London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The daily Changing of the Guard ceremony provides the most atmospheric time to visit Buckingham Palace. Set at about 11:30am, the 45-minute spectacle is a classic example of British pomp and ceremony, a centuries-old tradition that marks the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 335 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Richard was a very informative tour guide. We enjoyed the tour very much. We were able to see the guards on horseback for the parade

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to miss the crowds and lines and see the main sites of London in a days time. Our driver and guide were both really funny and informative. He really made sure we were at the right spots during the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Frank our tour Guild was amazing .He promised us up close and personal for the changing of the guard and it was exactlg what we got.afternoon tea was amazing

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Traveling by tour bus during the day in London, we ran into issues with traffic, but our tour guide and bus driver did an exceptional job at making sure we got to time-sensitive places on time changing of the guard, that we got to meet a beef eater at the Tower of London who explained the history behind it, and the river cruise was a very nice treat. I am also really glad we got the Champagne Tea upgrade, as the meal and service greatly exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved the tour. The Tower of London,The Queen Jewels, St. Pauls Cathedral, The Tea, and Buckingham Palace. The only negative was where we were standing for the changing of the guard. All we saw were the guards walk by. I would say try to get close to the gate so you can see. Also, I would highly recommend the tea. It was amazing overlooking Big Ben. One of my favorite things we did.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a great time, even if it rained most of the day. David our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. It didn't demotivate him that it was pouring outside.
You saw the wet mount for the changing of the guards, a little dissaponting, but what can you do, can't control the weather......
I definitely recommend this tour!!!!!!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

clchrisconsult

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day tour of London. The bus was clean and very comfortable and our guide, Mark, did an excellent job of presenting historical facts along with just the right amount of light discussion as we proceeded along the tour. He was able to point out just the right spot for us to get a great view of the parade of guards during the changing of the guard ceremony. The sights that were included in the tour gave us a great overview of this beautiful city. Overall, this was an excellent tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a couple of days in London, so this tour made the most of the time we had. We were able to hit the highlights of the city. We chose the London Eye option because we were traveling with teenagers. There was a line, but it moved quickly. The tour was a great overview of the city. I wish we could have a more time at the Tower of London, but there was so much to see in one day and we had a schedule to keep. We didn't stop at Westminster Abbey only drove by. The crowds for the changing of the guard we a bit of a surprise. We were too far away to see much. But this was a great tour for hitting the highlights.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour! We got to see so many wonderful sites in London. We even got to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace and had a boat ride on the Thames River. Our tour guide, John was great! He knew so much history about all places we visited. This tour was fantastic and well worth it.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very full day of siteseeing. Make sure you wear your walking shoes. The trip down the Thames was fantastic. Our guide John made sure we got to see everything and even pointed out the best spots for photo opportunities during the changing of the guard. The Champagne tea afterwards was just lovely.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see a lot of London. The Tour of London was really fun and got there early to beat the crowds. St.Paul's Cathedral was amazing as well. Also go to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. London is a very busy city so taking this tour saved a lot of leg work in trying to find this beautiful locations. Denista sp was our tour guide and very nice and informative. Moved things along smoothly within a very busy city. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jeannelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had one day in London to sightsee at the end of a business trip. I booked this tour before I left home and it was outstanding. It hit all the major sites in one day. Karen was very knowledgeable and entertaining. She positioned us in a perfect spot to see the changing of the guard which I would have never been able to figure out on my own. Malcolm the driver was also friendly and entertaining. Considering the prices of taxis in London, the price of this tour was well worth it. I added on tea at the end which was a very nice way to end the day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mary Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was terrific, we had a perfect view of the entire changing of the guard process. We also LOVED the info from Westiminster Abbey. I can not imagine learning all we did without the expertise of our guide Allison. Terrific way to end our trip!

Doing what: London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing of the Guard

Melanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic. Saw everything. St. Paul's cathedral section was a little long but everything was amazing. Saw the changing of the guards at a great spot to make sure we saw everything. Tour guide Steve was hilarious and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

alohagrimm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fantastic tour! It was a great way to see the city, crown jewels without crowds and climb to the top of St.Paul's for the view. We had a fantastic guide, who knew exactly where to place us for a fantastic view of the changing on the guard without having wait there for hours. The London Eye was the perfect ending to a great day of sightseeing, I highly recommend this for families that want to make the most of their time in London without having to wait in lines. Loved it!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

hammondll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We arrived for vacation in London on September 25 and the next day, September 26, was my wife's birthday. We celebrated on her birthday by taking a tour of Buckingham Palace. The tour included the Changing of the Guard, an interior tour of the Buckingham Palace State Rooms and High Tea at St. Ermin's Hotel. The whole day was a wonderful experience and we have to give a lot of the credit to our guide, Augusta Harris. She kept our group well organized, got us to excellent viewing positions for the Changing of the Guards, provided us very clear information to insure that we got the most out of our tour of the staterooms and walked us to the hotel for High Tea. It was an excellent way to celebrate a birthday!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic tour which is only available in August/September when te Queen is at her residence in Balmoral. Our guide was womderful....she was a wealth of information and timed everything perfectly to maximize our view of the spectacular horse guards and then a stunning tour of Buckingham Palace which was truly jaw dropping! Then off toma lovely high tea at a charming hotel.... A quintessentially British day indeed!!!!! Highly recommend this itinerary!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

maria.ronquillo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour! Our Guide Steve was above and beyond the call of duty! I loved his humor and he got us to the best place to view the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. He is extremely knowledgeable and he gave us a GREAT tour of St. Paul's Cathedral.
I would recommend this to all!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Richard, the tour guide, was very informative. We loved seeing the Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. You should definitely take this trip if you have limited time in London. You do see some of the major sights with a little history mixed in.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Linda P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lots to see and really not enough time to see it in one day. Guide was super and improvised when we couldn't get to see the changing of the guards. Much better we saw the Queen's processional for the State Visit of the President of China. Do it!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful day! Our tour guide was incredible, as was our bus driver. Both knew the city inside and out. It was a great way to see some very popular sites - we did not have to worry about lines at the Tower of London and we had a great spot at the Changing of the Guard ceremony. My only recommendation to Viator: change the location of the post-tour Tea. The service was sub-par, especially compared with the service that had been provided so far as stated above, rather excellent.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Gregw720

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was excellent. She learned all of our names. She talked non stop with history, stories and jokes so we were all entertained and educated. We didn't really see the changing of the guard, but I didn't care. Inside the palace was the highlight for me. Afternoon tea was nice, again an entertaining education.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Maria Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well worth the money and time! Augusta was our guide and she was fantastic, knowledgeable, funny and an expert at navigating the crazy crowds around Buckingham Palace. She knew exactly where to go for a view of the horse guard while avoiding the masses of people at the Palace gates. Budget more time for this tour. Felt a bit rushed leaving tea to make it to a 4pm tour of Parliament.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Augusta was a great tour guide. She helped us to get the best position for the changing of the guards. We were able to skip the line and get into the palace before the crowd. Afterwards we had tea at a nice hotel, and though I am a man, I appreciate a relaxing afternoon with lots of sugary treats :

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing tour with more than an adequate time at each stop. The Tower of London was incredible and since we were among the first groups there were no crowds to deal with. Access to the Crown Jewels was almost private. We enjoyed the cruise on the Thames even in the rain. St. Paul's Cathedral was beautiful. Only advice to give is to book on an even number day if going after September 1 as there is no changing of the guards on odd days. Easy hotel pick up and drop off on the South Bank gave us time to explore that area and have dinner before going back to the hotel.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message