Fado is Portugal’s proud musical tradition. The often mournful melodies and lyrics of fado tell tragic stories of the sea and the hardships of life lived by the poor. Fado is linked to the Portuguese word ‘saudade’, a hard to define word conjuring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura Morales United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Another great tour to take while at Lisbon. Our tour guide, Joana Mateus, was super charming, knowledgeable and funny. She really made us fall in love with Lisbon and their Fado music. Absolutely enjoyed the dinner and Fado show.
You can't go wrong with the tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

Maritza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You can't miss a Fado Show in Lisbon, it is a must in your trip. There you can enjoy the Portuguese soul!!

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Wijeyasingam S Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good experience. Our Guide was very nice and worth for money.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

Chillypenguin1974

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! It is a must if you want to know the background and roots of fado. It made us appreciate the music so much more. The tour was intimate, informative and the guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

irene a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was really good. Please be aware that comfortable shoes with a good sole should be worn. Plenty of uphill walking and Lisbon streets are made of cobblestone which can be slippery. Rebecca was a great tour guide. I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was amazing , being Portuguese and having my friends from Denver experience this tour was great!

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great show with just the music and not the difficult logistics and expense of a mediocre meal. We went to this stage show and then had a wonderful dinner out afterwards in a neighborhood restaurant.

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Sophia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love it. Thank you. The theatre show is a good option. I can not tolerate when professionals work and audience eats and drink at the same time.

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Dani did an amazing job taking us around Lisbon and giving us not only a sense of the city but also its history and the people who live there. She is obviously passionate about her city and her enthusiasm was infectious. We had an amazing walking tour and would absolutely recommend to anyone else.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Michaelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful singing. Our group could have sat and listened for another hour.

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Janette J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Joanna was a passionate accademic about the history of Lisboa and Fado. We were delighted by her commentary and especially the Fado and meal at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

ang0928

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was skeptical at first...a walking tour--I can do that on my own--not so! It was one of our most favorite nights out. Our tour guide Ricardo was so knowledgeable and lovely company. He took us through back streets and into the heart of Alfama with a short stop at a little bar for some Ginginha. The restaurant Fado em Si was excellent and the Fado singers truly talented and entertaining. If you want to immerse yourself in the Portuguese culture--this is a must!

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

elisabeth r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting, enjoyable PM walking and Fado tour with a lively and energetic guide Joana, who spoke excellent clearly articulated easy to hear and understand English, was straightforward, and had a good sense of humor. She studied art history, and works as a librarian during the day. There were 13 people 4 Germans, a couple Aussies, and I believe the rest were Americans. We met the obelisk near the Restauradores Plaza, and then walked a little over two hours through narrow alleys and streets we would not likely have wandered into without a guide, including into the Moorish and Alfama districts, stopping on the way at a hole in the wall little tavern to taste ginjhina, the Portugese sour cherry liqueur very nice liqueur, but avoid the scary WC. We also rode a tram uphill, 12, that parallels the famous Tram 28. The walking was moderately strenuous, about 3 miles plus guide stops. Though there were no major uphills, we had downhills on irregular surfaces. The major walking challenge was at times walking on the finely polished cobblestones in some areas, which can be slippery, and trying to stay upright while riding the crowded tram uphill. The Fado performance and small plates food served at the end were also very nice and representative of Portuguese food. I had never heard Fado before,thought it sounded a lot like Russian gypsy music.
Unfortunately due to delay in catching the tram, we did not make it to the top of the hill before the sun set, it was already dark, though it was still quite pretty. A couple pointers:
Wear shoes with good grip, for the slick cobblestones.
Tour was scheduled to last 3 hours but worked out to 2.5 hours walking sans WC, then over 1.5 hours fado and food. When got to the restaurant it was almost 9:30, and then tradition is not to eat during the performances, which alternated fado singing 3 songs at a time, four sets with 20 minutes eating at a time. Eat a bit before the tour if you hunger easily, or eat fast. Fun!

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

Rvitaglion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was absolutely fabulous! Our guide Joanna was Perfect! She was knowledgable. She cared about our interests and wants! Her English was great! She took us the fabulous spots for tasting of Ginga, and photos. She was the best!! Now about the restaurant that too was top notch. Soup, tapas, wine, wine, wine, and dessert! And the Fado music was Devine! Great choice for a tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I may not have understood the lyrics, but the music and artists were superb! The Portuguese guitar is truly mesmerizing.

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Santacruzcat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. Tour was nice, guide informative, food excellent, and Fado show great. A real neighborhood gem.

Doing what: Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Santacruzcat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. Tour was nice, guide informative, food excellent, and Fado show great. A real neighborhood gem.

Doing what: Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Jesse S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour that i highly recommend any traveler to Lisbon to take. a Fado show with a historical tour of the parts of Lisbon where Fado began is an amazing cultural experience. Dinner is included as well as a nice bottle of wine and some truly beautiful singing by very talented Portuguese women. We took our tour and show on our last night in Lisbon and it was a great conclusion to what was an amazing vacation.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Laila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent choice. I really liked the Show.

Doing what: Best Live Fado Show in Lisbon: 'Fado in Chiado'

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful time at the Fado show and the food was delicious. Being of Portuguese American descent many memories of my grandparents came to light during the show. Leander was a most delightful tour host. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Andrzej K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The highest rate for Pedro and Noemi.
The tour was great.

Doing what: Lisbon Sunset Small-Group Walking Tour with Fado Performance

Debra U USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time and the Fado show was wonderful and very entertaining. Nice to engage in other cultures and here the background history.

Doing what: Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group tour guide was incredible, very knowledgeable and added tremendous insight into Lisbon and the history of Fado. The show and dinner confirmed all that she had said.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message