Trakai is a historic city and lake resort 28km (17mi) west of Vilnius and is a popular day trip from the capital. Dating back to the 13th century, Trakai was unusual in the fact that was inhabited by a number of difference nationalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

william b

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Nice place to visit, good historical atmosphere, but not much depth of experience to be had.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgable guide and really liked all the information we learned. And we still had free time after to get lunch and check out the shops. Great little tour outside the city to a very skillfully refurbished castle!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

such a great guide and understanding people as I just got to site as they were taking off and they came back for me. Saw and learned a lot.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Bert V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful place! Great tourguide!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice day trip. Thomas, our guide, was exceptional. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Kimmy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour itself was good. Our guide, Tomas was knowledgeable and kept us well-informed of Lithuania and Trakai's history. The castle itself is probably worth seeing with its history if you've got time. The ruins of this castle has been built upon, so there is an air of artificiality. It was probably a hard choice whether to rebuild the castle or just keep the ruins. I reckon they should've just kept the ruins, but you can check it out to discover yourself. The surroundings of the area were nice, and you could take a nice stroll too in the spare time of the tour.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

zute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OK, I really liked this tour. The hard part was finding out that although they tell you to meet at the Bell Tower, their van is actually across the street from the Bell Tower. After that, the tour guide was friendly and very informative. Once arriving at Trakai, she guided us through all the major rooms in the castle, then gave us over an hour to go through the other rooms, explore the souvenir shops, and get lunch. I found the souvenir shops here better quality and cheaper than the ones in Vilnius.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Alison M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Very interesting. Lost a star as not enough time spent inside the fortress and getting a history, seems a bit rushed. But great for the price!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything as promised - great guide and driver, modern air conditioned coach, on time and Trakai is beautiful. Coming out of season probably best as this looks somewhere that might be crowded in the Summer. Plenty of good lunch spots near the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Keith P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Tommy was a good guide, talkative, and informative.

But castle was disappointing... it was a TOTAL reconstruction. Nothing it it was original including all the attempts at 'museum' presentations in some of the rooms. Everything was from other countries or reproductions. If this is the only remaining castle in Lithuania, it doesn't count. It was built in the 1960s.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great destination, enjoyable tour and very helpful guide.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Tetiana Z

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Trakai Castle is very beautiful place and is located very close to Vilnius, so it would be a pity to miss it. Our guide was very professional, but sometimes too historical. But now we know much of Lithuanian history and present time. The bus was very comfortable, the trip to castle was about 30-40 minutes. All the time our guide told about things we passed by or different facts from history. At the lake shore he helped to find the best place to take photos. Then he bought tickets and guided the group through the castle. In the end we had free time about an hour to take photos, buy souvenirs and drink some coffee. We came back to Vilnius in time.
About the castle: the place is really beautiful in all seasons, I guess. We were in winter. It's a lake with several islands. The castle is rebuilt and many exhibits are not authentic, but the atmosphere of medieval castle is so great. Also this is cool adventure for children. There were many of them in the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Due to the small group two Russian Tourists and myself I thought the tour may be cancelled, however it went ahead so amassive thank you to the driver, the tour guide Tomas and the Russian couple.

I had my own private tour guide Tomas who was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

the tour itself is definetly worth taking, mabe better in the summer though.

another Viator winner

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Jemma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great trip, we loved it

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and a wonderful place to visit. Although it was rebuild and not authentic as originally was but its very nice. It was a hot sunny day around 34 decrees celsius. As everyone can expect food take away outside are too expensive but on all it was an excellent and informative tour

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

LH United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good. It is an interesting way to see the beautiful sceneries in Trakai.

Doing what: Half-Day Scenic Kayak Tour in Trakai

Stephen D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Worth the money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous tour. Our guide Julia was very knowledgable and funny. Plenty of time to see the castle and have lunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Theresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus ride out of the city was interesting as we joined various groups. In the end the drive to the Castle went smooth. Our guide walked us through the main fortress and gave us information on the various rooms and overall history. Afterwards you have free time to walk through the museum, shop or grab a bite to eat.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

OZLEM T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great. Worth seeing place. Great guide, very punctual organization.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

DUNCAN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Beautiful area and very pleasant and informative guides!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Dr Yi Ren Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

I did this tour during our trans-Mongolia/Siberia train trip holiday. It was a good tour. The tour guide was really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. But the castle itself does not have much to see, If you have been to other castles in Europe, you probably feel this one is pretty average. The castle is beautiful for photos, considering how much I paid and I don't feel it is a good value for money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best tour of all in Lithuainia. Magnificent view of the castle!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

ringoffire

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A half day tour. Informative. Our guide was very helpful. Recommended.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

lovely castle on the lake, very pretty and a pleasant area to spend some time. tour was good and so was our guide, Victoria.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message