Lisbon is a dream to explore; just hop on Tram 28 or hire an e-bike to scale the city’s seven hills with ease. If time permits, there’s so much to see outside the city as well, from royal palaces to wild coastlines and mysterious standing stones. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gore.glenda Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An excellent tour and definitely worth every minute. My Journal explains......
Sometimes you just make the right choices and today was one of those days, a day trip to the Portuguese towns of Óbidos, Nazaré, Fatima and Batalhait was always going to be long day.
You may or may not know but it is autumn fall in Lisbontoday it is going to be 28 degrees, I am so glad that I only packed thermals and jumpers not. Obviously, I need some cooler clothes, tomorrow might see me doing some shopping!!!

The first stop was the town of Obidos, an extremely charming medieval village and I loved it, absolutely adored it, it kind of had a feel like san Gimignano Italy, high castle walls, and a town that is only allowed to use blue and yellow on their house colors . And I absolutely love the fact that the castle is a hotel this is now on my bucket list to stay there.
The other interesting and unique part of the town is the drink they serve, it is a cherry liqueur served in a cup, which is made of chocolate. Now I am not fan of cherries, however I decided to try it knowing that I could spit it out lady like of course if I did not like it. For 1 euro, it was a good chance to take. I can report that it was very delicious. So madly seeing as much of Obidos in the 45 minutes I had, I think I did alright with just looking at a couple of choice sights.
Next was a quick stop to visit a monastery at Monastery of Santa Maria d'Alcobaça a UNESCO heritage sight. Beautiful unique and a great love story behind it. The story of the dead queen, which I will park and research more lately. I also caught the drivers having some time out which you will see in the in the photos -we had a great laugh about this
Next stop another UNESCO World Heritage-listed site, another monastery - Batalha Monastery and then followed by a lunch at a very picturesque fishing village of Nazaré.
At lunch, I sat with a family from Brazil, between the sign language, the broken English and some help from the tour guide we managed to have a great conversation over lunch. Rhyss an FYI there are some sons out there that take their mum on holidayI will leave you with that thought.
Lunch was overkill, but a good overkill, entrée of buffalo cheese, then verge soup very delicious then seafood and salad and finally a to die for chocolate cake, with amaretto and coffee. I could have curled up and slept all afternoon needless to say I passed on dinner.
The final stop was at Fatima, known for the 1917 apparition of the Virgin Mary and ostensibly one of the most important Christian sites in the world, whether you believe it or not it was quite a surreal experience.
The other part of Fatima was that it has a part of the Berlin Wall located there...now that was really interesting - to actually see the construction and the height of the berlin wall was pretty damn good.
A couple of favorites today were Obidos and the beach at Nazaré.
Adios from one very tired puppy!!!

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Rob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Please do this tour! And ask for Edgar. He is incredibly knowledgable and open to lots of questions. His English is exceptional. The Mercedes mini bus could not have been cleaner or more comfortable. And the experience was worth the entire trip. Then check out Edgar's blog about the best of Lisbon and Portugal.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Wanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience!!! The drive was nice and our tour guide Jose was great!!! The town of Nazare, amazing!!! We had lunch at Rosa dos Ventos restaurant and the food was great. Jose tried to please everyone. The ony thing I have to say on the down size about this trip is that the ime allowed to visit Fatima is a bit short. The time allowed is not much considering the size of the place. Overall, a great trip!!! And our tour guide Jose was so knowledgeable, moito simpatico!!! He was a great guy,

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Laura b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We have an excellent driver and he was also a very knowledge tourist guide. I recommend to take this day trip, you will really enjoy it!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Xiaorong Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our trip was fantastic. I'm someone who usually hates going on tours and prefers to go on my own, but on this trip, I found myself pleasantly surprised. Our tour guide, Luis, was the best - very knowledgeable and experienced, held a positive attitude throughout, and made our trip truly unforgettable. On this trip, you'll spend roughly 1 hour at Fatima and Obidos, 30-40 min at Batalha Monastery and 90 minutes at Nazare for lunch. We had only 5 people on the bus, so the tour was very intimate. Given we went in the off season December, there were no crowds anywhere, and we found that the time allotted was more than enough with the exception of Batalha, where I would have liked to spend a little bit more time. Would definitely recommend if you are spending a couple of days in Lisbon.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Jackie D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. The only thing we wish was to have a little more time at Fatima. However, we still were very pleased overall. This tour brought us to 3 completely different places in Portugal. I was only in Portugal for 2 nights and I felt, because of this tour, I really made the most of my first trip to the country. The car we rode in was also very clean and comfortable! I recommend this trip!

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip and wonderful place to visit. The group was well organized and we negotiated the crowds and saw everything.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Syed R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful trip. Scenic and historic places, we were transported to beautiful places. Our guide was fantastic. Loved the small group experience, and the recommendation for a fabulous fresh seafood lunch in Nazare

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my trip! This tour was fantastic and we all had a great time.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Nancy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Perfect trip, perfect tour guide, and perfect driver
Highly recommended

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

Jerry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. Tour guide Jose is very good and very knowledgeable of the places.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

ERNESTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good trip. You get to see the most important part of the cities. Good guide. Interesting history beind each city.

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip but could have extended time in Sintra to walk around more and not visited Devils hole. Cascais was also good to see.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow what a great place you have this was a trip of variations excellent. The bus was great and so was the meal. The road up the mountain was a new experience on a very tight road but the drivers certainly knew how to do it safely

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

William S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Diogo was great! The sights were amazing! Definitely with the trip!

Doing what: Berlenga Grande Island Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

bclar42

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fantastic the guide was friendly and knowledgable and the trip was a full day but did not feel rushed

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Anthony O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A magnificent trip, vastly different places- really informative guide who was happy to answer questions and gave great historical perspective and background to historical figures, to the many buildings, churches, castles and monastries we visited or travelled past. Extremely breathtaking views of Nazare and an incredible lunch - Fresh seapfood, so tasty and so cheap!! Obidos is also simply breathtaking.

only downside was the yankee woman wjho delayed everyone by 45 minutes when we leaving Nazare - so inconsiderate. Our other companions from the USA were excellent. as this was her third time delaying trips she should be blacklisted bynall tour operators.

Anne and Anthony from Melbourne

Doing what: Fátima, Nazaré and Óbidos Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I'm not normally one for reviews, but i just had to after this experience. My girlfriend and I were picked up at our hotel at 8am by our amazingly energetic and friendly tour guide Nuno. Nobody else had signed up for the tour that day so it was just us and him. The drive to the adorable sea side town of Piniche, Portugal was filled with a lesson in Portuguese culture as well as history in a comfortable van. Nuno is a polite and well educated tour guide who can pretty much answer anything you throw at him. We took a pleasant boat ride that was about 50 minutes long to the beautiful Berlenga Grande Island the sea can be rough for those who get sea sick, but its not bad. We explored the Island and the old Fort which is absolutely amazing. Nuno gave us a histroy lesson about that battle that took place there. From there we took a boat ride around the island and were given time to eat lunch at the local restaurant. We ordered this massive fish stew which was very good. we could not finish it between the 2 of us. There is time to swim or snorkel if you like. The water was too cold for us to go swimming so we explored the light house and the walking trails. The island itself isnt too big, but it makes for the perfect day trip and has beautiful views that photos cant do justice to. Between our great tour guide Nuno and the scenic island it made our trip that much more special. I highly recommend taking a day to see this gorgeous island. Oh and the boat ride back is much smoother than going there which is a nice ending as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Berlenga Grande Island Day Trip from Lisbon

Josette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I like all the planning even though I hesitated at the beginning as I don't like to be in guided groups but the day, the trip, the places and the guide were all great... Portugal and the Portuguese are wonderful polite friendly and so welcoming... I booked my trip for August 2017..

Doing what: Óbidos, Nazaré, Fátima and Batalha Day Trip

gary_coleman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I recommend this trip. Great guide.

Doing what: Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon

Miss Sarah H C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you have the chance, definitely do this tour! The crystal clear water, fascinating history and stunning views are sure to capture your heart, like they did ours! The guides were fabulous, and we were even lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins on the way back. The most perfect day of our trip!!

Doing what: Berlenga Grande Island Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

Sarah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So worth the money! Got picked up from my hotel and had a great drive with Gil telling us lots about the area. The island itself was beautiful and we had lots of time to explore before a guided trip around. Chose the glass bottom boat option and we were lucky enough to see an octopus. Would definitely recommend if you're looking to get out of Lisbon for a day.

Doing what: Berlenga Grande Island Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon

yasmina h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best experience ever with a great company !! Our guides were awesome and very friendly! Plus Nuno A. is wonderful story teller and Fatima a talented photographer, our day trip to this beautiful island couldn't get any better. Thanks a lot to both of you !!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Berlenga Grande Island Day Trip from Lisbon

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide made the trip very enjoyable! She was very nice and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message