Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charlotte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fellippa was a great tour guide! Sintra is a can and #39;t miss destination and it was fun to swim in the waters of Cascais ( bring your bathing suit!).

Overall I would say there isn and #39;t enough time allocated for Sintra. You could easily spend the whole day there. If the weather wasnt nice, cascais =boring.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

MKLIONSKY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We gad great time.
Our guide Pedro told us story about Sintra and Pena Palace.Pena Palace is must to see place when you visit Lisbon.It is colorful and fairy tale castle with gorgeous view.
The stop at Cabo da Roca was highlight of the trip .Unbelivable view..
We like our stop at Cascais also.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a memorable trip. There are no words to describe the beauty we witnessed. Sintra is a true gem.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour- Sintra, Obidos, Nazare were nice places. Fatima for the religious side of things. Cascais was nice but too commercial. Very good value for a 2 day tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect day trip with a lot to take in and see! Our guide Christoph did a great job telling us the history of Portugal and interesting things about each place we visited. Pena palace is gorgeous! Cascais and Sintra are both beautiful cities. Cabo da Roca is colder and windy but still worth the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, awesome day spent looking at many different castles in Sintra and exploring Cascais :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mkirk99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable trip to Sintra! Our guide Pedro was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. Sintra was beautiful and the Pena Palace was the true highlight of the day. Cabo da Roca was super cloudy but we got a glimpse of the Atlantic. Cascais was just ok. Beach town with touristy stores.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gabriela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another well done tour by Inside Lisbon. The small group limit made the tour more personable than those big tours. The guide was a history teacher and was a wealth of information. Vans were comfortable. I enjoyed the list of sights. Sintra was amazing. Cascais was nice.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Christi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Loved the small group and our guide Christoph was great. If you see ANYTHING in the Lisbon area we recommend the Pena Palace. Sintra is charming and the beaches at Cascais are great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Juanita Enid D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and Cascais are really very beautiful places.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour completely met our expectations and is a perfect day trip from Lisbon. Sintra was amazing, hard to visualize from pictures alone, and the seaside town of Cascais was beautiful. We loved the small group tour and our guide, Filipa, was knowledgeable and patient. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

jslotwinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Tiago, was a very good driver and explained a lot about the area as he drove from Lisbon to the sights. He parked in the Sintra forest and took us on a little hike where we could see the palace from a distance. This was a nice touch. Once at the palace, which is uniquely beautiful, we toured with him and then had some time to look around. It was a nice combination. After the palace, we drove to Sintra. Most of the group ate lunch in the restaurant Tiago recommended, and then we had time to walk around the town. I loved all the pottery and cork shops! Wish we had more time there, but we had several more stops to make. Next we went to the westernmost point in Europe, which was stunning! The scenery is gorgeous, but it is windy and cold! Bring a jacket. Last, we went to Cascais. It was so hot by then that we just wanted to go to the beach. Both beaches were so jam-packed, it was impossible to navigate the sand. Plus, the water was freezing, so we just wandered around. After we all met back at the van, we drove back to Lisbon. It was a lot to do in one day, but is very efficient if you don't have a lot of time, like us. All in all, very fun and interesting tour. Thanks Tiago!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anindya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Our guide John was a very knowledgeable and funny guy. He was also very patient with all our questions. We got to see the Sintra castle and the park. It was a beautiful castle! With so many unique architectural aspects. The trip cascais was okay. It was a very hot day! And we ended up not spending too much time on the beach. Instead we headed for the ice cream shop and enjoyed some good yummy ice cream! Overall a day well spent.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day out. Sintra was the highlight. A 'must do' for any visit to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jo Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and the castle were amazing!!! Enjoyed the beautiful architecture and beaches of Portugal. Our guide was very informative and helpful ...thanks Gonzab! For a truly wonderful experience I would suggest taking this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An incredible 2 day tour with very knowledge guides. Highly recommend this day trip if you want to see how diverse Portugal is. Sintra is stunning and the the Palace de Pena and it's gardens is just incredible. The drive from Cascais is really beautiful with the sand dunes and visiting the Western most point of Europe is a must. I'd recommended doing Fatima, Nazare and Obidob on day one and don't dine in the restaurant the guide recommends, service is very slow, then do Sintra on day two as it's the better out of the 2 days so a highlight to finish up. Highly recommended tour and worth every cent.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We were a group of six people. We waited at Hard Rock Cafe at 9am our pick up time. There were already about 50 people at the location to be picked up in groups of 8. Our Guide Christophe arrived on time, picked up two additional co-tourists and drove us to Sintra and Cascais and gave a guided tour of the places. Along the way we took some pictures at the western most point in the Europe. Thanks to Christophe lively, friendly, warm nature and he was very was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gregory h

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pena Palace is a must but when asked about schedule for Sintra I was given the exact wrong information
concerning seeing it on my own by guide.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Vernon H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pena Castle in Sintra is amazing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful trip and Francesco was a great guide. The right amount of your and free time. We loved Sintra!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

raschafe

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Sintra was beatiful and definitely worth seeing. Skip Cascais if you have the option to do a different tour. It was rich gated community with big houses and a couple of small beaches. All the shops there were very touristy with not a lot of actual portuguese culture. Sintra is beautiful though because of all the gardens/trees in the area. The actual national park is really big so you would probably be best off to head to the top of Sintra and wander the park/gardens for a few hours and check out the Pena national palace while you're up there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Giovanni D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Probably the worst tour I have ever done over the course of my adult life. Everyone is jam packed into a huge bus. The morning this wasn't explained in the description is a separate tour from the afternoon. You hit up some site quickly while in the bus and are given meanial amounts of time like 10-20 minutes at sites that deserve more time. Then you are given a full 2 hours for lunch on your own. The description says its at Sintra which would have been great but the option for lunch is in the city which makes this a total waste of time. You meet at the bus stop at 2:30 after the 2 hour waste of time lunch in Lisbon City and the bus goes off to Sintra a gorgeous town where you are given 20 minutes after wasting hours in the bus to get there. WHAT A WASTE! Then Cascias and Estoril another two places where no time is given to explore rather the people on the bus were scolded by the tour guide for being 5 minutes late. We paid for a tour and instead spent time in a bus, were rushed, and scolded by a tour guide. What a waste!!! they shouldn't be here on viator.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our recent tour of Lisbon and Sintra in Portugal. This is definitely the way to tour! Our guide, Julianne, was very knowledgable about the sights to see and places to check out. She even gave us time to shop. She also took us to a restaurant that served those famous little cakes. We thoroughly enjoyed spending the day with her. The car was awesome, too. Everyone wanted to take pictures of it. I would definitely recommend this tour if you want to see Lisbon and Sintra, and have a great time doing it. So much fun!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing tour, The Pena castle is not to be missed! We had a fabulous tour guide aren't all VIATOR guides exceptional? that was so patient and kind as my daughter and I traveled with her 16 month old son. Cabo da Rocha was breathtaking as we looked over the Western most coastline of Europe. Sintra was quaint and full of charm as we strolled the streets of various vendors. We would have loved to have spent another 8 hours with this tour guide - Thank you for a unforgettable day!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great day with Pedro!! There wasn't any thing he didn't know about while we were on the tour. He had so much useful information for us. We would highly recommend this tour!! The free time was nice as well and gave us a chance to have lunch and purchase souvenirs. The weather was a bit cool when we arrived at the castles in Sintra but other than that the day was perfect. Thanks Pedro!!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message