Some places just have a special feeling and Avebury is one of them. A Neolithic site of three stone circles dating from 2600 BC, Avebury has the largest stone circle in Europe. Avebury is a henge, which means a bank or ditch with stone circles ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tony was our driver and he was wonderful! Great information and kept us on schedule so we got to see everything in a timely manner. Food shop he recommended was so tasty! Overall I would tell anyone wanting to see Stonehenge to take this option as you get to see more than one Henge and Avebury was very interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Larry T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

My wife and i took this trip in early November. The weather was fine, a bit cool but no rain and mostly sunny when we were out and about. We had an excellent time visiting Avesbury, the barrow, and Stonehenge. The stop in Avesbury was perhaps too long for me but it was interesting and a convenient place for lunch. The barrow was quite interesting to me as I had read it about many years ago and it is probably one of the most important neolithic sites in Europe. Stonehenge was awesome as well. We arrived just before sunset and as a full mooning was rising. I got several cool to me pictures of the moon rising through the stone arches. The guide was knowledgeable, very pleasant, and added to the experience. The driver was able no Careening! and the bus in excellent condition. The only down side was the amount of time on the bus but one can't change physics so it is what it has to be. There was a delay getting back into town due to an accident on the A4? but the guide and driver did some gymnastics to get us to our drop off point as quickly as they could. It was appreciated.

I should mention that I took a pretty good spill in Avesbury slipping on some wet wooden steps. The guide was immediately on the spot and ready to call for an aid car or similar for me. Fortunately, other than some minor scrapes and bruises and a damaged pride, I was fine. Still, I have no doubt if I had seriously damaged myself that I would have received proper care.

I wish the website had made me log in before I wrote my review and tried to save it. Lost all my work and have to do it again!

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

reysanchez01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was great. The was very knowledgable from the historical to the mystical.perspective.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Kim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Exactly as advertised. I was glad someone else was driving! A great day.

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Victor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jake was brilliant! Tour of Old City London was not only interesting and infomative,but also fun. Would recommend it to anyone on there first trip to London.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

Amanda P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Simply a magical tour Avebury was wonderful and Stonehenge was breathtaking.
Our guide was very informative and her knowledge on both was fantastic.

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Sarah

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This trip did NOT go to Glastonbury Tor as described. We were all upset that we didn't get to walk up the Tor as stated in the tour description the tour guide said it was because a long time ago someone hurt their ankle. Why not change your description, then? They knew before the tour that we would not go there, but it is advertised in the description of this tour. This would have been a deal breaker for us, as climbing the Tor was the reason we were on this tour. We also had less than 15 minutes at the Chalice Well, not even enough time to see the site. We saw the well and walked through a small part of the gardens, but we were rushing to see even that much. Our guide repeatedly made comments about the hippies and odd folk who might be praying there, even though several religions consider this a sacred place. We spent more time on the bus than we did at our destinations. The bus was late for our pickup and no one was on site to tell us they were on their way, not even other tour guides with their company. The destinations are wonderful and worth the long drive, but not if you only get less than 15 minutes at one of the most important stops on the tour. We were happy with all of our other tours in the UK and Italy, but this one was very rushed, the guide disrespectful and the tour description incorrect. I feel as though we were tricked by the description and am very disappointed the tour did't go where it promised to go, especially after hearing they knew beforehand that we weren't going to the Tor.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Julie Ann G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Took in a lot of sights with a great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Amie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A really fun day, with great sites. Our tour guide, Oz, was fantastic. I and #39;ve been on a few different tours in the UK, and Oz was by far the best informed guide I and #39;ve had (I actually left with a recommended reading list). He also went out of his way to help a tour member who was struggling physically.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Rodrigo d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Too many things to see during the same day. The stay in Stonehenge should be longer. You will spend too much time on the road...

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

ZOYA I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great trip.Thank you, Stephen.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour of Lacock Abbey and Avebury Stone Circle from London

Matt A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was really fun and well organized. Oz, our guide, was very knowledgeable and helpful. The one thing I would change is the sights in Glastonbury. We would have preferred to skip the Chalice Wells and hike up the Tor. Perhaps they could give people the option to do one or the other?

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour guide, amazing !!

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tony was very accommodating and personabl. He gave us extra information and went beyond the basic information with a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Petra F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a nice tour with a very good guide, Tim.
Due to traffic and time limits we couldn't see the Glastonbury Thor, and that's a big minus, because I was really looking for seeing Avalon

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

catranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Tony was very informative, entertaining and helpful. While I wish there could have been a bit more time at the various sites, at least getting to SEE them was a plus. We had good weather as well, which always makes for a good experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

skbullion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience, wonderful guide. Avebury was a delight but I wish we could have had more time to wander among the stones. The trip to Stonehenge proved more memorable than I had imagined. It was fantastic to be able to walk among the stones while the guide explained the history and attempts to stabilize the site. It was truly awesome and a beautiful sight at sunset. Well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! Tony our guild was terrific we could not have asked for anyone better!

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Jan T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great guide and venue, but a little too much time in the van to get to all the stops for me.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Heather H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time visiting Stonehenge and the Abbey at Glastonbury, where the remains of King Arthur were found, was very beautiful. In the little town of Glastonbury they had a great selection of delicious pasties and bakeries to grab a quick snack. Personally I loved Avebury where you visit several large henges just as old as Stonehenge but you can touch and walk among the stones. There are amusing stories about some of the stones within the henges and it was interesting learning about the speculated rituals and superstitions the ancient people who built them might have believed. This tour would have received stars but our guide Tony, albeit occasionally funny, had a short temper, talked about nightmare tourists and got off the coach at one point to yell at a honking bus driver.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Patricia A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour with plenty of time in each location. Driver/Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

michael.i.sternberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very engaging tour guide/driver. Salisbury and Stonehenge were very interesting to see and we had a nice time walking around the area. Avebury was a good and leisurely last stop. It was a fair amount of driving to get to each place but reasonably paced.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Avebury from London

Elia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour! Absolutely loved Avebury and Stonehenge and we had a really nice tour manager!

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Karina G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The places were amazing! In Avebury, it was really moving to be able to touch the stones, and walk all around the circle and the town. The Red Lion food was very good! Stonehenge is, of course, a must see...Our tour guides, however, were mediocre at best. The bus driver wouldn't stop talking the entire time, and kept speaking over/correcting the guide who was actually saying very little. Make these destinations a priority, but not with this tour group.

Doing what: Stonehenge and Avebury Day Tour from London

Aoi S Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went to Stonehenge 25 years ago, but this time is better for me, because now I understand english better. And Visiting to Glastonbury and Avebury was my dream. With this tour I did everything in one day, learning history a lot from very nice guide. He was very kind and know a lot. I am very impressed.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Stonehenge, Glastonbury and Avebury from London

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message