Liverpool ATTRACTIONS See all

Merseyside Ferries

Taking a ferry across the Mersey has been a Liverpool tradition since Gerry and the Pacemakers sang the smash hit ‘Ferry Cross the Mersey’ in 1964. In fact, boats have been crossing the river at this point for more than 800 years. Departing from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lweir22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour of Liverpool and highly recommend this event. The only problem with buying this hop on hop bus is that you have to get the ticket at the tour office that does not open till 10. The Beatles Museum opens at 9 and you should go there first and beat the lines and then make the annoying walk back to . We enjoyed the boat tour but narration could be a little better. This was an excellent day and going to the top of the cathedral gives a spectacular view of the city. The tour guides on the HOHO bus were excellent and witty, especially the female.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Sandi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to get a nice overview of the city of Liverpool. I suggest doing the trip all the way through and then getting on and off at places you want to spend more time exploring. Very interesting guide and he had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

tlileshome United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get to know the city. Enjoyed the river cruise too.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

KAREN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we all had a fantastic time in Liverpool. The river cruise and open top sightseeing bus tour were well worth doing and were great value for money. We will definitely be visiting Liverpool again soon.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Nikolai B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We have enjoyed this tour, I thought it was perfect to understand a bit more what Liverpool is all about. Great value and we had awesome day!!! City explorer tour guide Gary was very entertaining. We will come back to Liverpool as one weekend barely scratches the surface.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All three elements of this tour were excellent. The boat trip - essentially The Ferry Cross the Mersey - was interesting, allowing excellent views of Liverpool. The recorded commentary was just right, pointing out all relevant places without being too intensive. The bus trip was made by the witty and personalised commentary . It seemed to take in all the places of interest in the city if you want to see Beatles related places take a different tour. The cathedral actually both of them was well worth a visit, with a stunning panoramic view from the top of the tower, after a weight reduction climb.

Only problem was booking via Viator - confused the staff at Mersey ferries and could have been a real problem for us, though all worked out in the end.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

mcarynews

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the city with informative and funny guides.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On the first boat out at 10.00am very good , was windy conditions so it was at times difficult to hear the commentary.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Valerie H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour of the Mersey was wonderful. The weather didn't really corporate but the cruise was great. Well worth the cost. The Hop-on Hop-off bus was also very good with the guide explaining all important sites, the cathedrals were closed the day I took the tour due to graduation ceremonies going on, but well worth the cost.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

heidi_rhay

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The open top bus was good but the river cruise was a bit of a let down couldn't see much and had a couple stops to drop off/pick up others.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

doctim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was superb. But I would say that there is so much more to Liverpool than the Beatles. I could and #39;ve spent a week here and I am a life long Beatles fan

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great package!! The river boat was a great experience and the u-boat exhibit was very interesting! The open top bus was amazing, the tour guides we got were great! Would highly recommend this to others wishing to see Liverpool

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

jayney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. Interesting Ferry cross the Mersey and open top coach tour.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

River cruise a little disappointing - commentary very quiet and not particularly clear but u-boat museum very interesting. Bus excellent with funny and knowledgeable information and well worth hopping on and off. Cathedral amazing !!!

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

momofjatd4

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was ok. The bus driver didnt talk much and was hard to understand different stops. Still really enjoyed the city dispute the weather

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Susan D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not the best day for sailing July 5th and very windy also school kids allowed to run round the boat unattended teachers took no notice of them

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

nmedina001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The bus ran regularly and stopped at all of the most popular places. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Stanislaw A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved Liverpool - Went on the City Explorer and found all the interesting tidbits about Liverpool. Came back to the beginning and took the River Cruise then back on the Explorer to the Liverpool Cathedral Tower. Spent time in the Museums at the dock which were free. Wished I could have had more time to explore but was on a cruise and had to get back to the ship. Lovely place to visit. Barb A.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Mike

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tours. Boat tour was short and not terribly interesting. Bus was good.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Frank W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative about the area along the river and relaxing as well.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Eileen H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was okay. The first guide I got on the trip was hard to understand. When I got off and back on at another area, the next guide I got was much easier to understand.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Kelsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved the ladies educating me on each stop along the way. They were friendly and nice. The drivers were nice, the stops were easy to locate, and overall I loved the bus and tour!

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Harjyoti G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

lots of history and great views... only irritant is that half the time is spent in loading/ unloading people on 3 stops.... overall a great trip.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Jacqueline M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Ferry Across The Mersey sings out on the river explorer cruise. The ferry stops at key points across the Mersey allowing you to embark or disembark visiting the focal areas of the city.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message