Please note:  The Mersey Ferries are currently closed. They are scheduled to begin running again at the end of November 2016. Taking a ferry across the Mersey has been a Liverpool tradition since Gerry and the Pacemakers sang the smash ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wayne P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Nice trip highly recommended. Stop off along the way if you can.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Terence S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The tour didn't start well because the Tour Bus driver would not except my Electronic ticket displayed on my mobile phone. After a long discussion on his 2 way radio I was told to board the bus and he would find out further info. The Cathedral was superb, no problem with electronic ticket and great views from the top. River cruise also superb, no problem with electronic ticket. Overall we had a great day, but it was a shame about the Tour Bus not accepting our electronic ticket, which was stated would be accepted by all operators. Embarrassing for me. Otherwise..... Happy Days.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

Carl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Was a little disappointed, but at least can say we've been on the Ferry, cross the Mersey! You can get off and see other sights and board again, which would make it more interesting. The weather was awful, unfortunately and could see nothing but grey and rain.

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Gillian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Staff were helpful and fun. Value for money

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time on the open top bus! Great way to acclimate yourself to Liverpool. The guide was super nice and came up to each person asking where they were from. I think he must have been alive during WW2 and had some great stories!

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

These tours are a perfect way to see the City and get your bearings.
I would not hesitate to recommend and good value too.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

Eugene L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The River Cruise was actually a working ferry that went to different ports in a circle. Would not waste my time on this but it was very good touring the UBoat museum which you need to take the ferry to this stop. The hop on and hop off buts was good to view Liverpool. Most people were interested in the Beattle Museum and show but we were not so that seemed the biggest thing in Liverpool

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

John P. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We couldn't get tickets on line but were available through Viator

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Dave L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great alternative perspective to viewing Liverpool

Doing what: Mersey River Explorer Cruise from Liverpool

Sylvia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Even though it rained we really enjoyed the cruise, hopping off to visit the space exhibition and continued the tour around the harbour. In fact, the hopping on and off City Sightseeing was the best ! their commentators are witty and very informative. That in itself is worthwhile.!

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see a lot of Liverpool in a short amount of time. The river cruise was especially fun and informative, and offered great views of the city.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

tony r

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Unable to make the river cruise as it poured down with rain all day, visibility was not very good.
Bus tour was good but rained all day.
Brought my advance tickets for 4 people for 15.50 each, when exchanging e-ticket for tickets, they said the price should be 11.00 each, so it cost me an extra 18.00 through Trip Advisor, bit of a con.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. We have checked with the Supplier directly concerning the price for this tour. No matter where you purchase this tour, the price is still 15.50 GBP per person for this combination tour. The ticket you were given was likely the price of just the Hop-on Hop-off portion. We do hope this information helps you, and future travelers in having the smoothest possible tour experience.

Brigitte T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The River Cruise is not worth the time or money as it is basically a ferry run from one side of the Mersey, across to other side and then back. No commentary on board that could be heard. Lots of locals on board.
Bus tour was very enjoyable and worthwhile. A must if you plan to see this beautiful and interesting city.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

lweir22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour of Liverpool and highly recommend this event. The only problem with buying this hop on hop bus is that you have to get the ticket at the tour office that does not open till 10. The Beatles Museum opens at 9 and you should go there first and beat the lines and then make the annoying walk back to . We enjoyed the boat tour but narration could be a little better. This was an excellent day and going to the top of the cathedral gives a spectacular view of the city. The tour guides on the HOHO bus were excellent and witty, especially the female.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

Sandi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to get a nice overview of the city of Liverpool. I suggest doing the trip all the way through and then getting on and off at places you want to spend more time exploring. Very interesting guide and he had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

tlileshome United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get to know the city. Enjoyed the river cruise too.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

KAREN J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we all had a fantastic time in Liverpool. The river cruise and open top sightseeing bus tour were well worth doing and were great value for money. We will definitely be visiting Liverpool again soon.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Nikolai B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We have enjoyed this tour, I thought it was perfect to understand a bit more what Liverpool is all about. Great value and we had awesome day!!! City explorer tour guide Gary was very entertaining. We will come back to Liverpool as one weekend barely scratches the surface.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

All three elements of this tour were excellent. The boat trip - essentially The Ferry Cross the Mersey - was interesting, allowing excellent views of Liverpool. The recorded commentary was just right, pointing out all relevant places without being too intensive. The bus trip was made by the witty and personalised commentary . It seemed to take in all the places of interest in the city if you want to see Beatles related places take a different tour. The cathedral actually both of them was well worth a visit, with a stunning panoramic view from the top of the tower, after a weight reduction climb.

Only problem was booking via Viator - confused the staff at Mersey ferries and could have been a real problem for us, though all worked out in the end.

Doing what: Liverpool Combination Ticket: River Cruise, Open-Top Bus City Tour and Cathedral Tower Tour

mcarynews

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the city with informative and funny guides.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Derek B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On the first boat out at 10.00am very good , was windy conditions so it was at times difficult to hear the commentary.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent value for money and the dazzle boat trip superb. It was enhanced by the fabulous man who served our coffee on the boat. He was informative, fun and a true gem dont know his name but he told us all about the Scouse stew!. I would rcommend this trip to all.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Henry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great value! Both cruise and bus trip well worth it. Spent a majority of our time at Albert Dock, a must see.

Doing what: Liverpool Do The Double: River Cruise and Open Top City Sightseeing Bus Tour Combination Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message