Liverpool ATTRACTIONS See all

Merseyside Ferries

Taking a ferry across the Mersey has been a Liverpool tradition since Gerry and the Pacemakers sang the smash hit ‘Ferry Cross the Mersey’ in 1964. In fact, boats have been crossing the river at this point for more than 800 years. Departing from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

doctim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was superb. But I would say that there is so much more to Liverpool than the Beatles. I could and #39;ve spent a week here and I am a life long Beatles fan

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great package!! The river boat was a great experience and the u-boat exhibit was very interesting! The open top bus was amazing, the tour guides we got were great! Would highly recommend this to others wishing to see Liverpool

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

jayney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money. Interesting Ferry cross the Mersey and open top coach tour.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Sandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

River cruise a little disappointing - commentary very quiet and not particularly clear but u-boat museum very interesting. Bus excellent with funny and knowledgeable information and well worth hopping on and off. Cathedral amazing !!!

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

momofjatd4

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was ok. The bus driver didnt talk much and was hard to understand different stops. Still really enjoyed the city dispute the weather

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Susan D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not the best day for sailing July 5th and very windy also school kids allowed to run round the boat unattended teachers took no notice of them

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

nmedina001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The bus ran regularly and stopped at all of the most popular places. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Stanislaw A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved Liverpool - Went on the City Explorer and found all the interesting tidbits about Liverpool. Came back to the beginning and took the River Cruise then back on the Explorer to the Liverpool Cathedral Tower. Spent time in the Museums at the dock which were free. Wished I could have had more time to explore but was on a cruise and had to get back to the ship. Lovely place to visit. Barb A.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Mike

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tours. Boat tour was short and not terribly interesting. Bus was good.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Frank W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative about the area along the river and relaxing as well.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Eileen H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was okay. The first guide I got on the trip was hard to understand. When I got off and back on at another area, the next guide I got was much easier to understand.

Doing what: Liverpool Experience including River Cruise, City Explorer Open Top Bus & Liverpool Cathedral Tower Tour

Kelsey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I loved the ladies educating me on each stop along the way. They were friendly and nice. The drivers were nice, the stops were easy to locate, and overall I loved the bus and tour!

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Harjyoti G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

lots of history and great views... only irritant is that half the time is spent in loading/ unloading people on 3 stops.... overall a great trip.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Jacqueline M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Ferry Across The Mersey sings out on the river explorer cruise. The ferry stops at key points across the Mersey allowing you to embark or disembark visiting the focal areas of the city.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Samuel K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoy the cruise. Well recommended.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

john n j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Noreen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour to see and hear historical facts about the city!

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

cooke_joanne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

fantastic morning ferry across the mersey cruise, my friend and i just did the stay on trip but you can get off and explore...would recommend to all traveling to liverpool,,great time had

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Mary K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Enjoyed the river cruise, but the intercom system wasn't working properly, so it was difficult to hear the commentary, we were sitting on the inside of the boat near a speaker

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Mette Katrine E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

We ended up not going because so much of the harbour was clocked up with crains and ways you couldn't go after the thing with and quot;The Giants and quot;, so instead of a relatively short trip and bad directions given we went round one dock after another along with everybody else WHO couldn't find their way either.
As one of our daugther were on chrutches we just couldn't get to the pier in time eventhough we had quite a lot of time in the beginning. At the end we threw the tickets away.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Anna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lovely to do a trip on the Mersey. It was hard to hear the comentary in most places. We had to sit at the back to hear and it was a very cold and windy day as it was in December. Otherwise nice to see parts of Liverpool from the river.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well done! Enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Helen H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyable

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

ELAINE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Mrs J Somerton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the experience of The Mersey river ferry also went to the U Boat museum which is a boys thing really and I thought it was excellent very informative and somewhere I would recommend to my friends. Love Liverpool as one of the best cities to visit in the UK.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message