London ATTRACTIONS See all

Buckingham Palace

One of the world's most famous addresses, Buckingham Palace is the official London residence of the Queen of England and an item on many lists of London must-sees. The palace is a popular viewing stop on walking and biking tours through the city, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Buckingham Palace visit is one I would recommend to all. From the start our trip was well organised. We were fitted with individual ear sets which allowed us to hear the guides commentary easily. Our guide well very well informed, had great local knowledge and made the tour very interesting. One of the advantages of being part of this tour was that we were well placed for photographs in all major spots, being given enough time to organise ourselves for those important shots. The priority lane for access to Buckingham Palace was great and even though unescorted the self guide sets provided useful commentary for us to wander unaccompanied. We had quite a walk - which I enjoyed - to our High Tea venue. The background information around the High Tea was interesting and High Tea itself was delicious. Good walking shoes are recommended for this tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was very informative and had a great personality. He knew the perfect spot for viewing the changing of the guard procession. He gave a great history on the buildings that we saw as we walked from our meeting spot to Buckingham Palace. Once inside, it was impressive. Crowded, but that is to be expected. Enjoyed everyone having to use the audio guides which cut down on the talking, which is supposed to be kept to a minimum. I honestly don't remember hearing anyone even whisper.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour by our guide Alan. He was witty and knowledgeable. The nice thing about this tour is that it was early, and you really avoid the crowds. Once the day progressed, you could see the masses of people out trying to see the same things we visited earlier. The Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace was nice to see.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace and Vintage Bus Tour of London

frances.brandenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide I think his name was Philip took us to the changing of the guard at just the right spot to see everything and practically touch the guards. He talked all the while we were walking to tell us a lot of behind the scenes information. Buckingham Palace is beautiful but the tea was the highlight. Our guide was funny, informative and made the tour so much more that I expected.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Buckingham Palace is breathtaking, it is so beautiful and the display of the Queens clothing and hats was incredible. It was an unforgettable trip.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Pauline Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really great tour, amazing to see the inside of the Buckingham Palace.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Joanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I will take responsibility for not noticing if the amount of outdoor walking on this tour was advertised. Our Guide Gavin was excellent. There was a lot of walking. Our guide selected a very special place where we saw the Guards marshall prior to their march to the Palace. That was special. And our guide discreetly advised my companion and I how we could avoid all the walking prior to getting into the actual Palace tour.
I recommend Viator make it more obvious for clients to request wheelchair and accessibility support when making purchasing tickets. The staff at Buckingham Palace were incredible in how they accommodated my 90 year old friend. Superb support to help short cut lines and to gain access to special elevators to gain access to all floors. The golf cart transport to the front gates was very much appreciated.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Christina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was great and it was fun to get to do the audio tour of Buckingham Palace at our own pace. The starting line address needs to be better defined, the address was incorrect and it was confusing.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Carla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a really great trip to both castles. I would just warn people who are unable to walk far distances that this may not be a great selection. There is a 15 minute walk uphill just to get to Windsor castle from the bus lot and a 10 minute walk after Buckingham palace just to get off the palace grounds. For a tour that is already heavy on the walking, the extra miles add up quickly.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle Day Trip from London

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed Buckingham Palace Tour

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

winnie.ing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We lucked out and had a really humorous and enthusiastic tour guide! His name was Josh. He told us great stories and gossip! He placed us a great locations where we got awesome photos of the changing of the guards. Because we were with the group tour, we got quick entry into Buckingham Palace as we didn't have to line up with the regular ticket holders.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Tina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Augusta was a fabulous guide. She ensured we had 'front row' seats for the changing of the guards, helped us move quickly through lines and provided a lot of valuable information about the sights we were seeing and experiencing. I would highly recommend Viator and Augusta to ensure you see the best of Buckingham Palace, Changing of the Guard followed by an elegant afternoon tea!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Tamerella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a perfect way to see Buckingham Palace and the changing of the guards! We had Gavin and he was just absolutely wonderful! He kept our group engaged and he shared a ton of knowledge with us. I think everyone really enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Lynelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was amazing - something l have always wanted to do, was to see Buckingham Palace - but to go inside the State Rooms and see all the Queen's dresses through the ages was just absolutely amazing. A MUST SEE. I recommend booking in advance as this is a very popular tour and it gets very busy.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful. I've been to Buckingham Palace many times and seen the changing of the guard but have never been inside. This year was especially wonderful because of the Queens dresses being on display. Absolutely worth the visit. I would advise anyone planning to do it to allow lots of time to wander around at your leisure and make sure to stop in the cafe and have tea and scones.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Jacquelyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent but walks a bit too fast! and it was a great thrill to be inside Buckingham Palace itself! The tea at St. Ermins was also lovelier than expected, all in all a very informative day. However, it is a LONG walk now to Tea from the Palace exit and several of us became quite ill afterwards from the heat. I'm not sure how this could be better handled, but at least ensuring we all had water would be a huge step.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

VICTORIA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Climax of our trip to go inside Buckingham palace Changing of Guard-Cavalry. Tour guide brought us to different areas before entering the Palace, well explained details, very nice person.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

SAM P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour bus was great and time in Buckingham Palace on our own worked out.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace and Vintage Bus Tour of London

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Buckingham Palace tour was very nice and educational. Our tour guide was very informative. The changing of the guards was great to see.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was so enthusiastic and fun and made sure we got the best vantage points to view the guards. Touring the state rooms and gardens of Buckingham Palace was an amazing experience.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Virginia S. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent guide for Windsor Castle. She gave us a lot of background information on the way there and was very friendly and helpful. We had a different guide at Buckingham Palace. We had to wait 15 or 20 minutes before we were allowed to enter the palace. Other than that, we enjoyed the Buckingham Palace tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle Day Trip from London

funjp Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide , Michael , was very friendly and humorous . To be able to have an inside tour of a working palace was quite amazing , and only possible because Her Majesty the Queen was on vacation . Also the sighting of the centuries old possessions of Her Majesty the Queen was astonishing . You'll need to have a good time at your disposal to be able to really appreciate the inside tour of Buckingham Palace .

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Olive Oil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour and Gavin was a wonderful tour guide, extremely helpful. Buckingham Palace was super crowded but Gavin got us a great location to watch changing of the guard. The palace tour was worth it. Afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise. Both the tea, little sandwiches and desserts were excellent. We felt so pampered! I would recommend this tour to anyone but realize there is a significant amount of walking.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Christine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide was hilarious and a wonderful story teller. He was able to get us a good spot for the Changing of the Guard ceremony though it should be noted we just watch part of it, not the whole thing, but that was enough for me personally. We were able to skip the huge line into Buckingham, which was also great. It should also be noted that you have audio guides inside the palace, rather than an actual guide. But that worked out in our favor since we can go at our own paces. I highly recommend, going to Buckingham via a tour is the ONLY way to do it. Otherwise, you are looking at upwards of 2 hours waiting in line.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really great experience. The best way to view Buckingham Palace. Phil, our guide was exceptional, so clear throughout. One of our very best.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message