgt.5

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Sintra looked a lovely town however we didn't get to see much of it in half an hour as most of the time was spent on the bus or queuing to get into the Pena Palace which took about an hour . Very disappointing.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Anastasia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Joana was great. Sintra is magical. but I wish we had more time to visit the gardens.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip but could have extended time in Sintra to walk around more and not visited Devils hole. Cascais was also good to see.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a blast being driven around the narrow streets of Lisbon in a restored 1971 VW Beetle. Our driver Julia was knowledgable and flexible, in that she drove us to the resort town of Cascais when we opted not to go into the museums in Lisbon. Note: Sintra was not part of this tour, and we understood that, but just wanted to mention it because the tour title includes Sintra.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour, especially our guide, Louise. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and really made sure we had a great time. Sintra and Cascais are must sees if you're visiting Lisbon!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great full day tour to a very interesting and different, from Lisbon, area. Could have spent a little more time in Sintra itself. Cascais was also interesting and the beaches were spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Cathi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see Sintra and the coastline. We had a fabulous day and our guide was great at getting us to Sintra to see the castle prior to the crowds. Then the rest of the day was beautiful and relaxing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a group of eight. Minivan type car was very clean and pleasant to drive in. Our tour guide, Harold was fun, friendly and efficient! He was very knowledgable and on the drive told us all about the local history and the relevance of our destinations. We wondered on our own periodically to explore the sights. It was the perfect mix of self and guided tour. Definitely wear layers and comfortable walking shoes. Harold also drove us up the narrow streets of Sintra to a quaint little local coffee shop where the views were spectacular. The entire day was filled with breathtaking sights and adventure. One of the best day tours I have been on.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message