London ATTRACTIONS See all

Changing of the Guard

The daily Changing of the Guard ceremony provides the most atmospheric time to visit Buckingham Palace. Set at about 11:30am, the 45-minute spectacle is a classic example of British pomp and ceremony, a centuries-old tradition that marks the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

frances.brandenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide I think his name was Philip took us to the changing of the guard at just the right spot to see everything and practically touch the guards. He talked all the while we were walking to tell us a lot of behind the scenes information. Buckingham Palace is beautiful but the tea was the highlight. Our guide was funny, informative and made the tour so much more that I expected.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

camtaywil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was amazing. She was like a walking encyclopedia of London history. She was very mindful of how busy the city can be and she made it a point to wait for every person in our tour. We were able to visit every site listed on the itinerary and there wasn't a wait. Skipping the line at the Tower of London was a great additional feature of this tour because the line was quite long when we arrived. We didn't get to see the changing of the guard because it wasn't a day that event is scheduled, so if that's really important to you -- find out in advance.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Constance J.. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though it was raining , Gavin gave us a great tour. The changing of the guard was altered and expected because of the rain. This was explained to us in advance. The tea at the end of our tour was exceptional! Gavin answered all our questions and spent time with all of the individual tables at the tea. This was definitely a 5 star tour.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Tina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Augusta was a fabulous guide. She ensured we had 'front row' seats for the changing of the guards, helped us move quickly through lines and provided a lot of valuable information about the sights we were seeing and experiencing. I would highly recommend Viator and Augusta to ensure you see the best of Buckingham Palace, Changing of the Guard followed by an elegant afternoon tea!

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

paula a b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We only had 1 full day in London and this tour worked for us. We saw the crown jewels without crazy long lines. Our guide got us to a great position to see the changing of the guard and so much more.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Even though it rained that day, our guide Augusta from City Wonders went out of her way to help us get great photos of the changing of the guard. She knew the spots for the best photos when it is raining. She was very informative and not boring. She took care of her group so nobody got left behind. We've taken a lot of tours from Viator, and this was one of the best.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Eamon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was very informative. The tour overall was great, the changing of the guard although a great vantage point was not that great. That is, not all that exciting.

Doing what: London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing of the Guard

Olive Oil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour and Gavin was a wonderful tour guide, extremely helpful. Buckingham Palace was super crowded but Gavin got us a great location to watch changing of the guard. The palace tour was worth it. Afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise. Both the tea, little sandwiches and desserts were excellent. We felt so pampered! I would recommend this tour to anyone but realize there is a significant amount of walking.

Doing what: Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the Guard Ceremony and Afternoon Tea

Richard Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw everything we wanted to see and more ! Our guide had such a knowledge of the specific sights that we were able to get prime viewing spots at places like Buckingham Palace and the changing of the guard!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

cdavis603

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had only one full day in London and wanted to get the most for our time and money. This was the correct tour to chose. Our tour guide was Denise and she was VERY good! She was extremely knowledgeable about every location we visited and was very patient with any and all questions. If you have limited time in London, this is the tour for you. We did not see the actual changing of the guard because, as we understood it, we needed to be at Buckingham palace very early in the day and stand in place for hours to see it. Denise had us there in time to see the guards marching to and from the palace and was more than sufficient, especially given the crowds. The stop at St. Paul's Cathedral was very worth it. The inside beauty of the church leaves you breathless. We ended the tour with the champagne tea and thought that was a great day to rest, snack and reflect on what we had seen. We were not disappointed with any of it and highly recommend this tour and Denise.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

our guide arranged for the best location to see the royal guards come out of the gate. I couldn't have been better. the guide was excellent and I would highly recommend Viator again.

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Richard was a very informative tour guide. We enjoyed the tour very much. We were able to see the guards on horseback for the parade

Doing what: Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony

Kendall K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to miss the crowds and lines and see the main sites of London in a days time. Our driver and guide were both really funny and informative. He really made sure we were at the right spots during the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Frank our tour Guild was amazing .He promised us up close and personal for the changing of the guard and it was exactlg what we got.afternoon tea was amazing

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Traveling by tour bus during the day in London, we ran into issues with traffic, but our tour guide and bus driver did an exceptional job at making sure we got to time-sensitive places on time changing of the guard, that we got to meet a beef eater at the Tower of London who explained the history behind it, and the river cruise was a very nice treat. I am also really glad we got the Champagne Tea upgrade, as the meal and service greatly exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved the tour. The Tower of London,The Queen Jewels, St. Pauls Cathedral, The Tea, and Buckingham Palace. The only negative was where we were standing for the changing of the guard. All we saw were the guards walk by. I would say try to get close to the gate so you can see. Also, I would highly recommend the tea. It was amazing overlooking Big Ben. One of my favorite things we did.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a great time, even if it rained most of the day. David our tour guide was exceptionally knowledgable and had a great sense of humour. It didn't demotivate him that it was pouring outside.
You saw the wet mount for the changing of the guards, a little dissaponting, but what can you do, can't control the weather......
I definitely recommend this tour!!!!!!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

clchrisconsult

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day tour of London. The bus was clean and very comfortable and our guide, Mark, did an excellent job of presenting historical facts along with just the right amount of light discussion as we proceeded along the tour. He was able to point out just the right spot for us to get a great view of the parade of guards during the changing of the guard ceremony. The sights that were included in the tour gave us a great overview of this beautiful city. Overall, this was an excellent tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a couple of days in London, so this tour made the most of the time we had. We were able to hit the highlights of the city. We chose the London Eye option because we were traveling with teenagers. There was a line, but it moved quickly. The tour was a great overview of the city. I wish we could have a more time at the Tower of London, but there was so much to see in one day and we had a schedule to keep. We didn't stop at Westminster Abbey only drove by. The crowds for the changing of the guard we a bit of a surprise. We were too far away to see much. But this was a great tour for hitting the highlights.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour! We got to see so many wonderful sites in London. We even got to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace and had a boat ride on the Thames River. Our tour guide, John was great! He knew so much history about all places we visited. This tour was fantastic and well worth it.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very full day of siteseeing. Make sure you wear your walking shoes. The trip down the Thames was fantastic. Our guide John made sure we got to see everything and even pointed out the best spots for photo opportunities during the changing of the guard. The Champagne tea afterwards was just lovely.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see a lot of London. The Tour of London was really fun and got there early to beat the crowds. St.Paul's Cathedral was amazing as well. Also go to see the Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace. London is a very busy city so taking this tour saved a lot of leg work in trying to find this beautiful locations. Denista sp was our tour guide and very nice and informative. Moved things along smoothly within a very busy city. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Jeannelle H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had one day in London to sightsee at the end of a business trip. I booked this tour before I left home and it was outstanding. It hit all the major sites in one day. Karen was very knowledgeable and entertaining. She positioned us in a perfect spot to see the changing of the guard which I would have never been able to figure out on my own. Malcolm the driver was also friendly and entertaining. Considering the prices of taxis in London, the price of this tour was well worth it. I added on tea at the end which was a very nice way to end the day. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Mary Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was terrific, we had a perfect view of the entire changing of the guard process. We also LOVED the info from Westiminster Abbey. I can not imagine learning all we did without the expertise of our guide Allison. Terrific way to end our trip!

Doing what: London Walking Tour Including Fast-Track Westminster Abbey Visit and Changing of the Guard

Melanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic. Saw everything. St. Paul's cathedral section was a little long but everything was amazing. Saw the changing of the guards at a great spot to make sure we saw everything. Tour guide Steve was hilarious and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: London Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Tower of London and Thames River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message