London ATTRACTIONS See all

Canterbury Cathedral

As one of the most important pilgrimage sites of medieval Europe, Canterbury’s iconic cathedral is worthy of its UNESCO World Heritage status and remains an important center of Christian worship. Originally founded in 597 by St Augustine, the first ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour of Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and the Battle of Britain Memorial in Dover. The tour guide was very good and knowledgeable about the history of every place we visited and she was very well educated in all the interesting historic places. Clearly she had done her homework. I highly recommend the tour and we are so glad we took it. An easy day trip out of London with someone else doing the driving! My only suggestion for improvement would be a different restaurant for lunch. It was pretty basic and institutional and there are other wonderful restaurants in Canterbury that would have been nicer. But except for that, gets a 99 out of 100 rating!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were hesitant to do this trip in November given the potential weather,but it turned out to be a lovely day for the most part and we really enjoyed ourselves. The trip was well organised and there was ample time to see things, it was a relaxing trip. Kevin the guide and Mark the driver did a great job to ensure we were all well looked after. Leeds Castle was lovely, I would like to go back sometime and spent a day wandering the grounds. Canterbury Cathedral was very impressive and I appreciate the time we had there in the town. Unfortunately the weather had closed in by the time we got to Dover, we did manage to glimpse the white cliffs but it was freezing and very cold. We didn't mind this too much though, we did get a glimpse of France and get some good photos and then back onto the bus for the trip back to London.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Donald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guide was great and shared a lot of history lessons in an entertaining way. He recommended Tiny Tims for high tea at Canterbury and that proved to be special. Leeds Castle is a beautifully preserved castle and the Canterbury Cathedral too is awesome. The White Cliffs were not all that white because of the green brush growing on them but still glad we got to see them. Our 16 passenger bus was brand new and very comfortable.

Doing what: Canterbury, Leeds Castle and White Cliffs of Dover Small-Group Tour from London

Lynne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour. Anthony and Michaelangelo were fantastic. Very well paced and kept our interest the whole time. Canterbury Cathedral was especially impressive. We booked another tour 2 days later which was equally good.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Nicholas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great! Our tourism guide Richard explained us very well about the history of the castle and the cathedral. The bus we used was very comfortable. There was not wi-fi in the bus as promised, but I did not miss it because the tour was very exciting. One good aspect of Richard was his sense of humour. We were provided radio communicating devices so we could all listen to Richard's explanations in spite of the distance of him and the sometimes large crowd, which was a very good thing. I strongly recommend Evan Evans tours.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

mrskimhelsing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely gorgeous tour! Loved our tour guide Charlotte... knowledgeable, funny, and bubbly. Leeds Castle is a must see.... It's is breathtaking. Families with their children were picnicking on the lawn as black swans slowly swam by. Very charming! The city of Canterbury and it's grand cathedral were full of beauty and bloody history. We enjoyed the little farmers market in the town square. To top off this amazing trip was our glimpse of Calais as we stood looking over the English Channel in Dover! Unforgettable!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Dorian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great trip! I have always done my own thing, but to be able to see three different attractions in one day, we decided to do a tour. Leeds Castle is technically a castle, however if you have been to others, this one may disappoint. It was really more of a manor house. It's beautiful, but I do not feel the need to go back and could have used that time in Canterbury. The tour ran with military precision an our guide was so nice and knowledgeable. We had such good weather we were able to see the Cliffs from the top and bottom and had time to stop for photos. The Cathedral was amazing and we could have used more time in the town. But there are only so many hours in the day and we used every one! This trip will not disapoint.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Russell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Delightful Castle and grounds. Tour guide was great! Canterbury Cathedral awesome!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Rose E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide on this tour- Debra. She was the best guide we had on all of our many excursions. She was both informative and funny. Leeds Castle was a bit crowded. They make you wait in a line before entering- but that turned out to be a good thing because it staggered the crowds to make the actual viewing of the castle a better experience. We had plenty of time here. The Cliffs of Dover were also quite nice- we probably could have used a bit more time here, although it was still enough to get a picture. Our guide arranged for us to have lunch in Canterbury and our group was the only one there when we toured the cathedral. The cathedral was quite nice and we were given a lot of access to its different parts. This was a great tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Darren.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Leeds castle was pretty. Didn and #39;t have high expectations so it was fine. Canterbury Cathedral and town were awesome. The Cliffs of Dover and the WWII memorial was amazing. Monica our tour guide was excellent. The pace was great.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Mary Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A day out of the London bustle ....Leeds Castle is enchanting, Canterbury Cathedral imposing and beautiful. The personal communication gadget enabled my elderly aunt and me to listen to all the commentary and useful information supplied by the guide, even though we had to walk slowly and lost the group on the way to Canterbury Cathedral. We both have mobility difficulties. A great day.....high recommended tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Gene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful itinerary! The guide was highly knowledgeable and very helpful with information and facts, and was most pleasant. Felt like we got an insiders tour. What a wonderful day and beautiful countryside. Love the Cathedral and cliffs Leeds was very lovely. Loved the leisurely pace. Again, can't say enough about the tour guide!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our group enjoyed the tour, Cantebury cathedral , Leeds castle and cliffs of Dover. The town of Cantbury also was so cute, lots of shops to check out. We have great pictures from the cliffs of Dover. The wind is so strong there, the girls hair was flying. Richard our tour guide was very pleasant and he had a nice personality.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Em Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great tour! Would have loved more time at Leeds Castle to walk the garden a bit, but otherwise a very informative and great way to see new places. Canterbury Cathedral was great and one of the employees/volunteers at the Cathedral provided some fascinating information about one of the stained glass windows that I would never have found on my own. The tour did feel a little rushed, but it is a lot to get through in one day, so really recommend researching the places to ensure you get to see what you want to see. :

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Linda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour with a wonderful guide named Wendy who gave us some amusing and highly detailed explanation of the places were seeing. The venues themselves was fantastic, especially Leeds Castle and Canterbury Cathedral.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral and Cliffs of Dover Custom Day Trip

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The whole trip was very well organized. Our guide was very well informed and made the day great. The white cliffs of Dover and the World War II memorial were amazing to see and the Canterbury Cathedral topped off a great day.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

robin s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Extremely knowledgeable tour guide who knew lots of information, not just about the sites we were visiting, but also about the history and culture of various regions of England. Tour guide knew the right balance of talking and allowing for questions and for quiet on the bus so people could rest if they wanted. The time allotted to each sight was perfect--again, a good balance of guided tour time and time to explore on one's own. The bus driver was also courteous and safety-conscious as he drove through the London traffic. Leeds Castle is beautiful, Canterbury Cathedral is striking, and we had just enough time in Dover to appreciate the white cliffs without wasting time. All in all, a highly positive experience that I'd recommend without hesitation!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Romila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide! Canterbury Cathedral was certainly worth visiting, It was a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was great! Our guide, Monica was fabulous. Her knowledge about the sites made my head swim. Canterbury Castle is a must see, but adding in Leeds Castle and Dover is just icing on the cake. The recommended restaurant was very good and convenient, but there were also street vendors and market near the cathedral. I would definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of the best tours we have ever taken. We had a lovely coach ride to Leeds Castle where
we saw the beautiful grounds there and their beautiful white and black swans. The castle is lovely inside
and makes you feel really comfortable inside. After seeing Leeds we went on to see Canterbury Cathedral which has a lot of interesting history. From there we drove on to Dover and saw the white cliffs plus a new RAF museum to honor the pilots who flew during WWII and crossed over Dover on the way to battle. We had an excellent driver and tour guide. It's a tour you will always remember.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Lesley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A beautiful tour,the Cathedral was stunning, the castle and grounds beautiful and to see Dover and the cliffs bought photos to life. The bonus of the Battle of Britain memorial was great, and very emotiinal to see where the bombings happened, how many locals were involved was very educational.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very professional. The tour offered first class service with a much closer parking at Leeds castle that other tours, and ear bud commentary at Canterbury Cathedral.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Mindy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the trip a lot. Great to get out of London and see a bit of the countryside. Leeds is a beautiful castle and we had great weather. Canterbury Cathedral was equally beautiful. A photographer's dream at both locations. The lunch location recommended by our guide was a good choice. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable. It was nice to see Dover but it's just a quick stop for a photo so be aware there's not a lot of time. It was raining for us which was OK. The Battle of Britain Memorial is what you actually stop at for about 20 minutes. It was raining but they have a great view and we could see France in the distance which was nice. The memorial is very nice though. The bus ride was comfortable.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Alexandra Maher United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was excellent! Every stop was better than the last. I enjoyed every minute! And our guide, Kevin, was great! So friendly and knowledgable! We had enough time at every stop, and really got to explore! I loved this tour and would absolutely recommend it to anyone. Leeds castle is just incredible, and Canterbury Cathedral was magnificent. Dover was interesting because we didn't stop at the traditional Dover castle stop, but went farther along the coast and in my opinion, got a better view of the cliffs and France. Really amazing!

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Garry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time experiencing southeastern England Kent on this one day tour. The coach driver and guide were knowledgeable and great to work with. Leeds Castle is truly a historic gem and well maintained - a perfect place to tour. Canterbury Cathedral is awe inspiring and a must see - with access to the church better than other cathedrals and abbys we visited. Dover was a photography stop well worth the time and had a bonus stop at the Battle of Britain Memorial which offered a great view of the English Channel and more opportunities to photograph the cliffs of Dover.

Doing what: Leeds Castle, Cliffs of Dover and Canterbury Day Trip from London with Guided Cathedral Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message