Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very good. The small group size was perfect. Sintra was amazing. The trip to Cascais is an added bonus. I would recommend this day trip to anyone coming to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Most informative tour guide, who gave us an overview of Portuguese history and how Sintra, Cascais and Estroril fit into all this. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour of Sintra was fantastic - our tour guide was very informative and the whole tour ran very smoothly. We were able to explore the incredible Pena National Palace at a leisurely pace and then had a very nice lunch and free time in Sintra village. The weather in Sintra was a little misty and chilly so be prepared and dress accordingly. The drive back to Lisbon is quite lengthy however the sights in Cascais are a joy to behold and pass the time quickly. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sintra Day Trip from Lisbon

Marita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed both tours and specifically enjoyed our tour guide for the Sintra/Cascais trip. Gonzalo was simply a great and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

kcorres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Abel was very knowledge about Portugal's history and familiar with Sintra's. It was obvious that he has a deep love for the country and made a great tour guide! Would definitely have him again if I've ever back in Portugal!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sarah L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Such a beautiful castle. Was tempted to do this trip on my own but so glad I didn't after we drove through Sintra, no way I'd manage it and the tourist bus was constantly packed. Sintra was beautiful as was Cascais. Also got to visit Roca Cape which was pretty. Our guide was informative and I'd definitely recommend to get everything done in one day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Tia C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Pretty good tour although time management could be better.... The guide spent too much time describing the castle when some of that time could have been spent at Cascais. My tip is to take pics before you go inside. It and #39;s definitely worth the money though. I especially loved the free time in Sintra

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Denise S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great! The bus was comfy and air conditioned. Our guide knew her stuff and answered any questions that we had. It was 5 hours but well worth it. Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais were beautiful!

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Lorna F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Christoph was a nice guide and a good driver. It was fun to hear him speak in both Portuguese and English. However, we felt rushed on this trip. There wasn't enough time to explore the castle at Sintra before we needed to get back in the van to go down the hill. We next stopped at a square after lunch and Christoph said that we could have 20 minutes to visit a castle. Really? I could spend 20 minutes in the castle gift shop. We then were driven to the most western place on the continent for 20 minutes. I was in line for the bathroom for about that long. Next, a drive, but not a stop, at windsurfing and Hell's something or other, then on to Cascais for again, about 40 minutes. Really? I expected a leisurely day at lovely towns with ample time to explore, and this was definitely not the case.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Charlotte K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fellippa was a great tour guide! Sintra is a can and #39;t miss destination and it was fun to swim in the waters of Cascais ( bring your bathing suit!).

Overall I would say there isn and #39;t enough time allocated for Sintra. You could easily spend the whole day there. If the weather wasnt nice, cascais =boring.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

MKLIONSKY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We gad great time.
Our guide Pedro told us story about Sintra and Pena Palace.Pena Palace is must to see place when you visit Lisbon.It is colorful and fairy tale castle with gorgeous view.
The stop at Cabo da Roca was highlight of the trip .Unbelivable view..
We like our stop at Cascais also.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a memorable trip. There are no words to describe the beauty we witnessed. Sintra is a true gem.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

JB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour- Sintra, Obidos, Nazare were nice places. Fatima for the religious side of things. Cascais was nice but too commercial. Very good value for a 2 day tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect day trip with a lot to take in and see! Our guide Christoph did a great job telling us the history of Portugal and interesting things about each place we visited. Pena palace is gorgeous! Cascais and Sintra are both beautiful cities. Cabo da Roca is colder and windy but still worth the trip!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Katherine E C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, awesome day spent looking at many different castles in Sintra and exploring Cascais :

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mkirk99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyable trip to Sintra! Our guide Pedro was awesome. Super knowledgeable and friendly. Sintra was beautiful and the Pena Palace was the true highlight of the day. Cabo da Roca was super cloudy but we got a glimpse of the Atlantic. Cascais was just ok. Beach town with touristy stores.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Gabriela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another well done tour by Inside Lisbon. The small group limit made the tour more personable than those big tours. The guide was a history teacher and was a wealth of information. Vans were comfortable. I enjoyed the list of sights. Sintra was amazing. Cascais was nice.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Christi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Loved the small group and our guide Christoph was great. If you see ANYTHING in the Lisbon area we recommend the Pena Palace. Sintra is charming and the beaches at Cascais are great.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Juanita Enid D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and Cascais are really very beautiful places.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour completely met our expectations and is a perfect day trip from Lisbon. Sintra was amazing, hard to visualize from pictures alone, and the seaside town of Cascais was beautiful. We loved the small group tour and our guide, Filipa, was knowledgeable and patient. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

jslotwinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Tiago, was a very good driver and explained a lot about the area as he drove from Lisbon to the sights. He parked in the Sintra forest and took us on a little hike where we could see the palace from a distance. This was a nice touch. Once at the palace, which is uniquely beautiful, we toured with him and then had some time to look around. It was a nice combination. After the palace, we drove to Sintra. Most of the group ate lunch in the restaurant Tiago recommended, and then we had time to walk around the town. I loved all the pottery and cork shops! Wish we had more time there, but we had several more stops to make. Next we went to the westernmost point in Europe, which was stunning! The scenery is gorgeous, but it is windy and cold! Bring a jacket. Last, we went to Cascais. It was so hot by then that we just wanted to go to the beach. Both beaches were so jam-packed, it was impossible to navigate the sand. Plus, the water was freezing, so we just wandered around. After we all met back at the van, we drove back to Lisbon. It was a lot to do in one day, but is very efficient if you don't have a lot of time, like us. All in all, very fun and interesting tour. Thanks Tiago!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anindya B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Our guide John was a very knowledgeable and funny guy. He was also very patient with all our questions. We got to see the Sintra castle and the park. It was a beautiful castle! With so many unique architectural aspects. The trip cascais was okay. It was a very hot day! And we ended up not spending too much time on the beach. Instead we headed for the ice cream shop and enjoyed some good yummy ice cream! Overall a day well spent.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome day out. Sintra was the highlight. A 'must do' for any visit to Lisbon.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jo Anne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sintra and the castle were amazing!!! Enjoyed the beautiful architecture and beaches of Portugal. Our guide was very informative and helpful ...thanks Gonzab! For a truly wonderful experience I would suggest taking this tour!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An incredible 2 day tour with very knowledge guides. Highly recommend this day trip if you want to see how diverse Portugal is. Sintra is stunning and the the Palace de Pena and it's gardens is just incredible. The drive from Cascais is really beautiful with the sand dunes and visiting the Western most point of Europe is a must. I'd recommended doing Fatima, Nazare and Obidob on day one and don't dine in the restaurant the guide recommends, service is very slow, then do Sintra on day two as it's the better out of the 2 days so a highlight to finish up. Highly recommended tour and worth every cent.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message