Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 445 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were a bit skeptical about booking this tour as we enjoy walking around exploring in our own time, but with such a short amount of time in Lisbon we decided this would be the best way to see both Sintra and Casicais and were not disappointed. João was a great guide, very friendly, interesting and informative on a wide variety of topics. Despite the weather we had a great day! Be sure to take comfy shoes and remember that it might be a bit colder than in central Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Rosie.fowler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an absolutely fantastic day seeing all the sights of Lisbon, Caiscais and Sintra from the back of a beetle with the roof down! Juan our driver was so kind and courteous and a wealth of knowledge, so we learnt all the history and many local tips as we went along. This trip is not cheap but it is worth every cent!!! We loved every minute of it!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

gore.glenda Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent tour.... My journal explains Soaking in the early morning stillness of the streets, I found my way to the meeting point, but not before purchasing a Portuguese tart for breakfast, delicious but sweet. I think the sugar coated my teeth for a good couple of hours. The tour today was combination of local Lisbon and then outer Sintra, returning home with a drive down the coast. Local Lisbon consisted of a number of sights including Rossio area great for shopping, Alfama a very old part of Portugal and perhaps my favorite, winding, hilly and skinning streets lined with very old buildings nice ambiance, very picturesque, Praça do Comércio Sculpture of King José I on a bronze horse Belém Tower and the Monument to the Discoveries. UNESCO sights are always on my bucket list and I was rewarded on this tour with a visit to the Jerónimos Monastery, mass appeared to have just finished timing is everything. So for those that remember Vasco da Gamas first European to reach India by sea - tomb is in the church here. Opulence at its best was seen at a visit to the coach museum an array of coaches built for the aristocracy, dating back to the 17th century. A reasonable drive after lunch landed us in a small town called Sintra with a visit to the Sintra National Palace and wander through the town. The Palace was not the most impressive I have seen but each palace has its own uniqueness and this one certainly did. There were a couple of rooms of note they included the chapel, the kitchen with the largest chimneys ever, and the blue and white chamber stunning. Returning home through a number of interesting point including the western most point of Europe Cabo da Roca known as the end of the world for Europeans back in the day. Following the coast, a couple of points of interest included Cascais Bay, Estoril Coast and Hell's Mouth cliff Boca do Inferno.Boa Noite,

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

Sasanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Sintra and then the lazy drive by the coastal Portugal with 1974 Beetle Convertible, Luis being our fabulous guide, day just went past just like a wink... Wonderful Portuguese wine and food thanks again Luis... we had great day

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Michel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour, really liked Sintra and Obidos. The tour guides were really good.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

pinto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

augustus the guide was superb.. sintra was enchanting.. had a amazing fish at nazare.. obidos was great.. so was divine fatima.. over all had a amazing 2 days.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our first experience with Viator and we met up with 3 other couples who have used them for their travels for years and swear by them. Such and easy way to see what you want in an unfamiliar city for great prices. Sintra is jaw dropping and should not be missed, as well as, Cascais and Obidos. We found Fatima a little boring but would not have missed this day for the world

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Katherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a really great tour. Small size, knowledgeable guide, fabulous photo ops. However, I didn't think the stop in Cascais was that great - would sign up for the all day Sintra tour with the same company if I did it again. Sintra was amazing!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

executive63

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was great, we could use a smaller bus as it was only 10 people or so, the Lisbon Sightseeing was great with lots on information and free time, the only thing I would recommend was to stop in the bottom of the city instead of on the top of the park for more eating lunch options. Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast tour was great and we got to see the sunset perfect timing. Thanks

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

Kamika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly worth the money! Katarina was a great guide! She provided tons of interesting information but with a sense of humor. The castle is absolutely stunning and my tour happened on a very rainy day so I can only imagine what Sintra is like on a beautiful sunny day. The trip to Cascais and the beach were also very nice, but I must say I could have spent the full day at the castle.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Crystal R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this tour. The driver gave us lots of info during the drive. Sintra was beautiful. The castle was great but I wish we had more time to walk around and explore the town during our lunch break. Stopping at the light house and Cascais was great too. I opted to lay on the beach.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We loved this tour. Sintra was beautiful. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable. He gave us great tips and things to look out for in our tour. He was very talkative and entertaining.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

larraine3800

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Harald was a great guide and driver. We saw so much and I only wish we had a little longer time to shop in Sintra although I really loved the fact that we left the touristy restaurants in Sintra to visit the restaurant we did go to in a small village.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Vanessa D. United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We truly enjoyed every single place that we've been: Jerónimos Monastery, Coach Museum, National Palace of Sintra and the stunning Hell's Mouth cliff Boca do Inferno! Although, I was a little bit disappointed when we didn't go to Cabo da Roca, Europes westernmost point since it wasn't a good time of the year to travel there. Therefore, we will definitely go back again Summer time when the point would be perfect to visit! This tour made my birthday celebration a very memorable one so a massive thank you to our incredible guide José from Cityrama/Gray Line Portugal.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril Coast Day Trip

naya

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

what good about it was max 8 people per guide in a small mini van. our guide Pedro was very good.Sintra was interesting good tour. Cascais was a beach water front area where we were dropped off to check the stores out. not much to see and do.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gaines5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and also a good driver. Sintra and the Pena was very nice and also the drive on the way to Cascais. Very good day trip especially if you are traveling solo.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Erzsebet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The day trip to Sintra was amazing! Our guide, Juan was well prepared, helpful and a perfect host. We enjoyed every minute of the trip and his guidance. Highly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide - a day well spent.
The tour guide made the day interesting - sharing not only history but useful facts. I would recommend it to see more of what Portugal has to offer.
Just be aware of the walking as Sintra is in the hills and the palace is on a steep incline - sensible shoes recommended.
Enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharon V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Small Group day trip was shared with 6 others and was the best. Our guide Harald Rothermel was friendly, knowledgeable. He took us to a great family run restaurant in Sintra and the visited the amazing coloured castle. We then proceeded down to mountain to sea level and Cascais which was just beautiful, we went to go back there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a most informative and professional guide. The trip to Sintra is well worth your time as well as the opportunity to view some of the coastline of Portugal.

As an aside....I accidentally put in the wrong dates as I booked this tour at the last minute. According to Viator's policy I would not be able to get a refund as I was booking a tour with such little notice. I called the company and much to my surprise they were most helpful, understood my mistake and gave me full credit. This type of customer service will bring me back to them in the future.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ROBERT NELSON B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time exploring Sintra Royal Palaces with our knowledgeable tour guide. Palaces were truly beautiful and amazing. We were able to stroll more around the city on our own since we did not book with meal. Fascinating panoramic views, very informative tour, excellent weather condition. Job well done by the guide, sorry we forgot her name. First time visitors should not miss this. You won't regret for your time and money's worth.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

dimple.bhandia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to Sintra was excellent. In Cascais, it would have been nicer if there had been a short guided tour to point out the main sights especially the light house. Instead there was only free time there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mgt.5

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Sintra looked a lovely town however we didn't get to see much of it in half an hour as most of the time was spent on the bus or queuing to get into the Pena Palace which took about an hour . Very disappointing.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Anastasia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Joana was great. Sintra is magical. but I wish we had more time to visit the gardens.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip but could have extended time in Sintra to walk around more and not visited Devils hole. Cascais was also good to see.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message