Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 493 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Khoi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Gustavo, was great. At each stop, he gave us an in-depth explanation of the historical background. I liked his dark sense of humor. He was accommodating and his driving skill was superb, proven with his skillful maneuvers through those narrow alleys with other vehicles and people around. He knew well where to stop to let us out to avoid long walks and where to have the best lunch. We were lucky to have him tour-guide us in Sintra. We skipped the second day so can't tell how it would be. I highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour and day at Sintra and Cascais! It completely met our expectations, and Luis was an excellent guide and driver and made us feel very welcome and delighted us all day with his charm and knowledge of the area.
We had the best time, and I highly recommend this tour! Everything was exactly as described, and we had the best time!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ms L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have done a few Viator tours however on this tour our tour Gide Gonçalo was exceptional. He was incredibly knowledgable, spoke both English and French and went out of his way to ensure that we had a wonderful experience visiting Sintra and concais. Gongalo was exceptionally courteous, balanced the needs of the group given different laguages and physical capacity. We would highly recommend this tour it was beautiful, and ask for Gongalo.
Lee-Anne and Geoff. Australia

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

krissy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My niece and I were picked up by our guide, Ricardo, in a green VW Beetle convertible at the front of our hotel. We instantly felt a connection with him as he listed our options for the morning. Along with the usual spots, Ricardo arranged for us to try the best custard tarts we've ever tasted! He customized our trip through our questions and conversation so that we would see those things that we most wanted to see, and he also threw in a few extra surprises. The second half of the day was the Sintra portion where Ricardo took us on the scenic drive along coastal streets and we visited several well-know sites. He was obviously very proud of his country and gave us really insightful information that made the sites come alive for us. Our trip included a trip to the town of Sintra, which was very beautiful. We had a wonderful stop in Cascais at the 'best' gelato store, according to Ricardo, and he was right! We travelled through the forests and smelled the Eucalyptus trees through the open roof of the car and had a wonderful lunch in an authentic neighbourhood restaurant. All in all the tour was terrific and I think our most favourite spot was Cabo da Roca. Had we not had Ricardo as our guide it might have been similar to other tours except for the car. It was truly his enthusiasm and enchanting personality that had made it a wonderful tour. He was so flexible with the locations that he even arranged a last-minute visit to a reputable tattoo parlour to get my first tattoo. I think my request was even surprising to him, but he went through with it for me. I love my tattoo. Thanks for a very remarkable tour, Ricardo!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good way to see the Pena Palace. Rather than have a lunch there was plenty of time to visit the National Palace during the break in Sintra. The return along the coast is an opportunity to see the coastline and the resorts. Our guide was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Alison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Joao was a great guide. Would recommend going to Sintra and the Pena Palace

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

DENISE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Tiago was a wonderful guide and took us on very scenic roads to and from Sintra and Cascais. He was knowledgeable and helpful and the sites were worth the trip! If you have several days in Lisbon, this tour should be on your list. We loved it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gglmbl899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lisbon Super Saver 2 Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos exceeded expectations! Thelma was our tour guide both days with our small group of 8 tourists and she was excellent, really knows her history, the area and extremely professional. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day out! The palaces are beautiful, and Sintra is a charming little town. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I had a great time.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Kimbra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing tour! Sintra and Cascais were absolutely striking and beautiful!!! Our guide Gonzalo was the best. He spoke great English, was super nice, very informative and even gave in to all our photo taking requests!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Peter W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

An excellent tour with a very skilled bus driver. Ideally I would have wished more than 30 minutes in Sintra, at least 1 hr. That said my 17 and 20 year old were quite happy!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Traded half day tour in for full day tour when we realized that the half day tour did not include the Pena Palaces. Glad we did - full day was the way to go!!! Beautiful day with stops along the coast after Pena Palace and the National Palace in Sintra.

Doing what: Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Michelle S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a great way to see Sintra, I wouldn't want to try and go there without a guide and see as much as we did. Our guide Catorina had an excellent knowledge of the area and its history, and was an excellent tour guide. I felt the tour provided value for money, and our small group was well matched.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Burcu A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very well organized tour. Sintra is a must see place especially Cabo da Roca, also very close to lisbon 30 minutes by car. Our tour guide Joao was also very kind and took very good care of us. Just beware that Pena Palace in Sintra is on the top of very steep hill, not easy to walk/climb, you may like to take the ring buses of the palace personal cars, or tour buses/cars are not allowed to enter the palace.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joan P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

There was not enough time especially at Sintra. One half hour in such a crowded touristy town does not allow you to do much of anything. The tour guide was wonderful though and she made us all feel very comfortable. Thirty eight passengers are much too many for such a tour. Smaller groups in mini buses would be much more attractive for tourists.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very good. The small group size was perfect. Sintra was amazing. The trip to Cascais is an added bonus. I would recommend this day trip to anyone coming to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Most informative tour guide, who gave us an overview of Portuguese history and how Sintra, Cascais and Estroril fit into all this. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour of Sintra was fantastic - our tour guide was very informative and the whole tour ran very smoothly. We were able to explore the incredible Pena National Palace at a leisurely pace and then had a very nice lunch and free time in Sintra village. The weather in Sintra was a little misty and chilly so be prepared and dress accordingly. The drive back to Lisbon is quite lengthy however the sights in Cascais are a joy to behold and pass the time quickly. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Marita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed both tours and specifically enjoyed our tour guide for the Sintra/Cascais trip. Gonzalo was simply a great and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

kcorres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Abel was very knowledge about Portugal's history and familiar with Sintra's. It was obvious that he has a deep love for the country and made a great tour guide! Would definitely have him again if I've ever back in Portugal!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sarah L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Such a beautiful castle. Was tempted to do this trip on my own but so glad I didn't after we drove through Sintra, no way I'd manage it and the tourist bus was constantly packed. Sintra was beautiful as was Cascais. Also got to visit Roca Cape which was pretty. Our guide was informative and I'd definitely recommend to get everything done in one day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tia C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pretty good tour although time management could be better.... The guide spent too much time describing the castle when some of that time could have been spent at Cascais. My tip is to take pics before you go inside. It and #39;s definitely worth the money though. I especially loved the free time in Sintra

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Denise S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great! The bus was comfy and air conditioned. Our guide knew her stuff and answered any questions that we had. It was 5 hours but well worth it. Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais were beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Kathleen P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The morning at the castle in Sintra was worthwhile. The downtime in Sintra and the trip to Caiscais were a waste of time.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Lorna F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Christoph was a nice guide and a good driver. It was fun to hear him speak in both Portuguese and English. However, we felt rushed on this trip. There wasn't enough time to explore the castle at Sintra before we needed to get back in the van to go down the hill. We next stopped at a square after lunch and Christoph said that we could have 20 minutes to visit a castle. Really? I could spend 20 minutes in the castle gift shop. We then were driven to the most western place on the continent for 20 minutes. I was in line for the bathroom for about that long. Next, a drive, but not a stop, at windsurfing and Hell's something or other, then on to Cascais for again, about 40 minutes. Really? I expected a leisurely day at lovely towns with ample time to explore, and this was definitely not the case.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message