Lithuania is small but feisty. The country gained the world’s attention when it waged a David and Goliath battle against Russia and became the first of the Baltic States to break free of Russian occupation in 1990. Lithuania is determined to revere ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgable guide and really liked all the information we learned. And we still had free time after to get lunch and check out the shops. Great little tour outside the city to a very skillfully refurbished castle!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

such a great guide and understanding people as I just got to site as they were taking off and they came back for me. Saw and learned a lot.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Bert V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful place! Great tourguide!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

rutsch46

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thomas and his driver were prompt and professional. We especially enjoyed hearing from Thomas about the history of Lithuania and how the monuments of the city reflect aspects of that history. We also got excellent recommendations about how to spend our time for the remainder of our stay in Vilnius. The restaurant suggestions were well appreciated, too. I would recommend this short 2 hrs. tour either as a beginning to a longer stay in Vilnius, or as a summary of important places and ideas in the city.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice day trip. Thomas, our guide, was exceptional. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Delwyn N Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Worth doing very informative.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Kimmy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour itself was good. Our guide, Tomas was knowledgeable and kept us well-informed of Lithuania and Trakai's history. The castle itself is probably worth seeing with its history if you've got time. The ruins of this castle has been built upon, so there is an air of artificiality. It was probably a hard choice whether to rebuild the castle or just keep the ruins. I reckon they should've just kept the ruins, but you can check it out to discover yourself. The surroundings of the area were nice, and you could take a nice stroll too in the spare time of the tour.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

zute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OK, I really liked this tour. The hard part was finding out that although they tell you to meet at the Bell Tower, their van is actually across the street from the Bell Tower. After that, the tour guide was friendly and very informative. Once arriving at Trakai, she guided us through all the major rooms in the castle, then gave us over an hour to go through the other rooms, explore the souvenir shops, and get lunch. I found the souvenir shops here better quality and cheaper than the ones in Vilnius.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Katherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide, Tomas, was very knowledgeable, and showed me so many Jewish sites in Vilnius. Many would have been difficult to get to by public transportation. I feel that I was able to make the most of my short stay in Vilnius during this tour.

Doing what: Private Jewish Vilnius Tour

Alison M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Very interesting. Lost a star as not enough time spent inside the fortress and getting a history, seems a bit rushed. But great for the price!

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Everything as promised - great guide and driver, modern air conditioned coach, on time and Trakai is beautiful. Coming out of season probably best as this looks somewhere that might be crowded in the Summer. Plenty of good lunch spots near the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Keith P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Tommy was a good guide, talkative, and informative.

But castle was disappointing... it was a TOTAL reconstruction. Nothing it it was original including all the attempts at 'museum' presentations in some of the rooms. Everything was from other countries or reproductions. If this is the only remaining castle in Lithuania, it doesn't count. It was built in the 1960s.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great destination, enjoyable tour and very helpful guide.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Tetiana Z

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Trakai Castle is very beautiful place and is located very close to Vilnius, so it would be a pity to miss it. Our guide was very professional, but sometimes too historical. But now we know much of Lithuanian history and present time. The bus was very comfortable, the trip to castle was about 30-40 minutes. All the time our guide told about things we passed by or different facts from history. At the lake shore he helped to find the best place to take photos. Then he bought tickets and guided the group through the castle. In the end we had free time about an hour to take photos, buy souvenirs and drink some coffee. We came back to Vilnius in time.
About the castle: the place is really beautiful in all seasons, I guess. We were in winter. It's a lake with several islands. The castle is rebuilt and many exhibits are not authentic, but the atmosphere of medieval castle is so great. Also this is cool adventure for children. There were many of them in the castle.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Flor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I had a great time!

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Due to the small group two Russian Tourists and myself I thought the tour may be cancelled, however it went ahead so amassive thank you to the driver, the tour guide Tomas and the Russian couple.

I had my own private tour guide Tomas who was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

the tour itself is definetly worth taking, mabe better in the summer though.

another Viator winner

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Blake W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very friendly and very knowledgeable, especially for being his first tour

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Valery G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had this tour in Octouber 2015.
Our guide Marcin was great, kind and extremely knowledgeable. We had a great time learned many new interesting things.

Doing what: Private Jewish Vilnius Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Tomas was very informative and knowledgeable of Vilnius. A very good mix of old town and outside the city center. Definitely a thumbs up for us!

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Saundra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I took the Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour with my parents. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour gives you a good overview of the city with a few stops to explore up close and personal. I highly recommend taking the tour.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Jemma L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great trip, we loved it

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

MJ L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Theexperience was only positive. From the time that the bus picked us up on time at the hotel right through the whole experience. We had a travel guide called Helena and she was magnificant. Full of energy and very knowledgable even on broader topics besides only Vilnius. Truly a solid introduction of Vilnius at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very informative and a wonderful place to visit. Although it was rebuild and not authentic as originally was but its very nice. It was a hot sunny day around 34 decrees celsius. As everyone can expect food take away outside are too expensive but on all it was an excellent and informative tour

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Manfred M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Julija our guide was very enthusiastic and informative about Vilnius and all places we visited. She was pleased to answer any questions and made it a fun day.
We highly recommend her as a guide

Doing what: Vilnius City Sightseeing Tour

Stephen D B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour! Worth the money.

Doing what: Trakai Castle and Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message