London ATTRACTIONS See all

Churchill War Rooms

Part of London’s famous series of Imperial War Museums, the original Churchill War Rooms, set in the Prime Minister’s secret underground headquarters, offer a fascinating insight into the workings of the WWII-era government. The maze of rooms in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donald K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a remarkable tour. We especially liked the war rooms. The guide was knowledgeable and answered questions.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jason our tour guide was very informative, courteous and friendly. It was our introduction to London and we are impressed. The Churchill war rooms were extremely interesting and would recommend to anyone who enjoys history.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Need to allow a lot of time to explore the war rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Dan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best part of this tour was the Churchill War Rooms. Incredible history !!!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

John L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour with much to see and learn! Our guide Amber, was a well read student of Churchill so she had extra interesting tidbits to add during our walking tour prior to going to the Churchill War Rooms. Such as pointing out German bomb shrapnel marks on Parliaments foundation. She was great!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Brenda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this Tour! I was by myself since my Husband was working and met 12 others that were excited to learn more about Winston Churchill. Our guide was amazing!! He was able to talk to us for almost 2 hours non-stop about historical facts about WWII and Winston Churchill. He orated our way thru Parliament Square and shared many facts I had never heard before nor had paid any attention to until he pointed these things out. The weather was raining on/off and he took that into account and tried to keep us dry. If you go, make sure you pack an umbrella and rain coat!! The War Rooms was so cool!! You could spend all day in there reading and interacting with all the hands-on museum displays.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Joshua was our guide. Amazing young man. He was very knowledgeable. Josh gave us real insight into this historic area. The headsets were very helpful and allowed us to hear every word. Kudos ! The Churchill War Rooms were incredible. It was like stepping through a door into World War II. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Craig A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Josh was an amazing an entertaining guide. He was very knowledgeable and made the tour fantastic! The Churchill War Rooms are a must see!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Kevin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic WW2 walking tour of London. We were fortunate to have just our party of four with James the tour guide. He was extremely knowledgeable and provided colorful background to all the featured sights. The Churchill War Rooms are simply amazing - the audio guide is a very satisfactory method for the tour. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very well done. After the walking tour leave plenty of time to cover everything in the War Rooms.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Augusta was an awesome guide. She was knowledgable and eager to share her knowledge. And she made our entry to the Churchill War Rooms easy as can be. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was Phil and the group was very small that day 4 of us so that was a plus. The guide did a great job of explaining the difference between the City of London and the City of Westminster and then gave background info prior to walking us to the war rooms where you bypass the ticket line, of course. There we did an audio tour on our own which was quite good. Would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Julia City Wonders UK met us just outside Westminster tube station across from Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. It was a rainy day and we weren't sure if the tour was going to continue but through rain or shine, it did go on. Julia was very knowledgeable about World War II information considering that her native country is Austria! We would have liked to go inside Westminster Abbey as part of this tour instead of just stopping on the outside. However, the stops to House of Parliament, Big Ben, St. Margaret's Church, Cenotaph, Women in War Memorial, 10 Downing Street,Banqueting House, Horse Guard Parade, and the highlight of the tour, Churchill War Rooms made this tour a very informative history lesson on Churchill's role in WWII. Highly recommended for history buffs!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was excellent - very informative. War rooms were better than expected.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a very informative tour with an engaging tour guide. Our whole family enjoyed the tour and learning about Churchill. The War Rooms Museum was the perfect ending and kept our interest for another hour or more.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

nanaghsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our guide was very good, very knowledgeable, and the very best thing about this tour versus others we took in Edinburgh and Dublin, were the hearing devices they give you so that you can hear the guide clearly thruout no matter where you are standing in the group. These were terrific! Its a great way to learn a lot about the Westminster area in a short time. The War Rooms are great too and we loved the audio guides for this. Well worth the time and the money. We area family of five, including three college aged kids, and were there over Christmas holidays.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Nomikos D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I'm a big Churchill fan and thought the War Rooms were great! Even better than the actual War Rooms was the Churchill Museum which is attached to the War Rooms. Our guide, Augusta, was fabulous! She was extremely knowledgeable and I felt like she loved guiding the tour as much as we enjoyed following and listening. Thank you Augusta!

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

fauxmargaret

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide. The Churchill War Rooms are filled with memorabilia and interesting information about Churchill and WW II. The museum really captures the gravity faced by the leaders of Britain and the people of London during the war. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting London.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

CATHLEEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The WWII Historical Walking Tour in London: Churchill War Rooms and Westminster was fascinating. Being able to go below to where Churchill and his staff worked during the war was educational at the least. Appreciated everything that was presented to us while on this tour. Will remember it and the details for a long time.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

Cynthia E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was extremely brilliant and thorough about the time period and events. He made one comfortable to ask any questions along the way. He shared his obvious enthusiasm throughout the time we had to tour the area and war rooms. This was a must tour for me, and the first selected prior to arrival in London. Would strongly recommend tour and guide for anyone with interest in London during the Blitz.

Doing what: Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War Rooms

brendan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great pass! MAde things much easier. Be sure to check out the booklet they give you. We found some true gems in there that you wouldnt think of otherwise. e.g. Churchill's war rooms and the church where William Penn was baptized..( cool for us being from Pennsylvania)

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Russell L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a great way to access the many and varied attractions London has to offer. We purchased a 3 day pass but had to use this pass for 3 consecutive days. It would be of more benefit, less tiring and more flexible if the 3 days could be spread over 5 days as other overseas passes offer. Maybe also 5 days over 7 days etc. This would make the pass more useful in inclement weather. Despite this, the huge number of attractions offered are still more than one could possibly visit and do. In most instances, apart from the London Zoo, the quality of the attractions were outstanding, eg Tower of London, Churchill War Rooms, Kew Gardens, St Pauls Cathedral. The ease of use of the pass - easily recognized and accepted without question. We will certainly buy this pass again on our return visit.
We would like to commend the organizers of this Pass as the selection of attractions were first class.

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

pdxtopher United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I would absolutely recommend this - in fact it's nearly a must if you are planning to see all the major sights. It was handy b/c we came across a few other attractions we weren't aware of i.e. the WWII Churchill War Rooms museum - and were able to get in free with the pass.

Definitely get the travel card too - it's extremely convenient in London. Things are definitely more spread out in London than they are in Paris (we literally walked all over paris and didn't use public transportation once) so we used the bus system extensively. The London Underground is a bit cramped - so we didn't use it - but the bus system is nice and very well done.

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Janice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

London Pass briilliant, no big queues. Windsor castle beautiful, The Royal Mews, Churchill War Rooms, Westminster Abbey, Eton College, British Museum all very interesting and well worth a visit. We also had travel on our pass and that makes life so much easier in London for getting about. This is the second time I have purchased the pass while staying in London and I would certainly do it again.

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Really enjoyed this pass and felt we got our monies worth. Probably saved about $50 each based on what we saw. Even though some of the reviews say the museums are all free, that's not the case. For example, the Churchill War Rooms and Britain Guard Museum both charged, and I think many others do as well. The only thing we saw that I didn't care for was the London Bridge Experience, waste of time. Everything else was great!

Doing what: London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message