London ATTRACTIONS See all

British Museum

The British Museum is one of the largest museums in the world, comparable only to the Louvre in Paris and the Met in New York. Established around 1750, the British Museum originated with Sir Hans Sloane's 'Cabinet of Curiosities' which he donated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Walid H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great place to have a guided tour . You will learn things that you never heared .

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Trevor Raymond K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Sorry but I waited at the nominated location for about 40 minutes before and after the start time and there was no show from the guide. I spoke to several people around my area to check if they were my guide but no luck. I then started by myself.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Kent W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide took the amazing amount of sights in the museum and connected them all. We loved the museum and our guide gave us the inside story on the highlights.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

deb.stevelucas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I saw a lot of museums on my tour through Europe and this is an exemplary one. It's a must see!

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Louise B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Tour Guide was very enthusiastic and had lots of interesting information to share with us.
I would recommend that after the tour you take the time to go around again and look at the things of interest to yourself.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Gautam M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This tour would have been great if the fine print had been more clear. When I booked the tour, the Viator agent told me that the tour would start at 2pm, because the voucher had different starting points for different months and I was confused. On the day of the tour we got a call at 10am from the local tour company asking where we were....we were an hour away and so we missed our tour completely. There went the tour and our money, it was really disappointing. I wish Viator would make their information more clear and that customer service would read things more carefully when customers call specifically for this reason.

We have used Viator many times in the past without issue, but this experience made me hesitant about using it in the future.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Trudy did a great job hitting all the most important items. She had detailed insights into each one and the tour was amazing.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

robert.zwingman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Alicia, the guide, was great. She went into depth for the whole tour.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a fun tour. Turid (I hope I and #39;ve got her name right!) was fantastic, energetic, funny. She shows great passion for the museum. I was thrilled to view the Rosetta Stone and thanks to Turid I discovered new treasures and furthered my understanding of treasures I am familiar with.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Brad M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

We never found our tour guide, despite following the instructions, and when we called the tour operator they were completely unhelpful. Luckily we enjoyed visiting the museum on our own.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very knowledgeable and hit the major points

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Trisha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! I highly recommend getting a tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum

Kristi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was great! We were panicking because we were about three or four minutes late because of the tube. But she was still waiting for us at the front! We were supposed to be a group of 18 but ended up with only 9. The tour lasts about two hours and they show you all of the best stuff, and then you have time to walk around the rest of the place yourself. So just be patient and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ed our guide did a brilliant job of giving us a great tour through history with specific exhibits and showing us the way that different cultures take from each other those beliefs they wish to adopt and assimilate into their own. Ed delivered the facts in an easy manner filled with British humour.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hit all the highlights wit the guide, and then we're able to explore on our own.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Cheryl V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very professional. She paced the tour and made sure we visited highlights. An excellent way to visit the museum. There is plenty of time after the tour to see more of the museum.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Mark R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A nice tour to see the highlights of the museum. Ed was an excellent guide, using a tablet to augment his narration. You'll see many of the top museum must-sees. Take the 10:00am tour, eat lunch in the cafe at the museum actually reasonable prices and good food and go back to see what you missed in the afternoon. Because of the tight space in the Egyptian rooms the tour guide sets you free for 10 minutes and meets you at the end of the room without providing history on the section. This is the same regardless of the tour and we missed having Ed there to provide some historical facts.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Richard W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really a bit fast for 2 post 75 year old seniors. However, we could never have done as much on our own. We thought it would have made more sense to have the meeting place at the group entrance instead of the regular entrance. A waste of time that could have been spent inside.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Constance M S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The museum was very crowded and noisy. Luckily our guide had given us headsets so that we could hear everything she said. She was very knowledgeable and I wish the tour had been about half an hour longer

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Delores N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Only way to see the Museum! I had been there in the past without a guide. Having a guide made the whole experience 10x better! One can learn so much more with a guide which in turn makes it all so much more interesting.

Doing what: British Museum Highlights Tour in London including the Rosetta Stone

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour seems pricey, especially after you meet your diminutive guide with her heavy accent, but she is a treasure. She quickly found out what the three of us were interested in, and made sure we saw it, told us stories about it, AND ensured we saw the prize of the museum. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message