London ATTRACTIONS See all

British Museum

The British Museum is one of the largest museums in the world, comparable only to the Louvre in Paris and the Met in New York. Established around 1750, the British Museum originated with Sir Hans Sloane's 'Cabinet of Curiosities' which he donated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fun tour. Turid (I hope I and #39;ve got her name right!) was fantastic, energetic, funny. She shows great passion for the museum. I was thrilled to view the Rosetta Stone and thanks to Turid I discovered new treasures and furthered my understanding of treasures I am familiar with.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and hit the major points

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Trisha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! I highly recommend getting a tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum

Kristi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was great! We were panicking because we were about three or four minutes late because of the tube. But she was still waiting for us at the front! We were supposed to be a group of 18 but ended up with only 9. The tour lasts about two hours and they show you all of the best stuff, and then you have time to walk around the rest of the place yourself. So just be patient and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ed our guide did a brilliant job of giving us a great tour through history with specific exhibits and showing us the way that different cultures take from each other those beliefs they wish to adopt and assimilate into their own. Ed delivered the facts in an easy manner filled with British humour.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hit all the highlights wit the guide, and then we're able to explore on our own.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Cheryl V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very professional. She paced the tour and made sure we visited highlights. An excellent way to visit the museum. There is plenty of time after the tour to see more of the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Mark R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A nice tour to see the highlights of the museum. Ed was an excellent guide, using a tablet to augment his narration. You'll see many of the top museum must-sees. Take the 10:00am tour, eat lunch in the cafe at the museum actually reasonable prices and good food and go back to see what you missed in the afternoon. Because of the tight space in the Egyptian rooms the tour guide sets you free for 10 minutes and meets you at the end of the room without providing history on the section. This is the same regardless of the tour and we missed having Ed there to provide some historical facts.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Richard W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really a bit fast for 2 post 75 year old seniors. However, we could never have done as much on our own. We thought it would have made more sense to have the meeting place at the group entrance instead of the regular entrance. A waste of time that could have been spent inside.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Constance M S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The museum was very crowded and noisy. Luckily our guide had given us headsets so that we could hear everything she said. She was very knowledgeable and I wish the tour had been about half an hour longer

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Delores N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Only way to see the Museum! I had been there in the past without a guide. Having a guide made the whole experience 10x better! One can learn so much more with a guide which in turn makes it all so much more interesting.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour seems pricey, especially after you meet your diminutive guide with her heavy accent, but she is a treasure. She quickly found out what the three of us were interested in, and made sure we saw it, told us stories about it, AND ensured we saw the prize of the museum. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum

shedrivesherown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very educating tour. Our guide Mark was very knowledgeable and informative. We enjoyed this very much.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Tanya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant guide. This is the first guided tour of a museum I have ever done and it was well worth it. The guide was knowledgeable and interesting, a pleasure to listen to. Loved it.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

MBB United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was the first time we have done a museum highlights tour. It was useful and our guide was very knowledgeable and attentive. The guide did a very good job of weaving together the various exhibits we saw, though I could have done with a little less use of the skeletons. The museum is excellent.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour guide. Informative, pithy, and understandable. Tour took about 21/2 hours which is about the limit of time which could be spent without being overwhelmed both mentally and physically.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Nicole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was great with kids, knowledgeable, and got us around the museum efficiently.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Barton W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour of the British Museum was wonderful. Trudy who was our guide was extremely knowledgable and even more enthusiastic showing us the main sites. I highly recommend this tour and if you can request Trudy she is wonderful. Will certainly book more tours with this group

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Ryan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was a solid tour, just felt a little rushed. I guess I expected a little more from the reviews on here. The tour guide was nice and knowledgeable, just needed a little more enthusiasms.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message