Once a hotspot destination for Portuguese royalty, Sintra is widely acclaimed as one of Portugal's most beautiful destinations, full of plush greenery, gorgeous mountains, as well as amazing neo-Gothic structures that radiate in the sun's glow by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 448 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kamika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly worth the money! Katarina was a great guide! She provided tons of interesting information but with a sense of humor. The castle is absolutely stunning and my tour happened on a very rainy day so I can only imagine what Sintra is like on a beautiful sunny day. The trip to Cascais and the beach were also very nice, but I must say I could have spent the full day at the castle.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

gaines5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was great. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and also a good driver. Sintra and the Pena was very nice and also the drive on the way to Cascais. Very good day trip especially if you are traveling solo.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Erzsebet D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The day trip to Sintra was amazing! Our guide, Juan was well prepared, helpful and a perfect host. We enjoyed every minute of the trip and his guidance. Highly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide - a day well spent.
The tour guide made the day interesting - sharing not only history but useful facts. I would recommend it to see more of what Portugal has to offer.
Just be aware of the walking as Sintra is in the hills and the palace is on a steep incline - sensible shoes recommended.
Enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sharon V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Small Group day trip was shared with 6 others and was the best. Our guide Harald Rothermel was friendly, knowledgeable. He took us to a great family run restaurant in Sintra and the visited the amazing coloured castle. We then proceeded down to mountain to sea level and Cascais which was just beautiful, we went to go back there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

S E R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a most informative and professional guide. The trip to Sintra is well worth your time as well as the opportunity to view some of the coastline of Portugal.

As an aside....I accidentally put in the wrong dates as I booked this tour at the last minute. According to Viator's policy I would not be able to get a refund as I was booking a tour with such little notice. I called the company and much to my surprise they were most helpful, understood my mistake and gave me full credit. This type of customer service will bring me back to them in the future.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ROBERT NELSON B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great time exploring Sintra Royal Palaces with our knowledgeable tour guide. Palaces were truly beautiful and amazing. We were able to stroll more around the city on our own since we did not book with meal. Fascinating panoramic views, very informative tour, excellent weather condition. Job well done by the guide, sorry we forgot her name. First time visitors should not miss this. You won't regret for your time and money's worth.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

dimple.bhandia

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to Sintra was excellent. In Cascais, it would have been nicer if there had been a short guided tour to point out the main sights especially the light house. Instead there was only free time there.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

mgt.5

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Sintra looked a lovely town however we didn't get to see much of it in half an hour as most of the time was spent on the bus or queuing to get into the Pena Palace which took about an hour . Very disappointing.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Anastasia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Joana was great. Sintra is magical. but I wish we had more time to visit the gardens.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip but could have extended time in Sintra to walk around more and not visited Devils hole. Cascais was also good to see.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a blast being driven around the narrow streets of Lisbon in a restored 1971 VW Beetle. Our driver Julia was knowledgable and flexible, in that she drove us to the resort town of Cascais when we opted not to go into the museums in Lisbon. Note: Sintra was not part of this tour, and we understood that, but just wanted to mention it because the tour title includes Sintra.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Mary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I absolutely loved this tour, especially our guide, Louise. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and really made sure we had a great time. Sintra and Cascais are must sees if you're visiting Lisbon!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great full day tour to a very interesting and different, from Lisbon, area. Could have spent a little more time in Sintra itself. Cascais was also interesting and the beaches were spectacular.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Cathi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see Sintra and the coastline. We had a fabulous day and our guide was great at getting us to Sintra to see the castle prior to the crowds. Then the rest of the day was beautiful and relaxing.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Carey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a group of eight. Minivan type car was very clean and pleasant to drive in. Our tour guide, Harold was fun, friendly and efficient! He was very knowledgable and on the drive told us all about the local history and the relevance of our destinations. We wondered on our own periodically to explore the sights. It was the perfect mix of self and guided tour. Definitely wear layers and comfortable walking shoes. Harold also drove us up the narrow streets of Sintra to a quaint little local coffee shop where the views were spectacular. The entire day was filled with breathtaking sights and adventure. One of the best day tours I have been on.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Terry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sintra is just so beautiful. This was one of the highlights of my trip. Great guide and lots of history.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Interesting day. Sintra very nice. Town of Sintra has a great park to walk in during the tour. Worth a day on a Lisbon trip.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Barbara R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour and we recommend it to anyone visiting the Lisbon area. My only complaint is that
it turned into a bilingual tour as we had a French couple who did not speak English in our group. Our guide, Jaime
Afra, was excellent, but he had to say everything twice, once in English and then again in French, which really
restricted our ability to ask him questions and engage in spontaneous conversation. On the plus side, it gave
me a chance to try to resurrect my French skills as I listened to his explanations in French. The Pena Palace is an
extraordinary place and well worth the tour by itself. Getting up to the castle involved a fairly steep uphill
climb, which I don't think was made clear in the pre-tour information. We had several stop and catch your
breath breaks on the way up if I had known, I might have brought a walking stick! Jaime was a terrific, responsive,
very pleasant guide and did everything possible to make our trip pleasant. He tried to time things so that we
would not be where the crowds were greatest. We did not really spend any time in Sintra, stopping only for
twenty minutes, but it was so mobbed that I don't think anyone minded. We were happy to be able to stop at
Cabo da Roca, the western-most point in Europe. Our time in Cascais was timed so that we could have lunch
and explore the town before beginning our trip back to Lisbon. Jaime did a good job of orienting us to the town
before setting us loose on our own, so we were prepared to find a lunch spot, the best places for gelato, and
our way back to the meeting point. This was a very good experience, and we recommend it highly.

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Khoi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Gustavo, was great. At each stop, he gave us an in-depth explanation of the historical background. I liked his dark sense of humor. He was accommodating and his driving skill was superb, proven with his skillful maneuvers through those narrow alleys with other vehicles and people around. He knew well where to stop to let us out to avoid long walks and where to have the best lunch. We were lucky to have him tour-guide us in Sintra. We skipped the second day so can't tell how it would be. I highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais, Fatima, Nazare and Obidos Small-Group Day Trips

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour and day at Sintra and Cascais! It completely met our expectations, and Luis was an excellent guide and driver and made us feel very welcome and delighted us all day with his charm and knowledge of the area.
We had the best time, and I highly recommend this tour! Everything was exactly as described, and we had the best time!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Ms L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have done a few Viator tours however on this tour our tour Gide Gonçalo was exceptional. He was incredibly knowledgable, spoke both English and French and went out of his way to ensure that we had a wonderful experience visiting Sintra and concais. Gongalo was exceptionally courteous, balanced the needs of the group given different laguages and physical capacity. We would highly recommend this tour it was beautiful, and ask for Gongalo.
Lee-Anne and Geoff. Australia

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

krissy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My niece and I were picked up by our guide, Ricardo, in a green VW Beetle convertible at the front of our hotel. We instantly felt a connection with him as he listed our options for the morning. Along with the usual spots, Ricardo arranged for us to try the best custard tarts we've ever tasted! He customized our trip through our questions and conversation so that we would see those things that we most wanted to see, and he also threw in a few extra surprises. The second half of the day was the Sintra portion where Ricardo took us on the scenic drive along coastal streets and we visited several well-know sites. He was obviously very proud of his country and gave us really insightful information that made the sites come alive for us. Our trip included a trip to the town of Sintra, which was very beautiful. We had a wonderful stop in Cascais at the 'best' gelato store, according to Ricardo, and he was right! We travelled through the forests and smelled the Eucalyptus trees through the open roof of the car and had a wonderful lunch in an authentic neighbourhood restaurant. All in all the tour was terrific and I think our most favourite spot was Cabo da Roca. Had we not had Ricardo as our guide it might have been similar to other tours except for the car. It was truly his enthusiasm and enchanting personality that had made it a wonderful tour. He was so flexible with the locations that he even arranged a last-minute visit to a reputable tattoo parlour to get my first tattoo. I think my request was even surprising to him, but he went through with it for me. I love my tattoo. Thanks for a very remarkable tour, Ricardo!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle

Alison G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Joao was a great guide. Would recommend going to Sintra and the Pena Palace

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

DENISE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Tiago was a wonderful guide and took us on very scenic roads to and from Sintra and Cascais. He was knowledgeable and helpful and the sites were worth the trip! If you have several days in Lisbon, this tour should be on your list. We loved it!

Doing what: Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message